Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3357 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of the Pompeii city is really an eye opening. A great tour of the historical site!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was one of the highlights of my trip. It is a long day but very worth it. The lunch was take or leave, but the tour in Pompeii was informative and well balanced with time in locations and the information that the guide provided.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous three day trip, to summarise a highlight is almost impossible but Pompeii was up there, the Island of Capri and the Blue Grotto was also high on the list, then a free day to tour the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Michelangelo hotel in Sorrento. This is a fabulous hotel but the night we stayed here the power kept failing all night and every time the power came back n again it switched TV on which of course would wake us up, No mention of this at check-out, not even a hint of an apology anyway, it did not detract from a wonderful three days with outstanding guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I were picked up for this tour from the Naples train station. We had to cross the road and go slightly to the left. Simple enough, but it was a bit awkward as we weren't sure we were in the right place until other couples showed up. Two vans showed up on time to take us on the tour. We started off at Pompeii where we met our tour guide and picked up a microphone relay system. He was really friendly and telling lots of jokes which helped make the tour fun as well as informative. Pompeii is amazingly well preserved. I loved hearing about the streets and how they were named based on the Roman god's face who dispensed water at the corners Roman empire was huge with many languages from conquered areas, but everyone knew the Roman gods. The streets were sunken a bit so that when the animals did their business it stayed there. The stepping stones to cross the road were really neat as were the water fountains at the end of the streets which were used to fill up a basin that could be used to clean the road since the whole town was on a tilt. We walked through a bath house with beautiful frescos, and saw two molds of poor souls who lost their lives when Pompeii was buried. We also went to a brothel that had interesting frescos again different languages so pictures were used to communicate, I'll leave it at that. All the time we were in Pompeii, I couldn't help but notice Mt Vesuvius looming in the background. Lunch was simple and quick, then we were driven to Mt Vesuvius. We climbed up an amazingly steep grade for what seemed like an eternity, taking numerous breaks to catch our breath. The view from the top was well worth it though.

Highlights:
Tour guide knew his stuff and was fun to be around
Pompeii is amazingly well preserved and is a must see if you're in/near Naples
Mt Vesuvius provides stunning views of the surrounding area, if you're up for the hike
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic, really recommended. We were picked at our hotel 5 minutes later than expected time however we rec'd a call at the hotel to advise of this small delay so that was not a problem. We went to Pompeii first and our guide, Maria, was fantastic, her knowledge was impressive to say the least. We were shown several places of interest but if you wanted to see it all you would have to go for at least one full day if not more as the sight is so big. What we saw was brilliant.
A lunch stop at a nice restaurant with a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. Basic was it was delicious and authentic.
After lunch we headed up to Mt Vesuvius where was were given plenty of time to be able to walk from the car park area to the summit, and back again with spare time to look at the stalls and buy a postcard etc from the shop.
Fabulous day in all, my mum and I loved it :-

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience on the tour was a good one. We had a little difficulty understanding the tour guide once we were at Pompeii, but other than that, it was a great experience. The coach driver showed a lot of expertise driving up Mt Vesuvius and the tour guides on the bus were knowledgible. The tour guide lady was very kind and showed a lot of enthusiasm and assistance to all tourists.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun day out for us! Pompeii and Vesuvius were absolutely outstanding and our guides (Anna and Siliana) were great, they knew so much local history and landmarks and would point out interesting things for us on the way to and from pompeii on the bus but still gave us time to snooze.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides Monica and Luca were excellent kept us informed right throughout the day and made sure everyone kept to time during the journey, at Pompeii we were met my a local guide Enzo who was very good as well. Make sure you have decent shoes as the hike up the mountain is on loose gravel. The views of the crater and the surrounding cities are amazing at the top...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was very good.
Pompeii was excellent and the tour guides did a great job explaining what we were looking at.
My only "note" is that the time spent at the volcano and at the rest steps could be reduced in order to allow more time in Pompeii itself.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message