Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3694 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great day out - knowledgeable guides with great information about these historic sites - and a well organized trip.

Just note to make sure you bring snacks with you for the morning - its an early start and you see Pompeii before lunch so we were starving

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Marina and Valentina were great! In the visit to Napoli we were almost all the time inside the bus! But the visit to Pompeii was great! I totally recommend it

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing by the two most enjoyable knowledgable characters,our Tour Guides Julio and Alexandra. Orange Pink Group. The tour would have to be the highlight of our trip. It was well organized, the stop offs the lunch. Mt Versivus, Ancient Pompeii. Impressive!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and I learned a lot around Pompeii. The three course lunch was really good. The Amalfi Coast is beautiful! Definitely a must do! They even gave us a little extended tour of Sorrento.The bus drivers did a great job navigating through the narrow and curvy roads. No doubt I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, Luca and his team were great! Vesuvius was a great walk and fascinating. Pompeii was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The booking process was easy. Everything happened as planned and the tour guide was really good. We could never have learned as much about Pompeii without her. We were really glad to have booked the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We found the tour excellent had a most enjoyable day the scenery was outstanding and Pompeii un believable a super trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day with 4 hours to visit Pompeii which was plenty of time. The host and bus driver were polite and provided us with information as necessary. It was nice to not have to worry about making our way there and back on public transport, and the bus was nice and air conditioned.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip! Stephanie was very personable and knew her tour. Julia and Romel the driver were fabulous too!! The tour was very educational for our family...Pompeii was awesome as was the hike up Vesuvius.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Ahh, where to begin...this tour was the highlight of my trip for sure. First, the tour guides, Stephanie and I can't remember the other lady's name were very pleasant and passed the time well with information about the destinations as the picturesque bus ride went along. They did this periodically and it was not excessive so you had time to have conversations with others on the tour or just to relax. The tour of Pompeii was not conducted by the tour guides that were on the bus, but the lady that did this tour was also very nice, funny and knowledgable. Lunch was good, the bus tour guides gave a nice story of the area that tied it nicely together with the menu for lunch and the flavor was pretty good. The Mount Vesuvius hike was surely the high point, pardon the pun, of the tour...the views were just stunning. I will say that they aren't lying when they say that it requires some physical fitness. I was able to make it to the furthest point of the path up the volcano but I wouldn't describe the hike as easy. There are 3 stopping points on the hike and the views from each are equally nice, you don't lose much by not making it all the way to the top, so if you don't make it you certainly have not been cheated. Do yourself a favor and make this tour a priority if you are in the area!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a phenomenal tour. The staff was friendly and funny, and willing to show us more than what was included on the tour. Our guide, Anna, was exceptionally knowledgeable in regards to pompeii, her tour there alone was worth the cost. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! Stephanie and Manuelle were great tour guides! Stephanie shared historical stories on the sites we were driving by, while Manuelle entertained us with the espresso rules of Italy. Both guides were very kind and were available for any questions, whether it was related to restaurant recommendations, taxis, etc.

While we didn't get a chance to climb Mount Vesuvius it was raining super hard so they had to close the park, we were able to go to the National Archeological Museum of Pompeii instead. We would have loved to have climbed Mount Vesuvius, but nothing anyone could do about the weather. By the time the afternoon rolled around, the same came out and we were able to enjoy a wonderful tour of Pompeii.

Having the whole day planned out and having tour guides point out historical sites was so worth it! We highly recommend doing this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What an amazing tour this was , was bit worried about booking a trip online but it could not have gone better
I was met outside the cruise terminal as planned with a name card , taken to coach and onto Pompeii. The guide was amazing knew so much as was very funny, headphones worked well could hear all that was said.
Then lunch which was lovely just a simple pizza and drink but that's all you need on a hot day.
We then headed off to Mt Vesuvius and with same guide and again was informative and funny , amazing views at the top.
Was dropped off right outside cruise terminal in time to get back on the cruise ship , great day out , great price and great fun.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organised excellent value for money totally enjoyed the day with no worries. Have used company twice now and have been great on both occasions. Pompeii and Vesuvius amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii is a beauitful city and this tour was definitely worth it. The volcano was a terrific site and would highly recommend it, however the hike is rather difficult so be prepared!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabian was excellent, he is local from Capri...very knowledgeable!
Luisa our tour guide in Pompeii amazing too..so fun and she knows sooo much...love this tour so far my favorite trip!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family of 4 youngest: age 11 loved this trip. The tour of Pompeii was fascinating and the kids especially loved the climb on Mt. Vesuvius. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We all learned a lot of the history of the entire region. Our guides were Gio and Robert on the bus -- the Vicenzo enzo in Pompeii -- all get 5's! The bus driver, Antonio, was very safe - even on the twisty and narrow Mt. Vesuvius roads.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There were a lot of English speakers on this tour so we thought our guide wouldn't be able to reach all of us -- but we were wrong, he was awesome. Super helpful. Really nice. Great experience and we learned a LOT about ancient Roman life in Pompeii thanks to him.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was super informative and hit all the highlights of Pompeii. It was not a long tour, but she really gave us a great glimpse of life in Pompeii. Hiking Mt. Vesuvius was a thrill. Wear closed shoes as the hike is on gravel and small dusty rock/ash. The view of Naples Bay Capri, Sorrento, etc was breathtaking. I've seen complaints about lunch, we thought it did the trick, it was not the best meal of our trip, but we didn't book for the food. GREAT day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour guide and tour. Especially liked Pompeii. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent and very well organized. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We could not have had a better tour of Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Meet the tour guide exactly where they told us to meet. The trip was very enjoyable. Enjoyed the walk to Mt. Vesuvius! It was great! Also enjoyed Pompeii, so glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The first day of the tour was worrying - bus guide was unfriendly and rude. Lunch was average. The guide for Pompeii was amazing. Once we arrived at the hotel, we didn't regret the tour! It was an amazing hotel and breakfast and dinner had an amazing view. If you want to relax, do this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message