After a few days of touring Istanbul’s mosques, palaces and bustling markets, you may want to journey outside the city to learn about Turkey’s more recent history, specifically the World War I sites of Gallipoli, where the troops of the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour was great. the tour guides were so informative and really put you in the moment when they explained everything. the hotels provided in the package were first class. would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing trip to do if you have the time! It is a long trip from Istanbul, but as long as you are used to this kind of quick trips, it should be OK! The tour guide at Troy was simple awesome: Super passionate for the history of the place and this can easily be absorbed by the people participating on it

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time. The great experience started when we booked the trip - the Viator staff were very helpful on the phone, and even helped us get in contact with the tour operator in Istanbul late on a Sunday afternoon. The tour group was small and the service was very personal. The accommodations were great and we only spent one night in a "tourist mill" hotel; every other hotel was charming. Our tour guide picked great places for us to sample local cuisine each day at lunch. I honestly can't say enough good things about the tour. We will ABSOLUTELY use Viator in the future.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide in Troy was excellent and we learned so much about the ancient city of Troy. Much of the beauty and fun took place on the ferry ride to Troy.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour. The tour guide for the walk through Troy was very knowledgeable and made the long journey very interesting. Visiting Troy was a magical experience for me and I really recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything we hoped for and more: moving, respectful, informative, educational and inspiring. Our young guide was excellent and with Brits, Aussies on the tour he proved a good umpire!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour with a very good guide.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall excellent. Well organized by the tour company. An excellent driver along with an excellent tour guide for the day. As usual an early start and a late finish but well worth it. To walk on the same ground as written by Homer was emotional. My initial preconceptions of what the site may look like after thousands of years was blown away by the amount of Troy 6 that remains. It was a match for any antiquity that resides within the Mediterranean area.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had an good guide for the long bus ride out to the peninsular and then we joined an RSL tour. The local guide had a deep knowledge of the ANZAC story and told it in an impartial way. We came away knowing much more than we had about this important part of our history. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Long journey but totally worth it

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The tour was fantastic and it was a history buffs dream come true. Our guide Hassan was really informative and helpful and Turkey is now in our hearts and we cannot wait to return. Everyone should go to Turkey and this is a great introductory tour

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A long trip but well worth it mainly because you could see the actual location of where Troy was, so a better idea of its history. The Turkish countryside was beautiful.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide and driver were the best. Loved the tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide for the walk through Troy was very knowledgeable. Enjoyed the ride from Istanbul seeing the coastline and some surrounding land. Breakfast and lunch was very good. Our tour guide Keynan(?) was very pleasant and friendly. I would recommend this tour to others. Also, thanks for the rainbow on the way home!!

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message