Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Bazaar (Kapali Carsi)

The Grand Bazaar, or Kapali Carsi, is the mother of all markets, a treasure trove of gifts, souvenirs, essentials and fripperies. Heading into the cavernous bazaar from the daylight, it takes a minute for your eyes to adjust to this Arabian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1397 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour hits all the main awesome spots. A little bit of walking which I don't mind. Best part was our tour guide. Was very informative and knowledgeable about the history and current stuff. Great tour.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Firass H Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Amazing tour! Me and my friend were extremely happy we booked this tour! Our guide Gokalp was so friendly and helpful..he gave us lot of decent informations about istanbul and #39;s history and hot spots..we enjoyed the walk through the city and the bosphorus cruise! Thanks Gokalp!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Shamimi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A lot of information shared by the guide and she seemed very experienced. This tour is a must-go especially for short-stayers as it covered the important places to visit in Istanbul.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Regan D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour was nice! It was exactly what I was looking for since I was only in Istanbul for a short time. Due to this though it meant that we did not have much time to spend at each location and therefore I had a lot of questions. Although my tour guide was willing to answer the questions I got the feeling that he found my questions annoying and often would not let me finish before he started to answer. The true purpose of the tour was to get as much out of my short time in Istanbul as possible including information otherwise I could have walked the 5 minutes from my hotel to all the locations we visits. Worth it but wish the tour guide had provided more information and welcomed my questions more.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

gigeorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! Despite having a small group of 8 - the expectations were all quite unique. The guide ensured that everyone had the time needed at their particular place of interest and set meeting and alternate places to view in the meantime. He maintained complete supervision of the entire group and everyone was happy! It is the best way to see Istanbul in a day - we combined this tour with the Skip the Line Hard Rock Café Istanbul which made for a very interesting day - going from the Old City to the New city.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Sheila O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you want an in-depth, personal, well researched tour of Istanbul you have found the ideal company with passionate and charismatic guides!

From start to finish our guide Hakan made this an incredible experience. A warm and friendly start to the tour, we made little use of the incredibly luxurious bus but had access to it at any point that we required it. Hakan was passionate about the city and its history, his knowledge was matched by his charisma and the ease of his manner. He fitted an incredible amount into one day without us ever feeling rushed or pressurised.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Corina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was really great and perfect. Dillan our guide was awesome. We visited places we had never find without her.
It was such a cool tour that we booked the next day the next tour again by Dillan the food tour. Also very interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was prompt. Driver and car were excellent. Tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable . Excellent excellent. I will use you again!!!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Michael I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. We were able to go to front of line and was able to get most of highlights in one day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Anneke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I can highly recommend the private sightseeing tour in Istanbul. Luck also did play a crucial part in our day as there was snow on the day of our tour, which transformed Istanbul into a winter wonderland for the day.
Our tour guide Ilker Ulus was very knowledgable and friendly and took us to see all the relevant tourist attractions such as the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Topikapi Palace. What was great about this tour however was the fact that we were also shown lesser known attractions such as the Cisterns- where a scene from the James Bond movie From Russia With Love was filmed and a private pottery demonstration in a family owned shop that has been around for generations.
We we're also treated to a lovely three course Turkish meal- this was one of the highlights of the day. Ilker also took us to the Spice Market in town and introduced us to some of his local friends that have one of the finest establishments in the market. We bought some of the best Turkish Delight we had ever had as well as other Turkish delicacies ask Ilker to recommend some treats!.

What made this tour great for our family was the flexibility of the tour and Ilker. We could decide what we wanted to do after seeing all the main attractions and Ilker had a great knowledge of all the things that we were interested in. Ilker ended up taking us to a leather factory store that supplies many of the famous Italian brands.
This tour is an absolute must and the guide, Ilker is also highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Anneke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I can highly recommend the private sightseeing tour in Istanbul. Luck also did play a crucial part in our day as there was snow on the day of our tour, which transformed Istanbul into a winter wonderland for the day.
Our tour guide Ilker Ulus was very knowledgable and friendly and took us to see all the relevant tourist attractions such as the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Topikapi Palace. What was great about this tour however was the fact that we were also shown lesser known attractions such as the Cisterns- where a scene from the James Bond movie From Russia With Love was filmed and a private pottery demonstration in a family owned shop that has been around for generations.
We we're also treated to a lovely three course Turkish meal- this was one of the highlights of the day. Ilker also took us to the Spice Market in town and introduced us to some of his local friends that have one of the finest establishments in the market. We bought some of the best Turkish Delight we had ever had as well as other Turkish delicacies ask Ilker to recommend some treats!.

