Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4887 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Peter and Jonathon were awesome guide for this trip. Very knowledgeable about all the points of interest on the way and on our return trip.
Once we arrived, our local guide, Enzo, was just great. He gave us wonderfulsometimes humorous descriptions of what we were seeing in Pompeii.
We enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Out guide Melanie was extremely knowledgable and fun to listen to. She even gave us great restaurant recommendations afterwards based on where we were staying! Our Pompeii guide was also very knowledgable and gave us an excellent tour. We were given enough time to explore Pompeii and Vesuvius on our own. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Keily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides Mara and Ana and driver Marilena (spelling?) were the best! They were funny and knowledgable. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was short but steep, took about 30min to get to the top. Our Guide at Pompeii was great too. I usually prefer to sightsee on my own, this tour changed my mind!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

fana2060

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Love the tour. The lady who drove us was very patient and nice. We explored the Amalfi coast, positano, and then went to Pompeii. Great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

maryna South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We stopped in Napels before we went to Pompeii..I wish we could have had at least an hour to explore the surrounding area...would love to comeback here one day .
On this tour we also stopped at a Jewelry making factory that produces jewelry made from shells...beautiful craftmenship.
The restaurant that we had lunch at BEFORE our tour was also very good...we had Good beerPieroni and the 2 hosts were amazing we were allowed a second portion if we wanted to have it..situated on the main road.
AWESOME ABSOLUTELY AWESOME TOUR GUIDE !!!!!She pulled us into the story of Pompeii and she made the ancient seem real to us...She was extremely informative and gave us many good laughs..her English was very understandable and I thank her from the bottom of my heart!!
The restaurant that we had lunch at BEFORE our tour was also very good...we had Good beerPieroni and the 2 hosts were amazing we were allowed a second portion if we wanted to have it..situated on the main road.
Thank you very much for a magnificent time !!!!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day learning about the history and culture of Pompeii. Our guide, Andrew, was knowledgeable, entertaining, and akLso gave us good tips for travelling in Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Terry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Pompeii was one of my favorite tours!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Dawn W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I really liked the trip to Pompeii. I learned a lot. It was absolutely worth the ticket. Mt. Vesuvius was not. I could have skipped that.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was good. Pompeii is incredible, but our guide seems to have been giving us a lot of misinformation - throughout the Pompeii visit she cited common sayings, indicating that their origin was Pompeii/ Ancient Italy - however, upon checking afterward, these claims are not supported. I really don't join tours to learn fiction presented as fact - I expect the guides to be professional and well informed. Mt Vesuvius was okay, however a previous visit to Mt Etna had raised my expectations and I found Vesuvius to be disappointing by comparison, knowing what I know now, I would skip Vesuvius and visit Herculaneum instead.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Mary B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Pompeii tour was too long and should only be recommended if you are a strong walker. There are many stones to travel on. It is extremely crowded with many tours going on at the same time. My husband and I left the tour early. The lunch was nice. We really enjoyed the drive to Sorrento and walking around the town for an hour. Even though it was overcast, the coastline was spectacular. Overall, we wish we had a half day to Sorrento, without the Pompeii visit.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Matthew G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

We booked and paid for this trip online, opting for hotel pickup. The confirmation stated that the exact pickup time would be confirmed when the details were reconfirmed nearer the time. Needless to say when the details were re-sent they didn't confirm the time. I contact Viator and they gave conflicting advice, so I asked them to contact the tour provider and confirm the exact pickup time. We heard nothing back before our trip, so we had to call the local tour provider in Italy, paying for a call from the UK to Italy, which we shouldn't have had to do when the booking states the time will be confirmed to us rather than us having to chase....

The tour round Pompeii was 2 hours, so we only saw the highlights, but it was hard to get an understanding of how big it was. The guide was good, telling us of the history with humour included. The group was too big 35-40 people given that we had to view some areas in single file and it was a struggle to keep up with the group and not miss out if you were pushed to the back of the single file queue.

Lunch was ok, a large pizza average from a very touristy restaurant but we were very rushed. When we first sat down we were told we had 15 minutes to eat...

