• USD ($)
  • English
For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 151 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Tour guide was the best!! For a bunch of history nerds, this was like two days of perfection!!!

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Had a good time on this trip and getting a chance to experience some of the Turkish culture, food, Istanbul and its car drivers and people. Everything went smoothly.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The outward journey was excellent; six on the tour plus driver and guide. The tour was well presented and the guide knowledgeable. however, the return was less that satisfactory our original tour bus carried on with four passengers to do Troy, we were then transfer to another bus which picked up a number of other passengers on the return to Istanbul.
An outward journey that took 4 hours turned into a return of just under 6 hours additional irritation was the driver had been given the wrong address for some of the hotels.
Make sure you have your hotel contact number so the drive can ring them up for direction.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide and driver were the best. Loved the tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Andrew B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Don't be put off by the 4.5 hour drive to and from Gallipoli. This trip is well worth it. The Guide that we had was extremely knowledgable about the sites and also the history of the campaign. We visited both ANZAC and Turkish memorials. The only minor disappointment was not seeing any of the British landing sites but, even so, it was an excellent day and highly recommended.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide was the star of the trip.
The trip was well organised and we had an interesting itinerary.
Some of the hotels were pretty low rent but then the price was v low.
All in all highly recommended.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A long journey, 4.5 hours each way, but worth it to see the story of the WW1 attack on the Gallipoli peninsula. Firstly we visited ANZAC cove, then the "beach cemetery", then the ANZAC Cemetery and memorial, the Turkish 57th Army cemetery and the high Defence point taken by Ataturk, the Turkish general, with a NZ memorial nearby and some reconstructed trenches - from here you could see the whole lay of the land. Disappointed not to pop into the museum, although our guide was quite dismissive of it.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We booked online with Viator, and the tour was run by 'Hassle Free Tours'. Everything went like clockwork. We brought some fruit and bottled water with us for breakfast on the first day, and were surprised when we stopped at a fairly flash brunch style restaurant along the way and, carried away by the moment, we had breakfast. We were not told that the cost was not included (three meals were included - one each of breakfast, lunch and dinner), and I was called back inside to pay 25 Lire each. I felt like I had tried to leave without paying, and felt somewhat piqued that I was paying for something that we did not need. But it enabled the driver and guide to have breakfast, and it was a heads-up for us to ask specifically and clearly if we had to pay for things as the tour unfolded. The lunch (included) at a winery (www.suvla.com) at Eceabat was excellent and in a beautiful setting, but our appetite had been depleted somewhat by the buffet breakfast. It was great to see Gallipoli and Troy, and the excellent explanations assisted our understanding. Gallipoli is a long time ago now, and so there is not a lot to see, and Troy is a set of ruins, which really do require some tidying up - basic weeding and soil removal from the ruins on display would assist. We stayed overnight at the Helen hotel in Canakkale, 50 metres or so walking distance from the ferry. It was clean and comfortable and the meals were nice. We were a little curious about 'Anzac House'. We thought it was some sort of establishment by the Australian government with memorial items and a small theatre, etc. It turned out to be the hostel next door to the Helen hotel (www.anzachouse.com). There was no offer to view films about Gallipoli; viewing films is noted in the itinerary.

 The tour was very worthwhile and good value, and provided a practical and efficient way to visit Gallipoli and Troy from Istanbul. If interested, then go for it. If short of time, then omit Troy.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The tour was very nice. Our tour driver and our guide were fabulous. I advice anyone to try this trip. The only problem was the hotel. It was 3 star and we couldn't sleep because the room next to us was watching TV from 8 pm to 5am. We hear all the films that he watched. The hotel should be changed.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Unfortunantly I did go on this tour as the group i travelled with had booked the Troy tour. There was no one who could accomodate me for the Gallipoli tour and was told that if i wanted to go to Gallipoli I would be dropped off at the wharf and latter I could be picked up in 4 hours on the return leg. As i did not feel comfortable travelling alone with no guide I decided to go along to Troy.

The Troy tour was OK but being Australian rather unfortunate not to go to Gallipoli. The tour guide for Troy was accomodating and explained the tour well.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wow! Absolutely a wonderful experience. Our guide was excellent and we enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fabulous tour, the tour guide was great (Hasan)
We saw lots of amazing places and stayed in nice hotels
It was only a small group of people , so lots of friendships were formed
Highly recommended, as Turkey has a lot to offer

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great trip! Even though it was short and covered 3 separate destinations, it didn't feel rushed or cramped at all.
The 1st day covering Istanbul won't take up all day; so you'll have time to self-explore.
The 2nd day drive to Galipolli is long, but worth it.
Troy on the 3rd day was just perfect! :)

Doing what: 5-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli and Troy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was amassing, the best way to see a large portion of the country on a small budget. Great tour guide and driver. A little long buss rides but it was worth it.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A very interesting trip from a well informed guide.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message