Beyoglu is a cosmpolitan district on the European side of Istanbul that includes both Taksim Square and the famous Istiklal Caddesi. Located just north of the Golden Horn and connected to the old city center by the Galata Bridge, Beyoglu is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour. I was the only guest and I had 2 guides and another guide who was training for this pariticular culinary tour joined us later. Hakan is a gourmet cook and writer. A well spoken highly educated businessman who has great interest in his country and its diversity. He was educated in the states and Britain and he really caters and delivers. Aicha is equally highly educated passionate guide and was genuinely trying to make the tour as enjoyable as possible. And it was! I know a little bit about the turkish cuisine but I was quite surprised by what they offered. First, we walked the surreal Istiklal Street and went through the back door of a very old well known restaurant where a salted chicken was being served litterally on fire. Quite a show. We tasted some exquisite kebab and Humus with " bastirma" served with freshly baked bread and Sherbet. We continued on istiklal and tasted some delights from another old establishment. In between, we stopped at a couple of churches and had some history background of the area. We went through the fish market and stopped at a restaurant offering black sea cuisine. Very very interesting. Hamsli Pilaf, some warm marinated vegetables, special dolmades and corn bread. Very very tasty. We went through the flower passage with its cafes and night life. We then went to another old establishment to eat special clotted cream and pastries. It was then time for coffee which I declined in favor of turkish tea. This was enjoyed on the terrace of a very ancient hotel. Last we visited a well known opulent hotel where Ataturk used to stay. You can visit his room in the morning. And then it was time for the final stop at the terrace of another amazing spot with amazing views on the Golden Horn. Well done! I highly recommend this tour. It is not delivered by half knowledgeable guides. Rather you get top notch experience. Next time I visit Turkey, I will try their morning Kadikoy and Karakoy tour, also on viator. Thank you guys!

Doing what: Istanbul Food Walking Tour of Beyoglu by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

FIrst I want to give the highest praise for our delightful,knowledgeable helpful, sweet, chic,friendly tour guide, Mine pronounced Meenay (hope her name is correct) This is a must see for anyone interested in Jewish Heritage. Our tour was half a day and fine for us.we had read of one dissatisfied traveller's opinion and were concerned. We were so interested in the three Synagogues we saw. Each with a different story. at Neve Shalom the Rabbi himself met with us. The tour for two was so well organized with our guide and driver. I don't know how much you want to read but The tour as set is wonderful and then we were given options of certain sites to see. A tour is a must as it is difficult to get from one area to another unless someone really directs you and takes you. It was surprising to learn that the Neve Shalom Synagogue ( I am pretty sure that is the one) does not have dues but is supported by contributions. Mine told us a great deal of information about the Jewish Community (24,000 Jews) and 16 active Synagogues as well as about Istanbul itself especially since we had just arrived the day before. Be prepared to do some walking on cobblestone streets...some of the fun about this through streets with much to see en route.
THe security is very tight as we appreciated and as it is necessary so plan ahead to send your passport information at least a week or more ahead of your tour.
Marcia and Richard Schaefer Delmar (near Albany) New York

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour guide, would definitely recommend her to other tourists. We got done a bit early, so she took us around a small market and towards the water.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

great tour --excellent guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

was in icu in American Hospital istanbul and had to miss everything

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Jewish history in Istanbul seems limited....the synagogues were important for us to see and the guide made them as interesting as possible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The half day tour could have been completed in 2 hours. Two synagogues..... Synagogues actually charged us to go in rather than wait for tzeduka. I was very surprised. Perhaps the Jewish museum could have been added to the tour, or another synagogue?

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

if seeing some synagogues is the only way to go then this is the trip for you. Not exceptionally exciting but we enjoyed the tours of the 3 synagogues.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message