Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Historic Areas of Istanbul

The Historic Areas of Istanbul were added the UNESCO World Heritage list in 1985. The designation includes sites such as the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Galata Bridge and Suleymaniye Mosque and is divided into four zones: the Archaeological Park ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a great great time! Abdullah was a really nice, relaxed, and knowledgeable tour guide. We happened to be a very mixed group with people from India, Brazil, Nigeria and us from Honduras. Delicious food and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide was wonderful. His knowledge of the subject matter was impressive and he was easy to understand.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was very nice and well organized. The Egyptian market was really interesting and colorful. The cruise on the Bosphorus was beautiful. Unfortunately, the weather was not very good on the day that we have done it and so the view from the boat was not optimal, but we were lucky enough to see dolphins and so we were very happy anyway.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

time was sufficient. Tours in the spice bazar was limited but worth the time spent on the Bosphorus

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Pauline D
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Brilliant weather for a great trip to the Spice Market and the Bosphorus Cruise. The courier was extremely knowledgeable and very interesting about the history of Istanbul. The Spice Market is absolutely brilliant, for us, better than the Grand Bazaar! This was followed by a trip over the river to the Asian side of Istanbul to join a boat cruise up the Bosphorus. The boat was not overcrowded so we were able to move around easily plus enjoy a drink from the cafeteria. The commentary was very interesting, explaining about the Golden Horn and pointing out the famous Palaces and Castles.
On our return to the European side of Istanbul we left the coach at the Spice Market and spent the rest of the afternoon browsing and purchasing teas, nougat, turkish delight and many spices. Excellent!!!

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Picked up at time arranged at city hotel and taken on the tour. The tour was well organised and guides excellent.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

David P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour if you have very little time in Istanbul and want to see the major sites in Sultanhamet in one day. Our guide was very good, had all the answers to our questions and really knew his history of all the major sites.Made the history come to life. Lunch was very nice at a restaurant within walking distance of our hotel. It is a long day so be prepared to be on your feet for most of the day but it is not strenuous at all. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Istanbul Small-Group Walking Tour: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pick up was late but understandable due to the heavy traffic. The cruise sightseeing was breath taking and the weather was gorgeous.

Doing what: Istanbul City Tour with Bosphorus Strait Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message