After a few days of touring Istanbul’s mosques, palaces and bustling markets, you may want to journey outside the city to learn about Turkey’s more recent history, specifically the World War I sites of Gallipoli, where the troops of the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 244 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nicki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Brilliant, fantastic and all other positive adjectives you can think of. It was a very log trip and the other people I think did it a better way, by spreading two tours over two days based in Canakkale or Eceabat. They also tagged on the Gallipoli tour as well. Because of the small number there was only four of us on the tour, one got off in Eceabat to do the Gallipoli tour that afternoon and myself and an older couple did the Troy tour. Our guide Faruk, think that is how you say/spell his name, was fantastic there go those adjective's again as was our driver.
He was so informative and a great talker - not sure if he got the Kiwi humour though. We had a great day. After the tour the coupe were dropped off at their Hotel in Canakkale and it just left me for the ride back to Istanbul. The tour does not normally involve a stop to see the Brad Pitt Trogon Horse, the one picture in this picture in Canakkale, very misleading but we got there early Ferry and Faruk walked back with me to get pictures. Great day, great driver and guide, with good company.
Was a very long drive back on my own though.
Would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

Ashlee N P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour! Charman our guide was fantastic. 5 stars for knowledge. The iris hotel in Cannukale was ok. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable but room was clean. The other hotels were very good. Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Antonia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Being in Troy was special, the guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

Alex S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip ! Really enjoyed it - well organised, good drivers and an excellent, knowledeable and friendly guide. Only comment I would make it to let people know what the plan is ie we were picked up and driven all the way in a car - which was great ! But we thought we were being delivered to a larger bus with others, and didn't realise until about an hour in that we were going all the way with the pick up driver - as I say, for us 3 guests it was perfect, just that we didn't know what was happening, and the driver didn't have enough English to really explain. Otherwise, a really good day, and would do other tours with you again.
Cheers
Alex Stewart

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

ibis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour was wonderful. very comprehensive with plenty of time in each location. the bus was super clean and the driver was nice. also the tour guide was very nice and caring about the passengers. loved the stop in kusadasi at the family restaurant. very authentic. the hotel in canakkale was 3* the most. all hotels had plenty of food for breakfast and dinner. in Summary: very relaxing and don't need anything else to enjoy Turkey. "TeCheKur".

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Mik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very difficult to put in to words how amazing this tour was. From Gallipoli to Pamukkale, every single moment was sensational. The in depth discussions about every place visited to the food we were eating at each stop was great. Charma sp? the guide was out of this world awesome and incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Turkey. I highly highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the awesome sites of Turkey, but definitely look at going for the 7 day tour to get even more.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Matt W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour. Very informative and interesting.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

CHUN WAI L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very friendly and nice driver.
Very Informative and helpful tour guide.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

nathan.mccarry United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

As the other reviews said, it is a long day but really worth it. The van driver and tour guide were both excellent. We learned so much history not just about Troy but about the site going back to BC times. We didn't realize until we had the tour that length of the history 8 layers of different times being built and more being found. The site is well laid out and easy to get around with amenities such as very clean restrooms and a gift shop. We would highly recommend devoting a day to going as you get to see so much of the Turkey outside Istabnbul and how people live.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

His

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good company of Aussies and Kiwis which makes this trip excellent. Not to forget a couple of South Africans. Hotel choices were good enough and we visited all the relevant historical sites.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we started our day very early and, but had a chance to catch up on rest on the bus trip to the site, when we arrived we were met by our tour guide who escorted us to a local restaurant for lunch, after lunch we got on the bus and went to all of the places that were relevant to the Gallipoli landings and subsequent battles, our guide was very unbiased and we were told the story from both and Australian and Turkish side so a lot of the gaps were filled in. I would like to thank Viator, Fez Travel and the local tour company/guide for giving us a very memorable day.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Thomas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Gallipoli tour is a must, particularly for Australians and New Zealanders. Very informative and moving experience. The boat trip to the landing beaches was a welcomed bonus.

Doing what: 2 Day Small Group Gallipoli and Troy Tour from Istanbul with boat trip to ANZAC Landing Beaches

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fez travel provided a superb driver and an outstanding tour guide Mahmet. My wife and I considered it the absolute highlight of our two weeks in Turkey

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Andrea R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It is a very long day but the tour is absolutely worth it. We had plenty of time to take in the various sites at the memorial and our guide was clearly passionate about his job and about informing people of the Gallipoli campaign. This tour is a must for all Australians and New Zealanders who visit Turkey!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Dominic Y Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a very long day, from 6:30am to 11:00pm, but well worth it. The guide was very knowledgeable and was able to cite units and dates of battles. It was a most emotional but memorable trip.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Robyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Emotional experience, a very long day. Our guide was very knowledgeable, informative

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

McIntosh T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our very young guide was fantastic. Her knowledge was second to none and with her bright personality was had a fabulous, albeit long, day. Would recommend this to all.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

sawse New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent trip and very informative tour guide

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Damien B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Unreal experience. A must for any Aussie/kiwi in the area. So surreal being at Anzac Cove. Makes you really appreciate how lucky we are to live in Aus/NZ. Only bad thing is the long drive down there.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Ian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A long day but so worth the trip. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and informative. It made such a difference being on a small tour as it gave you the opertunity to be able to look for the things you were there for. The tour took us to all the important areas and at no time was time made an issue people could take their own time in all areas after our guide had given all of the information.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

While this tour was quite long for one day, it was, for Aussie or Kiwi people a heartwarming and great experience. The host and driver were very good and we can heartily recommend this tour to any Australian or New Zealand citizens.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour guide was excellent- could not fault him at all.

Doing what: 2 Day Small Group Gallipoli and Troy Tour from Istanbul with boat trip to ANZAC Landing Beaches

Robert F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Then tour was informative and worth while. It was a long day, 5 hours in each direction. The restaurant for lunch was barely average.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message