Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3780 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: Best 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide, very knowledgable and funny, the tour was awesome!
It was hotter in Pompeii than we thought, our tip would be to take an umbrella as there is little to no shade.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides were informative and fun. The walk up Vesuvius was steep, dusty and extremely hot, but worth it! Pompeii is a fascinating and remarkable historic site. You could spend hours and hours exploring.Wow! I'd recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time exploring Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii is a large city and while the weather might have been very hot mid 90's in the summer - so a fall or spring visit might be a bit nicer, a bit longer in the ruins might have been nice. That being said, we did learn a lot about Roman life in Pompeii. Our guide was fantastic, and they had three different guides for three different languages. Lunch was a welcome break and the views of and from the mountain were worth the heat.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite part of our trip! Our guides, Robert and Guilio, were funny and knowledgeable, and our on-site guide in Pompeii Willy? was great also. The food for lunch was served at a catering hall, it wasn't bad but I wish we were able to eat at a real restaurant to get a little bit more authentic meal. The bus was comfortable, I would definitely do this again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing experience! Our tour guide for Pompeii was very detailed, interesting and just did an excellent job! We then were able to get out of the hot sun and enjoy a nice pizza lunch at a great local restaurant. Climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was spectacular. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great trip and works well with the cruise ship schedule. We arrive to port on Royal Allure and the rep was there. After picking up several individuals at several locations, left the area and headed to Pompeii. Great day, great guide and great memories. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There us a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There is a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything worked as promised. The guide was great. We noticed that some people in the group were not properly prepared for a hot summer day in July, so reserve enough water with you and protect yourself from the sun. There are not so many shadowed spots in Pompeii. Also, use comfortable shoes for walking up to the summit of Vesuvius, since there are lots of loose sand on the way up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Naples itself is not really a pretty city, but outside of it at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius it was great. Remember to bring lots of water if it is July as it is quite hot.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guides, Lucia and Anna, were very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke English quite well. The tour gave many interesting facts about the ruins and about life in Pompeii and Herculaneum. The bus ride was comfortable, and the mid-day lunch in a large, pleasant restaurant was ample and tasty. If you're visiting in mid-summer, bring sunglasses, umbrella, fan, and plenty of bottled water, because it's HOT and there is little shade.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a well organized trip that I was glad of once I saw the queues to pay for Pompeii ! Our enthusiastic guide was Andrea who was brilliant-knowledgeable,funny and informative. He included everybody, made sure we were all together all the time and he managed to hold everybody's interest. We were given plenty of time to look at the sights, take photos, drink water etc.
Lunch was pizza/spaghetti served by harassed, bordering on rude, waitresses in an airconditioned restaurant but it was a welcome rest from the heat and the food was good.
Onto the mighty Vesuvius by coach after lunch, during which Andrea regaled us with wit and facts. The coach dropped us at the highest parking point and then we walked at our own pace to the top with plenty of time to do this without rushing. Finally the coach dropped us off at a convenient point for our hotel.
I would recommend this tour if you want to see these historical sights without any hassle. The souvenir madness is abundant in both areas but you dont have to engage with them--unless you want to!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An early start but it was definitely worth it! It was scorching hot but our affable knowledgeable guide at Pompeii whilst showing and telling us about key sites was very considerate and he tried to keep us in the shade when possible. Pompeii was fabulous - to see well preserved buildings and objects on such a scale in context not in a museum. Our guide brought it to life. You could spend all day there! After our visit to Pompeii we had a tasty pizza lunch nearby. We then were taken nearly all the way up Vesuvius and had 1.5 hours free time - to walk to the crater and enjoy the views. The walk to the first viewing point shop where you can buy drinks, ices as well as souvenirs is the longer stretch to the crater loose pumice and dusty on a fairly steep path - good exercise but strenuous in the heat so make sure you have water at the start. Don't worry about getting to the 3rd the last viewing point on the rim of the crater as you can enjoy the same views from the 2nd viewing point on the rim also has a shop.We thoroughly enjoyed our day out. Highly recommend this well-planned tour.Our guides on the coach and for Vesuvius, Anna and Amanda were very knowledgeable, humorous and kept a steady flow of info on sites as we passed as well as passing on snippets about living in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day - Andre was a great guide very knowledgeable, funny, and good with interacting with my kids - 11 and 12. Enjoyed both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, atlhough that climb was a bit tougher than I expected. Well worth it!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides! Only complaint would be the lunch - awful pizza which was very disappointing! But i wasn't on the tour for the pizza, so really a minor issue! Guide at Pompeii was also excellent!! :

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour with great guides, we had Alessandre and Geo and an amazing driver called Antonio. The local guides at Pompeii were also fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip ran on time and the guide was really informative. I would recommend seeing Pompeii with a guide like this tour rather than just walking around. We learned a lot!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message