Istanbul ATTRACTIONS See all

Sultanahmet District

Leave the present day behind and take a wander around Old Istanbul, the wonderful old Sultanahmet District. This World Heritage-listed district is crammed with historic buildings and enough magical atmosphere to keep you enthralled for days.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. I was a solo traveler looking to get a feel for Istanbul, its culture, architecture, history, people and atmosphere. This tour ticked all those boxes and I would highly recommend to like minded travelers who have a short stay in Istanbul and want to get a full experience of the city.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

ALFREDO C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ali is not only a great guide and a knowledgeable professional; he is an amazing person, as well. My girlfriend and I felt like we were touring Istanbul with a good old friend of ours.
Thanks Ali for such a great experience!

Alfredo and Cris! New York, NY

Doing what: Sultanahmet Old City Tour with Private Guide

Hani B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tipit Sp? was a great guide and the tour was very well organized. Transportation was great, and prompt. Getting to see the major sites in one day is a great thing, and we loved walking around! Recommended it to all!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Shelly L. United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding! We were the only 2 people on this tour. We were picked up on time at our hotel and our tour guide Gulay Gunay was amazing. Her English was very clear, her knowledge of the sights fascinating and she was very accommodating. Perfect way to see this city. Istanbul is safe and a very clean city. Shop keepers take pride in their city and are constantly sweeping the sidewalks in front of their shops. A wonderful place to visit, steeped in history.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

lupe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a perfect tour. Included the most highlighted icons of Istanbul, visited in a tied schedule but enough for knowing the most important things about the city. Perfect for one day tour. The guide Tibet, was great, talked about the history of each icon but also comment about currently facts of Istanbul. Very clear, perfect english and so friendly. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Saurabh M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very good. We arrived at our host's home to a very warm welcome. The food especially the lentil soup was amazing. The conversations with our guide about Turkey were very illuminating as well.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Meghan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The family was amazing and we loved our guide!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

S M K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is an essential tour of seeing Istanbul's grandest buildings in a day. We were picked up from the hotel by our guide Tibet who was very nice and friendly. She presented a clear programme of the day and how we were proceed.
We were in the Topkapi grounds before 09 Am. This was an excellent time to be there as there were not many people and we had the place mainly to ourselves and a few other people. Tibet was really knowledgeable about Topkapi and provided a mix of historical guidance and then some free time for us to explore on our own. This was a short 2 hour trip of Topkapi but to be fair you could spend a day here...some many treasures to explore. I especially enjoyed the Holy Relics room and the Treasury. Topkapi was followed by the grand Ayasofia which provided a stunning glimpse of how Istanbul has been at the cross roads of civilizations. Again Tibet provided us an excellent historical overview and the timeline. We then saw the Basillica Cistern which in my mind was less grand but they did film From Russia with Love here so worth a visit. After the Basilica Cistern we stopped for lunch at a local restaurant - this I must say was a let down especially for the kids as they wanted pasta rather then the chicken grill - they brought more of less boiled pasta and chips. After lunch we saw the grand Sultanahmet Blue Mosque which is an architectural master piece...we then proceeded in the car to the Grand Bazaar which was fascinating however, i did find some of the shops extraordinarily expensive - especially the leather ones typical carpet seller technique , starting with really high prices and then coming down significantly. On the whole the day was excellent. Tibet was one the best guides I have been with, she knew her stuff and was also flexible around the needs of family with kids - she connected well with the children. Neon travels really need to work on the lunch aspect as it was not good value for money. Would recommend this tour none the less.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Tobias W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very good guide, good logistics, great places. After the tour, make sure you have some time on your own just strolling around on your own to let it all sink in and reflect on the many great things!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Ali H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding tour by all means! Our tour guide Tibet was awesome and gave us a great experience. Would recommend it without hesitation

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Jamal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide Tibet was simply outstanding in terms of her knowledge and was very helpful and supportive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Maryan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must do when visiting Istanbul. Our guide Tibet was great. From the pickup time till drop off. Explained everything clearly and gave us time to roam around. She didn't rush us and we had a great time in this tour worth the money.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Kevin A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour and guide who was very knowledgable and attentive.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Fred and Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was well worth what we paid. We had an excellent guide who spoke wonderful English and was easy to understand. She got us in everywhere without any waiting time. Her narration was very informative and helpful. She also took us to the Cistern. Great lunch at a local restaurant with delicious local food. Even the carpet demonstration was fun, no pressure to buy anything. Also had much fun at the Grand Bazaar.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

dene m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a BRILLIANT tour. My tour guide Gulay Gunay was an amazing guide, she took me to all the tourist attractions explaining the history while still getting to know me as a person. It was an amazing tour and I recommend it to anyone who wants to see everything in one day and also have a traditional Turkish lunch, which is included in the price!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

meganritter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great way to see the main sites on my one day of site seeing. Our guide was friendly and informative and we still had time to wander around on our own.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

JOEY L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour started with a welcoming smile by our guide Ms. Gulay. She showed and enlightened us of the muslim culture and history. Very knowledgeable guide with high respect to the people she is touring with. Her knowledge of her heritage and culture showed she has honors and dignity of her country.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

DAVID C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Omar was very knowledgeable and helpful plus the sites that we visited were amazing! Totally recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Talieh Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I'd defiantly recommend it. I booked the same tour 3 years ago when I was visiting Istanbul and enjoyed the fact that there are not many people on the tour and you can hear tour guide easily. Previous experience made me to book it again after years for family this time and they all loved it. our hotel wasn't on the pick up list but they kindly picked us up. Lunch was included very friendly tour members. Tour guide was very knowledgable, she gave us good advice on place to visit and things to do for the rest of our journey.
Their customer service level is different from what you normally get in turkey.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Talieh Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I'd defiantly recommend it. I booked the same tour 3 years ago when I was visiting Istanbul and enjoyed the fact that there are not many people on the tour and you can hear tour guide easily. Previous experience made me to book it again after years for family this time and they all loved it. our hotel wasn't on the pick up list but they kindly picked us up. Lunch was included very friendly tour members. Tour guide was very knowledgable, she gave us good advice on place to visit and things to do for the rest of our journey.
Their customer service level is different from what you normally get in turkey.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Genaro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was the perfect introduction to Istanbul and my wife and I could not have found a better guide and service to make us feel at home. The local service Neon Tours was professional, punctual, and had organized a very well thought-out itinerary to make sure we visited the major sites. Our tour guide, Hakan, was highly knowledgeable and genuinely dedicated to making sure everyone had a special, immersive day and a wonderful experience. Hakan was funny, pleasant, and always gave us ample time to explore and take pictures at each location. He was informative and made sure everyone's needs were met at every moment of the day. Our group that day was small - 6 people total. We finished the tour that day feeling like we had made friends in Istanbul. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul in One Day Tour Including Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message