For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Exceptional. Tour guide and driver were of the highest standard and did all within their power to make the trip one of the best I have been on. Value for money.
Many thanks.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Exceptional. Tour guide and driver were of the highest standard and did all within their power to make the trip one of the best I have been on. Value for money.
Many thanks.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Better than expected. Informative friendly tour guide and skilful driver. These people worked hard to make our day exceptional. It was a very long day in all, but very worthwhile. Thank you to everyone.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were wonderful throughout, very knowledgeable and engaging. The trip from Istanbul to the sites and to all the places in between were done with great precision and the food given along the way was delicious! Highly recommend these guys.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Happy with this tour. Good tour guide, sociable, acknowledged Hanuk of Fez travel.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Tour went exactly as advertised,with ontime pickup and departures. Our guide,Hamide,was very informative and obviously loves her job as she went out of her way to deal with any issues or questions that arose. It would be a very long day if doing the one day tour so would recommend the two day tour instead. Accomodation and meals that were included were good.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, the highlight being Ephesus. Well worth every penny.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Excellent tour guides, extremely interesting locations. We did not know that we had a free half day in Canakkle on the second day, which is a small town and there is not really enough to do to fill in a half day.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was good. We went to a lot of places. The scenery was beautiful.
The tour guide was good. The hotels were average. We had problems with the shower.
They fixed it. Too much time was spent on marketing at 3 places, carpet, leather and pottery which took up 6 hours of our time and we could have seen other places.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well organised trip. Breakfast and lunch provided. Great guide. Bus drivers and others friendly and helpful. Fantastic to hear the stories of what occurred in 1915 and visit those places. Really good (but long) day

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I went on this tour by myself on a weekend.Stayed at the Sultan Hostel the night before and the return night. All worked out very well. The tour guide, Mr G, was entertaining, informative and helpful. The stay in Canakkale was really nice, great city with night markets and restaurants! Amazing time!

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

fabulous day trip only weeks before the centenary of the landing in 1915. The guide was most knowledgeable and pleasant. The bus was comfortable and the driver excellent. Excellent value for money with a door to door pick up service available making the whole trip easy.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I was under the impresession that the trip was on a 'luxury air conditioned coach' It wasn't. It was in a cramped mini van. I was picked up late and spent an hour being driven around Istanbul which made nearly 6 hours in the bus apart from a short stop en route. The actual guide was brilliant but the trip back was a bit of a nightmare. Again in a cramped mini van with a 'crew' who didn't know their way around istanbul. An unpleasant beginning and end to a vey good tour

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Superb. The driver was knowledgeable and courteous, and our tour guide was super. He gave us interesting background information, historical and otherwise, and then set us free to wander on our own until a designated meeting time. Plenty of photo opportunities. Thank you very much!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had an amazing guide and an amazing trip. The guide was well versed and very knowledgeable about the topic at hand. A heads up though, it is a long drive to get there, and in the winter it does get very cold.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was a perfect organised trip from beginning till end!

Pick-up from Hotel in time. Tourguides on the rides and scenes spoke English very well and were very informative. Drop-off also in time.
In the evening I stayed in an hotel in Canakkele very nice hotel!.
This was a good decision to make because I think in Canakkele there are more bars and restaurants than on the island and this is closer to Troje so my hotel pick-up was at 11:30.

Jeroen

Gallipoli was very impressive especially because I was ther at March 18th 2015.

Troje was also very interesting because of the importance place in historical writing.

I can recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous sites and great guide but need better hotels and better gastronomic experiences!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this small group tour as others I have been on have encouraged absorption in local life and allowed free time to do so. Sadly this did not so I feel that I did not get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was comprehensive but not overwhelming, with a good mix of scheduled and free time. The guide was great. The guests all got along really well. The hotels were generally fine, and the food quite good.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

First stop, about 10 min, is just for a little break. 2nd stop is for breakfast. Upon arriving at the tour desk/hotel near souther tip of Gallipoli peninsula, lunch was offered (very nice). Once the tour commenced, the guide was impressive. Those historical sites with his narration of history really made it so real that I was actually visiting the battle field where both sides fought fiercely. Again, amazing guide he was who made this whole tour worth every whatever the currency you are going to pay with!!!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Nancy O
New Zealand

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

the best part of our holiday in Europe - our guide was passionate, knowledgeable and seemed pleased to be showing us the battle field.
lots of stops, on and off the bus to visit sites and a good explanation of what happened at each of the sites. Great photo opportunities.

And while the pickup from the hotel was efficient, our bus driver told us nothing about where we were travelling, how long it would take, what stops we would have and our arrival at the meeting place had no explanations as to what was going to happen next.

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much and had a great travel group. Hotels were definitely good especially our suite in Kusadaci. Lots of choice in the dinner buffets. We had enough room in the bus to spread out and be comfortable.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message