The Rumeli Fortress sits on a hill on the European side of Istanbul, overlooking the Bosphorus at its narrowest point. Built by Sultan Mehmed II prior to the conquest of Constantinople, the fortress was intended to help him control traffic along the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A scenic and relaxing afternoon with friendly staff. Excellent value with lunch and snacks provided. Really enjoyed the swim in the Bosphorus

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great trip, the boat was nice and empty, the palace was beautiful. I wish the tour would have been longer, but given the short time we were told so much information about Istanbul and saw a lot in only two hours. It was definitely worth it and we enjoyed it so much. You shouldn't miss out on this, especially the tour guides were very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous way to see Istanbul and the Bosphorus Strait. Travels out to the Black Sea. And we were allowed time to go for a swim. Crew was great. Good information. Wonderful day in Istanbul!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour, loads of good content and a great way to see a fabulous city!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wonderful cruise! Our guide shared the history and important sights along the Bosphorus. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The trip was amazing. They picked us from our hotel on time. It was very easy to communicate with the trip organizers regarding the pick up point. Everything was on schedule. We started from the Golden Horn. First we sailed close to the European side. Then we visited Kucuksu Palace. The place was beautiful. We returned sailing close to the Anatolian side. The guide was very engaging and informative. He told us a lot of interesting facts about the country and its history. He showed us every important land mark along the route. The trip was fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely excellent. Picked us up from our hotel on time, very nice boat, superb lunch and very informative guide. But the star of the show is the Bosphorus itself--simply stunning!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Nicola Bray B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely excellent, well organised, good information given while sailing an fantastic food. Very enjoyable. The organiser was very polite and knowledgeable about the area and the swim in the Black Sea was great, a trip definitely worth doing

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice tour. As advertised. Great food. Some sightseeing background information as we cruised.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

totally worth the money, the trip was nice, great guide..... me and my wife enjoyed it a lot

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Panoramic views, good food, enough narration...plus a stop at a charming village on the Bosphorus...all add up to an entertaining and satisfying afternoon. Istanbul is still one of the greatest cities in the world, and this tour goes a long way toward explaining why that is. The crew of the boat was very competent and friendly, and the chef came to each table to explain what he had prepared which was delicious. You shouldn't miss this excursion.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Leah
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was one of the highlights of my Istanbul trip! The Bosphorus cruise was spectacular and our guide was fantastic in pointing out the sights. We also visited the Rumeli fortress which was beautiful. The spice market portion was independent but you probably don't need a guide there anyway

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait Cruise with Rumeli Fortress or Kücüksu Palace Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

we were picked up and dropped from our hotel. the pickup crew was running a few minutes behind due to notorious traffic congestion in Istanbul but they were professional enough to phone us ahead and give us a heads up.it was an enjoyable trip.included lunch. Staff was courteous and worked extremely hard to serve and please. very relaxed and very humorous captain.worth every penny. My wife and i enjoyed the scenery and history.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing view and very friendly crews. A relaxed trip.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth the money. Half a day was great for the cruise, but the full day also includes a tour of the palace, which, on reflection was a godd idea. the scenery was wonderful and the service excellent.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A lovely relaxing cruise. Information was good. The visit time in the village was very nice, and of a good length of time. A nice lunch was supplied.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The staff was friendly and personable, and informative about the sites we saw and went to. The food was great as well!

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent views of the entire length of the Bosphorus, with a great stop at a village near the Black Sea. Very comfortable tour boat and just enough narration to inform without being intrusive.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This cruise was amazing! With a smaller-sized group, we were able to have a pleasant lunch onboard while sailing up the Bosphorus Strait. We ended up in the Black Sea, swimming with dolphins and lounging around in the sun. I cannot speak highly enough of this cruise. This was an amazing deal.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was fantastic. As promised we were fetched from our hotel on time and taken to the boat. As we motored down the river we were told what to look out for on the side and all the info. The lunch was great and very yummy. The staff were very friendly. Istanbul is a very busy city so to see all those sights on one's own is impossible so it was perfect having someone with knowledge showing us all there was to know. Will highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Dear Sirs,
This was the trip I liked the most. We had a nice trip and lunch at the boat, but did not really start to talk to each other until we had gone for a swim near the Black Sea. Afterwards we had drinks at the deck and everybody was talking to someone else. I personally had an invitation to come to visit a family in Sicily.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent half-day tour including lunch. The tour took us to where the Bosphorus meets the Black Sea, with time for a swim in the cool waters. Informative commentary along the route.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message