Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3787 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and would recommend to anyone. The Pompeii tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Lunch was good and plenty of it so you had energy before the climb up Vesuvius. Amazing views at the top of the volcano and a fantastic experience. Only suggestion would be to leave earlier to give more time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was very informative, the tour guides had lots of fun information for the coach journey and was lovely to listen about lots of other places as well as Rome and Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Debby
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

You only see Naples by bus with a short photo stop at the coast. Lunch could have been much better. The tour of Pompeii was excellent and well worth joining--Lucho, our guide, provided entertaining and interesting historical facts about Pompeii, making the tour of the ruins much more fascinating than it would otherwise have been. Be ready for a long, action-packed day.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good tour, well run, the guide in Pompeii was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Trip was interesting and informative. But probably could have spent more time in Pompeii that felt rushed. Guides were friendly and helpful. The low point was the lunch - absolutely tasteless pizza.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This day trip is no good.

We got picked up from the hotel which is nearby. Only certain pickups from certain hotels. Had to email a couple times to confirm if we were getting picked up from Hotel Colloseum which we did. Bus leaves at 8am which then travels for to a rest stop where you have 30min rest. Followed by another drive to a jewellery shop for 30min. Then through naples for site seeing which is not a pretty town. Very poor and clearly the ugly part of italy. Stop for photos for 20min there.

After your taken for lunch. Which is another 20 min bus ride followed by 20min of walking. The lunch is extremely basic. The food was not good. Would have rather eat chips from the rest stop.

Its then another 30-40min bus ride to pompeii. By this time it is about 230pm and your ready for bed after lunch. Which you start your tour and ends about 440pm. Then its the long ride back which is just under 3hours from memory.

Pompeii was nice to visit. Tour guides were very nice and knowledgeable. But poorly set up for the day. Should be 10min rest stops and why they took us to a jewellery shop i am not sure...

For the money spent, could have taken us to better places or more direct to pompeii...give the tour 1hr rest for lunch so can purchase food that is actually nice. There was plenty to eat at pompeii entrance. Would have enjoyed the tour more in the morning first as opposed to late and after eating.

Reccomend if you organising direct bus if possible or train ride...cheaper and quicker.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: Best 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide, very knowledgable and funny, the tour was awesome!
It was hotter in Pompeii than we thought, our tip would be to take an umbrella as there is little to no shade.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved our trip to Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides were informative and fun. The walk up Vesuvius was steep, dusty and extremely hot, but worth it! Pompeii is a fascinating and remarkable historic site. You could spend hours and hours exploring.Wow! I'd recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time exploring Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii is a large city and while the weather might have been very hot mid 90's in the summer - so a fall or spring visit might be a bit nicer, a bit longer in the ruins might have been nice. That being said, we did learn a lot about Roman life in Pompeii. Our guide was fantastic, and they had three different guides for three different languages. Lunch was a welcome break and the views of and from the mountain were worth the heat.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our favorite part of our trip! Our guides, Robert and Guilio, were funny and knowledgeable, and our on-site guide in Pompeii Willy? was great also. The food for lunch was served at a catering hall, it wasn't bad but I wish we were able to eat at a real restaurant to get a little bit more authentic meal. The bus was comfortable, I would definitely do this again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing experience! Our tour guide for Pompeii was very detailed, interesting and just did an excellent job! We then were able to get out of the hot sun and enjoy a nice pizza lunch at a great local restaurant. Climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was spectacular. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great trip and works well with the cruise ship schedule. We arrive to port on Royal Allure and the rep was there. After picking up several individuals at several locations, left the area and headed to Pompeii. Great day, great guide and great memories. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There us a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There is a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything worked as promised. The guide was great. We noticed that some people in the group were not properly prepared for a hot summer day in July, so reserve enough water with you and protect yourself from the sun. There are not so many shadowed spots in Pompeii. Also, use comfortable shoes for walking up to the summit of Vesuvius, since there are lots of loose sand on the way up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Naples itself is not really a pretty city, but outside of it at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius it was great. Remember to bring lots of water if it is July as it is quite hot.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guides, Lucia and Anna, were very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke English quite well. The tour gave many interesting facts about the ruins and about life in Pompeii and Herculaneum. The bus ride was comfortable, and the mid-day lunch in a large, pleasant restaurant was ample and tasty. If you're visiting in mid-summer, bring sunglasses, umbrella, fan, and plenty of bottled water, because it's HOT and there is little shade.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a well organized trip that I was glad of once I saw the queues to pay for Pompeii ! Our enthusiastic guide was Andrea who was brilliant-knowledgeable,funny and informative. He included everybody, made sure we were all together all the time and he managed to hold everybody's interest. We were given plenty of time to look at the sights, take photos, drink water etc.
Lunch was pizza/spaghetti served by harassed, bordering on rude, waitresses in an airconditioned restaurant but it was a welcome rest from the heat and the food was good.
Onto the mighty Vesuvius by coach after lunch, during which Andrea regaled us with wit and facts. The coach dropped us at the highest parking point and then we walked at our own pace to the top with plenty of time to do this without rushing. Finally the coach dropped us off at a convenient point for our hotel.
I would recommend this tour if you want to see these historical sights without any hassle. The souvenir madness is abundant in both areas but you dont have to engage with them--unless you want to!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message