For many Australians and New Zealanders visitors, Gallipoli is the focus of their trip to Turkey. During World War I, the tiny cove on the Dardanelles was the site of a long and entrenched skirmish between Turkish and Allied troops. Horrendous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 281 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I learnt so much about the ANZAC and the Turk's experiences in the Gallipoli campaign and I firmly believe it is a must-see for Australian and New Zealanders who visit Istanbul.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour. Cem our guide knew lots of history and even took us to areas that weren't part of the usual tour. Such a moving and humbling experience.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great value for money. Well organised and exceeded expectations. Well done and thank you !

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We only did one day of the tour as we wanted to see the Grand Bazaar rather than Troy. What we did see at Gallipoli made the tour very worthwhile.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A really special tour! A must do...

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very special place for all Australians, New Zealanders and Turkish people. Great to see this with an unbiased viewpoint with a Turkish guide. However, it is a long day! Nearly 18 hours in total, including about 12 hours on the road. But the good side was a thorough all areas guided tour of Gallipoli and Anzac Cove and the memorials.

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely incredible! Definitely recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent tour with very good guide, got drop off at Attaturk International Terminal in time for our midnight flight
to Aqcaba by the Red Sea

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great tour to Gallipoli, very informative, and a moving experience. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Everything things was great, loved the tour and our guide was amazing. Only thing I would have to mention is the supposed 5 star hotel was my least favourite. there was only one entrance to the hotel which was the front door, all other doors didnt have any handles. It wasnt airconditioned. The prices of drinks there were much more than what wed been paying at other places. I enjoyed the other hotels alot more and would rate them better.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very comprehensive. Saw so much in just one day. It was a bit rushed at each place but only because there was only a day to see it all. The time we spent there was, personally, enough for me. The tour guide was great. Spoke about the war from both sides and the politics before, during and after the war. Very friendly and taught us a lot about Turkish culture and what else to see and do in Istanbul and Turkey.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A long day but well worth the effort. The local guide was very knowledgble and we came away feeling we had really seen the main areas of conflict and learnt an amazing amount about both the lead up to the battle and how it unfolded.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

As an Australian, this trip held special significance for my wife and I. Overall tour was very well organised. The guide was very helpful, knowledgeable and genuinely nice person. All the main sites were visited and we had plenty of time to contemplate the sacrifices of the ANZAC force under the appalling direction of the English. Only negative was the food side of things. Petrol station food for breakfast and dinner was very ordinary. More than happy to pay for quality meals however, when there was no other alternative for evening meal, we went hungry rather than eat petrol station café rubbish!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was operated by a big reputable Turkish Tour company. Our guide Can was excellent, his knowledge and enthusiasm was outstanding, he had so much information on every site we visited that it saved me hours and hours of research. The driver was also excellent, very safe and polite. The sites were all the big sites I wanted to see, we were delivered to the doorstop, tickets were pre-purchased, no waiting. The accommodation varied from good to terrible. The Iris was adequate, the Marina in Kusadasi was good, the Colossale in Pamukkale was old and tired and too far out of town and the BurcuKaya in Cappadocia was not a bad hotel but we got the worst rooms there. Dirty, dark, small, not acceptable. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were adequate, the lunches at the rest stops were better, fresh local, well priced lunches with clean toilets. My one criticism of the tour was the HARD SELL stops we had. The carpet tour was interesting but incredibly Hard Sell, the Leather tour was long, a waste of valuable time and Hard Sell of extremely overpriced coats, the wine tasting was OK, not too long, the ceramics show was another very overpriced Hard Sell as was the turquoise showroom. Fez travel must be getting some serious kickbacks from these places. Overall the tour was enjoyable and informative, as a single woman travelling on my own it was fantastic and safe. I would highly recommend the tour and thought it was good value.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very helpful tour guide a lot to see at Gallipoli, but the tour was well organised to fit most of it in

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A great tour if you want to see some of the sights of Western Turkey with the convenience of starting and ending in Istanbul and without having to fly. Our guide was very helpful whilst still giving us plenty of space and free time, he seemed genuinely interested to tell us about the history and politics of Turkey and clearly very proud of his country which made all the sites very interesting. Highlights were the carpet co-operative, Ephesus and Pergamum with the only lowlight the fashion show at the leather factory which just wasn't appropriate for our group. The hotels and facilities on the bus were excellent and Turkey in general felt very safe and comfortable for a single female traveller.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

I enjoyed this trip although it is a very long day. he guide was quite knowledgeable about both the Australian and Turkish sides of the conflicts and we saw most of the key points of interest.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide who had a lot of knowledge about both Troy and Gallipoli. Itinerary was very good. Only gripes were our hotel too noisy lunch on second day same as first day but inferior and choice of dinner stop not good at all. Still would thoroughly recommend the tour though, especially to Anzacs. Great value for money.

