Istiklal Street, known in Turkish as Istiklal Caddesi, is one of the most well-known avenues in Istanbul.  Stretching for about three kilometers, it is the main pedestrian thoroughfare in the city and welcomes as many as 3 million visitors on any ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I went on the tour with Tuncer on May 14, 2015. He is an art historian who has vast knowledge of Turkish Art. Since I was the only attendee for the tour, I had a personal guide through the contemporary turkish art scene. We visited various art galleries starting from Istiklai Street. Tuncer explained the each exhibition even the history of building where the exhibition was held. We visited an artist's studio where he painted. It was amazing to see how the artist brought his vision to life. We walked through the different streets where to see the daily life of people in Istanbul from upcoming trendy streets to residential areas. It was great to get a feel of the local life. Then we went to Istanbul Modern Art Museum. It has a great view looking over the other side of the Istanbul across the ocean. The pieces in the museum were intriguing and displayed the current interests of Turkish contemporary art. The tour covered not only the Turkish art, yet also guided through the turkish daily life and their interests. It was one of the best experiences I had in Turkey. Thanks to Tuncer for his incredible guidance!

Doing what: Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, Beyoglu and Istanbul Modern Art Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An unusual unique walk that art lovers should consider the guide was knowledgable, passionate, energetic and was always helpful and able to answer questions. This walk takes you around places, little galleries and museums that are not as widely advertised as the overcrowded and overestimated Sultanahmet district. It shows the vibrant contemporary part of Istanbul that is also notable and worth seeing into.

Doing what: Modern Art Tour of Istanbul: Istiklal Street, Beyoglu and Istanbul Modern Art Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Guide Lila was fantastic. super cute, energetic, knowledgable about the Taksim area. She took us to some very good local eateries including the best baklava and coffee. We really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great tour guide and a great tour to food places few tourists would find without this guide.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was excellent. It was more than just food culture. It was Turkish culture and food. The guide was excellent. We learned so much about the culture and history and how they are expressed today through food, family and life in general. My daughters said it was the best of the 2 tours that we took because we were able to get out and interact with "real" people and not just other tourists and the local salesmen.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We really enjoyed the tour and thought the guide was good. It was more a cultural tour than a food tour. We visited 4 churches, all different and interesting. We had lunch which was great and tasted some Turkish delight. Based on the description we thought there would be more opportunity to taste a variety of foods.
The walk through all the back streets and lanes took us to parts we would not otherwise have visited and was very interesting.
We had been given poor advice and it took us longer to reach the starting point but we were grateful the guide waited for us.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

Prezzman
United Arab Emirates

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Our tour guide, Mehmet, was a young local lad - knowledgeable and well spoken. The tour takes you down Istikhlal street up to the Galata Tower and back. Since my family were the only ones for the tour, our tour was hassle free. Our guide was informative and recommended places to shop or dine where you could get the best quality or price. Note that the walk down Istikhlal street is fine, but coming back up could be slightly difficult as it is on an incline.

If you are not comfortable traveling on your own and exploring new places, this would be a good tour to get you familiarized with one of the most popular areas of Istanbul, where you can come back and explore on your own pace after the tour. If you are OK exploring places on your own, then I would give this tour a miss.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

Sharon Z
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

Guide was knowledgeable, we were given an incorrect start time so arrive one hour early.... Our problem but we did not read that we had to buy any samples sp she took us to places, explained the food then onto the next place. The odd thing was when we went back to those same places every single store gave us a sample when we asked! We had been on an amazing food tour in Paris and expected the same. Tour lasted a bare two hours, not the 3 to 4.

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

Robyn C
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

Certainly not the best food tour we have done. Did not get to taste a lot of Turkish food. Did lot of walking through different districts but did not learn much of the Turkish culture. Disappointed

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

Although the walking tour of the Taksim area was perfectly pleasant, it was not the food tour I was anticipating. My first clue was that the tour was scheduled for 8:30 on Sunday morning when the majority of restaurants and shops are closed

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

I had signed up for a 4 hour food tour but we we had was a 2 hour city sights tour. Unfortunately, we had already seen most of the sites on another tour. The guide however was very nice and knowledgable. She was just evidently told to give the wrong tour!

Doing what: Istanbul Food and Culture Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message