Once a small village, Ortakoy is now a neighborhood in the Besiktas district on the European side of Istanbul. With a plethora of bars, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs, Ortakoy buzzes with locals and tourists alike and is a great place to spend a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 41 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out. exclellent way to see parts of Turkey that you may not ahve had otherwise. friendly crew and very helpful. Special mention for Asalan our guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Very informative. No criticisms at all. Well worth the money. I'd suggest doing the whole day trip. Lunch on the boat was very good and the chefs explained the history of each element of theTurkish food.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a particularly nasty experience on the cruise, having discovered as we were sailing towards Asia that I had left a major personal item on the counter of an ice cream vendor in Ortokoy - on the European side.. Aslan personally went out of his way to find it and bring it back to me. He did so with a good heart, much concern for me and a wonderful cheery personality. I will never forget him or this day.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day trip. We had a great guide who was very friendly and informative.The stops along the Bosphorus added to the enjoyment of the day and it was amazing to see the third suspension bridge being built across the Bosphorus just before it enters the Black Sea. The food was enjoyable and we seemed to be eating or drinking for most of the trip. Also enjoyed the stop at a fishing village before we headed back to Istanbul. Would highly recommend it..

Did discover that the company would not pick us up or drop us back at Raffles as they claimed it was too far our of their area.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great staff and great service. From our pickup in the morning, until we were brought back to our hotel in the evening. A fantastic day with a great tour guide. Learned a lot about the city, its history and have a whole list of other places to see now that we've floated past them on the Bosphorus.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great trip. I mainly booked this as had a day to fill in but it was one of my favorite things in Istanbul. Very good guide and nice lunch. Hotel transfers also very well organised. Seeing the Black Sea probably the highlight but would recommend doing the full day trip as the stops to the Maidens tower, Albanian village and palace were very interesting.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with a very interesting and informative guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

FIrst I want to give the highest praise for our delightful,knowledgeable helpful, sweet, chic,friendly tour guide, Mine pronounced Meenay (hope her name is correct) This is a must see for anyone interested in Jewish Heritage. Our tour was half a day and fine for us.we had read of one dissatisfied traveller's opinion and were concerned. We were so interested in the three Synagogues we saw. Each with a different story. at Neve Shalom the Rabbi himself met with us. The tour for two was so well organized with our guide and driver. I don't know how much you want to read but The tour as set is wonderful and then we were given options of certain sites to see. A tour is a must as it is difficult to get from one area to another unless someone really directs you and takes you. It was surprising to learn that the Neve Shalom Synagogue ( I am pretty sure that is the one) does not have dues but is supported by contributions. Mine told us a great deal of information about the Jewish Community (24,000 Jews) and 16 active Synagogues as well as about Istanbul itself especially since we had just arrived the day before. Be prepared to do some walking on cobblestone streets...some of the fun about this through streets with much to see en route.
THe security is very tight as we appreciated and as it is necessary so plan ahead to send your passport information at least a week or more ahead of your tour.
Marcia and Richard Schaefer Delmar (near Albany) New York

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was heaps of fun. The tour guide was entertaining and gave us lots of interesting history. Would definitely recommend doing the full day and not a half day. Swimming in the Black Sea was awesome!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall this trip was good. However, the description was misleading. The cruise went to the river mouth only - not onto the Black Sea. The swimming was in the Bosphorus and not off a beach as described, and the stop was not a coastal village. it was on the Asian side of the Bosphorus and a fishing village with nothing to do as all that was there were seafood restaurants. The stop ddi not allow for time to have a meal - nor was the timing appropriate as we had lunch on the boat and it was too early for dinner. Also the Castle was closed on a Wed..

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a good one, and we saw what we wanted.....the Bosphorus and historic sites along the route...., and the narrative of our guide was very informative. Unfortunately the weather was not good--rainy and "cold"--and that made the trip less enjoyable both on the boat and at the sites we visited.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this relaxing cruise and the guide was very informative- plenty of time to explore the towns and villages the boat stopped at.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was very nice, but in hindsight we should have taken the half day tour as this was long, and we saw ans heard many things twice. The guide was very good, but repeated the facts from the morning in the afternoon. He did his job, but did not go above and beyond, like many guides do...

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide. Enough sites to visit without being rushed. Places visited were culturaly significant and interesting.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A very relaxed way to experience the Bosphorus, learn about the history of the area and recover from a long international flight.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Aslan was a very knowledgeable guide. He was friendly and willing to answer any questions. The stops all the Bosphorus were beautiful and you were given plenty of time to explore and take pictures. Lunch was ok, but not excellent. The afternoon tour joins you for lunch and to compleete the journey. You do not go all the way to the Black Sea. You stop just short, still in the Bosphorus for the swimming. Several
people were quiet upset by that. The trip back is a repeat of the morning tour. I enjoyed my day on the Bosphorus. It is, however, false advertising to say that it is a trip to the Black Sea.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Nice way to spend a day on the Bosphorus. We visited Ortakoy village, Rumeli fortress and kuzuksu palace, all very interesting. Lunch was simple but good and was served on the way to the black sea. There you can swim jumping from the boat or you can disembark to swim at the beach or you can walk the hill for an amazing view of the rocky coastline to watch some daredevils diving using ropes attached to the rock. There are 3 cafes on top of the hill if you don't want to do either

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message