Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3370 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

think I would give Naples a miss but Pompeii was great and our guide was brilliant. saw another Pompeii trip where you could trek up the volcano which I would have prefered

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, initial meeting point was a little busy and hard to identify guide as they were not holding up sign as we were told so we could have totally missed the tour
Pompeii tour itself was fantastic Andreas our tour guide was great and also funny would throughly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Both wonderful sites and seeing them sequentially gave a fuller picture. Pompeii very crowded and limitations placed on where could go. Felt group of 30 with 1 guide made progress slower than necessary if they had split the group. Herculannum gave greater access to buildings because the site has already been compromised. Fewer people and greater sense of family life of the time. Wonderful mosaics driver 30 minutes late for pickup which frustrating as would have been happy to spend longer at the site

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We only had a bus tour of Naples. The tour of Pompeii was good and the guide was attentive to our needs considering it was raining and two of the members of our group could not walk as fast as the others. The transfer from Pompeii to Sorrento was a little disorganized and the people were not sure what to do. It would have been nice if the Sorrento guide gave us an orientation and suggestions on what to see and do while in Sorrento during the last day. Capri was beautiful but the waters were rough and so it prevented us from taking a boat ride to the Blue Grotto, which was disappointing. The upgraded hotel in Sorrento was good and the food was excellent. Overall, the trip is worthwhile.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of the Pompeii city is really an eye opening. A great tour of the historical site!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was one of the highlights of my trip. It is a long day but very worth it. The lunch was take or leave, but the tour in Pompeii was informative and well balanced with time in locations and the information that the guide provided.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous three day trip, to summarise a highlight is almost impossible but Pompeii was up there, the Island of Capri and the Blue Grotto was also high on the list, then a free day to tour the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Michelangelo hotel in Sorrento. This is a fabulous hotel but the night we stayed here the power kept failing all night and every time the power came back n again it switched TV on which of course would wake us up, No mention of this at check-out, not even a hint of an apology anyway, it did not detract from a wonderful three days with outstanding guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an awesome tour! Pompeii is amazing and I can't imagine visiting the site without a knowledgeable tour guide like we had. I also really enjoyed the bus tour of Naples and learning the history of the city. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message