Beyoglu is a cosmpolitan district on the European side of Istanbul that includes both Taksim Square and the famous Istiklal Caddesi. Located just north of the Golden Horn and connected to the old city center by the Galata Bridge, Beyoglu is the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Really an excellent tour, but put on your walking shoes for this one. Well paced with wide variety of foods and eating venues from small cafés, to rooftop restaurants, and street vendors. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. Only negative comment was that the initial meeting point caused some confusion as landmarks provided had changed. Once we found our guide, everything went smoothly.

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was absolutely fantastic. I was the only one on the tour that day so it was a private tour with a wonderfully knowledgable guide Levent. I think it was lovely that the guide for this tour was an arts student. It was like being out on a morning stroll through various art galleries with a friend who is as passionate about the subject as you are. From the small galleries on the ISTIKLAL STREET to the stunning Modern Istanbul Museum, this whole tour was worth every penny. GO FOR IT :

p.s. - The tour is a morning tour, i.e., it starts at 11 am but Viator has it listed as an afternoon tour. I am glad I called the tour company to confirm the hotel pick up time or I would've missed out on it.

Doing what: Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, Beyoglu and Istanbul Modern Art Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great tour guide who took us to delicious food places. She was personable and interested in showing us the food delights in Istanbul.

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A highlight of our trip. Very interesting and fun to do. The guide was EXCELLENT! Tasted many new dishes. Will highly recommend to friends.

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best...only four of us and guide such a great evening!!!!

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I went on the tour with Tuncer on May 14, 2015. He is an art historian who has vast knowledge of Turkish Art. Since I was the only attendee for the tour, I had a personal guide through the contemporary turkish art scene. We visited various art galleries starting from Istiklai Street. Tuncer explained the each exhibition even the history of building where the exhibition was held. We visited an artist's studio where he painted. It was amazing to see how the artist brought his vision to life. We walked through the different streets where to see the daily life of people in Istanbul from upcoming trendy streets to residential areas. It was great to get a feel of the local life. Then we went to Istanbul Modern Art Museum. It has a great view looking over the other side of the Istanbul across the ocean. The pieces in the museum were intriguing and displayed the current interests of Turkish contemporary art. The tour covered not only the Turkish art, yet also guided through the turkish daily life and their interests. It was one of the best experiences I had in Turkey. Thanks to Tuncer for his incredible guidance!

Doing what: Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, Beyoglu and Istanbul Modern Art Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An unusual unique walk that art lovers should consider the guide was knowledgable, passionate, energetic and was always helpful and able to answer questions. This walk takes you around places, little galleries and museums that are not as widely advertised as the overcrowded and overestimated Sultanahmet district. It shows the vibrant contemporary part of Istanbul that is also notable and worth seeing into.

Doing what: Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, Beyoglu and Istanbul Modern Art Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide, Tanor, did a wonderful job. Not only did we taste a lot of different street foods, we went to several areas of the city to do tastings. We experienced several of the city's transportation options and went into neighborhoods we would not have known to explore on our own. We went to some neighborhoods that were primarily residential and experienced more of what the families there might eat on the street. We also went to a business district and tried what a business person might grab on the street for lunch. Finally, we tried "wet burgers." This is a bit like a chopped beef sandwich that has been smothered in BBQ sauce on the inside and outside. It was actually good. I would recommend this tour as a great way to see the city while tasting great food. Also, we went to the most famous baklava place in Turkey. They must have had 50 different kinds of baklava.

Doing what: A Taste of Istanbul: Street Food Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Good food, good conversation. Thanks for an incredible evening Umut!

Doing what: Best Istanbul Food Walking Tour of Beyoglu by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I loved this tour. I was the only guest and I had 2 guides and another guide who was training for this pariticular culinary tour joined us later. Hakan is a gourmet cook and writer. A well spoken highly educated businessman who has great interest in his country and its diversity. He was educated in the states and Britain and he really caters and delivers. Aicha is equally highly educated passionate guide and was genuinely trying to make the tour as enjoyable as possible. And it was! I know a little bit about the turkish cuisine but I was quite surprised by what they offered. First, we walked the surreal Istiklal Street and went through the back door of a very old well known restaurant where a salted chicken was being served litterally on fire. Quite a show. We tasted some exquisite kebab and Humus with " bastirma" served with freshly baked bread and Sherbet. We continued on istiklal and tasted some delights from another old establishment. In between, we stopped at a couple of churches and had some history background of the area. We went through the fish market and stopped at a restaurant offering black sea cuisine. Very very interesting. Hamsli Pilaf, some warm marinated vegetables, special dolmades and corn bread. Very very tasty. We went through the flower passage with its cafes and night life. We then went to another old establishment to eat special clotted cream and pastries. It was then time for coffee which I declined in favor of turkish tea. This was enjoyed on the terrace of a very ancient hotel. Last we visited a well known opulent hotel where Ataturk used to stay. You can visit his room in the morning. And then it was time for the final stop at the terrace of another amazing spot with amazing views on the Golden Horn. Well done! I highly recommend this tour. It is not delivered by half knowledgeable guides. Rather you get top notch experience. Next time I visit Turkey, I will try their morning Kadikoy and Karakoy tour, also on viator. Thank you guys!

Doing what: Best Istanbul Food Walking Tour of Beyoglu by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

FIrst I want to give the highest praise for our delightful,knowledgeable helpful, sweet, chic,friendly tour guide, Mine pronounced Meenay (hope her name is correct) This is a must see for anyone interested in Jewish Heritage. Our tour was half a day and fine for us.we had read of one dissatisfied traveller's opinion and were concerned. We were so interested in the three Synagogues we saw. Each with a different story. at Neve Shalom the Rabbi himself met with us. The tour for two was so well organized with our guide and driver. I don't know how much you want to read but The tour as set is wonderful and then we were given options of certain sites to see. A tour is a must as it is difficult to get from one area to another unless someone really directs you and takes you. It was surprising to learn that the Neve Shalom Synagogue ( I am pretty sure that is the one) does not have dues but is supported by contributions. Mine told us a great deal of information about the Jewish Community (24,000 Jews) and 16 active Synagogues as well as about Istanbul itself especially since we had just arrived the day before. Be prepared to do some walking on cobblestone streets...some of the fun about this through streets with much to see en route.
THe security is very tight as we appreciated and as it is necessary so plan ahead to send your passport information at least a week or more ahead of your tour.
Marcia and Richard Schaefer Delmar (near Albany) New York

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Tour interesting. Guide knew his history of Istanbul. Knew a lot about the synagogues etc, but was not Jewish so perhaps we missed some of what life inTurkey was like before and after the fall of the Ottoman Empire.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I was so glad that I signed up for this tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable not just about food but about the neighborhood we were walking through. I definitely tried food that I would not have tried without her. I did feel that the tour was a little expensive given that we ate mainly small street food and desserts.

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour guide, would definitely recommend her to other tourists. We got done a bit early, so she took us around a small market and towards the water.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

great tour --excellent guide

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

was in icu in American Hospital istanbul and had to miss everything

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2009

Jewish history in Istanbul seems limited....the synagogues were important for us to see and the guide made them as interesting as possible.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The half day tour could have been completed in 2 hours. Two synagogues..... Synagogues actually charged us to go in rather than wait for tzeduka. I was very surprised. Perhaps the Jewish museum could have been added to the tour, or another synagogue?

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message