From Roman-era plumbing to Byzantine mosaics and Ottoman harems, Istanbul has centuries of history to share. After touring the mosques and palaces, be sure to relax at one of the famous Turkish hammams. Day 1: Istanbul Tours If time is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1435 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is so inclusive, comprehensive and good value for money. We were glad we took it the first day of our arrival in Istanbul because it unfolded the city's historic treasures and cleared our agenda for the next few days so we could return and ponder, or fill it up with other things. Omar, our guide, was very subtle, informed and professional. He paced the day beautifully, animated all landmarks and answered all our inquisitive questions. His knowledge was impressive and versatile. Don't hesitate to take this tour- excellent!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If you're spending just a few days here, this tour is the way to go, The guide was extremely knowledgeable and patient. Also with the tour you are allowed to skip the long lines, which is great since it was extremely hot. They do take you to a rug dealer, but you don't have to buy anything and one tip is just show no interest and politely leave after they do the sales pitch.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fabulous. Cappadoccia is really worth a visit. If you don't have a lot of time, one day is really enough for getting a feel for the area. Even though we had to catch the bus at 5:00 am and didn't get back to our hotel until 9:00 pm the tour was not exhausting. There was a good mix of bus travel and walking around that we never felt tired. The tour included a very good lunch, not your typical crummy tour meal. Our guide was excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Cappadocia In One Day Small-Group Tour from Istanbul: Devrent Valley, Ozkonak, Pasabag, Avanos and Goreme Open-Air Museum

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I had a wonderful experience, learning in one day about many facets of the historical Istanbul

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Istanbul is a beautiful city and the cruise was incredible because of the beautiful sightseeing. The Dolmabahce Palace was something unexpected, very well preserved, magnificent palace that worth a visit.

Doing what: Istanbul Tour with Bosphorus Cruise and Dolmabahce Palace

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent half-day tour including lunch. The tour took us to where the Bosphorus meets the Black Sea, with time for a swim in the cool waters. Informative commentary along the route.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was great our guide Tibet was awesome she was very informative with the history and didn't drag it on to much. She changed the direction of the tour a little so we would be able to enjoy the sites without getting caught in large crowds. It was a pleasure spending the day with her. She walks fast so wear your running shoes. Thanks for a great day!!!

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day with so much to see made easy and enjoyable by our articulate and entertaining guide Omar.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tourguide was great. Very informative and very passionate about the culture and history of Istanbul.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The lady did a fantastic job of providing good local food and a comfortable setting in very humble living environment. Be prepared to sit on the floor!
The guide was a nice guy but was tired and did not provide a very good tour on the way to the apartment for the dinner. All in all, if one wants to see how the average person lives in Istanbul, this is highly recommendable experience.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This is a very comprehensive tour that packs a lot of highlights into a very full day. The advantages are having the knowledge and services of a local guide and pre-purchased tickets that by-pass some of the very long queues. It is the ideal tour for somebody with a limited time in Istanbul who wants to cover some of the main highlights - Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and the magnificent Basilica Cisterns. A tasteful lunch at a local cafe provides added ambience.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent show,

Doing what: Whirling Dervish Show in Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We met out guide close to the Sultanahmet station and headed through the Hippodrome to less touristy part of town. Going up the building, we met our host for the night, together with her kids and friends who were helping her for the night. We all sat on the floor on cushions, the 12 of us eagerly awaiting the festivities. We were first served with some yummy lentil soup and bread, followed by rice and aubergine stuffed with meat. All the meals were very tasty, definitely home-made quality! Our host then served us with Turkish tea, which ended our dinner. She was very friendly and made us feel at ease in her house. Though we could not communicate properly, her genuine smile, together with hand-gestures, was more than welcoming. I sneaked into the kitchen to see her realm, where she did cook our delicious meal and get tea ready! Her kids being there made it out all very lively too, as eager to learn about us as we were to learn about them, We then headed to another part of town for a shishah evening - it was fun to see the waiter preparing and showing us how to use the narguile. Can't say I did a good job at it, but definitely tried and it was a good laugh and experience. Would definitely would recommend this tour

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We first walked through touristic area before heading to less busy ones where we met our family. This family was originally from the South East of Turkey, where it is custom to eat seating on cushions. A good full meal, with soup, aubergine, rice, bread, meze and tea! Friendly family that made us at ease, welcoming us 12 in their small living room. We then went to a shisha place where we all tried on smoking the shisha (individual end pipe provided!), with the waiter showing us the ropes. Though I am not a smoker, it was fun and the apple flavor we chose was nice

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message