Doing what: 2-Day Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

my guide was so amazing! full of knowledge of everything to do with Turkey. I was in a small tour which made it a lot better and intermit. confirmation call was very difficult, the person I spoke to kept repeating the same questions so I put I put him on with a Turkish man in my hostel and we still had no luck, my mother had to call viator directly from Australia for my pick up time. I was not impressed.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Gallipoli itself was definitely worth the trip. Something I'm glad I did, however the guide was not good at all. He kept pestering us to ask and answer questions rather than guiding and giving information. And when he did give info he was very difficult to understand. Would not use Fez Travel again

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable day and it was Great to see the Battlefields

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable day and it was Great to see the Battlefields

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great mix of the historical, cultural and social. I feel like I got to see and experience a great deal of Turkey within a week. Everything was planned well. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was 1 of the best value tour I've bought on Viator.com or any other sites. My best friend and I were on this tour in May of 2015 and we both loved it. There were some minor issues but considering the value that we got for the price paid, it was an excellent deal.

The pros:
Breakfasts and dinners were included on most days - all were buffet style where after getting your food, you'll sit at 2-3 big tables and get to know your other tour members. For the most part, the food were quite good - especially the vegetarian and salad options.
There were about 20 tour members in our tour group - from all over the world - all of whom you'll get to know quite well by the tour's end.
For a medium sized tour group like ours, we had a pretty good tour guide Ahmet and an excellent driver. We toured around in a big, white, clean bus that was air-conditioned, lots of space and had free WI-FI. Yes... free wi-fi! Granted, the wi-fi can be slow and not always reliable but it was still nice to have!
At the start, you'll receive a welcome package with the schedule and other useful information. BTW, tips for the tour guide and driver are not included and so, save some Turkish Lira for their fine efforts - the welcome kit will have some suggested amount to tip.

The cons:
If you're a meat eater, the included meals might disappoint you in terms of average quality and lack of variety of meat dishes available. For us, the great vegetarian dishes more than made up for it and we didn't miss the meat dishes as much.
Although the hotels were rated 4 or 5 stars, I would say that the hotels were more like 3 to 4 stars on a scale of 1 to 5 stars. Just adjust your expectations like we did and you'll be fine too.
You're on a schedule and won't get too much time at any 1 spot. The tour guide will bring you inside all attractions and provide some background with some free time to wander around.

In summary, many historical and beautiful sites on a wonderful tour!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

When I saw the price for the tour, I said that cannot be true its probably a scam. However I booked for it and it was not a scam. I was really surprised and amazed by the tour we took during the last week of May 2015. The tour was composed of about 20 people between 17 to over 65 years old from the entire world. The bus was big so every person was able to have two seats for himself. I had the best tour guide I have ever had in my entire travelling life. She was amazing and she was very nice. Her name is Perihan aka Perri. We visited most of Turkeys wonders. She took us to other places not listed on the schedule which is nice from her. She has a lot of knowledge about Turkeys history, culture, climate, resources and religion. She knows her country very well. She answers any questions you ask her, so dont be shy to ask. She was always positive. She was adventurous because she would go everywhere despite her pregnancy. The tour was more than what I initially expected. The price was not very high for everything we did and got. The hot air balloon ride in Cappadoccia and Pamukkale are the highlights of my trip. The hotels we were in for the nights were 4 and 5 star hotels that had amazing services such as breakfast and dinner. We had long bus rides, but the bus was comfortable. The only advice I would give you is to bring a pillow with you and a small blanket in order to be fully comfortable. Finally, the price, the bus, the service, the driver, the guide and the tour is totally recommended for anyone seeking to visit the beauty of Turkey in 7 days. On a side note, the tour does not include a visit to Istanbul so you should reserve at least 2-3 days to visit it. If you have more time in Turkey, you can go to Antalya and visit its beauty such as Aspendos, Perge, Side , water falls I was in Turkey for two weeks but they were not enough.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message