For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Coming all the way from Australia and having little time for visiting places i had booked my day
trip not expecting much,but turning out to be a great day with the weather and all the sites
we visited in such a short time ,the tour guy making sure that we all understood every sites
meaning and significance Special Thanks to Mr Bulent for making me and my daughter
feel like a part of history.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very moving experience and highly recommended. Most people were staying over for at least 1 night and some were part of a 5 day tour but I was a bit uncertain about the hotels and decided to just do as a day trip. It was about 4 hours drive each way so a longish day but very manageable as comfortable van . Still had plenty of time at Gallipoli and in the town. Did not get included lunch as advertised but we stopped at service station where could buy cheap and very nice food.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We started off a bit unsure about this tour as we weren't actually given any information about what was happening until we got to lunch in Gallipoli and met our tour guide. Up until then we were simply picked up and driven down there with some stops along the way. But once the actual tour part of the day kicked off it was great! Our tour guide was full of information about both the ANZAC and Turkish sides of the Gallipoli battles, and the next day was also very informative about Troy. The accommodation overnight was fantastic, and included meals were delicious. The bonus Istanbul tour was a great way to to all the key sights in one day. This is a great tour if you're short on time in Turkey and want to see some highlights.

Doing what: Istanbul Super Saver: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour plus Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Definately worth the long trip from Istanbul Very moving experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable.
Our bus was very clean and arrived on time to pick us up. We left about 6.30 am from Istanbul and arrived but about 9.00pm.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Travel with fez travel. Wonderful trip. Local hotels are snobbish, though, charge $5 for each device for wifi usage.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

The tour was well organised and accomodation more than satisfactory. Our downside was unfortunately the guide, as she didnt get out of the vehicle at each site in Gallipoli to tell us the importance of each area, and give us the opportunity to ask questions as we walked around. She gave us information while still in the vehicle, then left us to it. We all felt her approach as a guide was less than satisfactory.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day travelling but worth it for the comprehensive visit to the Gallipoli sites. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the driver excellent. Our only issue was being left to our own devices for an hour at a small town waiting for the ferry to arrive - a very cold and uninviting place

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

THE TOUR GUIDE WAS EXCELLENT

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Long day but great driver and tour guide

Steve

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Hotel in Istanbul was an issue. We paid for Momento, a four star property. We only stayed at Momento the first night. We were moved to a two star property, Baron, for the next night. Why were we subjected to this and not the new guests? While the hotel staff was 'nice at Momento', and physically moved our bags, no one at Fez tours, the guide or the initial person that came to greet us did anything to help the situation. This was most inconvenient and avoidable.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

Kisharn
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Tour was great you have to make the trip out to Gallipoli. Guide spoke good English.

Only let down was the amount of waiting around we would have 20 minute stops at places that only had a small shop. I guess iifthe group was larger this may be needed but it was just the two of us.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organized this particular tour there were 6 of us 4 Aussies and 2 new zealanders so obviously had a lot in common due to where we were visiting. Highly recommend this trip and great value for money. Could not fault the tour , staying overnight broke the long trip from Istanbul.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gallipoli has always been a destination/experience that I have always wanted to see and feel. The tour did not disappoint, it was a long day leaving from Istanbul. I would recommend choosing a closer destination, but the guides and drivers were courteous and dropped us off to meet the main group. One thing that slightly irked me was our Gallipoli guide. Don't get me wrong he was very knowledgeable and had researched extensively to the point of being published. But, this came up too often and I felt at times the tour was more about him and his experiences with dignitaries and not about the events. I take some things seriously in life when required and Gallipoli is one of them. If this could please be fed back to the guide, I dont remember his name as I'm shocking with names, as he had a wonderful knowledge of the events from Turkish, New Zealand, Australian,British and international perspectives which become little lost with his constant self referencing.
If you are in Turkey don't let what I have written put you off this tour as it is an amazing and emotional day which I personally feel each Australian should attempt to do at least once :-)

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Ilker, was THE BEST guide we have ever experienced. He was skilled at making the stones of the monuments and temples come alive with history. He connected with the tour goers on a caring and personal level. What a gem! Ahmet our driver was invincible. One suggestion: drive through Pamukkale and on to Bursa. We needed more time to enjoy that lovely city. The Five Star hotel in Pamukkale was very disappointing.

Please don't miss Pergamum, Troy, and Ephesus. These were wonderful sites to visit! Thank you again Ilker!! - Inez and Jean

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message