Istanbul also offers a wide array of regional and specialty Turkish dishes. Here are a few that you should definitely sample, many of which can be found on the street or on a Turkish food tour . Kebabs - Do Turkish kebabs really need an ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ammara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was one of the best tours we have ever taken. Everything was well organised and we didn't have to worry for a single thing right from when we were picked from our hotel at Istanbul till we were dropped at the Kayseri airport back on the second day.
The tour guide UNLUER KOCAN was an amazing guide. He was so informative , sweet and courteous and we enjoyed his company. He used the time in the most efficient way to show us the most and in the best possible way. He gave detail information regarding anything we want to know about that place and Turkish specialities in general.
The stay was so comfortable , food was delicious and balloon ride was definitely one of the main highlights that should not be missed.
Overall this tour was definitely a 10 on 10 experience and it someone is reading this review to consider this tour I will say GO FOR IT and you won't regret your choice.

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Tour with Optional Hot Air Balloon Ride

Tiffany S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Istanbul is fantastic! Truly, there are many sights to see, many mouth watering foods to taste, and a dizzy amount of items calling you to buy them. It can be slightly daunting. Where should you go? What should you eat? Where are the best places to buy quality goods?

Instead of running around town, frantic to fit everything in, with the guided day tour, Ahmet took me around to the all the major old town attractions the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Bascilia Cistern, various monuments, and of course the Grand Bazaar.

We set out from my hotel, early, and at a leisurely pace, beating the crowds. Ahmet brought the various places to life with the rich history of area. I had ample time to roam around taking pictures, and soaking in the history and culture.

Ever patient, Ahmet guided me through the bazaar, making sure I knew how to get around, and get out. He was also able give me recommendations on where i could find higher quality items.

All in all, it was a wonderful day, well worth the price, with wonderful company.

Doing what: Istanbul: Full-Day Private Guided Old City Tour

Edward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good tour! The food was great and the tour well laid out. It was a very busy day, but I would never have been able to do it all alone. The tour guide was very knowledgeable on all subjects and had an interest in our group. Highly recommend this for anyone wanting to get a packed day of Istanbul.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Martin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was excellent, we got to see a lot more than anticipated. The tour collected us right on time, there was 8 of us on the tour all Aussies, we all had a great 2 days. We changed hotels when we returned to Istanbul, they were able to drop us at the new hotel at the airport, with no problems. We can recommend this company 110, the hotel was great, the food included in the tour was good as well.

Doing what: 2-Day Small-Group Troy and Gallipoli Tour from Istanbul

donald r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A wonderful experience with a very friendly and informative guide. The dinner host was very hospitable and the food was simple but delicious! My fellow tourists were also a great bunch. Sadly I fell prey to scam artists whilst in Istanbul and lost a considerable amount of money. I would recommend that visitors to Istanbul only use reputable tour agencies such as Viator.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Anthony Prowling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wow! This was one of our highlights in Istanbul. The small group worked well, the guide was fantastic and knew his stuff! The food tasting experience exceeded all expectations. Definitely a five star rating for this tour! Well done!

Doing what: Istanbul Food Walking Tour of Kadikoy

Arpana P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Originally we were going to see all the sights independently, but we were so glad we booked this tour. We had a fantastic guide and got a taste of all the main sights of Istanbul with some time to look around, we also did not have to queue up with others and passed the long line of people waiting to get in. We crammed in quite a lot and therefore saved a lot of time. The lunch was not extravagant, but pretty plain but then most of the foods in Istanbul is...but healthy! Be prepared to walk a lot - Well worth the money.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Oliver

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Being the only one on this tour, my guide Tolga as well as my host family made me feel extremely welcome indeed. This is a fantastic way to be able to meet with locals, learn about their customs, enjoy traditional Turkish food, and revel in the culture of it all. I highly recommend this food and cultural tour to anyone visiting Istanbul...

