For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 180 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organized this particular tour there were 6 of us 4 Aussies and 2 new zealanders so obviously had a lot in common due to where we were visiting. Highly recommend this trip and great value for money. Could not fault the tour , staying overnight broke the long trip from Istanbul.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gallipoli has always been a destination/experience that I have always wanted to see and feel. The tour did not disappoint, it was a long day leaving from Istanbul. I would recommend choosing a closer destination, but the guides and drivers were courteous and dropped us off to meet the main group. One thing that slightly irked me was our Gallipoli guide. Don't get me wrong he was very knowledgeable and had researched extensively to the point of being published. But, this came up too often and I felt at times the tour was more about him and his experiences with dignitaries and not about the events. I take some things seriously in life when required and Gallipoli is one of them. If this could please be fed back to the guide, I dont remember his name as I'm shocking with names, as he had a wonderful knowledge of the events from Turkish, New Zealand, Australian,British and international perspectives which become little lost with his constant self referencing.
If you are in Turkey don't let what I have written put you off this tour as it is an amazing and emotional day which I personally feel each Australian should attempt to do at least once :-)

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great value for money, i recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the best of Turkey, just like it promises.
Our first guide was very professional, had a great sense of humor and a lot of information about the historical sites.
Our driver was very friendly and managed to get us everywhere without problems or stress.
The hotels that were included, were very nice and adequate, thumbs up for the Colossae Thermal Hotel in Pammukkale ( excellent ) and thumbs down for the Marina Hotel in Kusadasi ( first our room was already booked, then the keycard did not work for our next room and then i had to call reception 3 times to get the ac working in the room ).
We joined a second group, traveling from Pamukkale, Bursa back to Istanbul and although we were together for only a short period, this was also a very positive experience.
Our second guide arranged a dervish show and the restaurant she showed us the next afternoon served the best turkish style kebab i ever had.
The weather was great and very high temperatures from time to time, so sunscreen and head gear are no unnecessary luxury.
When you book this tour, be prepared to get up early and to travel long distances by minivan.
The earliest we had to wake up was 5.30 am and the travel from Pamukkale to Istanbul took 10 hours.
Recommended !

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Because of the distances between historical sites, it meant enduring long hours on the bus, which was no fault of Viator. Unfortunately our guide was quite difficult to understand and hear at times when at various sites, where a personal microphone may have improved the situation.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Our trip to Gallipoli was long and tiring, we were told pick up would commence prior to 7am but we're not picked up until 7:30-8.

The trip was well planned with lots of comfort stops and plenty of time at each sight. But the food options were below average.

Our tour guide slept a lot of the way down and back from Gallipoli. She also kept saying the 24th of April when the event actually occurred on the 25th of April - isn't this is a pretty important part of the tour? We found that he overall knowledge was somewhat poor.

When we asked our guide about booking another tour she did not offer any information. Additionally, when we asked to be dropped off closer to our accommodation she said no even though she had agreed to drop other people from the tour in this spot.

Our driver was excellent and got us there safely considering the amount of hours he drove in one day.

Overall we were disappointed with a tour that we expected to be the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour was great. the tour guides were so informative and really put you in the moment when they explained everything. the hotels provided in the package were first class. would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

Brian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very long day, but to visit the battlefields and see Anzac cove was worth it

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

a visit to gallipoli has always been on my bucket list--i had two uncles who landed there with the anzacs. the unfortunate aspect of our tour was the fact that it was part of a five or six day tour of turkey [which we didn't know about until well into the day] and we had to leave the tour bus and had to wait almost two hours for another bus to pick us up for the return to istanbul. the tour guide was not very enthusiastic spending most of the the to gallipoli asleep

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a really fantastic day. Long, as everyone else said. Take your own snacks and water.

Our guide really knew what he was talking about but at times I found him hard to understand.

Definitely recommended if you're a kiwi or an aussie

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Well coordinated tour with local tour guides. Very personal tour and the guides were passionate about their country's history. Accommodation was good.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

While the tour was great and the guide was very knowledgable I think the title and additional cost of the tour was wrongly advertised. A small group tour to me is no more than 12 people however we were on tour with nearly 40 people. It was really disappointing as we were expecting the small group tour to be quite intimate and have more access to the guide however as it was so large I didn't feel we got the same experience. If I had know it would be such a large group I would have booked the normal tour. If I have any family and friends thinking of doing this tour I wouldn't recommend it as the normal tour would suffice.

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything we hoped for and more: moving, respectful, informative, educational and inspiring. Our young guide was excellent and with Brits, Aussies on the tour he proved a good umpire!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The great experience started when we booked the trip - the Viator staff were very helpful on the phone, and even helped us get in contact with the tour operator in Istanbul late on a Sunday afternoon. The tour group was small and the service was very personal. The accommodations were great and we only spent one night in a "tourist mill" hotel; every other hotel was charming. Our tour guide picked great places for us to sample local cuisine each day at lunch. I honestly can't say enough good things about the tour. We will ABSOLUTELY use Viator in the future.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message