Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Rumeli Fortress

The Rumeli Fortress sits on a hill on the European side of Istanbul, overlooking the Bosphorus at its narrowest point. Built by Sultan Mehmed II prior to the conquest of Constantinople, the fortress was intended to help him control traffic along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gordon Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was efficient and staff knowledgeable and friendly. Kucuksu Palace is a gem.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Lorne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was well organized and enjoyable. I will recommend it to everyone who visits Istanbul. Very well priced as well.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I do not think that I have enough words to describe the experience. I was not aware of the wealth of history accumulated in Turkey. The tour guides are awesome. One of them even took the time to take to the train station to get to the airport.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

rtpuno

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great. Food is good too!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Suet Ying T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The tour guide pick us up one time and we dont have any trouble. Furthermore, the tour guide is very knowledgeable, he explains the history and the details of most historic buildings clearly, i have a joyful trip. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

James A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent Cruise Guide and all supporting crew members. Great value for money cruise with a wealth of information provided. I would highly recommend this cruise for anyone visiting Istanbul as it provides great value for money with hotel pick up and drop off included as well as providing lunch and refreshments on board.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Walther D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

nice experience. The Fortress is so beatiful!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Mrs J M H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great cruise, lovely folk on board, brilliant lunch, good info on various parts of the trip. We had a lovely afternoon and would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Muhammad H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I wasn't really sure at first about this tour but me and my wife were very keen on taking a Bosphorus tour so we booked. This was an amazing tour!
Picked us up from the hotel and took us to the docked cruise. The lunch served was delicious! Didn't have high hopes with it but it blew us away. The fishing village, the black sea swimming, everything was just an incredible experience. The highlight of the tour was obviously the beautiful scenery. Very nice people who served us with a good guided tour on the way back too. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Rick T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful cruise on the Bosphorus. We had a wonderful young man explain the sights and history along the way. A great way to see many Istanbul sights from the water.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent boat trip in perfect weather. The boat was exactly the right size, we were given a delicious lunch by an extremely attentive and well informed crew, and although there was insufficient time at the start to visit the Rumeli Hasari fortress, the trip lasted an excellent time. The post tour hotel drop off was also extremely efficient.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Joan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very lovely- food was great and the cruise was informational.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A scenic and relaxing afternoon with friendly staff. Excellent value with lunch and snacks provided. Really enjoyed the swim in the Bosphorus

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Susanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great trip, the boat was nice and empty, the palace was beautiful. I wish the tour would have been longer, but given the short time we were told so much information about Istanbul and saw a lot in only two hours. It was definitely worth it and we enjoyed it so much. You shouldn't miss out on this, especially the tour guides were very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Stefan G Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous way to see Istanbul and the Bosphorus Strait. Travels out to the Black Sea. And we were allowed time to go for a swim. Crew was great. Good information. Wonderful day in Istanbul!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Danny B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, loads of good content and a great way to see a fabulous city!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Samantha O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful cruise! Our guide shared the history and important sights along the Bosphorus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was amazing. They picked us from our hotel on time. It was very easy to communicate with the trip organizers regarding the pick up point. Everything was on schedule. We started from the Golden Horn. First we sailed close to the European side. Then we visited Kucuksu Palace. The place was beautiful. We returned sailing close to the Anatolian side. The guide was very engaging and informative. He told us a lot of interesting facts about the country and its history. He showed us every important land mark along the route. The trip was fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

Christopher T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely excellent. Picked us up from our hotel on time, very nice boat, superb lunch and very informative guide. But the star of the show is the Bosphorus itself--simply stunning!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Nicola Bray B United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely excellent, well organised, good information given while sailing an fantastic food. Very enjoyable. The organiser was very polite and knowledgeable about the area and the swim in the Black Sea was great, a trip definitely worth doing

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

John

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. As advertised. Great food. Some sightseeing background information as we cruised.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

marwane k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

totally worth the money, the trip was nice, great guide..... me and my wife enjoyed it a lot

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Panoramic views, good food, enough narration...plus a stop at a charming village on the Bosphorus...all add up to an entertaining and satisfying afternoon. Istanbul is still one of the greatest cities in the world, and this tour goes a long way toward explaining why that is. The crew of the boat was very competent and friendly, and the chef came to each table to explain what he had prepared which was delicious. You shouldn't miss this excursion.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message