Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3472 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very much a last minute decision we trained from Rome and were met by our guide and driver at the station. I thought we would be joining a large group but it turned out to be just my wife and I - so it was really a private tour! We had a delightful morning. The guide was an absolute font on Roman history, not only of Pompeii but of a wider perspective and shered so much and spoke excellent English.
Great day out!.
.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The things you will see in Pompeii will change forever what you think about civilization in early A. D. Our guide in Pompeii, Vincenzo, was funny and knowledgable and made our time there extremely enjoyable. Our guides from Rome, Roberto and Elena, were outstanding; smart, funny and passionate.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful organization. We thank Elena and Enrico from Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely comfortable way to travel to Pompeii. Slight delay leaving due to the Rome rail system, but all the staff were extremely apologetic, clearly it was a one off. A wonderful trip

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Andrea was a fantistic tour guide: funny and very informative. We enjoyed touring Pompeii a lot of walking required and the individual pizzas for lunch were delicious. Mt. Vesuvius was challenging to climb, but the views were well worth it! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome! Taking the train saves so much time compared to the 3 hr bus ride. Fabio and Giancarla was great. Both spoke excellent English. And since the group was small, we all asked lots of questions. Pompeii was unbelievable. Best preserved 2000 year old ruins. Sorrento is LEMONCELLO!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The bus ride was way too long and the stop along the highway was way to commercial. Lunch was very average. The tour guide did a nice job and the Pompeii guide was lots of fun and extremely knowledgeable. Overall we enjoyed the tour and were glad we took it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it! Great guides and the best way to see the ruins of Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!! Andrea, our tour guide leader, was right on time to pick us up at our hotel in Naples. We drove to Pompeii to meet the rest of our group, and we were on our way. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, pointing out lots of interesting sights and making sure we didn't miss anything. Pompeii is incredible. From there, we stopped for lunch pizza, pasta, wine!, and a bit of souvenir shopping. We then headed out to Mt Vesuvius - it's quite a hike! Definitely a workout, and our second guide provided lots of history and insights on the drive there. It's a full day, but I'm so glad we did it. Our group ranged from 30-55, and we all had a great day. Well-organized, insightful, and fun.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful trip. Excellent accommodations. Tour guide through Pompeii was very knowledgable, accommodating. Guide to Capri was likewise w
Very good. Excellent. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was good Sorrento hotel excellent and Capri breathtaking only weather was to bad to see the blue grotto which is out of your control Guides were very helpful and polite great trip except for weather Thanks

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My mum and I did this tour this past Thursday, and loved every moment of it. Our guide Elena was brilliant and very helpful with everything. We really loved Pompeii, and it should be on everyone's bucket list. Just an incredible place. The trek up Mt Vesuvius, although steep, was doable and well worth the effort. The only critique would be that there was only a very basic salad offered to those who are gluten intolerant for lunch. We definitely recommend this tour and the company.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fab day out. Very informative both in naples and pompeii. Both guides were excellent. Got lots of information as we toured naples and during 2hrs in pompeii we were shown the ruins necesarry to give you a feel of what life was like back then

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day - but so worth the effort.
An Early star, and a late finish but our tour guides made the day with their commentary and knowledge.
We learnt all sorts of historical information, as well as the history of pizza making, good restaurants in Rome and how to tell a good gelataria!
And then there was the locations, My Vesuvius was shrouded in clouds / fog, and it was still great to visit, then Pompeii was excellent, our daughter had studied all of this in school and it brought it all to life or her
Could not recommend this trip more

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was wonderful, the tour of Pompeii was really nice. The walk to the top of the mountain was tough but well worth the walk!!

I was disappointed in the Pompeii trip because I had read up on it before arriving and the tour did not take us to the big coliseum or the place where a number of people were covered in the street. I know it would have been a little further walk but again it would have been well worth the walk.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything about this tour was amazing. It is a long day but if you want a high-quality tour, this is the one to do. Stephanie and Anna were our City Wonders tour guides and we honestly used their tips on traveling Rome and Italy for the rest of the trip - they went above and beyond to describe where to eat, what neighborhoods to check out, where to find good leather, how to avoid tourist traps, etc. and as stated before, we used these tips for the rest of our week in Italy.
And regarding our tour, Stephanie and Anna did a great job at prepping us on what to expect for the day. The drive from Rome to Pompeii is a little long but there are comfort stops along the way for restrooms and coffee/snacks. The pizza lunch is delicious and worth the wait.
Enrico was our actual tour guide of Pompeii and he was potentially the most enjoyable guide we had throughout our entire trip. He was knowledgable, funny dry sense of humor, and was able to answer all our questions.
The trip up Vesuvius was not too challenging - and the views of Naples from the top are breathtaking.
Overall, this is a high-quality tour that goes above and beyond when it comes to the information and experience they provide. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very knowledgeable local tour guide at Pompeii...almost as if he was reliving the life and tragic experience.

Loved the hotel pickup/dropoff service as this was a 13 hour tour starting at 7:30.

Bus was comfortable and lunch in Pompeii was good.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great trip. Our guides made the bus ride there interesting and fun with their stories and jokes. Pompeii is so interesting, made more so by our very knowledgeable guide. We had a delicious pizza lunch in a very nice restaurant which exceeded my expectations. We hiked up Mt. Vesuvius which was awesome, but was not an easy hike - about 30 minutes up a pretty steep grade - but worth it to see the beautiful bay of Naples. This was a full day, but worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Maria was an excellent guide for Pompeii. Our second guide Andrea did an OK job until he insisted leaving when the bus tally totalled 50 the correct number of people This was despite the fact two Australians pointed out another Australian couple was not on the bus. He refused to consider that somehow two were on the bus that were not before making the correct tally of 50, though with language barriers no one was sure who they were. The Australians convinced the bus to stop and went and found the other couple delayed because she had fallen on the way down. You need a better system than merely headcount if such a thing comes up!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We had a very enjoyable tour of Pompeii. Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great combination tour of Pompeii and Vesuvius. Pizza for lunch was great, got to see everything important, and had time to get souvenirs at Vesuvius when coming back down. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly and spoke good English (get Maria if you can!).

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Visiting Mt. Vesuvius was incredible, something to check off the bucket list! Pompeii was a lot of fun also and our guide there was great. The pizza lunch was just okay, I'm more of a Roman style pizza fan than Naples!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was not very well organized. The guide kept counting us and made us stand looking for others etc... but the amalfi coast made up for it. Amazing view and drive

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, even in the rain. Sun came out for the Amalfi Coast, was breathtaking!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

best part of the trip was the 4 star superior hotel and the included food in Sorrento. extremely nice with amazing view, amazing meals. Capri/Anacapri was a nice excursion, but the blue grotto was underwhelming and not worth seeing in my opinion. and we also spent a long time waiting for bus transfers between different parts of the excursion which rushed other parts of our trip. Naples was basically a picture/bathroom stop. Food at Pompeii was subpar at a purely tourist restaurant. Pompeii tour was what I expected.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message