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

jenny.morison

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was fantastic, great balloon ride, accommodation and food. 4 am start in Istanbul, too early. The only issue is to make sure you have booked your return flight from Cappadocia- this tour would be better if it was included as many people had no idea they had no return flight to Istanbul until they got to Cappadocia-

Doing what: 2-Day Cappadocia Tour with Optional Hot Air Balloon Ride

Silvia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Tour was beautiful! Me and my boyfriend we both liked it very much. The crew members were very nice and helpful. The guide was also very nice and knew a lot about the History of Istanbul, without ever being boring. The wind was a little cold, but the place where we stopped to swim, had almost no wind and we could dive in the Water without really getting cold. The food was also very good. The only thing that we didn't found that went well was the pick up to return to the Hotel. The day before they warned us that they couldn't take us back to the Hotel, but they would take us to Taksim square or else where. When we got out from the boat there was noone waiting for us. The guide was already gone and we wen't on foot till Taksim square, where we took the Metro back to the Hotel. Still the trip was worth it.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Day Cruise from Istanbul

Carlene F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had a great tour guide who took us to delicious food places. She was personable and interested in showing us the food delights in Istanbul.

Doing what: Istanbul Evening Food Walking Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Panoramic views, good food, enough narration...plus a stop at a charming village on the Bosphorus...all add up to an entertaining and satisfying afternoon. Istanbul is still one of the greatest cities in the world, and this tour goes a long way toward explaining why that is. The crew of the boat was very competent and friendly, and the chef came to each table to explain what he had prepared which was delicious. You shouldn't miss this excursion.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Ranjit B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing! We got to see pretty much all the key highlights of Istanbul in one day. Guneysp?, our tour guide was so awesome, very friendly, outgoing and knows the city inside and out. The restaurant they took us for lunch was soooo good, in fact we went back for lunch couple of days after. The variety of food was great, we got to have a taste all the different kinds of Turkish food. The vendors they took us to at the grand bazaar were great, especially at the spice bazaar, we bought so many spices! It can be overwhelming in the bazaar with all the shops and people but the tour guides made us feel very comfortable the whole time. They gave us tips on what to do and answered all of our questions. The cruise was fantastic, took us along the Bospherous. We did the tour on the first full day that we got to Instanbul, which was the best decision we made because it allowed us to get familiar with the city and how to get around. Highly recommend this tour to anybody! On our whole Trip visited Italy as well, this Istanbul Tour was our favorite by far!

Doing what: Small-Group Istanbul Tour: Skip-the-Line Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern, Bosphorus Cruise, Blue Mosque and Grand Bazaar

Suzie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Absolutely loved the tour, excellent food well apart from the tripe soup! our favourite part was playing okey in the men's club, such a non touristy experience.....we searched istanbul until we found a boxed set to take home!

Doing what: Istanbul by Night: Turkish Food Tour

Cheryl H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fast and furious one day to see the best of Istanbul...this tour does it!Fabulous guide,locations,food and information.Thanks Viatiour.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Anika D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is one of the highlights of my trips to Istanbul! I'm a foodie so I thoroughly enjoyed all the tastings. The restaurant we visited for lunch had actually been recommended by a Turkish friend prior to my trip. She said it was a must visit and I agree. Very authentic and tasty. Also, the baklava was the best I've ever tasted in my life! The tour guide was also very knowledgable and friendly. I cannot say enough good things about this tour. If you are a foodie this tour is for you! I will say that the tour seems a bit pricey, because the tastings don't cost very much, but I enjoyed the tour so much that I didn't mind the price.

Doing what: Istanbul Food Walking Tour of Kadikoy with Breakfast

Shanthini D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The sightseeing with Omar as our tour guide was excellent. Omar was very informative and entertaining. The tour kept to time and was very professionally arranged. We had enough time to explore the attractions without being rushed. We would love to do it again and recommend to anyone who likes to tour Istanbul's highlights in one day.
The dinner show was very good. The entertainment provided was excellent . The host who came on for the final act was very good and kept the party going to a very exiting tempo. It is unfortunate we didnt get his name.However the dining area was a little too cramped with all tables being placed too near where the waiters had hardly any roomto move about. Would have preferred a bigger dining area. The food provided and the show was good value for money.

Doing what: Istanbul Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Turkish Dinner and Show

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The lady did a fantastic job of providing good local food and a comfortable setting in very humble living environment. Be prepared to sit on the floor!
The guide was a nice guy but was tired and did not provide a very good tour on the way to the apartment for the dinner. All in all, if one wants to see how the average person lives in Istanbul, this is highly recommendable experience.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Amy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a great day with our private tour guide. He was very knowledgeable about all the places we went on the tour and about the history of Istanbul and Turkey. He was very friendly and we enjoyed the tour very much. We really liked visiting the historical sights in Istanbul and the food was very good in the restaurant where we stopped for lunch. In short, it was a very enjoyable day and the guide was great!

