Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2267 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour is incredible with and EXCELLENT tour guide!!! It takes you to Pompeii with an awesome private tour of the best parts of the ruins, with the guide there incredible and knowledgable. The drive and subsequent stops along the Amalfi Coast are beautiful - even in winter!! Highly recommended

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Daniel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Amalfi Coast is simply wonderful. Pompeii was frozen in time, so we had an excellent opportunity to see how an ancient roman city was. Our guides were really good, during the trip and at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Michael M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great tour driver/guide, David was fun, knowledgeable and kept us all busy on the ride back and forth from Rome, as well as during the amazing ride down the beautiful A,alf Coast.

The tour of Pompeii was inspiring, and the tour guide for that was an expert in the history of the place and was passionate and committed to make the experience memorable and significant.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Tour was fabulous. Brando was an excellent tour guide, very knowledgeable and friendly, tour went without a glitch from the time we were picked up from the Westin Hotel to the time we were brought back. Tour guide in Pompeii was EXCELLENT - he brought the city to life for us - informative and very entertaining the man had charisma. I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. Warren and I enjoyed ourselves immensely and look forward to spending more time on the Amalfi Coast on our next visit to Rome.
Amanda and Warren Turner.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to be in their hands and have everything taken care of. We enjoyed the lunch, the tour guides, and the bus. Thought this was an excellent value.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Priscilla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed this trip, it covers a lot in one day. I think I would have liked another 30-60 mins at Pompeii and just drive through Amalfi rather than stopping for an hour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

James K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour and driver was very knowledgeable and helpful. His knowledge of Pompeii coupled with our guide in the ruins gave us a view which would not have been possible if we were on our own. The Amalfi coast portion of the tour was very interesting and, again, our driver was able to satisfy all our quieries and steer us to the right restauants and shops. Worth both the time and cost of the tour

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jeannie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour of Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast was excellent. The time of year was a little disadvantage but I would not hesitate to book the tour at all. Most do.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Michelene V

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Loved the history of Pompeii, it was amazing! The pompeii local tour guide was rude and impatient though. Good thing our driver tour guide for the whole tour was kind and friendly. Amalfi and Positano were nice, reminded me a bit of Santorini. The time to completely enjoy the magic of the place was definitely too short though. Just enough for a quick peek if youre not going back to Italy anytime soon.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Don C E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

this tour was very good but we have never been given the opportunity to review two other tours we took on this holiday the Vatican tour and the Pompeii/herculeum tour we had major concerns about both and particularly the Pompeii tour where we did not hear much of what was said by the guide YOU MUST check the sound systems used on both those tours and have guides that speak without such a distinct Italian accent as this makes the sound system problems even more acute please respond

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Kate G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Pompeii was an absolute must. Our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowlegable. The amalfi coast was gorgeous, but as we attended in winter most venues were in their down season and closed.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Rodney W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great trip, long day, excellent driver.
Wrong time of the year to visit Amalfi, got dark very quickly and missed most of the views.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Becky Berg United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

I've reviewed this tour twice already.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Huraiyah A

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The guide was wonderful, but we spent about 10 hours in the car round trip. I would have liked to have spent more than 1 hour in Amalfi. Leaving at 6:45am to 7:15am was to early. Breakfast is not served at the hotel until 7am. The guide was kind and stopped at a shop that we could grab snacks. The restaurant we went to for lunch was priced to high. I ended up paying for food I sent back because they did not note that the pasta would be Al Dente which I am not used to. Lunch ended up being 66 Euros instead of around 30 Euros which I would have been happy with. The views were beautiful, but again, we spent 2 hours eating lunch and 1 hour in Amalfi. The rest of the 13 hours were spent in the car.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Caren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour and guide Ana. Long day, but so very worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

csarlouis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

excellent tour and driver.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had attentive and friendly guides, knowledgable, able to cater for our interests. As we were the only booking for the day, we had private tour guides, they were fantastic.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Gwendolyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was outstanding and the tour guide was the best. When we return to Italy I will definitely be using your super service. Thanks for making our trip the best ever. 2 very satisfied senior citizens:

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Loved this intimate tour that allowed us to set our own pace and spend more time in locations we enjoyed. The restaurant that was recommended for lunch was fantastic. It was a wonderful day!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

mk2044

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a wonderful day trip. From the pick up to the drop off it well organized. The local guide at Pompeii was one of best guides I have ever had on any tour. The only thing from stopping me giving 5 stars was the lunch stop, I think with it being mid week and slightly off season late November the town had pretty much shut down already. Only 1 real place to have lunch and most shops and cafes where closed. We drove through several other little villages that seem like would be a better stop.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

roastedjessnut

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pompeii is such a big city so we didn't see everything, but we got to see the smaller theatres, some roads, a bakery, prostitution house, and baths, plus photo time in the main square/open area near the Temple of Jupiter. I thought the cameo and coral shop was a bit unnecessary and obviously a tourist trap, but if you like that kind of stuff, you'll appreciate that part of the tour. If nothing else, it was good for a bathroom break haha.

Lunch was only ok - just pasta, calamari or roast beef, and gelato. We had to pay for our own drinks. It was a rather tourist-y restaurant, complete with a singer asking for tips and hordes of other tourists, but I suppose that's expected.

The Amalfi Coast tour was nice because we had a personable driver, Ricardo. I was fine with the style of the tour since it was just driving along the coast, taking in the scenery, stopping for photo ops, getting a sample of limoncello, and staying for about half an hour in Amalfi for free time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Erika

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great tour! Hotel pick up and drop off, driver spoke English and was very nice.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message