For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 233 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Stuart H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My trip was more then i could of expected pick ups and transfers were on time. The Hotel facility was amazing and our tours to Galipolli and Troy lived up to all expectations. Our tour guide was friendly and very knowledgable.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Satchmo

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour was ok, but the bus was small, we made a 1 hour detour to drop someone off on the Troi tour because that tour did not have enough people. The guide did a great job. The bus said we had Wifi but alas that did not work. It's a huge day close to 16 hours so a bigger bus with nice seats would help as my arse was so sore.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Alex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip ! Really enjoyed it - well organised, good drivers and an excellent, knowledeable and friendly guide. Only comment I would make it to let people know what the plan is ie we were picked up and driven all the way in a car - which was great ! But we thought we were being delivered to a larger bus with others, and didn't realise until about an hour in that we were going all the way with the pick up driver - as I say, for us 3 guests it was perfect, just that we didn't know what was happening, and the driver didn't have enough English to really explain. Otherwise, a really good day, and would do other tours with you again.
Cheers
Alex Stewart

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I read the Iliad and the Odyssey more than a hundred years ago, when I was still a kid and I used to daydream of visiting these places which at that time seemed unreal and out of reach. I put them on my bucket list. I am happy to report that I am glad I visited those places. I wish I would have done it when I was younger so that I could tell stories at work and during my presentations. This is a must see.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we started our day very early and, but had a chance to catch up on rest on the bus trip to the site, when we arrived we were met by our tour guide who escorted us to a local restaurant for lunch, after lunch we got on the bus and went to all of the places that were relevant to the Gallipoli landings and subsequent battles, our guide was very unbiased and we were told the story from both and Australian and Turkish side so a lot of the gaps were filled in. I would like to thank Viator, Fez Travel and the local tour company/guide for giving us a very memorable day.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Matt W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Megan B

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Although a long day it was well organised and well worth it. My only criticism being that I found the Turkish guide a little bit difficult to understand.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul with Return Transfer with Lunch Included

Susan S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Guide was knowledgeable. Great to be part of a small group tour. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Bruce D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

long hairy drive home

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Gary G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

I have to give this tour a 0 review. I will explain why. The driver and the tour guide were excellent HOWEVER the problem is this - there is a serious safety problem with this tour. The company that runs this tour needs to be advised about the following reasons. Our driver and tour guide picked us up at our hotel at around 6am in Istanbul. This means the driver had already been awake for a while to get to work, get his bus and his tour guide and get to our hotel. He then drove for another 16 hours - 6 hours down to Gallipoli, 4 hours to various places around Gallipoli with minimal down time, and then another 6 hours back to Istanbul, the last 3 hours in seriously heavy traffic. After he dropped us at our hotel around 10pm he then would have had to presumably drive his bus to a depot then go home. This is a very, very long day for one driver. This is totally unfair on one driver to do such a long day - if we had known we would only be having one driver on this trip we would not have booked. There needs to be two drivers, or swap the driver in Gallipoli. It appears that costs are trying to be kept down by only using one driver. This is a safety concern. Not only is it incumbent on the tour company to treat their drivers better, and ensure safety standards, but it is also incumbent on tourists to ensure safety standards of other countries they travel to by paying a decent price for a tour that gives value for money but upholds standards. The other people on our tour had the same concerns on this issue as what we did. I would not recommend this tour because the driver's well-being is not taken into account but if the driver's were swapped half way through the tour, then I would definitely recommend the tour as it covered all the places we wished to see and was efficiently run.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A long day but so worth the trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It made such a difference being on a small tour as it gave you the opertunity to be able to look for the things you were there for. The tour took us to all the important areas and at no time was time made an issue people could take their own time in all areas after our guide had given all of the information.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Damien B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unreal experience. A must for any Aussie/kiwi in the area. So surreal being at Anzac Cove. Makes you really appreciate how lucky we are to live in Aus/NZ. Only bad thing is the long drive down there.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Peter R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour. Good value, in comfortable bus with wi-fi and good local guide,

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great well organised trip
Highly recomended

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

sawse New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent trip and very informative tour guide

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Robyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Emotional experience, a very long day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, informative

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent, we got to see a lot more than anticipated. The tour collected us right on time, there was 8 of us on the tour all Aussies, we all had a great 2 days. We changed hotels when we returned to Istanbul, they were able to drop us at the new hotel at the airport, with no problems. We can recommend this company 110, the hotel was great, the food included in the tour was good as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

McIntosh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our very young guide was fantastic. Her knowledge was second to none and with her bright personality was had a fabulous, albeit long, day. Would recommend this to all.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Dominic Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very long day, from 6:30am to 11:00pm, but well worth it. The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to cite units and dates of battles. It was a most emotional but memorable trip.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is a very long day but the tour is absolutely worth it. We had plenty of time to take in the various sites at the memorial and our guide was clearly passionate about his job and about informing people of the Gallipoli campaign. This tour is a must for all Australians and New Zealanders who visit Turkey!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

phil.borrie

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great trip and the only easy way to see Gallipoli. Good guides ,food and accommodation. picked us up from our small apartment in a tiny street and dropped us back.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

kanungoj

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Worthwhile for those interested history. Guides were excellent. Hotel accommodation excellent. Transportation system and punctuality could be improved. Like the Hotel pick-up.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Belinda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a brilliant trip. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and the pace of the tour was perfect.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I was not expecting to see quite so much. Gallipoli was very comprehensively covered and very moving. There is so much more to Troy than I thought there would be. You need a bit of patience because the logistics are quite complicated. Take the boat trip but avoid the Kolin hotel, very poor forr a five star.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

Glen T C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent. Long day but well worth it.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message