• USD ($)
  • English
For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything we hoped for and more: moving, respectful, informative, educational and inspiring. Our young guide was excellent and with Brits, Aussies on the tour he proved a good umpire!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

This trip was also disappointing. The minivan was too small and uncomfortable for the 5 + hours it took to get to Gallipoli, the seats were too small for 2 people, especially large people to sit next to one and other. I unfortunately was sitting on top of the wheel and I felt every bump we went over. Or guide, although she knew here history, found it difficult to express in English words, so sometimes it was painful waiting for her to think of the English words to express what she wanted to say. Our driver seemed to be in a big hurry to get back and his driving was very erratic and too fast for the conditions. I was at the back of the bus and only got the feeling we were going very fast, my husband was at the front, and when we got out, he said "god was looking after us today" because we were lucky to get back in one piece.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour is definitely worth the long drives to and from. A comfortable ride in an air-conditioned bus, a lovely lunch before arriving at the Gallipoli memorials, then crossing the Bosporus to Canna-kale for the night in an amazing hotel. Great breakfast with no real rush in the morning, then a great in-depth tour of troy before another bus ride back, crossing the Bosporus again. Credit to our guide as he was very informative and gave us time to explore around at each stop. Great tour to do with the family.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing guide, so much knowledge. A moving experience. Long day but well worth it

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing guide, so much knowledge. A moving experience. Long day but well worth it

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Amazing trip, worth every cent. Something every Aussie should do, very informative guide, long day but worth it !

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

I've had to take one star off for the transfer to and from the Peninsula by minibus. This was not a comfortable bus and the driver was a ratbag. We're just grateful to have made it there and back in one piece! Once there, we transferred to another bus and had an excellent local guide. His knowledge is second to none and it was good to get the Turkish perspective as well. He was happy to personalize the tour a bit for those of us who had special requests too. Doing the whole thing in one day makes for a long day, but is quite manageable.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Guides were good and everything ran smoothly. Chief guide offered us an extra tour after Troy, seeing Gallipoli sites from the Aegean Sea plus a modern museum of the conflict from a Turkish perspective. That was good and saved us spending half day in Cannakale with nothing to do.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was fantastic and it was a history buffs dream come true. Our guide Hassan was really informative and helpful and Turkey is now in our hearts and we cannot wait to return. Everyone should go to Turkey and this is a great introductory tour

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an good guide for the long bus ride out to the peninsular and then we joined an RSL tour. The local guide had a deep knowledge of the ANZAC story and told it in an impartial way. We came away knowing much more than we had about this important part of our history. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

As Anzacs, my wife and I really enjoyed this day trip from Istanbul. It is a long day, so be prepared (picked up at 6am and didn't make it back to hotel until 11pm) however if you want to pay your respects then it is well worth the effort. The tour was well organised, with informative and friendly guides, as well as plenty of stops along the way for comfort breaks and refreshments. The buses were also quite comfortable and modern, making the long drive much easier.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Fine otherwise except for hotel standards of IRIS. Rooms and everything in Momento Hotel r small, tight, and just thrust in. Being asked to pay for water even during B/L/D is shattering in all the hotels.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Long day travelling, not sure the guide truly had the facts straight, but moving place!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message