• USD ($)
  • English
While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1602 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing tour, it was a beautiful day in a truly breath taking place!!! Out tour guide was amazing, knowledgable, fun and very friendly!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing and would do it again. No complaints

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Great day trip, wish we could have spent a week at the coast!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I have been wanting to visit Pompeii since I was a child. And ever since I saw pictures of Positano a few years ago, I've wanted to visit there, too. So imagine how happy I was to be able to enjoy both places in one trip!! And it was everything I had hoped it to be.
Our driver, Alexandro, picked up my daughter and I at 7 am from our hotel along with 5 other passengers. As we drove to Pompeii, he pointed out various spots of interest and very patiently answered my questions. After a smooth drive we arrived in Pompeii before 10 am. We were met by our guide, Antonio, and from the entrance we proceeded to walk through the history of the once magnificent city. It was a picture perfect day and we took advantage of it. The tour lasted about 3 hours.
From Pompeii, Alexandro drove us to Positano. The drive along the coastline was breathtaking and nerve-wracking and delightful! We enjoyed a delightful lunch at the restaurant Chez Black, overlooking the Gulf of Salerno. We didn't have a lot of time to spend shopping, but that was OK with me. As my daughter went exploring, I enjoyed a seaside cappuccino.
We arrived back at our hotel before 9 pm. We had a wonderful day and I highly recommend this tour. Please send my best regards to Alexandro and especially Antonio, who helped me navigate the steep incline to the exit at Pompeii. Thank you, Viator!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful time or guide was very outgoing and made our trip a lot of fun lunch was very nice enjoyed the shopping and the drive was beautiful !!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Viator came through with flying colors. Our driver was excellent pointing out interesting sites along the way. It was a wonderful way to conclude our 15 day trip to France, Italy and Spain. The sites were fantastic. Would love to have doesn't more time. Driver suggested a great place for lunch. Family run restaurant. Food was great, service too. Views were fantastic and prices great.
Viator was there waiting for us when we stepped off the ship. Was a great day. Thanks

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing day had by all! The Amalfi Coast was breathtaking - Loved both of the towns. Stopped many times along the coast for pictures. Pompeii was interesting and our guide was very informative and full of energy. Our van driver was great and informative. Highly recommend this day trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Highlight of our trip beautiful, views were amazing, shop, people friendly

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Totally worth the money! This was our splurge tour while we were in Rome for 5 days. Pompeii was amazing and so cool to see. Could have spent the day there but the time there was really good. We had a great tour guide when we got there. The Amalfi Coast drive and stops were a once in a life time experience. I was moved emotionally by the incredible beauty of this part of the world. We travel a ton and good several Viators tours for our big trip each year for tha past 5 years and have always been so impressed. The only things that were not perfect is that we had a driver on his first day doing this tour and did not say much at all. He was quiet the whole way. Honestly, along the Amalfi Coast drive you really don't need any commentary but it would have been nice to hear some fun facts while driving. Especially the 3 hour drive back. It is a very long day 13 hours but well worth it! We were picked up at 6:45 am and dropped off at 8:30pm. Don't let the long day get in the way of the amazing experience! I would also recommend that your don't go to the restaraunt the guide takes you to in position. Busy tourist trap and the food was average. Find your own place on the beach and get away from the crowds. Much more enjoyable. Do your self a favor and treat yourself to this amazing tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic! A long days drive, but well worth it! Knowledgeable and friendly guides, delicious eats and beautiful views! A perfect private tour!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This is a very long 12 hour day but it is worth it. Roads are winding and could cause car sickness. Our tour guide was a very safe driver but his communication could have been more lively.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This is a very long 12 hour day but it is worth it. Roads are winding and could cause car sickness. Our tour guide was a very safe driver but his communication could have been more lively.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our driver and the tour guide in Pompeii were both outstanding. One member of our tour group was 30 minutes from the rest of the group. She was picked up last and dropped off first. Why not pick her up first and drop her off last. Making one wait for seven makes more sense. Essentially making everyone wait for her. It was an extra hour of our trip. Except for that it was a wonderful experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This ended up being the worse ever. I'm not sure if everyone has the same people, but this isn't really a tour. You are basically paying for a driver to take you around.

Pompeii is literally about 20 minutes away from Naples so you can easily take a car. They take you to a coral shop and another store to try limoncello (which is more to get you to buy things). The guide doesn't speak English very well and they don't give you any information about the city, Pompeii, Naples, etc. They basically just explain the itinerary and drive you to Pompeii where you need to buy your own entrance tickets (they won't give you the audio guide). After dropping you off, they leave you in Pompeii and pick you up 2 hours later.
After they take you to lunch (which really sucked). You have to buy your own water or drinks and the lunch consists of a fast food type of restaurant with a pasta dish (simple tomato sauce and spaghetti) and meat dish (meat or fish) which is very small and not worth talking about. Dessert is just Gelato and you don't even get a choice, you are given whatever flavor and it's up to your own luck if you get a good one or not.

After that they take you to the Amalfi coast which is just driving through. There is no explanation of anything at all from the guide (just basically "look at how pretty that house is", "look at the water", etc. but nothing of meaning or informational of the area... in other words, you won't learn anything). After driving for about 2 hours they let you walk around the Amalfi town for about 40 minutes (which is really the smoke break for the guide and the driver) and then back to Naples.

In reality, you are just paying for transportation. It may be worth it just because of that but don't expect a tour or anything special. I usually don't leave any reviews but I had to do it for this one. Me and my wife were very disappointing (and I usually am very easy going and flexible).

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must!!! Our driver was wonderful,friendly and helpful. If you want to see the Amalfi coast in a day, this is the way to go. We were able to get everything in, and our driver stopped along the way so we could take pictures, and took some for us as well - and gave us alot of information about the towns we passed through. Also, the roads are insane - I would not recommend renting a car or taking a bus tour. Though the roads are scary, we felt very comfortable in our car.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message