Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Dolmabahce Palace (Dolmabahce Sarayi)

When the Ottoman sultans wanted to update their living space, they moved from the sprawling Topkapi complex on Seraglio Point to the more classically proportioned Dolmabahce Palace, also known as Dolmabahce Sarayi. The sultans lived here from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeanette D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time. The palace is beautiful!

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Magnus R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was one of the highlights of our trip. My girlfriend and I booked this trip thinking many would be joining, but it turned out to be only us. We had wonderful day exploring the sights included and had a brilliant time with our guide who was knowledgeable, and his English was impeccable. Dolmabahce Palace was beautiful and the Spice Market vibrant and interesting. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bosphorus Full-Day Sightseeing Tour: Golden Horn and Bosphorus Cruise, Spice Bazaar, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace

Muniza T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was wonderful.....Dolmabahce Palace is beautiful. Our guide Elliyan I think was very knowledgeable and friendly. The bus driver too was a friendly and a patient man. The way he navigated the big bus through the narrow streets of Istanbul was amazing.

Doing what: Bosphorus Bridge, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a very good way to see and learn about some of he high points of Istanbul. Our guide, Angel her Turkish name translates to Angel was very articulate in descriptions. We spent about 1.5 hours on a large sightseeing boat that navigated up and down the Bosporus you can be either inside our outside, visited the Spice Bazaar where we had been before, took a coach ride to the top of Camilca Hill which has remarkable views of the city and then spent about an hour on a guide tour of the palace, which is fascinating. Well put together.

Doing what: Bosphorus Full-Day Sightseeing Tour: Golden Horn and Bosphorus Cruise, Spice Bazaar, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace

Michael V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The guide was informative and the tour was appropriate in length. It was a great way to see Istanbul from the water. The Dolmabahce Palace was great. We have toured several of the great palaces of Europe. It ranks up there with the best of them.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The palace is incredible with all the history, the art, and the treasure.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Cheryl P Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide, Tibet, was enthusiastic, well informed, and lovely to deal with...everything you could ask for from a tour guide. We talked, we laughed and we learned. The Dolmabahce Palace and grounds are stunningly beautiful and not to be missed. The only place that we have ever seen to favourably compare it to is the Palace of Versailles. Tibet also skillfully guided us through the Modern Art Museum and a beautiful little mosque and a Greek Orthodox church. This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. I also must mention how important it was to have a luxury air-conditioned van, with a very skillful driver in heavy traffic, on a hot Autumn day. I would highly recommend this tour package.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a highly enjoyable afternoon tour, and as we were the only two people on it, we had the undivided attention of our guide. She was extremely knowledgeable and spoke faultless English. The highlight of this tour was undoubtedly the Dolmabahce Palace, which is a stupendous building, full of the most beautiful ceilings and tiles, enormous chandeliers and staircases with amazing glass banisters. We also visited the Istanbul Modern art museum, which was well worthwhile, as the art is very well presented, and the Rustem Pasha mosque, which is an absolute gem with the most perfect blue tiling, and incredibly peaceful despite being very near the very busy waterfront in Eminonu. This was a superb tour and not to be missed.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was very knowledgable about the various locations. She was professional and friendly. The Dolmabahce Palace must be seen to be believed. Gorgeous European Palace! Greek Orthodox Church and Pasha Mosque were also beautiful. Enjoyed this tour immensely.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Warren G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The best half day tour I have ever taken anywhere in the world. The palace was spectacular. A
balanced tour including a mosque, church and Istanbul's Museum of modern art. Our tour guide was exceptional. This tour takes you to Istanbul's hidden secrets.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Diane T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide arrived early and she spoke very good clear English. She was very informative touring the Palace and afterwards since we were the only 2 in group we got to choose where we wanted to go for the next 2 hours. One of the highlights was the Spice Market and she made very good recommendations. When the tour was over she took us to the rail and helped us get on the correct one. She made the tour

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport

Michele R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed this tour the most of the tours we did in Istanbul. The Spice Markets are incredible, smell, noise, soak it up whatever you do. The palace you have enough time to see the must see and you have the option of staying if you want to see more. Probably could have left the tour there, but if you want to see the Asian side definitely go.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Well worth a visit. Still mostly furnished so able to see how the last sultans actually lived [ Topkapi Palace older and also very interesting but more of a museum]. Also lovely setting on the Bosphorous. Very good guide and hotel transfers went smoothly. Not enough time to see much of the harem unfortunately but otherwise excellent tour.

