In recent years a number of historic hamams – or Turkish baths - around Istanbul, including several designed by the master architect Mimar Sinan, have been renovated and now provide a Turkish bath experience rivaling what it may have been like at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 11 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This sure is an experience loved it

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Just by entering the beautiful historical building, you feel in a different world. After we changed, we got into the hot Hammam area - it was not as hot as I thought it would. It's all white marble top to bottom, and very clean. We were first left to water ourselves down, then brought to the central marble piece, where we go the scrubbing. Be ready, this is quite surprising (and a bit hurtful) first but then you wonder how come you don't do that more often as you feel so clean and reinvigorated. We had upgraded to a massage as well while on site, and this really completed the experience perfectly. There were not that many people so it was a definite intimate experience, and from the majestic building to the full attention and treatment from our masseurs, it was perfect! You can't go to Istanbul and not have a Hamman, and Hamman Cagaloglu was the perfect choice!

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I strongly recommend the experience at the Hammam Cagaloglu in Istanbul. The historical building and the marble rooms are beautiful. An energetic scrub and massage (we added this on site) are done before relaxing on the hot marble, though you can cool off by using some of the water from your own personal water fountain. We left very relaxed and refreshed!

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was amazing and relaxing - a sumptuous building all made of marble, with a masseur both strong (for the scrubbing) and soft (for the massage, which we upgraded for), very attentioned to any details.

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

"What a surprise! I had a vague memory of a sauna back in France and this was a way different experience. After getting changed and wrapped in a towel, we were brought to a huge dome area, all in white marble. The temperature and humidity were quite high but total bearable, but get you ready for the next steps, sweating and all in the steamy bath chamber. A masseur then comes to give you a good exfoliating scrub and a good wash. One can use a small bucket to keep watering down, with cold or hot water. It was a nice moment, unexpected and relaxing. "

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

Naude M
South Africa

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

nice experience

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

I've had a Hammam experience before so my expectations were high. It was a good experience, clean facility, nice to get dropped off but definitely NOT worth the cost. The guy at the desk didn't even know what my voucher included so he gave us middle of the line when I was clearly supposed to get a premium package including massage. I could have booked this myself for 50 Euro but paid 2X by booking it through a site. I know for next time. Reviews online are questionable so I recommend you ask Friends and Family for their experience.

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Horrible experience. The person wispered in my ear that he would accept dollars as a tip. Kind of blows the whole experience.

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Overpriced. Admin staff rather rude. Do not recommend.

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The driver who picked us up did not know a word of English, dropped us in the middle of the road and left us right there. When we arrived at the reception we were told we did not pay for the bath! We had to wait for 30 mins until they finally decided to let us in. The bath was ok. Will not go again

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The bath was an interesting experience. It would have made me feel more comfortable if the ladies working there spoke English as it was hard to communicate.

Doing what: Turkish Bath Experience in Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message