Once a small village, Ortakoy is now a neighborhood in the Besiktas district on the European side of Istanbul. With a plethora of bars, restaurants, cafes and nightclubs, Ortakoy buzzes with locals and tourists alike and is a great place to spend a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

jcgouldsc
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was terrific--definitely worth doing the full day. Aslan was a great guide--we got a real overview of the area and its history. And the swim in the Black Sea was wonderful.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Aslin was our tour guide and he was an excellent source of information. He spoke perfect English and was always available to answer questions. The trip itself allowed us to see Istanbul from an entirely different perspective from what is experienced on land only.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The door-to-door service, the schedule, the stops, the guide and the food were perfection!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Tour was beautiful! Me and my boyfriend we both liked it very much. The crew members were very nice and helpful. The guide was also very nice and knew a lot about the History of Istanbul, without ever being boring. The wind was a little cold, but the place where we stopped to swim, had almost no wind and we could dive in the Water without really getting cold. The food was also very good. The only thing that we didn't found that went well was the pick up to return to the Hotel. The day before they warned us that they couldn't take us back to the Hotel, but they would take us to Taksim square or else where. When we got out from the boat there was noone waiting for us. The guide was already gone and we wen't on foot till Taksim square, where we took the Metro back to the Hotel. Still the trip was worth it.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very knowledgeable tour guide. Excellent meals for the price. Cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day out. exclellent way to see parts of Turkey that you may not ahve had otherwise. friendly crew and very helpful. Special mention for Asalan our guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Very informative. No criticisms at all. Well worth the money. I'd suggest doing the whole day trip. Lunch on the boat was very good and the chefs explained the history of each element of theTurkish food.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a particularly nasty experience on the cruise, having discovered as we were sailing towards Asia that I had left a major personal item on the counter of an ice cream vendor in Ortokoy - on the European side.. Aslan personally went out of his way to find it and bring it back to me. He did so with a good heart, much concern for me and a wonderful cheery personality. I will never forget him or this day.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the whole day trip. We had a great guide who was very friendly and informative.The stops along the Bosphorus added to the enjoyment of the day and it was amazing to see the third suspension bridge being built across the Bosphorus just before it enters the Black Sea. The food was enjoyable and we seemed to be eating or drinking for most of the trip. Also enjoyed the stop at a fishing village before we headed back to Istanbul. Would highly recommend it..

Did discover that the company would not pick us up or drop us back at Raffles as they claimed it was too far our of their area.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great staff and great service. From our pickup in the morning, until we were brought back to our hotel in the evening. A fantastic day with a great tour guide. Learned a lot about the city, its history and have a whole list of other places to see now that we've floated past them on the Bosphorus.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A great trip. I mainly booked this as had a day to fill in but it was one of my favorite things in Istanbul. Very good guide and nice lunch. Hotel transfers also very well organised. Seeing the Black Sea probably the highlight but would recommend doing the full day trip as the stops to the Maidens tower, Albanian village and palace were very interesting.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very interesting and we enjoyed it a lot. It would have been even better if the guide was Jewish or knew more personally about the Jewish community, past and present, but he still did a very good job. It was great having an air conditioned car to take us around.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with a very interesting and informative guide.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised and will recommend your company to anyone who is thinking of going on a guided tour
The guide and driver were first class. Lawrence kraft

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very interesting tour. Guide excellent. Highly recommended

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was brilliant, and the driver was polite and efficient. We could not have asked for a better introduction to Istanbul's Jewish Quarter. We loved Istanbul and are hoping to return again soon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We took this tour because we wanted to visit synagogues and we knew the security issues make it difficult to arrange. Apart from anything else the synagogues are not obvious even when you are standing in front of them. You need to take your passport to gain entry to the Sephardi synagogue.We saw two synagogues and the Jewish Museum; the large Sephardi synagogue (Etz hachaim) at Oberoy was particularly impressive and the museum was fascinating. Our guide (who was not Jewish) was most helpful; the minibus was comfortable and carefully driven. A very worthwhile morning and we would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was wonderful. He wqs very warm and inviting. It would have been better, however, if a representative from each of the synagogues we visited had been able to tell us something about the congregation and not merely ask for a donation. Speaking with a congregant would have greatly added to our understanding of the Istanbul Jewish community - their customs, issues, etc. This, however, was not the fault of our guide.

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul's Jewish Heritage

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message