Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2753 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour and great guide. Pompeii guide was great too! Not a tour to be missed and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

amy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was AMAZING! Our guide, Sabio, was an absolute delight! He was very flexible and allowed us time to walk around in Positano and Ravello. We never felt rushed. He also made great recommendations on restaurants and local shops. He was full of useful information and made the drive through Amalfi Coast very comfortable. I would do this tour again and again!! Thanks for a great trip Sabio!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Juliana C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a great tour! I highly recommend it! Everyone was very nice and the captian was very informative about Capri, Amalfi Coast, etc. Gave us time to see the Blue Grotto! I would do it again for sure! Absolutely worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Truly, a magnificent day! Facilitated by our most cordial, capable, and friendly driver, it was fantastic!!!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

awhite8068

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Giuseppe was an amazing tour guide! He was full of knowledge and understanding of the ancient Roman civilizations! This was a fantastic tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day with our driver Ciro with all the best stops and views of the Amalfi coast with great photo opportunities along the way and a nice lunch at a seaside restaurant in Praiano. A full 9 hours spent in one of the most outstanding places I and #39;ve been to. A must do trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Susan n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It's a long day, early start but I enjoyed the smaller group experience. Hotel pick up and drop off was awesome. The Amalfi coast is unreal. Positano was a must see in Italy. We had about an hour and a half there. Pack a swim suit if you want to hit the beach I wish I had. They sell them there but are expensive men's 100, speedo 40 lol Bring cash many places don't take cards. I honestly would have loved just the entire day at the two stops in the Amalfi coast. Pompeii was very interesting and really awesome to see. Guide was incredibly knowledgable. Only thing that I didn't care for was you have to pay 13 euro to get inside Pompeii. I though booking this tour had that taken care of. Overall was an awesome experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My favorite day trip! I have always wanted to go to the Amalfi Coast and this private tour was perfect. Savio, our driver, was fantastic! He knew a lot of history, spoke very good English for me that was very good since i don't speak their language and gave us plenty of time in each Town to walk around and explore the beautiful sights! I highly recommend a private tour rather than the buses!

Julie and Bryan

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

JAYCINE B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our private tour of the Amalfi Coast. Based on other reviews, we requested Giavonni as our driver. He definitely lived up to our expectations. He made the day perfect for us. We were traveling with our daughter who had just graduated from college and he related to all of us! The sights were stunning and we were able to customize our time in each area. Great tour would do it again!

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

mlboatwright

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a perfect way to see the coast. My husband and I were both able to enjoy the beautiful scenery and stroll through the towns of Positano, Amalfi, and Ravello at our own pace. Our driver, Rosario was great. He had been driving the area for years and was able to point out places of interest along the road and answered all of our many questions. We would do this again over a bus tour.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

ann2howard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great! We had a fantastic time. Johnny, our driver was wonderful. He took us to a fantastic restaurant with amazing views. Johnny even went out of his way to take us back to the restaurant to get something we forgot. We really never made it to Ravello, probably due to a car accident, that delayed us in Sorrento, but everything we saw was amazing!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Fidelma W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My parents loved this trip, truly amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Lynda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver was exceptional, and the tour guide most informative. We enjoyed every part of the trip. Would highly recommend this trip. Pompeii was more than we expected.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very nice day. Driver was good and pointed out a lot of interesting items. He stopped to take pictures at great spots.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Rie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our driver Manual was awesome, very informative, we drove to the Amalfi Coast, the first stop was Positano, then Sorrento and Amalfi, very beautiful, we had a traditional Italian lunch at a great little restaurant overlooking the coastline, it started with bruschetta, pizza, pasta, wine of course and dessert !!!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Jodi C Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

So, so glad we did this tour! What a welcome respite from busy but amazing Rome. The Amalfi coast was breathtaking, and our guide, Anna, was very knowledgeable and helpful. Everything was perfect-except- the recommended restaurant in Positano should be skipped. Typical gorgeous location, sub-par and overpriced food.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous day exploring the Amalfi Coast. We were picked up on time, the transport was comfortable and the driver was proffessional and pleasant. The tour of Pompeii was less impressive: our small busload joined two others and the group was too big the tour guide was difficult to hear and did not wait for those at the back of the group before launching into his spiel at each stopping point. The site itself is very interesting of course.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Anicia Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing!!!! Best tour we took around Naples. Our driver, Rosário, was fantastic, a real gentleman. Picked us up at the hotel punctually at a Mercedes E220, really comfortable. He showed and explained the main attractions on the way and told us some local curiosities. When we arrived at each city, he left us some time on our own to explore around. He took great pictures of us too and took us to a great restaurant with fantastic view to have lunch!!! If you want to escape from big groups and have a romantic tour, this is for you. We were on our honeymoon and this was undoubtedly the best tour we took during the whole trip! Thanks Rosario!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Kate G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thank you to Pepe for a wonderful day on the beautiful coastline. It was easy to find him near the hotel in Naples. Though his English was limited, we did not have too much difficulty understanding each other. He was clear about when we would stop for photo ops, how much time we had in each spot, and the best of each destination. The lunch spot we stopped at, La Conca Azzurra, was delicious with stunning views of the coast.

I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time wanting to see the Amalfi Coast. No one had any issues with motion sickness. I wish we had more time in Positano maybe less in Sorrento would be okay since we really went down to the beach and back up in the limited time we had. It would have been nice to stop into some of the shops there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent choice. Only seven people. The Amalfi coast is always spectacular. The later arrival at Pompeii is a good idea. It was not very crowded. The private guide at Pompeii Gaetano was very informative and passionate.
The driver-guide Max not only arrived on time for the pick up, but a few minutes early. He is very attentive, polite, etc. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Gina P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful boat ride stopping at grotto's and offering beverages and snacks. Ample time in Capri! I'd do it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Heather Wilde Mull

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This excursion was so much fun. We had a small group of about ten people and our guide was so entertaining and enthusiastic! He told us about the history of the area, offered to take pictures of the group, provided fun music on the boat, and even brought drinks and snacks for all of us to enjoy. He dropped us off for about four hours on the island, before meeting us to take us back to Positano. This was so much more than we anticipated and it was a wonderful way to see the surrounding area and the island of Capri. The only thing I will mention, we didn't stop to swim or snorkel, which normally I would have been disappointed by, but the weather was really cloudy and cold that day, so I'm thinking he may have skipped this because it probably would not have been enjoyable. Otherwise, this was a great cruise!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Parker Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Excellent tour of Pompeii with our lady tour guide.
Lunch was good liked the calamari and shrimp. People were lined up outside the restaurant, but our group breezed through ahead of them.
Loved the stunning views of Positano and Sorrento, hats off to excellent driving through the narrow winding streets.
Appreciated the email reminders for this tour, especially the hotel pick up time and printing vouchers. Hotel pick up and return was a nice plus!
Will definitely book another tour through Viator.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour makes for a long day but worth it. Our tour guide said he does the tour 3 or 4 times a week because the Amalfi Coast is the most beautiful part of Italy and he was right. The views over looking the ocean were gorgeous. We had lunch right by the ocean's edge. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and direct d us to excellent shops and where to have lunch.
The tour ends with a visit to Pompeii. This really gives you sense how Romans lived centuries ago. Our guide was a third generation tour guide. Really made the ruins come to life.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message