Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3609 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very much a last minute decision we trained from Rome and were met by our guide and driver at the station. I thought we would be joining a large group but it turned out to be just my wife and I - so it was really a private tour! We had a delightful morning. The guide was an absolute font on Roman history, not only of Pompeii but of a wider perspective and shered so much and spoke excellent English.
Great day out!.
.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The things you will see in Pompeii will change forever what you think about civilization in early A. D. Our guide in Pompeii, Vincenzo, was funny and knowledgable and made our time there extremely enjoyable. Our guides from Rome, Roberto and Elena, were outstanding; smart, funny and passionate.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful organization. We thank Elena and Enrico from Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour guide was absolute gold: funny, knowledgeable, and very vigilant on our whereabouts at all times. the tour itself was well organized. the bus picked us up from the hostel at exactly the right time, the time spent at pompeii and vesuvius each was also just right though we could have done with a bit longer at vesuvius, twenty five minutes was not sufficient time to walk up the volcano as the tour guide claimed! but overall we left the tour feeling very satisfied. five out of five, we were very happy customers.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day!! Loved the hike up Mount Vesuvius and I had an amazing time and tour guide at the Pompeii excavations. Our tour guide, Sarah, was also great giving us lots of information about Italy and Italian culture. Overall, a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent value for money, wouldn't have liked to put together ourselves for that amount. Pickup at hotel on time. Coach comfortable and clean. Guide at Pompeii such good fun, knowledgable and funny. Lunch adequate. Time at Vesuvius a little short for some to make the top and back in time. Thank you

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip to Pompeii - took the highspeed train to Naples from Rome and was picked up beside the station by Viator - short bus trip to Pompeii which is amazing. Our tour guide was terrific. Really great day trip - back in Rome time for some well-earned nibbles.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide (Andreas I think) who made the Pompeii trip so memorable. Bursting with knowledge, wit and enthusiasm. Don't miss Pompeii it is a marvel to see - so much history preserved it is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

iammj2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip but you don't get any time to spend in Nsples. This might be a good thing as a few people I met in Italy and who had spent time walking in Naples had been robbed. Pompeii was amazing!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we had a fab time . the tour guides where very informative and friendly. i would say to anyone who is visiting rome and they have time to book this tour. pompeii was amazing and the walk up mount vesuvius gave you some stuning views. all in all we are glad we did this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bus was overcrowded. Promissed lunch in Naples happened near Pompeii.. never visited Naples.. didnt even came close... but z guides were excellent !! Melanie and Luka... thank u very much !!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent view of the past. tour guide and pompeii guide were superb

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide in Pompeii was fabulous!! He really made the experience complete and way better than just walking through the ruins on your own. The pizza lunch was tasty and quick, and the hike of Mt Vesuvius is on your own, but a cool way to end the day. Overall, I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Really good tour of Pompeii with stories about each site as you explore the ancient village. Our guide Andre was super! Great pizza for lunch. Plenty time to explore Vesuvio! Hotel pick up and drop off was very convenient.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Tour guides where amazing and very informative and helpful. Nice bus with plenty of stops! Pompeii as great as I remember and made better by our fantastic guide!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is Gd. Both the main guide n the English speaking guide at Pompeii are very well informative

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved every minute of it. Guides were great, very informative, Pompeii guide was incredible. Really good review of the ruins and climbing Vesuvius was the highlight. Time permitted was perfect, trip down and back was relaxing and enjoyable. Would highly recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Just as expected, no fails.. We learned a lot from nice and funny tour guides. Especially for Pompeii, a tour guide is a must. (Visited in May)

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert and Lucca were excellent tour guides, so much so that we booked additional tours with their tour company, City Wonders. The guides were extremely knowledgeable, and kept us entertained throughout the bus ride with wonderful stories. Seeing Pompeii and climbing Mt. Vesuvius were among the best things we did on our trip to Italy.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely comfortable way to travel to Pompeii. Slight delay leaving due to the Rome rail system, but all the staff were extremely apologetic, clearly it was a one off. A wonderful trip

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We usually like to do our own thing but we really enjoyed the fact that this was so easy...smooth and no hassle. Andrea and Maria were both great guides. Andrea was very informative and funny . We learned so much with the tour to Pompeii..if we had done it on our own , we would have missed out alot. Mount vesuvius was fabulous. Amazing views! Everything was handled very professionally...would highly recommend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was so fantastic. And awesome guides tour on the bus and pompeii tour. :

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The high speed train was an awesome way to get out of Rome quickly. Pompeii was fascinating our guide took us to all the highlights and had so many interesting stories to tell. Sorrento was gorgeous.

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Andrea was a fantistic tour guide: funny and very informative. We enjoyed touring Pompeii a lot of walking required and the individual pizzas for lunch were delicious. Mt. Vesuvius was challenging to climb, but the views were well worth it! We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome! Taking the train saves so much time compared to the 3 hr bus ride. Fabio and Giancarla was great. Both spoke excellent English. And since the group was small, we all asked lots of questions. Pompeii was unbelievable. Best preserved 2000 year old ruins. Sorrento is LEMONCELLO!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message