Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2732 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Before booking this tour I read many reviews about booking through Viator, and was hesitant about it due to the fact that Viator then books it with a local operator. Some of the reviews were positive, and others not so. I went ahead and booked with the understanding that it might be really great, or less than, depending on the company that we got hooked up with.
We had a wonderful experience. Our tour guides (both on the bus and at Pompeii) were friendly, knowledgeable, and very professional. The tour was well organized from the pick up time and place to the final drop off near our hotel. The entire day was planned for us and couldn't have been more enjoyable. If you are thinking of doing only the half-day trip to Pompeii, I recommend that you do the full-day excursion and visit Mt. Vesuvius as well. It's incredible!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the early start (7.15am). Comfortable coach which we shared with another tour group doing the same trip. Both guides shared their knowledge and stories along the way. Wonderful. Pompeii was something else - wow!! For this we had a local guide and again her knowledge and stories gave us a very much enhanced perspective. Traditional pizza lunch at a very pleasant restaurant in Naples. Then along the narrow, winding road to Mt Vesuvius. That in itself was quite an experience and had us gasping. The walk to the crater took us about 30mins. It was steep, a little hard but the views are so worth the effort. Exhilarating when you get right to the top. Yay!!! You don't have to go all the way though and there are two or three 'stations' along the way where you can take a break. Coming down is the same route as going up. Mostly a quiet trip on the way back to Rome; occasional commentary rousing us from dozing off. A real highlight. Must do.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our taxi to the meeting point was late, meaning we arrived late at the pick up point, but it was no problem, we were walked from the office to the coach - no complaints. The coach itself was very comfortable and the guides were friendly. We opted to look around pompeii ourselves but it was quite hard work trying to find your way around in the heat, so I would probably recommend taking the tour. All in all very well run service.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Andreas as our tour guide and he was great! He have us great facts and made some funny jokes, he just made the experience very enjoyable. Pompeii is an incredible place to visit on your own but when someone knowledgable is giving you the tour, it just makes it million times better.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was an excellent tour and we really enjoyed it. The tour was well organized right from the hotel pick up to the co-ordination of the guides at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius and the hotel drop off. Enjoyed the commentary of the guide, Andre, who was very humorous and informative. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great trip to Pompeii. Everything well organised. Very knowledgable guides that made the trip interesting and fun. Would strongly recommend using this company for any tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was great! Informative guide for Pompeii, comfortable enough bus, quality pizza/pasta lunch and the climb of Vesuvious was defs worth it. The bus pick up was confusing, from the train station it's to the left across the road literally at the corner of the terminus hotel.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This guide was amazing. His knowledge of Italy, Rome and Pompeii was fantastic. He was very entertaining and had a great sense of humor (and he will tell you, a sexy voice). Pompeii is not to be missed. The climb to the top of Mt. Vesuvius was spectacular and everyone made it up and back. We had a great day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Several "Pompeii and ..." tours were combined for the Pompeii portion, with the original bus guide also the Pompeii tour guide. We did not have to worry about finding a guide at Pompeii -- a great relief. For the Amalfi Coast portion, we had a very knowledgable guide. Because it was only a half-day tour, it was essentially a "highlights" view of the Coast which was great if you're planning on coming back another time, or just want to see what it's all about.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius tour was everything we had hoped for and MORE! We were so impressed at the history that was available right before our eyes. Our guide did a wonderful job although it was a very, very hot day for this tour. My party of 3 still enjoyed everything. We were so glad that we decided to do this tour over another and have recommended it to others. From the bus ride to lunch to back to Rome, everything was splendid!!! Our guide from Rome, Luisa, was very knowledgeable and we thoroughly enjoyed her!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Although this a thirteen hour trip it was well worth it. i went with my granddaughter who is eleven years old and there was plenty to interest us both. the climb to the top of Vesuvius was steep but manageable even for a senior. the views at the top were worth the climb. Pompeii is amazing - there is real sense of history. The tour guides were excellent providing a lot of information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guide, Gio was just great. So informative and a good sense of humour. The truck stop was very good and I must say one of the best coffees. So arriving at Pompeii and passed over to the local guide was very good and the information given about the site was also very good. I met up with two nice women from the US and we had a lovely lunch together at a local restaurant, with loads of chatter. The trip back was good and and another stop at the cafe. (We also stopped there on the way down). It was a sunny but not too hot of a day and the crowds were not too bad.. All in all perfect day out. Barbara

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message