Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2654 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louise D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very interesting and informative. A must do when visiting Italy.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Susan L.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In April 2016 we booked the Amalfi Coast Tour Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Our driver was Rosario. He met us at Star Hotel near Napoli Centrale train station in a nice Mercedes. Rosario was an excellent host/driver and spoke very good English. You also have the option to hire a guide to accompany you, but we chose not to do that because we wanted to be more on our own. Rosario was able to provide information and point out sights to us as we drove. He's been doing this for around 20 years so he is very knowledgeable.

You get a great view of Mount Vesuvius in the distance as you drive to Sorrento and on the way back to Naples.

Half way thru the trip, in between Positano and Amalfi, Rosario brought us to a wonderful restaurant called Calajanara with a picturesque setting overlooking the coast. It's just like you would imagine dining on the Mediterranean should be like. The food and service were fabulous. Note that the meal is not included in the price and it's not a cheap place 82 Euros for our lunch which included 2 glasses of wine, salads and entrees, and of course Lemoncello. We felt it was totally worth the cost. The owner was very nice and greeted us while we had our meal. Make sure you have the Lemoncello after your meal. They also had a shop that had a nice selection of gifts.

Positano shops had a nice selection of the ceramics and linens as well. Amalfi and Ravello are much smaller villages and don't have as many shops, but I did find a nice small water color print of the Amalfi coast to take home and frame.

The drive on the Amalfi coast was very beautiful with lots of twists and turns and very close passing of oncoming vehicles. I can't imagine doing that on a bus! But if you're in a tight budget, you may need to go that route.

However, this trip is definitely worth the splurge of the private driver and Rosario was fantastic. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

fana2060

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Love the tour. The lady who drove us was very patient and nice. We explored the Amalfi coast, positano, and then went to Pompeii. Great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Calvin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Manuel was our driver and he was very good! We enjoyed our tour very much with him!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Alicia W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great trip. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The day was long but worth every minute. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Monica A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was great.
We had all the information we needed, they gave us great advise about the places to visit at Capri. Luigi the capitain was great, we had free drinks all along the way and we stopped to swim. We even had limoncello on our way back.
The 3 hours we had at Capri were great.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Margaret P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing tour. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of taking this tour to go in a chauffeur driven car rather than taking the bus. My sister and myself are so pleased with took this option. Rozario, our driver, was absolutely first class in knowledge of the areas and was a very careful driver in those oh so narrow roads. Would highly recommend the Restaurant he stops at for lunch in Positano. Highlight of our holiday.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

mandkallan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An awesome tour! Excellent tour guide in Anna who was extremely well organised, informative, cheerful and made the day fantastic! Excellent driver too! The tour was amazing! I would thoroughly recommend it . A long day but well worth it! And hotel pick up and drop off excellent especially for solo travelers like me!
Pompeii guide Hector was fascinating and very informative!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Nigel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Words cannot describe the beauty of the Amalfi Coast it is something that needs to be experienced, having a driver and a guide makes it even more enjoyable. Mariana, our English speaking guide, along with Pepe, our driver made the whole day ours. We felt very safe in their company and they helped us discover the wonderful Amalfi coast. I highly recommend this tour, it has given us so many happy memories.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Courtney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It is so much better to go in the off season, even though things are closed. I can't image going in a big bus on those windy roads along the coast. I lucked out with a small group of 5 and we were in a comfy van. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Seaside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great time in Rome, we were on a cruise that ported in civitacchia and we opted for the driver with no guide but we got a driver with a translator who was very informative and led us to our points of interest and gave us time to explore with an easy meeting point destinations to meet back up with him.
The Trevi Fountain the Vatican City the Spanish steps were all amazing and the coliseum was breathtaking, we really enjoyed and would recocommend the trip, we were a party of 6 and we were comfortable in the mini van and thought this was great value for money and a great way to explore Rome.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

Tammy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful trip! First of all, our driver was amazing! He was funny and very informative as he pointed out landmarks on the way to and from Amalfi/Positano. Amalfi is a must see. It's so unique and incredibly beautiful. However, for me, Pompeii was the highlight of the excursion. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining was he lead us through the most important ruins.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

philipgilliam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Amalfi coast is a lovely part of Italy although its become quite touristy. Positano was the best part of the trip lunch at a restaurant on the shore, and wonderful backdrops for photos. Pompeii is the last stop and the guide gives you a thorough explanation of life in ancient Pompeii. explaining how the shops were set up, the methodology of the road construction, and of course a trip thru the brothels.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

NY2Paris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Every last detail was taken care of on our bus-to-bullet train-to-bus adventure to the Amalfi Coast, including amazing weather. Our guides were delightful, full of information and humor, and eager to show us a great time in this exquisite part of the world. Due to incredible organization, we were able to make the most of our time and see a lot of Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi and all points in between. I highly recommend this tour and the guides who lead it.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

anniefaieta

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beatiful Place! Great Tour Guide, his name was Dadive. Picked us up on time. Had a Wonderful Time!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Diane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Enjoyed it so much. Do have to warn you the driving near the coast is filled with so many turns and twist---make sure you do have a bottle of water with you ! The entire tour was amazing...LONG....but amazing. Pompeii HECTOR our tour Guide........what we learned from him applied to every single thing back in ROME.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Ronald D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The driver was waiting for us when we disembarked. He was polite, friendly and informative and gave us a day to remember.

Doing what: Salerno Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our trip to Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello was terrific. Our guide Claudio did a great job. He let us customize our trip the way we wanted. This was our first Viator tour and we would definitely use your services again.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Camilo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Booked trough viator, an the tour operator was EXCELLENT, thank you Tania and Pascuale Everything was perfect from the moment we checked in all the way until finished. I would recommend this company to book your tours while in Firenzi Florence. Tania did an outstanding performance, very professional, knowledgeable and very pleasant. Pascuale the driver very pleasant and made us feel safe.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very enjoyable trip. Rosario our driver picked us up at our hotel and could not have been more professional and friendly. We did not book the guide option and this did not detract at all as Rosario was very knowledgable and his English was very good. Rosario stopped at various scenic points along the route so that we could take photographs. At each of the stops, Rosario advised us where to go and we were then at liberty to explore on our own. Before our last stop at Positano, Rosario recommended a lovely restaurant for lunch with stunning views - we would never have found this if Rosario had not recommended. While this was quite an expensive trip due to only bring two of us, we would highly recommend it and it was well worth the money.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

pam.earl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a full day tour but well worth the effort. Rosella was a great guide from Rome. She was so organised getting us to Naples by fast train and to the small bus. Our local guide was extremely informative and kept us filled in on all the places we went through. We had a welcome break to take some photos and stretch our legs before we reached Amalfi. Unfortunately our time there was too short it was lovely. We then negotiated the coast road to Positano. We had longer there but we would have preferred to stay longer at Amalfi. Positano was more tourist oriented than we liked. Be prepared for a lot of travel but if you only have limited time the trip is well worth the effort. Especially as we had great guides and a very good driver Guiseppi.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome Including Positano

Joëlle D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! Drivers very friendly. The amalfi coast is worth it. A little bit short on time though too much to see. Really nice guides Stephania and Angela.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message