• USD ($)
  • English

Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Egyptian Spice Market

The heady scents of saffron, cloves, sugar and spice fill the air at the Egyptian Spice Bazaar and Market, or Misir Carsisi, one of Istanbul's oldest markets. Aisle after aisle of stallholders sell their wares in this cavernous covered market, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

You get to try a lot of things and have the chance to buy some tea and spices at the bazaar.

Doing what: Istanbul Street Food Tour and Picnic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very nice and well organized. The Egyptian market was really interesting and colorful. The cruise on the Bosphorus was beautiful. Unfortunately, the weather was not very good on the day that we have done it and so the view from the boat was not optimal, but we were lucky enough to see dolphins and so we were very happy anyway.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a great day out and good value for money. Picked up from our local hotel and dropped back after the afternoon cruise and spice market visits.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

time was sufficient. Tours in the spice bazar was limited but worth the time spent on the Bosphorus

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Pauline D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Brilliant weather for a great trip to the Spice Market and the Bosphorus Cruise. The courier was extremely knowledgeable and very interesting about the history of Istanbul. The Spice Market is absolutely brilliant, for us, better than the Grand Bazaar! This was followed by a trip over the river to the Asian side of Istanbul to join a boat cruise up the Bosphorus. The boat was not overcrowded so we were able to move around easily plus enjoy a drink from the cafeteria. The commentary was very interesting, explaining about the Golden Horn and pointing out the famous Palaces and Castles.
On our return to the European side of Istanbul we left the coach at the Spice Market and spent the rest of the afternoon browsing and purchasing teas, nougat, turkish delight and many spices. Excellent!!!

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow what a great day. The weather was perfect on the water. A wonderful slow cruise down the Bosphorus.
Open air boat. Bring a wrap in case it is a bit windy. Nice boat crew. The Spice market was so much fun. So many people everywhere. If you happen to go back on your own, if on a Saturday, that is market day. So many people to look at. FUN FUN! Tasting treats everywhere!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Derya was a very good tour guide. Extremely pleasant, knowledgeable and very good english. Tour is interesting but the fun part comes at the spice market. Is a must see!!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Very nice morning tour. Picked up on time with a small group. Almost like a private tour. Nice cruise on the Bosphorous and a good trip to the Egyptian spice market. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Not Enough time in the Egyptian Bazaar which is good you dont get to spend alots of money. The Bosphorus Cruise was amazing. I love it!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The tour is great. We really enjoyed the Spice Market. Our guide explained the difference between the Spice Market and the Grand Bazaar so we could be smart shoppers. The Bosphorus cruise is beautiful and relaxing.

We were very pleased with our guide. We were picked up on time at the port and were brought back to the port. We were told that we could be dropped off someplace else if we wished to explore on our own. That was a kind offer.

We were surprised and pleased that the tour was not cancelled as there was only one other couple on the tour. Great for us, but not so great for the company

Doing what: Istanbul Shore Excursion: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We were in Istanbul for a week in early Sptember. We took this tour on our last day in Istanbul because we wanted something relaxing(the cruise portion) after a week of visiting sites on our own. The Spice Market is not as big as the Grand Bazaar, but it's still a must see and shop thing to do. The tour was FANTASTIC as well as the tour guide!!!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

A very nice day out with Omar as our guide, very enjoyable cruise, and time to shop in the spice market! Thanks again, Omar!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

This was a great tour with wonderful photo opps. Views and history along the Bosphorus are incredible and I think it's definitely a must see tour. Spice Bazaar is awesome, not as daunting as the Grand Bazaar. Shopping there is worth spending a full day. Our guide Serhat was very friendly and ccourteous and after the tour ended, he helped us with directions and recommendations for other things to do around Istanbul. Highly recommended~!

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

The tour was excellent. The bus showed up on time and the cruise down the Bosphorus was excellent. We enjoyed looking at the beautiful houses on the shoreline. The trip to the Egyptian Bazaar could have been a little longer but we were able to buy a number of items and even haggle over the prices with some of the merchants. All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable afternoon.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

The cruise was fabulous. We spent a very short time at the Egyptian bazaar. It looked interesting would liked to have stayed just a little bit longer. Return journey back to the hotel was painful. We were virtually the last to be dropped and there were a lot of people on the trip it took forever because the hotels were in the north and south parts of Istanbul. After the tour it would have been easier to drop us first as we were in the Sultanemat area but no they went to Taxim first and then we got caught in the traffic. After the tour finished the journey back was almost 2 hours. So this spoilt the tour.

Doing what: Bosphorus Cruise and Istanbul's Egyptian Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message