Doing what: Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

Genevieve A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a good tour, and our guide was very knowledgeable and made it very entertaining. We enjoyed the tour to the palace most of all. Will recommend. The only minor reservation was that we were joined by German speaking tourists, so the guide kept switching from English to German constantly.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Paskalis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This one was very interesting tour I been in Dolmabahce Palace before but I did it again for my daughter and my grand daughter were very enthusiastic .

Doing what: Bosphorus Bridge, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

Karel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Istanbul is a beautiful city and the cruise was incredible because of the beautiful sightseeing. The Dolmabahce Palace was something unexpected, very well preserved, magnificent palace that worth a visit.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour. It was great to see Europe from Camlica Hill in Asia. Except for the ever-present traffic of Istanbul, the trip over the Bosphorous Bridge and around the city was interesting. Enjoyed the palace tour. Excellent guide and well-planned tour. Definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Bosphorus Bridge, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

Hannelore I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great tour and a must for your list of things to do, the cruise was fabulous and informative, the Palace interesting

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Sally E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was definitely a must for any traveler to Istanbul , the Dolmache palace took our breath away , the cruise on the Bospherous was enjoyable and easy .

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Minnie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing! We had a wonderful day with an extremely helpful tour guide who waited for us when we were late for the bus, helped us with small issues, and showed care and concern for all the fellow tourists. Moreover, the cruise was the highlight of the day, followed by the magnificent Dolmabahce Palace. Excellent work Plan Tours!

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

Fauzi Adnan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our guide, Osman, was full of energy and knowledge of the palace. Entertained us with stories of the past. A must visit place in Istanbul.

Doing what: Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

S M K

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour on the whole was very nice. Our tour guide came to pick us up in the morning on time. The tour started with a round of the golden horn followed up a trip the Egyptian Bazaar and New Mosque. The sights and sounds of the above venue were spectacular like the rest of Istanbul. We then followed this with a Bophorus cruise which was splendid. After this we had lunch at a nice restaurant which was of a good quality and ample for a single person - the lunch was better than I expected. We followed this with a short drive to Camlica Hill which gave superb views of Istanbul and photo ops a plenty. Once we did this we went to Dolmabache which was an icing on the cake. In terms of the goods: The venues and structure of programme, the transport facilities, the tour guides excellent knowledge of Dolmabache palace and the food. However, there are a couple of suggestions: i Our 5 year old daughter was a bit thirsty and we asked for the van to be stopped so we could buy some - it was suggested it would take 15 minutes till we reach our next stop - it took 45 minutes so you can well imagine she was not happy ii it would have been nice to have some guided commentary on the bosphorus boat ride as the audio on the boat was not great and iii would have loved some more time in the Dolmabahche Gardens. Overall I would recommended this tour as we really enjoyed our selves. Thanks to istanbul walks and our tour guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Full-Day Sightseeing Tour: Golden Horn and Bosphorus Cruise, Spice Bazaar, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace

Susan G

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This tour was wonderful the guide was entertaining and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this tour. The Palace is incredible and the view spectacular!

Doing what: Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

David T

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Worthwhile trip, the palace is very impressive.

Doing what: Bosphorus Bridge, Camlica Hill and Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

teddie p

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thought the palace part of if was awesome, quite the place, it's too bad more of it isn't open to the public!!!
Lunch was good, a set menu and the cruise was interesting also, a different view from the water. Out tour guide was a very nice young girl!!

Doing what: Istanbul Two Continents Tour Including Dolmabahçe Palace and Bosphorus Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message