After a few days of touring Istanbul’s mosques, palaces and bustling markets, you may want to journey outside the city to learn about Turkey’s more recent history, specifically the World War I sites of Gallipoli, where the troops of the Australian ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Had a guide that new everything there was to know about Ancient Turkey. He also looked identical to Jerramy Clarkson. It was a small group tour and were we surprised about the quality of the hotels we stayed in! Beautiful. All meals were buffay and included in the price.
If you are looking to party this is not the tour for you. However if you love history and want to see different ages of Turkey then its for you. Thanks for everything I will never forget my time in Turkey.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very comprehensive. Saw so much in just one day. It was a bit rushed at each place but only because there was only a day to see it all. The time we spent there was, personally, enough for me. The tour guide was great. Spoke about the war from both sides and the politics before, during and after the war. Very friendly and taught us a lot about Turkish culture and what else to see and do in Istanbul and Turkey.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Ruth
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great tour to Gallipoli, very informative, and a moving experience. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

excellent tour with very good guide, got drop off at Attaturk International Terminal in time for our midnight flight
to Aqcaba by the Red Sea

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing tour. Cem our guide knew lots of history and even took us to areas that weren't part of the usual tour. Such a moving and humbling experience.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a fabulous visit to Troy! The bus picked us up from our hotel on time, was very comfortable and the guide made time pass quickly. The lunch was delicious. Troy was spectacular though it really helped to have researched the site before visiting to make sense of the different levels. I've read about Hector, Achilles, Menelaus, Priam, Agamemnon and all the others from the Iliad and Odyssey all my life how amazing to see Troy and bring them to life! Only criticism is I wish our guide at Troy would have linked areas of the site to specific parts of the myth. I would definitely take other tours with Viator.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A really special tour! A must do...

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I learnt so much about the ANZAC and the Turk's experiences in the Gallipoli campaign and I firmly believe it is a must-see for Australian and New Zealanders who visit Istanbul.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Incredible tour, a little long if you only go for the day but well worth it. Would say to go early 2016 as they are currently building a huge meseum and are beginning to excavate again next year.

Such lovely tour guides too!

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Of great historical significance, expertly guided and explained!

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely amazing! We loved it and would recommend it to everyone! Cem was very knowledgeable and we learnt a lot from him! Thank you so much! From the Aussie!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Chris
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent trip. Very informative guide. It is a long day though but worth the trip. Pleased we did it.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I loved this tour of Turkey. Our guide was excellent and I really feel I learned so much about the history, culture and heritage of this beautiful country. The only recommendation I would have is to have one free afternoon to chill and do some shopping at some stage, perhaps on the last day. Otherwise great and very comprehensive tour.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fabulous tour, nicely paced, good hotels and reasonable times to visit the sights. Gallipoli and Ephesus were the favourite sights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable day and it was Great to see the Battlefields

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very enjoyable day and it was Great to see the Battlefields

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A truly beautiful day tour for a aussie visiting in the centenary of the battle. All sites were relevant to give a balanced account of the battle. Only down side was that the guide slept for two hours on the way to Gallipoli.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very friendly, knowledgeable and professional guide. I really enjoyed my time on this day trip and learnt heaps about Gallipoli and also Turkey in general. Much recommended!!

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Better than expected. Informative friendly tour guide and skilful driver. These people worked hard to make our day exceptional. It was a very long day in all, but very worthwhile. Thank you to everyone.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

fabulous day trip only weeks before the centenary of the landing in 1915. The guide was most knowledgeable and pleasant. The bus was comfortable and the driver excellent. Excellent value for money with a door to door pick up service available making the whole trip easy.

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Well organised trip. Breakfast and lunch provided. Great guide. Bus drivers and others friendly and helpful. Fantastic to hear the stories of what occurred in 1915 and visit those places. Really good (but long) day

Doing what: Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour took 14 hours with about 1.5 or 2 hours at Troy. It was well worth it. The minibus was spacious and comfortable. The tour guide to troy picked us up before we boarded the ferry and brought us back to the minibus after the visit in Troy. The tour guide to Troy knew a lot about the dfferent archeological opinions concerning Troy, which was interesting and informative.

Doing what: Troy Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message