Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3625 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I went on this day trip with 2 friends. Our leader was Melanie and she was lovely ,so friendly and helpful .
We got on the bus ,and were entertained the whole way by Melanie and Eleana and Mariuz the driver ,were told the history of the area and funny stories.
When we got to Pompeii ,we had a local guide with 40 years experience ,Ginero or Genero not sure of spellng.He was so passionate and knowledgable and really gave is a proper idea about what it would have been like in 79 ad.
Lunch was lovely .
The trek up Vesuvius was harder than I thought It was going to be especailly after just eating a pizza but the views were amazing and I really enjoyed it.
Over all this trip was fantastic ,we definately got more than our moneys worth ,Melanie and Eleana were full of info and entertaining andthe bus driver was brilliant negociating all those bends.

Would highly recommend!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide Marina and Valentina were great! In the visit to Napoli we were almost all the time inside the bus! But the visit to Pompeii was great! I totally recommend it

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing by the two most enjoyable knowledgable characters,our Tour Guides Julio and Alexandra. Orange Pink Group. The tour would have to be the highlight of our trip. It was well organized, the stop offs the lunch. Mt Versivus, Ancient Pompeii. Impressive!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Ahh, where to begin...this tour was the highlight of my trip for sure. First, the tour guides, Stephanie and I can't remember the other lady's name were very pleasant and passed the time well with information about the destinations as the picturesque bus ride went along. They did this periodically and it was not excessive so you had time to have conversations with others on the tour or just to relax. The tour of Pompeii was not conducted by the tour guides that were on the bus, but the lady that did this tour was also very nice, funny and knowledgable. Lunch was good, the bus tour guides gave a nice story of the area that tied it nicely together with the menu for lunch and the flavor was pretty good. The Mount Vesuvius hike was surely the high point, pardon the pun, of the tour...the views were just stunning. I will say that they aren't lying when they say that it requires some physical fitness. I was able to make it to the furthest point of the path up the volcano but I wouldn't describe the hike as easy. There are 3 stopping points on the hike and the views from each are equally nice, you don't lose much by not making it all the way to the top, so if you don't make it you certainly have not been cheated. Do yourself a favor and make this tour a priority if you are in the area!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a phenomenal tour. The staff was friendly and funny, and willing to show us more than what was included on the tour. Our guide, Anna, was exceptionally knowledgeable in regards to pompeii, her tour there alone was worth the cost. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved this tour! Stephanie and Manuelle were great tour guides! Stephanie shared historical stories on the sites we were driving by, while Manuelle entertained us with the espresso rules of Italy. Both guides were very kind and were available for any questions, whether it was related to restaurant recommendations, taxis, etc.

While we didn't get a chance to climb Mount Vesuvius it was raining super hard so they had to close the park, we were able to go to the National Archeological Museum of Pompeii instead. We would have loved to have climbed Mount Vesuvius, but nothing anyone could do about the weather. By the time the afternoon rolled around, the same came out and we were able to enjoy a wonderful tour of Pompeii.

Having the whole day planned out and having tour guides point out historical sites was so worth it! We highly recommend doing this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very well organised excellent value for money totally enjoyed the day with no worries. Have used company twice now and have been great on both occasions. Pompeii and Vesuvius amazing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fabian was excellent, he is local from Capri...very knowledgeable!
Luisa our tour guide in Pompeii amazing too..so fun and she knows sooo much...love this tour so far my favorite trip!!

Doing what: Small-Group Pompeii and Sorrento Rail Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour to Pompeii was great, historically an interesting trip. One problem is that the Pompeii museum holding a majority of the Pompeii artifacts is located in Napels... Where the tour goes through BUT does NOT stop at this museum. The Naples part of the trip was meh. Would have been much better if the tour stopped at the above mentioned museum and skipped all the boring Napels stuff.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very much a last minute decision we trained from Rome and were met by our guide and driver at the station. I thought we would be joining a large group but it turned out to be just my wife and I - so it was really a private tour! We had a delightful morning. The guide was an absolute font on Roman history, not only of Pompeii but of a wider perspective and shered so much and spoke excellent English.
Great day out!.
.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The things you will see in Pompeii will change forever what you think about civilization in early A. D. Our guide in Pompeii, Vincenzo, was funny and knowledgable and made our time there extremely enjoyable. Our guides from Rome, Roberto and Elena, were outstanding; smart, funny and passionate.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful organization. We thank Elena and Enrico from Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour guide was absolute gold: funny, knowledgeable, and very vigilant on our whereabouts at all times. the tour itself was well organized. the bus picked us up from the hostel at exactly the right time, the time spent at pompeii and vesuvius each was also just right though we could have done with a bit longer at vesuvius, twenty five minutes was not sufficient time to walk up the volcano as the tour guide claimed! but overall we left the tour feeling very satisfied. five out of five, we were very happy customers.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day!! Loved the hike up Mount Vesuvius and I had an amazing time and tour guide at the Pompeii excavations. Our tour guide, Sarah, was also great giving us lots of information about Italy and Italian culture. Overall, a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent value for money, wouldn't have liked to put together ourselves for that amount. Pickup at hotel on time. Coach comfortable and clean. Guide at Pompeii such good fun, knowledgable and funny. Lunch adequate. Time at Vesuvius a little short for some to make the top and back in time. Thank you

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip to Pompeii - took the highspeed train to Naples from Rome and was picked up beside the station by Viator - short bus trip to Pompeii which is amazing. Our tour guide was terrific. Really great day trip - back in Rome time for some well-earned nibbles.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide (Andreas I think) who made the Pompeii trip so memorable. Bursting with knowledge, wit and enthusiasm. Don't miss Pompeii it is a marvel to see - so much history preserved it is absolutely fascinating.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

iammj2
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip but you don't get any time to spend in Nsples. This might be a good thing as a few people I met in Italy and who had spent time walking in Naples had been robbed. Pompeii was amazing!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

we had a fab time . the tour guides where very informative and friendly. i would say to anyone who is visiting rome and they have time to book this tour. pompeii was amazing and the walk up mount vesuvius gave you some stuning views. all in all we are glad we did this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Bus was overcrowded. Promissed lunch in Naples happened near Pompeii.. never visited Naples.. didnt even came close... but z guides were excellent !! Melanie and Luka... thank u very much !!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent view of the past. tour guide and pompeii guide were superb

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide in Pompeii was fabulous!! He really made the experience complete and way better than just walking through the ruins on your own. The pizza lunch was tasty and quick, and the hike of Mt Vesuvius is on your own, but a cool way to end the day. Overall, I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour! Really good tour of Pompeii with stories about each site as you explore the ancient village. Our guide Andre was super! Great pizza for lunch. Plenty time to explore Vesuvio! Hotel pick up and drop off was very convenient.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Tour guides where amazing and very informative and helpful. Nice bus with plenty of stops! Pompeii as great as I remember and made better by our fantastic guide!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour is Gd. Both the main guide n the English speaking guide at Pompeii are very well informative

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message