The Egyptian Obelisk is also known as the Obelisk of Theodosius or the Obelisk of Thutmose III. The Egyptian pharaoh Thutmose III originally ordered the construction of the obelisk in the 15th century B.C. at the temple of Karnak, near present-day ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 980 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Well organised tour. We were picked up on time from our hotel. We were a small group of 8 and the monuments were visited as advertised with easy access since we did not have to queue and adequate time was spent in each of them. The tour involved quite some walking. Lunch was good.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We did have some difficulty in contacting the company by phone to confirm the pickup time but we need not have worried as they did come back to us in good time by both phone and fax. The day of the tour was the worst snow in Istanbul since 1992 which saw much of the city grind to an almost halt. That said the guide arrived on time and we completed all of the tour items even if we had a snow blizzard going on. The tour covered the key sites you should see and our guide did bring it alive with a wealth of information about everything. Having a good guide like Omar helped not only understand what you were looking at but helped us get into places much quicker and know where to find the most interesting things to see.
Lunch was pretty good for something that was part of a tour and we were pleased with how that went.
The snow did mean we got a little less time in the Grand Bazar but that was purely because it closed early.
I would recommend this tour as a good way to get to see the best the city has in a relaxed but informative way.
We may yet come back and do it in hotter weather as the snow did not help but equally did not stop it being a good trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was probably the most knowledgeable man in Istanbul. He shared details and insights we would not have gotten elsewhere.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Such a great tour! Our tour guide Hakan was really knowledgable and entertaining. It was so nice not to have to worry about what to see or how to get there and it would have been worth it just to not stand in line for all the tickets! Next time I go to Istanbul I will totally take another tour!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This is a fantastic tour, and our guide Gulay was wonderful. There were only 3 of us on the tour and we had a very good time. The sites are amazing, I love this city.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our private guide met us at our hotel and we were transported up to the Blue Mosque. Kevanc quickly assessed the lines and diverted us to the Grand Bazaar first and then back to the Haghia Sophia and on from there. He was very knowledgeable and we had a great (long) day. Even though this wasn't our first time in Istanbul It certainly gave us an insider's appreciation for their history and culture. I would really recommend this tour if you have only a day or two in Istanbul.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Pickup from hotel for this small group walking tour (9 in our tour group), all sights are with a 10-15 walk of each other.
Our tour guide Hakan was very knowledgeable and was very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat after the tour finished.
The tour also included a trip to see how they weave carpets.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A guide who is quit full of knowledge/history. Always had his eyes on everyone to make sure no one gets lost. Covered major attractions. I was pretty much happy about his efficiency of handling the group; priority entry to these places was as if it was like priority boarding at the airport gate=very nice!!!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This excursion saved my short visit! Lot of information, professional guide. Well done!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was excellent, She was very enthusiastic and Knowledgeable about the Turkish history and culture.Her English was excellent .The price of the excursion was very reasonable and it covered a lot of site. The transportation was very comfortable and the size of the group was small.
My husband and I stayed in Istanbul for extra 3 days before embarking our cruise ship Nautica on Nov 2nd 2014. We had a wonderful time.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a great tour! The guide was very informative it gave me a totally different perceptive on Turkish history. The lunch was at a great restaurant, the atmosphere and food were exceptional. Our tour was in English and our guide was perfect in her pronunciation. The Topakai palace, blue mosque, st.Sophia, the basilica cistern, the grand bazaar exceptional.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a great trip. Our tour guide was very interesting, easy to understand and was fantastic about getting us from one place to the next and getting us through the lines quickly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message