While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an amazing tour. Our tour guide, Brando, was wonderful. The Mamma Mia Road to Positano is 15 miles of Oh, my Lord, I can't believe a road like this exists. Thanks to Brando we arrived safe and sound in Positano, an unbelievably beautiful town. Graetano, our tour guide at Pompeii, brought this archaeological site alive. Again, my daughter and I have recommended this tour to everyone we met in Italy and will do the same back home.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an amazing day out. Our tour guide was so friendly and informative. Even though we hit unbelievable traffic that day, due to it being a public holiday, he made sure we arrived on time and did everything he could to make our trip remarkable. Highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Best trip ever! We were told our driver would have minimal English skills but our driver Savio's English was excellent. He was very professional and shared history of the region, pointed out specific scenic sites, stopped at scenic places to take pictures. Was kind enough to take pictures of us. Offered interesting details--such as the hotel where some celebrities were married. Liked our own time in Amalfi, Ravello, and Positano. But Savio pointed us in the right direction and gave us plenty of time. Definitely would recommend this tour. Worth every cent!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely the best way to view the Amalfi cost. Rosario was really accommodating and has a wealth of knowledge given that he has been doing this for fifteen years. He was a fantastic driver given the small tight corners and trucks and buses that you have to pass along the way. I don't know how everyone doesn't have more crashes. We were very fortunate with the weather as it was fantastic. So a great day

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We did a private tour and thoroughly recommend it. Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgable and picked us up 30 minutes early to allow us extra time as we were going straight to the train station afterwards to return to Rome. They took our luggage and Jene stayed with the car when we were out walking. Plenty of time in Sorrento, fantastic lunch with a magical view of Positano, wonderful views and shopping in Amalfi and some more time in Ravello. Cannot get over the views and the drive along this beautiful coastline. Our trip back across the mountains was beautiful and we were at the station with time to spare.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Booked for 6 of us to celebrate a friend's birthday and what a lovely and memorable evening we all had. The boat was gorgeous, Pepe and his colleague were friendly but not intrusive, professional and knowledgeable. They even presented our friend with a lovely birthday cake - an unexpected treat and very much appreciated. It was a couple of hours we will never forget - A BIG THANKS to all concerned - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Doing what: Private Tour: Amalfi Coast Sunset Cruise from Positano or Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was one of our favorites we have ever taken. Our driver Rosario was great and really made the trip amazing for our family. He provided lots of information and spoke great English. This tour is the best way to see all the towns and each town was beautiful. Pictures don't do it justice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An amazing trip! Thought so much couldn't be crammed into one day, but the sights of the coast, Positano and Pompeii were all breathtaking - (as was our guide's ability to master the van on the coast road - not for the faint-hearted!).
Would strongly recommend to anyone looking for a perfect day!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an amazing day. This is the way to experience the Amalfi Coast by immersing yourself into the towns along the cost. Each has it's own character. Our driver Johnnie went out of his way to please and make our day memorable. Even the family restaurant he recommended perched at the top of Positano was fabulous! We also had time to explore Ravello. Would definitely recommend. A great value and experience.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very nice trip to Capri. We actually had issues with our boat as we approached Capri and had to switch to a different boat. At the end of the day, the owner was waiting for us back in Positano with a gift and a refund offer due to our boat troubles. It was evident that this was simply bad luck and was not a result of anything the tour company did wrong nor was there any way to have prevented it. However, I was impressed at the owner's behavior and respect it a lot. We refused the refund but could not say no to the gift! The way he handled this says a lot about the person he is and the company he runs so I must applaud this and highly recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

EXCELLENT..BEST TOUR YET..The drivrr was excellent and so informative and such a good driver..

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An excellent tour guide and a much needed,excellent driver we had. Many thanks.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a very long day. Almafti coast was really beautiful.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

eyevvv
Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a really interesting trip. Worth going on this trip but if you have time worth to stay over at least 1 or 2 nights. Beware of traffic as you could be stuck for hours leaving you no time to enjoy the beautiful sights.our guide Marcello was excellent. Brighten our trip. Amazing guide.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our driver was on time and we spent the day enjoying the trip up the coast stopping regularly for photos and breaks. Much better than the groups that were covering similar territory in large buses and numbers.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Scary driver! Kept nodding off!
Pompeii guide was excellent. Amalfi coast is beautiful.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a great day tour, with a great Italian driver that picked us up from an apartment rental right on time. The drive down the coast was beautiful, yet a little scary. The Popmeii tour guide was fantastic and interesting to listen to. I don't think you would get the same experience out of the Pompeii tour without the tour guide

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent personalised tour of Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. Our guide Roberto was most informative and keen to make sure our tour was as comprehensive as possible.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was one of my favorite tours of our entire cruise. Our driver/guide was very friendly and accommodating. He stopped to allow pictures whenever we asked and it was safe to do so. His English was limited which was a bit of a drawback, but we still enjoyed the tour tremendously.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Mark
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

A big day with plenty of driving, with much along the motorway and windy narrow roads of the Amalfi Coast.
The guide was OK but not brilliant and was not able to be heard by those in the rear of the minivan. The Amalfi coast is amazing and we had perfect spring weather.
Pompeii was squeezed in late in the day so was a little rushed, it was great with plenty to see but we needed more time. A very good guide though at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

I have mixed feelings about this tour. On the one hand, our driver/tour guide Davide was very pleasant and nice. He had knowledge to share about the history of Rome and other outlying areas. Unfortunately he had to also concentrate on driving for the entire day, as driving in Italy is a very daring endeavor especially the hairpin turns around the Amalfi coast, so he could not speak a lot. This resulted in many hours of silence on the road. This is not Davide's fault at all, however, because we wanted him to get us to and from Rome in one piece. As such, this tour would be greatly improved with a separate driver. The stops at Positano and Amalfi, as well as the drive around the Amalfi coast was wonderful - the sights were breathtaking. However, the tour at Pompeii by Gaetano Manfredi was incredible, with no reservations - he is the best tour guide I have ever met. There's a reason why Rick Steves recommends him! Gaetano brought Pompeii to life in all of its splendor, and two hours with him in Pompeii flew by. Gaetano is knowledgeable, passionate about his subject and manages to be charismatic and captivating without taking the spotlight off Pompeii. He is great at painting a picture in your mind as to what life in Pompeii was like. Overall I would recommend this day trip for Gaetano's great tour, and the sights of the Amalfi. It is a very long day, just to warn you...our day was about 14 hours long.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message