Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Grand Bazaar (Kapali Carsi)

The Grand Bazaar, or Kapali Carsi, is the mother of all markets, a treasure trove of gifts, souvenirs, essentials and fripperies. Heading into the cavernous bazaar from the daylight, it takes a minute for your eyes to adjust to this Arabian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1051 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Although the weather did not play game - it was pouring with rain, the sights was awesome. Our guide was well informed and kept an eye on us all. The highlight for me was for sure Hagia Sophia, and the carpets of tulips seen all over. Well worth it thnx

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were picked up promptly at our hotel. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the tour very much because of his expertise. Our lunch was delightful. It was a great tour and I would recommend it to all.
Ginny Mangum

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really great way to spend the day- it was a long tour, and at times it was hard to listen, but the guide was very informative and gave us a great tour of the old city in one day. Would highly recommend

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Gulay was a wonderful guide and we truly enjoyed our day with her! About the right amount of time was spent in each location and the lunch was quite nice in a restaurant near the Underground Cisterns. This was our 3rd time to Istanbul and it was much more relaxed having a guide with us. We were able to take advantage of the shorter guided tour lines which gave us additional time at each site. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Have never had a tour and tour guide with such a vast store of knowledge. Highly recommended.
One small negative. There us a lot to see and too much to cover in this one tour and there are huge crowds and long lines st every point of interest

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an amazing tour! It had most of the main attractions in Istanbul that are a must to see. Gulay our travel guide was great, very informative and friendly! Two thumbs up!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Small group, excellent tour guide. Nice lunch. Overall very enjoyable. Only one point of developmental feedback: Didn't get the right information before the trip, which let to me being let for pick up.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Covered all the main attractions, guide very knowledgeable in very clear English, lunch break most welcome as there was a lot of walking and standing in queues to enter Mosques, however it is the only way to see Istanbul highlights.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good tour, saw everything we wanted to see. Guide very good and easy to understand.

Transport on time. Lunch good.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour with personable and knowledgeable guide with the surprise bonus of seeing the underground cisterns.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A great tour to see the most historic places in the city in one day with queue skipping. I highly recommend this tour, great value, great tour guide.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It's a must for any first timer in the city.

The tour is really nice and it is worth it specially in avoiding the long long waiting in the tickets line as you will get to skip all that.

Our tour guide is a really nice guy with really great information about all the attractions we visited and ready to answer any questions about them.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! We got to see pretty much all the key highlights of Istanbul in one day. Guneysp?, our tour guide was so awesome, very friendly, outgoing and knows the city inside and out. The restaurant they took us for lunch was soooo good, in fact we went back for lunch couple of days after. The variety of food was great, we got to have a taste all the different kinds of Turkish food. The vendors they took us to at the grand bazaar were great, especially at the spice bazaar, we bought so many spices! It can be overwhelming in the bazaar with all the shops and people but the tour guides made us feel very comfortable the whole time. They gave us tips on what to do and answered all of our questions. The cruise was fantastic, took us along the Bospherous. We did the tour on the first full day that we got to Instanbul, which was the best decision we made because it allowed us to get familiar with the city and how to get around. Highly recommend this tour to anybody! On our whole Trip visited Italy as well, this Istanbul Tour was our favorite by far!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely loved this one, such a great tour, taking in all the best spots of Istanbul. Hagia Sophia was just magnificent. Katarina was such a wonderful guide, informing us of so many different aspects and whatever we asked - she had an answer for. If you can ask for a particular guide - Katarina is my recommendation - you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Private Half-day Tour: Imperial Istanbul - Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful day out seeing all the main sights of the old city. The guide was great and did her very best to make sure we tackled the sights in the order which would mean least queuing. The old part of the city was very busy on the day we went, mostly caused by a number of cruise ships being in the port and the fact that many of the streets, and the underground system, in the city had been closed the previous day due to the May Day protests. To add to the chaos the President was in town and some streets were closed off again !
All of the sights were wonderful though, and the lunch was good too. We even got the chance, as part of the tour, to see how hand-woven carpets are made.Leave your credit card at home though. Some of them cost up to 30,000, not surprising as they took years to make !!!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent overview of major sites.I'm really glad we did itvas we would not have seen as much or learned as much on our own. Be aware that it involves a great deal of rapid walking, steps, and as is common in Europe many uneven walkways. it's not for someone with mobility issues.

Negatives were that the guide was not very tall and her way of showing us where she was was to wave a folded map over her head. A flag or unopened umbrella would have been easier to spot in the crowds. When pointing out things she needs to point and then face us again to speak as talking in the direction of the attraction makes it impossible to hear.

The company that Viator contracts with in Turkey has been around for decades and appears to be an excellent company. I would use that company and Viator again.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This is a nice experience because all the most imp sight seeing establishments we saw in one day. Though the guide walks to fast the fact that other people of the group were left behind because we want to take pictures in some places. Though he was very accommodating because my mother couldn't join the trip and he called the bus and brought her back to the hotel. He is very knowledgable in all the historical background of the tour.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was fine. Our guide however needs to be replaced. He was on his phone all the time. Plus he walked fast and did not look back very often. There was a woman who had difficulty walking and she was always lagging behind.he should've been more considerate.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Went to three sites first then had lunch, then bazaar, which I felt was a little too tiring. There was no coffee break at all so we were all getting tired and hungry. There was not enough time spent in each one so felt that one site could be dropped from this tour, maybe the bazaar as that is the last thing that you had the energy for at the end of a long day. Also went to a carpet showroom which was a complete waste of time for us as carpets were in the thousands of pounds!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Sight seeing portion of the trip was OK although I did not know that it was a walking tour and I have a knee impairment.
Lunch was a total waste of time and money.
Substitute for the Grand Bazaar portions was an absolute waste of my time. The idea of selecting this tour was to shop. Did none of that.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message