Once a small village, Ortakoy is now a neighborhood in the Besiktas district on the European side of Istanbul. With a plethora of bars, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs, Ortakoy buzzes with locals and tourists alike and is a great place to spend a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 33 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great staff and great service. From our pickup in the morning, until we were brought back to our hotel in the evening. A fantastic day with a great tour guide. Learned a lot about the city, its history and have a whole list of other places to see now that we've floated past them on the Bosphorus.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great trip. I mainly booked this as had a day to fill in but it was one of my favorite things in Istanbul. Very good guide and nice lunch. Hotel transfers also very well organised. Seeing the Black Sea probably the highlight but would recommend doing the full day trip as the stops to the Maidens tower, Albanian village and palace were very interesting.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with a very interesting and informative guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

FIrst I want to give the highest praise for our delightful,knowledgeable helpful, sweet, chic,friendly tour guide, Mine pronounced Meenay (hope her name is correct) This is a must see for anyone interested in Jewish Heritage. Our tour was half a day and fine for us.we had read of one dissatisfied traveller's opinion and were concerned. We were so interested in the three Synagogues we saw. Each with a different story. at Neve Shalom the Rabbi himself met with us. The tour for two was so well organized with our guide and driver. I don't know how much you want to read but The tour as set is wonderful and then we were given options of certain sites to see. A tour is a must as it is difficult to get from one area to another unless someone really directs you and takes you. It was surprising to learn that the Neve Shalom Synagogue ( I am pretty sure that is the one) does not have dues but is supported by contributions. Mine told us a great deal of information about the Jewish Community (24,000 Jews) and 16 active Synagogues as well as about Istanbul itself especially since we had just arrived the day before. Be prepared to do some walking on cobblestone streets...some of the fun about this through streets with much to see en route.
THe security is very tight as we appreciated and as it is necessary so plan ahead to send your passport information at least a week or more ahead of your tour.
Marcia and Richard Schaefer Delmar (near Albany) New York

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a good one, and we saw what we wanted.....the Bosphorus and historic sites along the route...., and the narrative of our guide was very informative. Unfortunately the weather was not good--rainy and "cold"--and that made the trip less enjoyable both on the boat and at the sites we visited.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed this relaxing cruise and the guide was very informative- plenty of time to explore the towns and villages the boat stopped at.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was very nice, but in hindsight we should have taken the half day tour as this was long, and we saw ans heard many things twice. The guide was very good, but repeated the facts from the morning in the afternoon. He did his job, but did not go above and beyond, like many guides do...

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message