Once a small village, Ortakoy is now a neighborhood in the Besiktas district on the European side of Istanbul. With a plethora of bars, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs, Ortakoy buzzes with locals and tourists alike and is a great place to spend a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with a very interesting and informative guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

FIrst I want to give the highest praise for our delightful,knowledgeable helpful, sweet, chic,friendly tour guide, Mine pronounced Meenay (hope her name is correct) This is a must see for anyone interested in Jewish Heritage. Our tour was half a day and fine for us.we had read of one dissatisfied traveller's opinion and were concerned. We were so interested in the three Synagogues we saw. Each with a different story. at Neve Shalom the Rabbi himself met with us. The tour for two was so well organized with our guide and driver. I don't know how much you want to read but The tour as set is wonderful and then we were given options of certain sites to see. A tour is a must as it is difficult to get from one area to another unless someone really directs you and takes you. It was surprising to learn that the Neve Shalom Synagogue ( I am pretty sure that is the one) does not have dues but is supported by contributions. Mine told us a great deal of information about the Jewish Community (24,000 Jews) and 16 active Synagogues as well as about Istanbul itself especially since we had just arrived the day before. Be prepared to do some walking on cobblestone streets...some of the fun about this through streets with much to see en route.
THe security is very tight as we appreciated and as it is necessary so plan ahead to send your passport information at least a week or more ahead of your tour.
Marcia and Richard Schaefer Delmar (near Albany) New York

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A very relaxed way to experience the Bosphorus, learn about the history of the area and recover from a long international flight.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Aslan was a very knowledgeable guide. He was friendly and willing to answer any questions. The stops all the Bosphorus were beautiful and you were given plenty of time to explore and take pictures. Lunch was ok, but not excellent. The afternoon tour joins you for lunch and to compleete the journey. You do not go all the way to the Black Sea. You stop just short, still in the Bosphorus for the swimming. Several
people were quiet upset by that. The trip back is a repeat of the morning tour. I enjoyed my day on the Bosphorus. It is, however, false advertising to say that it is a trip to the Black Sea.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to spend a day on the Bosphorus. We visited Ortakoy village, Rumeli fortress and kuzuksu palace, all very interesting. Lunch was simple but good and was served on the way to the black sea. There you can swim jumping from the boat or you can disembark to swim at the beach or you can walk the hill for an amazing view of the rocky coastline to watch some daredevils diving using ropes attached to the rock. There are 3 cafes on top of the hill if you don't want to do either

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I picked this cruise specifically to see both some Istanbul sights from the water and enjoy the boat ride all the way up the Bosphorus to the Black Sea. The guide was knowledgeable and approachable, though I didn't like that you end up hearing a lot of the same info twice as half the passengers opt for morning or afternoon only trips and swap out at lunch time. The food was okay, but nothing amazing. It's really the spectacular views and enjoying being on the water that are worth the trip. Read the fine print, as certain days visit different sites and sides of the Asian/European shores based on museum/palace closures, which got a few uninformed people upset. The stop to swim in the Black Sea is a bit misleading...you stop in a port/harbor of Poyrazköy that is actually just shy of the opening to the Black Sea. You can climb up the hill to have great views looking North over the Black Sea, but it felt a bit like cheating to say we were swimming in it. Also, though the swimming section is roped off in the bay from the harbor, it's all still the same water and wouldn't have been my preferred swimming hole (this didn't stop me from getting in the water, but be advised). Showers are available, but they make you pay a small fee to reach the beach (which is not included in your tour price. Also, beer and wine is not included on the boat, and is rather expensive at 15 lira ($7.50) each.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good opportunity to see the city from the see

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message