Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Bazaar (Kapali Carsi)

The Grand Bazaar, or Kapali Carsi, is the mother of all markets, a treasure trove of gifts, souvenirs, essentials and fripperies. Heading into the cavernous bazaar from the daylight, it takes a minute for your eyes to adjust to this Arabian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1448 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francisco A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The local company was very reliable, they pick us up in a new Mercedes Benz Luxury van for Us only, just on time, great driver. we pick up our tour guide Mrs. Gulay Gunay, close to our first destination place, from the beginning she was a wonderful lady, she show us very energetic with great knowledge of the history I have a pretty good knowledge of history too, answer all questions take us pictures, show us the best angles to take ours, also help my wife with the camera and her I pad. thanks to her our travel was so wonderful that we insist and granted in second private tour with her the next day. I can recommend this tour company any time in Istanbul, and in specialty my guide Mrs. Gulay Gunay.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Jamal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide Tibet was simply outstanding in terms of her knowledge and was very helpful and supportive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Ali H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour by all means! Our tour guide Tibet was awesome and gave us a great experience. Would recommend it without hesitation

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

S M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an essential tour of seeing Istanbul's grandest buildings in a day. We were picked up from the hotel by our guide Tibet who was very nice and friendly. She presented a clear programme of the day and how we were proceed.
We were in the Topkapi grounds before 09 Am. This was an excellent time to be there as there were not many people and we had the place mainly to ourselves and a few other people. Tibet was really knowledgeable about Topkapi and provided a mix of historical guidance and then some free time for us to explore on our own. This was a short 2 hour trip of Topkapi but to be fair you could spend a day here...some many treasures to explore. I especially enjoyed the Holy Relics room and the Treasury. Topkapi was followed by the grand Ayasofia which provided a stunning glimpse of how Istanbul has been at the cross roads of civilizations. Again Tibet provided us an excellent historical overview and the timeline. We then saw the Basillica Cistern which in my mind was less grand but they did film From Russia with Love here so worth a visit. After the Basilica Cistern we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant - this I must say was a let down especially for the kids as they wanted pasta rather then the chicken grill - they brought more of less boiled pasta and chips. After lunch we saw the grand Sultanahmet Blue Mosque which is an architectural master piece...we then proceeded in the car to the Grand Bazaar which was fascinating however, i did find some of the shops extraordinarily expensive - especially the leather ones typical carpet seller technique , starting with really high prices and then coming down significantly. On the whole the day was excellent. Tibet was one the best guides I have been with, she knew her stuff and was also flexible around the needs of family with kids - she connected well with the children. Neon travels really need to work on the lunch aspect as it was not good value for money. Would recommend this tour none the less.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tobias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good guide, good logistics, great places. After the tour, make sure you have some time on your own just strolling around on your own to let it all sink in and reflect on the many great things!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

David N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great way to see this fabulous city. You definitely need more than one day. Our tour guide, Omer Boran, from Neon Travel was fabulous. A seasoned guide you adjusted the day to get you ahead of the cruise ship tours. He was very knowledgeable, very articulate, and gave us time to see the artifacts at our own pace. Would definitely recommend this tour and guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Nyssa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such as great tour and an amazing way to see the city. Alp was a great guide, the Hagia Sophia was closed on the day of our visit, so instead he took us to different areas of the city which I revisited over my stay in Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

a.abdalla4

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

perfect tour, the most important points of Istanbul, liked Yasemin our guide very much, she was very informative and helpful.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Hani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tipit Sp? was a great guide and the tour was very well organized. Transportation was great, and prompt. Getting to see the major sites in one day is a great thing, and we loved walking around! Recommended it to all!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Shelly L. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding! We were the only 2 people on this tour. We were picked up on time at our hotel and our tour guide Gulay Gunay was amazing. Her English was very clear, her knowledge of the sights fascinating and she was very accommodating. Perfect way to see this city. Istanbul is safe and a very clean city. Shop keepers take pride in their city and are constantly sweeping the sidewalks in front of their shops. A wonderful place to visit, steeped in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide, vehicle and detail were all extraordinary - not to be missed

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Tibet, was absolutely outstanding. She was extremely knowledgeable about each of the sites and knew so much about the history of Istanbul. She was charming, and by the end of the day we felt we had a new friend. My husband and I highly recommend this tour and our guide. We were picked up right on time at our hotel and had a marvelous day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

lupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a perfect tour. Included the most highlighted icons of Istanbul, visited in a tied schedule but enough for knowing the most important things about the city. Perfect for one day tour. The guide Tibet, was great, talked about the history of each icon but also comment about currently facts of Istanbul. Very clear, perfect english and so friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Linda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Incredible Istanbul - This was an exhilarating day full of wonders and unforgettable experiences. Our guide Erkut was absolutely delightful. As advertised we visited the Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Cistern, the Grand Bazar, the spice market and enjoyed a delicious Turkish lunch. Erkut provided just the right amount of information about the history of this fascinating city. Our cruise along the Bosphorous during the last part of the day was an excellent opportunity to sit and relax and exchange information.
Highly recommended for a full day of exploring Istanbul.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

elsavdbyl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Jassemen was wonderful. She made the tour personal and we all became friends quite quickly. She was very informative and knowledgable about the history of Istanbul,and inserted personal anecdotes, making the tour a really fun experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Jose M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour covered everything to see if only a day in town, was good. The carpet factory part was interesting but a bit disappointing to be spending time with people trying to sell us rugs.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

willhauck

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tour and great tour guide. BUT A LOT OF WALKING! I thought there could have been some pick up and drop off between locations though.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

willhauck

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Interesting tour and great tour guide. BUT A LOT OF WALKING! I thought there could have been some pick up and drop off between locations though.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Nigel H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Very good guide Ms Tibet. All sights visited. Good weather no crowds.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Warren W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Would have given it 5 stars except very angry at the 'cultural' stop at rug sellers where we were aggressively strong armed to buy rugs. Guide basically sat back and let the shake down unfold. Left very bad impression after what would have been a perfect tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Omesh S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

They had no record my purchase, had to send them copies, Did not return money as Hagia Sophia was closed on the day of tour

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

JOEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour started with a welcoming smile by our guide Ms. Gulay. She showed and enlightened us of the muslim culture and history. Very knowledgeable guide with high respect to the people she is touring with. Her knowledge of her heritage and culture showed she has honors and dignity of her country.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message