• USD ($)
  • English

Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Dolmabahce Palace (Dolmabahce Sarayi)

When the Ottoman sultans wanted to update their living space, they moved from the sprawling Topkapi complex on Seraglio Point to the more classically proportioned Dolmabahce Palace, also known as Dolmabahce Sarayi. The sultans lived here from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A great tour and a must for your list of things to do, the cruise was fabulous and informative, the Palace interesting

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was definitely a must for any traveler to Istanbul , the Dolmache palace took our breath away , the cruise on the Bospherous was enjoyable and easy .

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was definitely a must for any traveler to Istanbul , the Dolmache palace took our breath away , the cruise on the Bospherous was enjoyable and easy .

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was amazing! We had a wonderful day with an extremely helpful tour guide who waited for us when we were late for the bus, helped us with small issues, and showed care and concern for all the fellow tourists. Moreover, the cruise was the highlight of the day, followed by the magnificent Dolmabahce Palace. Excellent work Plan Tours!

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Our guide, Osman, was full of energy and knowledge of the palace. Entertained us with stories of the past. A must visit place in Istanbul.

Doing what: Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We booked this two days ahead while already in Istanbul to fill up an otherwise open Monday. When we found out that Dolmabahce Palace was closed on Monday, we contacted Viator and were able to change it Sunday instead - Thanks. Note to Viator, don't sell this tour on Mon/Thur when the Palace is closed.
Here is your day:
Pickup in shuttle van in the morning. Taken to muster point where a number of tours then reassemble and depart on two decker tour buses (open upstairs).
First stop is the spice bazaar. You're given about 45mins to stroll around. Once you've been in the first shop or two, it's more of the same.
Next up is the 90 min Bosphorus cruise. Hopefully you'll have a fine day where you can enjoy the terrific sightseeing up one side and down the other. The boat was clean, open and offered great views.
After that, you're taken to a "leather demonstration". This is no more than a cheesy leather jacket fashion show, after which, you're hustled to their showroom where 50% discounts off inflated prices are offered. We chose to sit outside in the sun instead.
Conveniently, the lunch restaurant is next door. Lunch is simple and everyone else in the restaurant is doing exactly what you are - taking a break from their tour.
After lunch is the Palace. This is truly a highlight of the day (along with the cruise) as you gaze in awe at the amazing splendor that rivals anything in the world.
When you reassemble after some free time in the palace gardens, it's off to a trip over the Bosphorus Bridge, then on to a snack restaurant that overlooks back to the European side. There were no available tables or chairs for our tour, so everyone just milled around for 45 mins.
You are then dropped back at your hotel around 6p.
This is a good way to do both the cruise and the palace, along with some guided narration. The leather demonstration was meaningless and if you don't want to make the trip to the Asian side, you can always leave the tour after the palace.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

This tour would be highly recommended if the following issues are corrected:
- The group was not only English speaking and first guide (Mr. Ali) was speaking in various languages for all the tourists, this resulted in passing by some landmarks and getting the explanation in your comprehensible language after the landmark has been passed by.
- The visit to the leather jacket shop was not on the itinerary and we did not pay for that, nor we wanted it, it was a complete waste of our paid time.
- The visit to the Dolmabache palace was not complete because we did not see the whole palace, although the guide was really good (Mr. Emre) we did not visit the harem section of the palace, the time wasted in the leather shop could be used for the harem section.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

I was expecting a small group tour, but unfortunately it turned out to be 50-60 people on the bus (few people joined in for the afternoon part of the tour). Bosphorus cruise and Dolmabahce Palace were the highlights of the day. "Leather demonstration" was an absolute waste of time. The food at the restaurant next door to the leather shop was very ordinary. Although we were picked up from our hotels in Sultanahmet we were dropped off at a central location in Sultanahmet. Our tour guide was great, but he decided to speak German to four German tourists in our group. At every location we visited he gave information in both German and English, which was a bit of a time waster for most of us.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This tour was nice however we were very disappointed in the tour guid as he was rude sometimes when he was asked a question. Further he wasted our time by combining our tour in English and German at the same tour. Many of us were very frustrated at the Dulmapasha Palace as he took twice as long

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

Actual tour of palace was 45 minutes and view from Asia side 20 minutes the other 3 hrs was spent in a bus in traffic. The tour was suppose to be in English but the quide did it in English and German and was not able to be heard. Very dissappointing would not use company again.

Doing what: Dolmabahce Palace Tour in Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message