For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 207 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much and had a great travel group. Hotels were definitely good especially our suite in Kusadaci. Lots of choice in the dinner buffets. We had enough room in the bus to spread out and be comfortable.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. First, it had a guaranteed departure which is very important if you are traveling ftom far away. The hotels were good, the best was the one in Kusadasi. Out tour guide, Kivanc, was very accomodating, gave us a good insights into each place we visited. There were many highlights of the trip, Sirince, the old Greek village, was an unexpected treat; also Pergamon and Hierapolis were very imposing and memorable. Capadoccia was just fairy and very special, it is a place that you would like to stay at least a week... So much to explore...
There was a good pace to each day, as otherwise it would be very difficult to cover everything on the itinerary. Also, our guide took us to a inhabited rock chimney house which was an unique experience and a special moment to take away. I would highly recommend the tour as it covers many important sites and also lets you soak up a bit of the local culture. Also, i would have liked to have read a bit more on each place visited prior to the trip in order to be more aware of all the civilizarions and interesting stories about these places, but i did that at the end. For that I recommend the Traveller's Guide to Turkish History.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very knowledgable on both fronts of the war. The museum was a good experience and the memorial sites were inspiring. Our guide gave us avery interesting I sightt to the lives the soldiers lived during this time. We were told both sides of the history and I would we omens this tour.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had a fantastic time.
The tour guide was amazing who obviously had a real passion for the history of the area.
The drive from Istanbul was worth it definitely.

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour is spectacular.
The driver and guide were superb. Dyugu ,our guide , was very knowledgable and great company

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I can't begin to describe how emotionally moving this pilgrimage is. The knowledge imparted by our guide Icud was outstanding. He is a brilliant teller of fact and sympathetic to all sides. To go to Anzac Cove and Gallipoli is something every Australian should do to realise why we have today, what we have. The bus driver, guides, everything is 100% - thank you for this moving once in a life time experience.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very successful tour. I was allowed to go to Cape Hellas where my Granddad landed nearly 100 years ago and all the other wonderful places where he was at that time. Thank you so much especially to the young lady named Perri who was a wonderful guide

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour with a very fun tour guide!!! a must do when going to turkey!!!
If I am being picky and had to say one thing I would say there could have been a little more depth with the history and the accent was also a little difficult... but apart from that, great!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The guide was fantastic, really know what he was talking about and very friendly too, as was the driver. The drive from Istanbul, however comfy, was much longer than we expected but we were very pleased once we finally got there. The stop for Breakfast we thought was not needed, as that time could have been used better exploring the area. When we got to Eceabat at midday so we had another stop for lunch. The restaurant was quaint and the food was lovely, however we weren't told that the lunch was included i our ticket price which would have been nice to know. The tour, once started, was lovely if not a little underwhelming but as Australian's I think we had set ourselves up for a very emotional day and when we first arrived at ANZAC Cove, the letters on the wall (A N Z A C) had been stolen and so the wall was now being updated, which was absolutely no fault to the tour because there is nothing they could do about it but perhaps a little warning would have been nice. The rest of the tour was just lovely and so happy to see how it was all set out and to be able to go into the tunnels that were used and hearing the stories behind all the memorials. The ride back to the hotel was less than impressive. As we were the only ones on the tour that weren't staying overnight (we didn't know this was an option when we booked) rather than drive us back they guides decided to drop us off at another bus tour presumably owned or managed by the same group. Again it would have been nice to know what was going on as we were under the impression that the bus we needed would be along shortly and then straight back to the hotel, however we sat on the side-walk in an unknown area to us for over and hour in the dark before a bus finally came. And then we stopped three times on the way back. One for an hour for dinner at a truck-stop and twice because the driver wanted a cigarette. We would definitely recommend coming to Gallipoli to our family and friends, maybe staying there though.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Coming all the way from Australia and having little time for visiting places i had booked my day
trip not expecting much,but turning out to be a great day with the weather and all the sites
we visited in such a short time ,the tour guy making sure that we all understood every sites
meaning and significance Special Thanks to Mr Bulent for making me and my daughter
feel like a part of history.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very moving experience and highly recommended. Most people were staying over for at least 1 night and some were part of a 5 day tour but I was a bit uncertain about the hotels and decided to just do as a day trip. It was about 4 hours drive each way so a longish day but very manageable as comfortable van . Still had plenty of time at Gallipoli and in the town. Did not get included lunch as advertised but we stopped at service station where could buy cheap and very nice food.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We started off a bit unsure about this tour as we weren't actually given any information about what was happening until we got to lunch in Gallipoli and met our tour guide. Up until then we were simply picked up and driven down there with some stops along the way. But once the actual tour part of the day kicked off it was great! Our tour guide was full of information about both the ANZAC and Turkish sides of the Gallipoli battles, and the next day was also very informative about Troy. The accommodation overnight was fantastic, and included meals were delicious. The bonus Istanbul tour was a great way to to all the key sights in one day. This is a great tour if you're short on time in Turkey and want to see some highlights.

Doing what: Istanbul Super Saver: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour plus Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Definately worth the long trip from Istanbul Very moving experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable.
Our bus was very clean and arrived on time to pick us up. We left about 6.30 am from Istanbul and arrived but about 9.00pm.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Travel with fez travel. Wonderful trip. Local hotels are snobbish, though, charge $5 for each device for wifi usage.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message