While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1986 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very skilled driver ( Max ) who negotiated the bendy roads with ease. The scenery was just beautiful and lunch was delicious at Chez black in the little village of Positano. Pompeii was amazing the guide, Datano, spoke with such heart and enthusiasm it was infectious for a place that contains so much well preserved history. It was a long day but very well worth it thank you very much to the tour group and all their staff.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Enrico, our guide, was excellent. He was professional, knowledgeable and helpful.
The excursion was probably the best part of our 14 days vacation.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A most enjoyable tour. From the time were picked up from our hotel Roberto, was an excellent driver and guide with good english commentary. The Amalfi coast section was spectacular, with stops for photos and ending at Positano with lunch at a restaurant on the beach. Pompeii was an amazing and entertaining tour with our guide Gaitano bringing the 2000 year old preserved city alive for us. Overall a very professional, carefully planned and executed small group tour. Good value.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was definitely the highlight of my trip. Our driver was Adriano and I highly recommend that you request him. We did a beautiful tour of Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi. He stopped so that we could take some amazing photos. He recommended the perfect place for lunch overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. He stopped at each city and gave us time on our own to visit. On the way back we were traveling through Ravello to head back to our ship and we discovered the road was closed so we had to go back down the mountain to Amalfi, traffic was bumper to bumper and we had 2 lights that held us up about 20 minutes at each one. We had to board the ship at 6:15 pm. I was having quite a bit of anxiety because it was getting close to boarding and we were about an hour away in normal traffic. Adriano sped his way through all the traffic and got us back to the ship by 6:10 pm. I hugged him and told him I loved him! He is the BEST!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed the private tour. Our tour host was Romulo and driver Enrico. Our host pointed out many points of interest as we rode along this amazing scenic coastline. We stopped at Positano, Amafli and Ravella. My wife has mobility problems and our hosts took that into consideration for enjoyable tour by all. Our tour host suggest a very nice restaurant in Amalfi for lunch. We had our tasty meal outside and enjoyed the music and watching the people.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing trip! Our guide, Carlo, was extremely friendly, thoughtful and helpful. This was a wonderful experience and we would highly recommend it. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This trip was wonderful!! The tour guide was great, stopped several times to show us different grottos and served pastries, beer and other refreshments. We stopped to swim on the way to Capri, and stopped to snorkel on the way back. Capri itself was very crowded, but the cruise was amazing! You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Would recommend this trip for anyone wanting to do a day trip to Capri. The boat is for a max of 12 people which is perfect as there is plenty of room to spread out and relax. Our skipper, Fabio was fantastic and very friendly. 5 Stars!

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Thank goodness we hired a driver for this trip. The driving in Italy is something to be seen and our driver did a great job. This really was a beautiful drive.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A very well organised and timed tour with plenty of quality time to explore. Our tour guide for the Amalfi coast was knowledgeable throughout with our highlight being at Positano. Our Pompeii guide was 3rd generation whose passion and stories made you feel like you were there!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful day our driver was Antonio Bacchetta was superb! He shared many facts about the region got us everywhere we wanted to go and places we didn't know about. He would appear when ever it was time to leave and wisk us off without ever feeling rushed. If you have a chance to do this tour don't miss it and ask for Antonio! We were a group of 6 this was perfect.
Connie Hogan

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was a very long, busy but amazing day. Our guide Alessandro was really helpful and knowledgeable. Highlights were Pompeii and Positano would definitely recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was great. My wife and I had an extremely comfortable and enjoyable trip. The tour guide (boat captain) spoke excellent English, was very well informed and did that "little bit extra" that separates a tour from a really great enjoyable day. Pepe, you did a great job.

Doing what: Small-Group Capri Cruise from the Amalfi Coast

Norman M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fabulous! Rosario, our driver, was great. He organised a lunch for us in a restaurant in Positano which overlooked the village. Italian food at it's best! Highly recommend this trip. Beautiful scenery all the way. Thanks again Rosario for a great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message