What made this tour great for our family was the flexibility of the tour and Ilker. We could decide what we wanted to do after seeing all the main attractions and Ilker had a great knowledge of all the things that we were interested in. Ilker ended up taking us to a leather factory store that supplies many of the famous Italian brands.
This tour is an absolute must and the guide, Ilker is also highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Md Golam Sarwar B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I'd taken the private tour since we were travelling with a baby and did not want to cause other people slowdown and we thought we needed a dedicated car. However, as the tour started in one place and almost all the activity centered around the Sultan Ahmet area, we really didn't need the dedicated car. The cost of the car was probably not required but since I did not know better, it was money wasted. The guide took us to the areas identified on the tour and accomodated our speed. All was good except for the visit to the Carpet shop in the end where we spent a lot more time than I would have anticipated and as such there was not much time left to go spend at the Grand Bazar. The guide was obviously tired and showed signs of annoyance when we were stopping at different shops in the Bazar. It was already past 5:30 so I let her go as she was not really helping with the shopping and was giving attitude and trying to rush us. If I was to do this next time, I'd probably try and arrange this differently by getting to an area by myself and using a guide to see the local sights of that area.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Asanga T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Worse experienced ever. They never came to pick us up from our hotel. Even thought they confirmed us their on the way when we called and checked them for several times. Finally last call was like, we are sorry we started the tour without you. So disappointed.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Graniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and the guide, Tibet, is very informative! I definitely recommend this tour for people visiting Istanbul!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Ana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything was perfect!
Zuleyha was very nice and knowledgeable. She took us to all the great sights and secret spots in the city. The tour lasted the whole day. Perfect if you really want to get to know the city and see all the attractions. We finished the tour and booked another one right there because it was so great.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Lolita V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour guide her name is July is very knowledgeable about all the places we visited. Everyone should avail of this tour when you are in Istanbul. The included lunch is just okay.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Vincent K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I was lucky to be on this tour alone. The guide, Dilan Can, made it worthwhile by her excellent knowledge of the historical sites and captivating explanations. I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants to visit the main sites on the European side of Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Joyce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour gave us a great overview of the city and the major sites. We did it our first day and it was helpful for navigation during the 3 days we were there. We also saw some back streets and went up on a rooftop and looked over the city which was exciting and an amazing view. The tour ended in the Istafakal area and we took that opportunity to explore and eat dinner there. Our guide was very good.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although there was quite a downpour on the day of the tour, our small group was able to visit all the sites listed. My favorite was the Basilica Cistern! The tour guide provided quality information and service, as did the driver. We were able to skip the lines at most locations, and our lunch was delicious too! Although none in our group was interested in purchasing an expensive rug near the end of the tour, the visit to the rug shop was interesting as was the walk through the Grand Bazaar. I highly recommend this tour to anyone stopping in or traveling through Istanbul!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I saw the Hitman and Taken 2 a movie and said to myself that one day I would go to those temples. I realized my dream and Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, and the Basilica Cistern did not disappoint. I am a student of Roman history and geography and I can honestly say that books do not do justice to the real thing.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Vlad L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour with Akin was wonderful! There were only four of us and the whole experience was very personable and fun. Akin from the local tour operator is very knowledgeable and he showed / explained a lot of things outside of what and #39;s required by the tour.

Would certainly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Carlos P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We were very lucky to have the same tour guide for this tour, once again his knowledge about Istanbul was outstanding, we learned a lot and we are making plans to return to Turkey again.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message