Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Hippodrome (At Meydani)

Originally built in the third century, the Hippodrome of Constantinople was the sporting and cultural center of the former Byzantine capital for over 1,000 years. With a U-shaped race track and two levels of spectator galleries, the Hippodrome ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1415 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joseph C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour hits all the main awesome spots. A little bit of walking which I don't mind. Best part was our tour guide. Was very informative and knowledgeable about the history and current stuff. Great tour.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Anneke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I can highly recommend the private sightseeing tour in Istanbul. Luck also did play a crucial part in our day as there was snow on the day of our tour, which transformed Istanbul into a winter wonderland for the day.
Our tour guide Ilker Ulus was very knowledgable and friendly and took us to see all the relevant tourist attractions such as the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Topikapi Palace. What was great about this tour however was the fact that we were also shown lesser known attractions such as the Cisterns- where a scene from the James Bond movie From Russia With Love was filmed and a private pottery demonstration in a family owned shop that has been around for generations.
We we're also treated to a lovely three course Turkish meal- this was one of the highlights of the day. Ilker also took us to the Spice Market in town and introduced us to some of his local friends that have one of the finest establishments in the market. We bought some of the best Turkish Delight we had ever had as well as other Turkish delicacies ask Ilker to recommend some treats!.

What made this tour great for our family was the flexibility of the tour and Ilker. We could decide what we wanted to do after seeing all the main attractions and Ilker had a great knowledge of all the things that we were interested in. Ilker ended up taking us to a leather factory store that supplies many of the famous Italian brands.
This tour is an absolute must and the guide, Ilker is also highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Anneke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I can highly recommend the private sightseeing tour in Istanbul. Luck also did play a crucial part in our day as there was snow on the day of our tour, which transformed Istanbul into a winter wonderland for the day.
Our tour guide Ilker Ulus was very knowledgable and friendly and took us to see all the relevant tourist attractions such as the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Topikapi Palace. What was great about this tour however was the fact that we were also shown lesser known attractions such as the Cisterns- where a scene from the James Bond movie From Russia With Love was filmed and a private pottery demonstration in a family owned shop that has been around for generations.
We we're also treated to a lovely three course Turkish meal- this was one of the highlights of the day. Ilker also took us to the Spice Market in town and introduced us to some of his local friends that have one of the finest establishments in the market. We bought some of the best Turkish Delight we had ever had as well as other Turkish delicacies ask Ilker to recommend some treats!.

What made this tour great for our family was the flexibility of the tour and Ilker. We could decide what we wanted to do after seeing all the main attractions and Ilker had a great knowledge of all the things that we were interested in. Ilker ended up taking us to a leather factory store that supplies many of the famous Italian brands.
This tour is an absolute must and the guide, Ilker is also highly recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Michael I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour. We were able to go to front of line and was able to get most of highlights in one day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guide was prompt. Driver and car were excellent. Tour guide spoke very good English and was very knowledgeable . Excellent excellent. I will use you again!!!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Sheila O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

If you want an in-depth, personal, well researched tour of Istanbul you have found the ideal company with passionate and charismatic guides!

From start to finish our guide Hakan made this an incredible experience. A warm and friendly start to the tour, we made little use of the incredibly luxurious bus but had access to it at any point that we required it. Hakan was passionate about the city and its history, his knowledge was matched by his charisma and the ease of his manner. He fitted an incredible amount into one day without us ever feeling rushed or pressurised.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

gigeorge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was amazing! Despite having a small group of 8 - the expectations were all quite unique. The guide ensured that everyone had the time needed at their particular place of interest and set meeting and alternate places to view in the meantime. He maintained complete supervision of the entire group and everyone was happy! It is the best way to see Istanbul in a day - we combined this tour with the Skip the Line Hard Rock Café Istanbul which made for a very interesting day - going from the Old City to the New city.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Vlad L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour with Akin was wonderful! There were only four of us and the whole experience was very personable and fun. Akin from the local tour operator is very knowledgeable and he showed / explained a lot of things outside of what and #39;s required by the tour.

Would certainly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I saw the Hitman and Taken 2 a movie and said to myself that one day I would go to those temples. I realized my dream and Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Grand Bazaar, and the Basilica Cistern did not disappoint. I am a student of Roman history and geography and I can honestly say that books do not do justice to the real thing.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

D D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although there was quite a downpour on the day of the tour, our small group was able to visit all the sites listed. My favorite was the Basilica Cistern! The tour guide provided quality information and service, as did the driver. We were able to skip the lines at most locations, and our lunch was delicious too! Although none in our group was interested in purchasing an expensive rug near the end of the tour, the visit to the rug shop was interesting as was the walk through the Grand Bazaar. I highly recommend this tour to anyone stopping in or traveling through Istanbul!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Lolita V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was an excellent tour. The tour guide her name is July is very knowledgeable about all the places we visited. Everyone should avail of this tour when you are in Istanbul. The included lunch is just okay.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Graniel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and the guide, Tibet, is very informative! I definitely recommend this tour for people visiting Istanbul!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

sumerixmj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you only have a day or two in Istanbul this is the tour for you. We saw all the main sites with an excellent guide who really knew her history and art. We toured from 8:30 am until 4:30 so it was a long day. We walked every where so wear comfortable shoes. The included lunch was great at a local restaurant. Hagia Sophia was amazing.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

pat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent guide who provided in-depth information about the city of Istanbul, its history and culture, historical sites, and especially its people. A full day for sure catching the top venues of the Old City. My only disappointment was missing the Spice Bazaar - perhaps less time in the Grand Bazaar the next time? Overall, exceeded our expectations. Thank you!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Elise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour. We had a great day with our guide Hakan. He was excellent! Lovely day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Dawn K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The best way to see Istanbul in one day! Our guide Omar was very knowledgeable and we were able to go right to the beginning of the lines with him. Such a beautiful city with a rich history.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Mr M S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a brilliant trip the Omar from Neon travel who took us around really made the day great he was very knowledgeable about all of the places we went we got to see all the main sites that anyone would want to see it really made my trip great. I also booked a trip on the Bosphorus with them whicjh was also really good.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

MG B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good and the guide was very helpful
Lunch was very good

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Charlotte R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Gulay was one of the best tour guides I've ever met and this tour was incredible to say the least. There were only two of us on the tour travel in the off season! so the entire experience was very personal. I felt like we had more than enough time in each one of the destinations, although I did go back to the Blue Mosque again to explore a bit more. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone looking for a comprehensive tour of all the sights in the Old City of Istanbul!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very knowledgeable guide and very enjoyable day. Thank you!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Marguerite L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent
Good experience
I recommand it

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia Museum and the Blue Mosque

Rabia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent Tour! Highly recommend this. Very good tour group size. Our guide Umer was exceptionally well versed with the history of Istanbul and it's monuments. A well planned tour!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message