Mount Vesuvius was very cloudy which was a shame, but couldn't be helped. We didn't see much, but there was no tour of any sort. The 'tour guide' different to the one at Pompeii made a few statements over the coach microphone as the coach climbed the windy roads towards the top, but that was it. We got off the coach and were told we had an hour and a quarter to go up and come back down, but the guide didn't come with us or offer any other insight. The guide stressed that if we were more than 5 minutes late back we would be left there with a 200 euro taxi ride back to the bottom. Charming!

It was good to see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius but overall the tour package itself was disappointing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Diane H

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

If you want to visit Pompeii thoroughly, I would not recommend this tour. You spend 3 hours on the bus going and coming back. This leaves you with 3 and 1/2 hours to see Pompeii which isn't enough time. Even with the guided tour, one can't see all the attractions. The tour guide will tell you they can only show you so many in 2 hours. Then the remaining time isn't enough to walk the grounds. Additionally, the best mosaics and skeletal remains are in a museum in Naples. I would suggest spending a night in Naples or Pompeii and see the museum along with the Pompeii ruins.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Cheryl C

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This tour was a bit of a disappointment. Pompeii was very disappointing, the guide we had was boring and didn't explain anything. Hardly anything was original, it was all reproductions. Sorrento was beautiful and thoroughly enjoyed out time there. We went to Capri but unable to go to the Blue Grotto because of the high tide and rough seas - very sad to have not seen that. Capri is a beautiful island with lots to see and do - our guide was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Sue K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This is OK if you like the ease of not worrying about public transportation and you don't have a car. That was the best part- they picked us up from our hotel and drove us to one of the big coach busses, where we joined a very large mixed group some were doing the Mt. V and Pompeii full day tour like we did, others were just doing one or the other, etc. The Pompeii tour was disappointing- hard to hear the guide, too many people, didn't get a good feel for most of Pompeii which is huge, and we even lost one guy. Two hours is not enough in my opinion for Pompeii. The included lunch was decent choice of margharita pizza or spaghetti pasta- pizza is way more food for your money- and also one included drink which can be alcoholic if you choose- i got a HUGE pour of red wine which was pretty tasty. Transportation to Mt. V after Pompeii was convenient. Felt rushed at Mt. V as well, and again lost two people for at least 20 minutes while waiting for them. Overall, guides were very nice but the tours could have been better and also better organized. Not a bad idea for people who just don't want to plan the trips themselves and for people who want to knock out both places in one day because they have limited time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sylvanas Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter is a funny person and knows a lot about ROME, Pompeii.
You won't regret by choosing this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Luca was very experienced and had a wealthy of historical knowledge.
Pompeii was amazing a must see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a trip. 14 hours but worth it. My husband said he never saw such beauty as the Amalfi coast , except me of course. Max was great guide. Pompeii tour very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing day being picked up at apartment promptly at 6:45am greeted by the wonderful tour guide, Anna. The Mercedes van held 8 comfortably and we were off to Pompeii.
Spent 2 hours at Pompeii. It was stunning and the tour guide charming, very knowledgeable and humorous. Next we went to Positano and had a lovely lunch at a waterfront restaurant, Chez Black. The village was beautiful and friendly. We then traveled down the Amalfi coast and it was fun and filled with breathtaking views. We stopped in Amalfi which has wonderful stores, is quaint and was delightful. Onto Ravello and through Maiori looking at Capri the drive and company were superb. Thank you for a spectacular day and evening!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have spent a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time spent in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. Both sites are worth a visit, and we had an excellent guide for the day, as well as another excellent guide for the tour in Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sophie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. We had considered doing Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius by ourselves, but this trip was such good value I'm glad we chose this one. We were picked up straight from our hotel and taken to Pompeii - which obviously already takes out much of the hassle. We went on a Sunday morning around Easter time, and it was rammed. It didn't spoil the experience but timing might be good to think about in advance, if that's not for you. Gino and Manuela were great tour guides - friendly and good fun, they kept everyone together and painted a brilliant picture of what we were seeing - the history and everyday life of the place, made it all really come to life.

The only small thing i would have preferred is some more free time to explore Pompeii.
But saying that, I think a tour guide is almost essential to appreciate all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

vanessadeguz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Monica and Robert were wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun! Ask for them! The tip to the Pompeii museum was a bit short but we would do it all over again! Does not disappoint!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message