Italy ATTRACTIONS See all

Amalfi Coast

While the region of the Amalfi Coast is actually named for a town located within it, many travelers use the term “Amalfi” to refer to the larger surrounding area and the many picturesque towns dotted along the coast. There are 13 municipalities ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2624 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

fana2060

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Love the tour. The lady who drove us was very patient and nice. We explored the Amalfi coast, positano, and then went to Pompeii. Great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great and beautiful experience! We were a group of 9 and Savio and we did the option with only a driver and no tour guide. Our driver, Savio, was great! He stopped at locations along the shore for our group to take pictures and was incredibly friendly! I was nervous about having a driver who could not speak English but Savio spoke enough English to hold a conversation and answer questions we had. I HIGHLY recommend this trip!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a trip. 14 hours but worth it. My husband said he never saw such beauty as the Amalfi coast , except me of course. Max was great guide. Pompeii tour very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing day being picked up at apartment promptly at 6:45am greeted by the wonderful tour guide, Anna. The Mercedes van held 8 comfortably and we were off to Pompeii.
Spent 2 hours at Pompeii. It was stunning and the tour guide charming, very knowledgeable and humorous. Next we went to Positano and had a lovely lunch at a waterfront restaurant, Chez Black. The village was beautiful and friendly. We then traveled down the Amalfi coast and it was fun and filled with breathtaking views. We stopped in Amalfi which has wonderful stores, is quaint and was delightful. Onto Ravello and through Maiori looking at Capri the drive and company were superb. Thank you for a spectacular day and evening!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best tour I have done during my holiday. Everything was more than perfect thanks to our guide Max who was kind, funny and had lots of information about everything we saw and about history. On the way to Pompei he gave us a lot of background information and prepared us for what we are going to see. The part in Pompei was really nice and fascinating and the guide there cant remember the name, maybe Franco? was very good. And then when we set up to the Amalfi Coast, the magic started. It was like a dream. On the way, Max showed us all the houses and all the interesting details and told us so many stories along the way. We also stopped for pictures which was really lovely because the views were just perfect. Also, during the drive Max was very thoughtful and kept checking if everyone was OK or if we needed anything. It was a difficult drive but he handled it really well and very safely. Positano was so amazing and the seafood I had there was one of the best I had in my life. Then we continued the drive to Amalfi which was so beautiful and romantic and the Limoncello I tried there was the best I had in my life. As the tour ended, Max did his best to get us back in Rome in good time. Special thanks to him for making this trip such an unforgettable experience. And also thanks to Achille who helped in everything. I highly recommend this tour. Really worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have spent a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time spent in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Isabel R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A wonderful trip ! We would definitely recommend this tour. Johnny the driver was excellent, he drove well on narrow, bendy streets stopping for us to take memorable photos. The restaurant he recommended was amazing, great views and wonderful Almafi Rose. this trip is a must !

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Matt S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver Diego was amazing, beginning to end. He was very patient, flexible and especially knowledgable about the entire area. The restaurant he suggested in Positano was perfect. Great view and great lunch. I recommend this tour to anyone thinking about it!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was hands down the best tour I have done during my holiday I did three in total. Everything was more than perfect thanks to our guide Max who did a wonderful job. On the way to Pompei he gave us lots of information about the region, history, culture, etc and prepared us for what we are going to see. The part in Pompei was really nice and fascinating. And then when we set up for the Amalfi Coast, the magic started. Unparallelled views of the bay and the sea accompanied with stories and details told by Max and Achille, the other guide. It was like a dream, and so was Positano, our first stop. They showed us all the houses and the interesting details along the way and we stopped for pictures which was really nice. During the tour, Max and Achille were both very thoughtful and kept checking if everyone was OK or if we needed anything. Max also handled the curvy roads of the Amalfi coast so well and was driving very safe. Positano was out of this world. and the sea food there was easily one of the best I have ever had. Then we continued to the drive to Amalfi which was magical and so romantic. Trying the Limoncello is a must, it's so fresh and tantalizing.. As the tour ended Max did his best to get us back to Rome in good time. Very special thanks to him and also to Achille who helped a lot. Wonderful job guys!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was hands down the best tour I have done during my holiday I did three in total. Everything was more than perfect thanks to our guide Max who did a wonderful job. On the way to Pompei he gave us lots of information about the region, history, culture, etc and prepared us for what we are going to see. The part in Pompei was really nice and fascinating. And then when we set up for the Amalfi Coast, the magic started. Unparallelled views of the bay and the sea accompanied with stories and details told by Max and Achille, the other guide. It was like a dream, and so was Positano, our first stop. They showed us all the houses and the interesting details along the way and we stopped for pictures which was really nice. During the tour, Max and Achille were both very thoughtful and kept checking if everyone was OK or if we needed anything. Max also handled the curvy roads of the Amalfi coast so well and was driving very safe. Positano was out of this world. and the sea food there was easily one of the best I have ever had. Then we continued to the drive to Amalfi which was magical and so romantic. Trying the Limoncello is a must, it's so fresh and tantalizing.. As the tour ended Max did his best to get us back to Rome in good time. Very special thanks to him and also to Achille who helped a lot. Wonderful job guys!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