Doing what: Private Tour: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour including Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace

Anders B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was perfect for us. The company picked us up as scheduled and got us back to our hotel as promised. Because the driving in Istanbul is fast and furious and there is a lot of gridlock, we had to walk a couple of blocks to meet the driver (someone came to the hotel and walked with us) and walk a couple of blocks back on the return trip. This wasn't a problem for us but may be for those who have difficulty walking. Otherwise the tour was good, food was great (!) and the guide and assistants friendly and knowledgeable. Thanks to them and to Viator for providing this service.

Doing what: Bosphorus Strait and Black Sea Half-Day Cruise from Istanbul

Prezzman United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The 'Eat Like A Local' tour is definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

Our guide Saleh met us at a mutually agreed location. Saleh is a very young, hard working, knowledgeable and energetic young man. He was able to answer our queries and provide suggestions for our remaining time in Istanbul.

The tour takes us to a typical home of a Turkish family. The home we went to was nice and cozy, and the people there were very welcoming. As soon as we had arrived, around 7:00pm, the host started laying down the food for our dinner. Saleh was acting as a translator throughout.

For starters, the had served a salad, which I was told is usually served around all the restaurants in Istanbul, but this had to be the best tasting salad that I would have had during the trip. This was followed by Dolma, the traditional dish of bell pepper or vine leaves stuffed with rice. The servings were plentiful to the point that I was unable to finish all that was served. The dinner concluded with servings of traditional Turkish tea. The food was delicious and I would have definitely made a second visit if I had the time during my trip.

My wife and I were traveling with our daughter, 2 years of age. Because of our daughter, we decided to skip the smoking of the shisha pipe. Instead, Saleh took us to a coffee shop and offered us coffee and snacks.

What I enjoyed most about this tour was the fact that we get to see and understand how people live their daily lives. The traditional Istanbul hospitality that you hear of is clearly evident during this visit. Definitely worth the time spent on this tour!!!

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Tanya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We got to see everything a tourist wants to see before leaving Istanbul in one day. But, the best part was the night show. It was fantastic, the audience was into it, the food was good, and the service was great.

Doing what: Istanbul Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Turkish Dinner and Show

janpatrick77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great day tour which covered all the "big" attractions you can visit in Istanbul.
The very friendly guide gave you more than enough information about all the sights and you were comfortable transported in an air-conditioned mini-bus.
Included food was delicious and typical turkish, still don't know how it could be so cheap.
Really recommend this tour especially to first-time visitors.

Doing what: Istanbul in One Day Sightseeing Tour: Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar

Roberto A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our chance to meet some real residents of Istanbul. Our tour guide was good company with his intimate local knowledge and enthusiasm for his city. We enjoyed our family meal, which although basic, typified the food eaten everyday. Our walking tour was interesting and ending in a shisha bar was a new experience for us.

Doing what: Eat Like a Local: Istanbul Food and Culture Tour with Dinner at Local Family Home

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Be prepared for a very long day however this tour is well worth it. Pickup from your Hotel at 6 am and drop off back to your hotel close to midnight. About 5 hours drive to Gallipoli and then another 5 hours back to your hotel in Istanbul. A few things in regards to Neon of which we were not happy about. As we booked this tour with Neon we expected a Neon Tour Bus to pick us up. However, the Tour group that took us was Hassle Free Tours. The guide (Munt) did not speak to us much at all on the 5 hour journey to Gallipoli only to tell us when it was time to have a break and what time to be back on the bus. When we finally arrived in Gallipoli another Tour Guide (Murat) took over and then it started to get a lot better from there. We had lunch (which was okay) before we set off on our tour around Gallipoli. Murat was excellent, spoke very good English, had a great sense of humour and his knowledge on the history of Gallipoli is very extensive. He gave us a great insight and an unbiased account of the strategies they used and how these soldiers suffered through this sad time. We started from the beginning right to the end and took in all the important landmarks. About 6pm we headed back to Istanbul - quite exhausted - and arrived back at our Hotel around midnight. The drivers both ways were excellent. However just a heads up that the food in these road side services doesn't look too appetising and if you have a sensitive tummy you are better off bringing some of your own snacks (we had bananas etc). Well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Gallipoli Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message