Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3025 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Beautiful, comfortable bus; Knowledgeable and friendly tour guide; Great lunch- perfect combination!
Absolutely amazing tour that we would highly recommend. The complimentary van pickup from our hotel arrived promptly and took us to our bus for the day. Once on the bus, our tour guide, Cristina, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. You make a brief rest stop before heading into Naples. Naples is very run down, and the bus spends just the right amount of time driving by the sights. You then have plenty of time to take beautiful pictures over the Bay of Naples.
From there, you proceed to a coral art museum. Admittedly, this felt unnecessary and more of a tourist trap. We used it as a bathroom break before proceeding to the new town of Pompeii for lunch.
The lunch exceeded all of our expectations. The first course included unlimited pasta, followed by a choice of either beef or fish, along with mini Italian pastries for desert, bread, and a sampling of pizza.
After, we finally made our way to the ancient city of Pompeii. Our local tour guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining, and friendly. You receive headsets so you can hear her easily. Pompeii could easily take a full day, but our tour guide did a great job condensing it into one afternoon.
The bus is extremely comfortable and modern. It makes the journey quite easy. At the end of the day, the bus will drop you off near your hotel.
Tip: Sit on the left side for amazing views of Mt. Vesuvius as you drive down the highway! Also, be considerate: Don't take too long at the rest stops and make the whole group wait on you as happened on our bus.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day with a great tour guide. Would of been nice to have an additional 30-60 minutes in pompeii

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We needed a break after walking Rome for 2 days so Pompeii was it. The drive down was informative and the stop was welcomed. The museum was so neat I wish we could of spent more time there. Finally lunch and then Pompeii what a really cool experience, the tour guide was great I don't remember his name but he really knew his stuff. Because it was the holidays it wasn't as busy as usual which worked well for photos. The drive back was quiet as everyone was tired. The girls that did the tour on the bus were fun and nice and very good at their job.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing day - Pompeii is incredible and the guide had heaps of great information. And the Amalfi Coast is not to be missed. The guide/driver was exceptional!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing day - Pompeii is incredible and the guide had heaps of great information. And the Amalfi Coast is not to be missed. The guide/driver was exceptional!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An interesting and amazing trip. definitely worth the price. excellent local tour guide in Pompeii which brought the story alive. A great tour guide for the whole trip was Roberto who was in charge of us all day long. Amazing his knowledge and all. Roberto continue this way. wakee wakee, wake u up ;-)))

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour part of Naples was quite short, however the weather was beautiful even in December. It was the ruins in Pompeii that really made this a memorable trip. Even the ability to get to and from Pompeii was worth it, and our tour guide was informative with a good sense of humor.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was great, our guide was excellent. Both places were relatively empty, which was awesome. Pompeii is a very interesting place with rich history, and Sorrento is beautiful and has some breathtaking views. Lunch was not bad, but it was too simple.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very good tour only the Naples bit was too short. Pompeii was amazing a very good guide. She explained all the important parts and we didn't get lost in the ruins. Good lunch and the hotel pickup and drop off was very helpful.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Good overall tour. The Pompeii part was excellent, but the Naples part was a waste of time. The Naples tour involved driving through the town trying to see things via bus window, not what I expected or would ever do again. The Pompeii part of the tour, as I said before, was excellent. The guide was very knowledgeable and we had plenty of time to explore the ruins. Bottom line is I would recommend a tour that focused only on Pompeii, if it is a day trip from Rome, driving through Naples in a bus is a waste of time.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Just about perfect, if is was recommending this tour I would totally highlight Pompeii its a big day out but worth the experience.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Interest experience. But note the following details: No pickup hotels or return to '' appropriate 'squares, this is misleading. Woman on the phone, that should the day to confirm this, is a rough and illiterate, uses few words of English and French. The trip starts at 7:30, but the entry into Pompeii is 14 h. Exiting is 15.40 . Going back to Rome at 16:50 and lasts about three hours with a break .. All remaining time is breaks, trade visits here - there and waste of time. Guides on the bus and in Pompeii are really good. As for the lunch, it is usually a tourist menu, nothing to do with the famous Neapolitan cuisine. If you do not have a lot of days in Rome, it is better to organize themselves, by train for half a day.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message