Balat is a historically Jewish neighborhood on the shores of the Golden Horn in Istanbul. While a significant Jewish population existed in the area since Byzantine times, the community grew substantially as Jews were evicted from Spain in 1492.   ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeanette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. The palace is beautiful!

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Carlos P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was very a wonderful tour, we were able to visit all places that were offered for this tour, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and took good care of us.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

411.p.fid United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We enjoyed the small-group tour! Tour guide extensive knowledge added greatly to the tour!

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Edwin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. There were only the two of us with a guide. He was knowledgable and had good English.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Diane C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was so fantastic! From meeting us in a huge gold mini van at the port where our cruise ended, to bringing us to our hotel afterwards, it was luxurious and showed great hospitality. Our guide had arranged for us in advance to visit inside two synagogues and with all the security it is clear we could not have done this on our own. She knew quite a lot about the history of Jews in the Ottoman Empire and had spent a few months on a kibbutz in Israel. She knew her stuff. We started with a visit to Galata tower, which was beyond what was advertised. That gave us a terrific orientation to Istanbul. We saw five synagogues all together in real working class neighborhoods, and we felt like the only tourists on the street. It was so special! We stopped for coffee in a neighborhood shop that had so much character. It was really a remarkable experience, worth very penny!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Cheryl P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide, Tibet, was enthusiastic, well informed, and lovely to deal with...everything you could ask for from a tour guide. We talked, we laughed and we learned. The Dolmabahce Palace and grounds are stunningly beautiful and not to be missed. The only place that we have ever seen to favourably compare it to is the Palace of Versailles. Tibet also skillfully guided us through the Modern Art Museum and a beautiful little mosque and a Greek Orthodox church. This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. I also must mention how important it was to have a luxury air-conditioned van, with a very skillful driver in heavy traffic, on a hot Autumn day. I would highly recommend this tour package.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a highly enjoyable afternoon tour, and as we were the only two people on it, we had the undivided attention of our guide. She was extremely knowledgeable and spoke faultless English. The highlight of this tour was undoubtedly the Dolmabahce Palace, which is a stupendous building, full of the most beautiful ceilings and tiles, enormous chandeliers and staircases with amazing glass banisters. We also visited the Istanbul Modern art museum, which was well worthwhile, as the art is very well presented, and the Rustem Pasha mosque, which is an absolute gem with the most perfect blue tiling, and incredibly peaceful despite being very near the very busy waterfront in Eminonu. This was a superb tour and not to be missed.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very knowledgable about the various locations. She was professional and friendly. The Dolmabahce Palace must be seen to be believed. Gorgeous European Palace! Greek Orthodox Church and Pasha Mosque were also beautiful. Enjoyed this tour immensely.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Warren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best half day tour I have ever taken anywhere in the world. The palace was spectacular. A
balanced tour including a mosque, church and Istanbul's Museum of modern art. Our tour guide was exceptional. This tour takes you to Istanbul's hidden secrets.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Diane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide arrived early and she spoke very good clear English. She was very informative touring the Palace and afterwards since we were the only 2 in group we got to choose where we wanted to go for the next 2 hours. One of the highlights was the Spice Market and she made very good recommendations. When the tour was over she took us to the rail and helped us get on the correct one. She made the tour

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Barry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It turned out that this tour was just us and our guide. Our guide was very accommodating, knowledgeable of the places we visited and toured, and very pleasant.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

jedokson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

lawrence k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Diego D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very nice and well organized. The Egyptian market was really interesting and colorful. The cruise on the Bosphorus was beautiful. Unfortunately, the weather was not very good on the day that we have done it and so the view from the boat was not optimal, but we were lucky enough to see dolphins and so we were very happy anyway.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

moses g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Jodi Anne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Ghada A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

time was sufficient. Tours in the spice bazar was limited but worth the time spent on the Bosphorus

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Pauline D United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Brilliant weather for a great trip to the Spice Market and the Bosphorus Cruise. The courier was extremely knowledgeable and very interesting about the history of Istanbul. The Spice Market is absolutely brilliant, for us, better than the Grand Bazaar! This was followed by a trip over the river to the Asian side of Istanbul to join a boat cruise up the Bosphorus. The boat was not overcrowded so we were able to move around easily plus enjoy a drink from the cafeteria. The commentary was very interesting, explaining about the Golden Horn and pointing out the famous Palaces and Castles.
On our return to the European side of Istanbul we left the coach at the Spice Market and spent the rest of the afternoon browsing and purchasing teas, nougat, turkish delight and many spices. Excellent!!!

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

christinementiply

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Picked up at time arranged at city hotel and taken on the tour. The tour was well organised and guides excellent.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Leslie E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Bina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick up was late but understandable due to the heavy traffic. The cruise sightseeing was breath taking and the weather was gorgeous.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

annie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Istanbul was a fabulous experience. Though this was only a half day tour, the guides showed us so much. They were excellent, very organized and with congenial attitudes. The boat was great as were the coaches.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message