FARAH N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was hands down the best tour I have done during my holiday I did three in total. Everything was more than perfect thanks to our guide Max who did a wonderful job. On the way to Pompei he gave us lots of information about the region, history, culture, etc and prepared us for what we are going to see. The part in Pompei was really nice and fascinating. And then when we set up for the Amalfi Coast, the magic started. Unparallelled views of the bay and the sea accompanied with stories and details told by Max and Achille, the other guide. It was like a dream, and so was Positano, our first stop. They showed us all the houses and the interesting details along the way and we stopped for pictures which was really nice. During the tour, Max and Achille were both very thoughtful and kept checking if everyone was OK or if we needed anything. Max also handled the curvy roads of the Amalfi coast so well and was driving very safe. Positano was out of this world. and the sea food there was easily one of the best I have ever had. Then we continued to the drive to Amalfi which was magical and so romantic. Trying the Limoncello is a must, it's so fresh and tantalizing.. As the tour ended Max did his best to get us back to Rome in good time. Very special thanks to him and also to Achille who helped a lot. Wonderful job guys!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

christopher a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour! Kind of fast, but realistically that's the only way you can do it all in one day!.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Terry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our driver Gianni is a gem. He is a true master driving these coastal roads. We had such a good time with him and our guide, Ariana. She gave us great insight with the history of the Amalfi coast. My favorite part of the tour was our ride home when Gianna played Italian folk songs, we sang and dance

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

DAVID T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Johnny was an incredible driver. We learned so much and had an incredible day touring the coast with him. He stopped in all the best spots for unbelievable photo ops. We will treasure these photos and memories from this day. This tour was our most expensive, but well worth the expense.

Doing what: Amalfi Coast Private Day Tour from Sorrento

Michael R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was on time, driver and guide extremely friendly and helpful. The trip was a complete joy for my wife and I. The car was immaculate and up to date. We could not have asked for anything more.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Do not miss this excursion!!! The Amalfi Coast is indescribably beautiful, and Pompeii will give you goosebumps. The day trip was small and intimate there were only six people in the van and our guide/driver, Brando, was upbeat, knowledgeable, and funny. We loved spending the day with him. We also had THE top rated guide at Pompeii, Gaetano. He is a third generation guide and has been doing it for 45 years! His passion for the site was evident, and he kept it interesting and humorous. We absolutely adored him. The only thing I would have done differently would be to book two separate trips for each site. I would have loved more time in each place, especially Pompeii! Gaetano did a wonderful job giving us the highlights of the city, but 2 hours just wasn't enough time to do everything. Some day I'll make it back and do a full day at Pompeii. But it was a wonderful way to spend a day! We loved it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

aburtonstark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A marvellous excursion with a fantastic guide,who spoke perfect English and was great fun. He arrived at the port 30 minutes early and so we were able to make an early start. The Mercedes vehicle was very comfortable with great vision.

The scenery was amazing . Would highly recommend as this private excursion is far more comprehensive than the tours provided by ships.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

jechyde

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and VERY grateful we did not have to maneuver the twisty roads down the Almalfi coast.. The tour of Pompeii was spectacular and just the right length. The cameo factory and ceramics shop were informative and a good chance to acquire some gifts for friends and family. We opted to enjoy the town of Almafi instead of the optional boat tour, giving us free time in the town. Good value and excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It's a very good combination in my view. Especially this is good if you have a relative tight schedule or you are travelling alone without a car. Amalfi is of course the highlights. The driver knows the best spots for photos and nicely offered drop offs to one of the famous pizza shop on the way back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message