Insider's Guide to

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

South of Portugal, 320 mi (515 km) off the coast of North Africa, lies one of the jewels of the Portuguese Islands – Madeira. Famous for its wine, it also has year-round mild temperatures and spectacular volcanic landscapes. Take your walking shoes, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

JOAN M R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Very pleasant and well organized!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Gerdi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Full day trip round Madeira.Great to get your bearings and for things to see and do during your stay.Guide very informative and knowledgeable re flowers and trees etc., also Madeira's history.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

PAULINE G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exelelent tour only spoilt by rain

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Ceri J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was great value for money including a very nice lunch. our driver was Pedro who made the day interesting. the view from Pico do Ariero was superb. I have been on this trip twice now and highly recumbent it.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

PETER M W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Driver, punctuality and all - excellent.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Elaine F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good trip. Driver was informative and helpful.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Andreas Cyprus

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour provides lot of sight seen things and great views. Especially for the Santana and the Porto Moniz. Unfortunately for us we had a driver in a very rush mood, he was driving like crazy and i felt dizzy in all the way and my wife sick. Too bad! The provided lunch was very good and complete as lunch.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Jane C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a great tour. We were picked up earlier, which was fine as we were ready. It was a mini bus transport and when we got on I said did we have to pick up other people and he said no we were the only ones. We had a really VIP tour, with no waiting around for other people stopping and looking at what we wanted.
I would recommend this tour to see just a bit of Maderia, which you can then extend another time to see more.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

BIBI D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide , great tour , great restaurant and food
Totally worth taking the tour. Real value of the money.
Fantastic.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

paul a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

absolutely perfect!!!!magnificent!!! loved it!!!! lunch and wine was just fab.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

linda

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Tour involved picking up other people ! So I think that should be removed from the itinerary
Food and drink, dancing and singing very good.
We didnt want the meat on skewers and they arranged for us to have fish instead.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Alison Y

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a lovely tour, there were only 4 of us in a small mini bus, and we literally went all around the island which a lot of other tours dont do, lunch was good too. the only down side was that our driver was great but very softly spoken so we couldnt hear all the information he was giving us as we were sat in the back of the bus.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Kamaladevi C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour would totally recommend, extremely good value for money. Maurizzio, our driver, was very informative and provided a tailored experience, he was very good. Be prepared for a very long day, although our driver did not rush us. A must if you want to visit the whole island. Excellent!

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Garda K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We loved Madeira and enjoyed seeing the variety of topography of the eastern side. We were in the back of the van and could barely hear the guide (no mike) which was too bad though we drove a lot without him talking at all.

I have taken several local tours like this and always object to the hour long stops to shop. That is not our purpose for tavelling and the prices are always much higher than near where we are staying.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

martin g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

we had an excellent guide for just us two, very personal. the trip was smooth, the scenery stunning, some of the roads can be scary but our driver was super.

Doing what: Grand Madeira Island Tour - Porto Moniz and Santana

Joseph M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

This is very much a cultural tour rather than a sightseeing trip and if it's a cloudy day, as it was for me, the drive up to the viewing peaks may be cancelled. For the large part this trip is about seeing basket makers in action, fish farms, whisky factories, walking around town centres and viewing triangle house shaped shops. There was also a view from the far end of the island - which is spectacular, but clearly this sight seeing isn't the focus of the trip as we spent far less time at viewing points than in the factories etc. It's also very difficult to find something to do on the small hill that houses the restaurant if you don't select the lunch option. This tour is best suited to people who don't want to see the sights and who enjoy wandering around tourist factories, artisan shops and sleepy town centres.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

ketunpoppa Finland

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2012

Nice relaxing trip. Driver was ok, but overpriced. Normal price is only 20 Euros if you book through all travel agencies in Madeira !

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Rose R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

It was a very cloudy day and we could not see the views. The stops were just OK. Tour director was not the best.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Richard H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

We had a very short break in Madeira and wanted to sample some of the beutiful scenary. I've have used Viator several times before and was happy to book another tour with them. It was excellent, out hotel pick up was on time. The driver courteous and knowledegable giving us a commentary of facts and sights as we proceeded. Madeira has such a pleasant climate. Camacha, perched on the hillside with breathtaking views and flowers everywhere was followed by the drive up through the clouds to the mountain top.The views were stunning, looking down on the clouds and through the gaps down into Funchal and the harbour. It would have been nice to have seen to the island of Porto Santo, but the cloud did not break in that direction. The valley of Ribeiro Frio was wonderful, so green fresh with flowers everywhere. We had booked lunch and tucked into a feast of local produce with wine too. The traditional houses of Santana are so colourful and photogenic. The views on from the clifftops from Ponta do Rosto near the eastern tip of the island were beautiful. only spoiled by the fact we were nearing the ends of the day and making our way to Machico, the original landing place of the original settlers. A small but beautiful beach of golden sands topped it off. Alltogether an excellent day whcih I'd happily do again on any future visit.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

Barbara N United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Very good multi-cultural trip. Guests from Brazil, Belgium, Korea, Portugal and UK. Mini bus which enabled us to visit places a large coach could not. Driver excellent, knowledgeable, funny and very accommodating. Lunch was excellent. Very good value for the money. Would recommend.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John S United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Excellent trip lead by Manuel who drove us around the eastern part of the island and was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everywhere we went. However, we would prefer not to have spent 3 hours in a Theme Park, although the history of the island pavilion was very impressive and informative. This is a good way to see quite a lot of the island if you're not on the island for very long.

Doing what: Full Day East Madeira - Camacha, Pico do Ariero, Ribeiro Frio, Portela, Santana

John W United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This trip started off as a disaster. The bus turned up about 10 minutes early and the guide did not check paperwork so a couple called Williams; who had booked a different trip took our place by mistake. At around 14:15 i went to check with the very friendly and helpful "Guest relations" lady, who phoned the tour company and they eventually sent another minibus to do the tour. Due to go at 14:00 went at 15:00. We did the trip in reverse with the wine tasting first. Nice visit , very olde world cellar and interesting tasting the 4 types of madeiran wine. Then off to the top of the nuns valley. No wonder the Madeiran drivers are good as the bad are all dead, going off the steep, narrow roads. Great views from the top, cafe, shop etc. well worth the trip. Then off to the Monte suburb. The gardens are splendid with a great variety of plants, trees etc. Did we want to do the sldge run? 25 euros a couple, and goes downhill for about 2 kilometers down toward Funchal town, pulled by two energetic men. We passed as my wife had done the run 20 years ago and it's no fun on your own. Well worth the money trip.

Doing what: Half Day Traditions and Enchanting Valleys - Eira do Serrado, Curral das Freiras, Monte, Madeira Wine Tasting

Denise C United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2011

It was ok, but meal was only average, and meat was tough. Mass meals are never a success generally. Wouldn't particularly recommend it.

Doing what: Madeira Nights Tour - Dinner and Show

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message