After a few days of touring Istanbul’s mosques, palaces and bustling markets, you may want to journey outside the city to learn about Turkey’s more recent history, specifically the World War I sites of Gallipoli, where the troops of the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 132 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guide was very knowledgable on both fronts of the war. The museum was a good experience and the memorial sites were inspiring. Our guide gave us avery interesting I sightt to the lives the soldiers lived during this time. We were told both sides of the history and I would we omens this tour.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much and had a great travel group. Hotels were definitely good especially our suite in Kusadaci. Lots of choice in the dinner buffets. We had enough room in the bus to spread out and be comfortable.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a very successful tour. I was allowed to go to Cape Hellas where my Granddad landed nearly 100 years ago and all the other wonderful places where he was at that time. Thank you so much especially to the young lady named Perri who was a wonderful guide

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I can't begin to describe how emotionally moving this pilgrimage is. The knowledge imparted by our guide Icud was outstanding. He is a brilliant teller of fact and sympathetic to all sides. To go to Anzac Cove and Gallipoli is something every Australian should do to realise why we have today, what we have. The bus driver, guides, everything is 100% - thank you for this moving once in a life time experience.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

very moving experience and highly recommended. Most people were staying over for at least 1 night and some were part of a 5 day tour but I was a bit uncertain about the hotels and decided to just do as a day trip. It was about 4 hours drive each way so a longish day but very manageable as comfortable van . Still had plenty of time at Gallipoli and in the town. Did not get included lunch as advertised but we stopped at service station where could buy cheap and very nice food.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Coming all the way from Australia and having little time for visiting places i had booked my day
trip not expecting much,but turning out to be a great day with the weather and all the sites
we visited in such a short time ,the tour guy making sure that we all understood every sites
meaning and significance Special Thanks to Mr Bulent for making me and my daughter
feel like a part of history.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was very good. It is a long day, because Troy is a long way from Istanbul, but it was well worth the effort!

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A long day travelling but worth it for the comprehensive visit to the Gallipoli sites. Our guide was very knowledgeable and the driver excellent. Our only issue was being left to our own devices for an hour at a small town waiting for the ferry to arrive - a very cold and uninviting place

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour. We got to see much more than we would have if we had done the trip independently. We had a good size group (23) and our guide Metin had excellent knowledge of the history of Turkey. Highly recommended if you have one week in Turkey and are looking to get a feel for the country and its history.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Particularly liked Ephusus, Pamukkale and Bursa. Would have liked a full day exploring Pamukkale and more time in Bursa. Would benefit from better explanation and more detailed itinerary. Guide and driver particularly personable. Accommodation was all good and optional extras were highlights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous, fabulous value for money, we would highly recommend this tour to anyone. It was jammed packed with site visits. The length of time spent at each site was enough. Our tour guide was a real character as well as being very informative - an added bonus. Typical of Turkish tours, the tour included several visits to shopping venues, some of which for us were tiresome. We had wished t times we could have spent the time at the historical sites but realize some of the others on the tour like these sorts of things. Overall the site visits and shopping stops were reasonably balanced.

I have used Viator in the past and have been generally pleased with the service. This tour included travelers who booked through various agencies. Most had a detailed itinerary (14+ pages) and were disappointed that Viator hadn't provided this to us. However this is not in the least to diminish the experience of the tour in itself.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Ilker, was THE BEST guide we have ever experienced. He was skilled at making the stones of the monuments and temples come alive with history. He connected with the tour goers on a caring and personal level. What a gem! Ahmet our driver was invincible. One suggestion: drive through Pamukkale and on to Bursa. We needed more time to enjoy that lovely city. The Five Star hotel in Pamukkale was very disappointing.

Please don't miss Pergamum, Troy, and Ephesus. These were wonderful sites to visit! Thank you again Ilker!! - Inez and Jean

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Gallipoli has always been a destination/experience that I have always wanted to see and feel. The tour did not disappoint, it was a long day leaving from Istanbul. I would recommend choosing a closer destination, but the guides and drivers were courteous and dropped us off to meet the main group. One thing that slightly irked me was our Gallipoli guide. Don't get me wrong he was very knowledgeable and had researched extensively to the point of being published. But, this came up too often and I felt at times the tour was more about him and his experiences with dignitaries and not about the events. I take some things seriously in life when required and Gallipoli is one of them. If this could please be fed back to the guide, I dont remember his name as I'm shocking with names, as he had a wonderful knowledge of the events from Turkish, New Zealand, Australian,British and international perspectives which become little lost with his constant self referencing.
If you are in Turkey don't let what I have written put you off this tour as it is an amazing and emotional day which I personally feel each Australian should attempt to do at least once :-)

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Brian L
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very long day, but to visit the battlefields and see Anzac cove was worth it

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message