Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4871 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sylvanas Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter is a funny person and knows a lot about ROME, Pompeii.
You won't regret by choosing this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Luca was very experienced and had a wealthy of historical knowledge.
Pompeii was amazing a must see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

thomas s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a trip. 14 hours but worth it. My husband said he never saw such beauty as the Amalfi coast , except me of course. Max was great guide. Pompeii tour very interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing day being picked up at apartment promptly at 6:45am greeted by the wonderful tour guide, Anna. The Mercedes van held 8 comfortably and we were off to Pompeii.
Spent 2 hours at Pompeii. It was stunning and the tour guide charming, very knowledgeable and humorous. Next we went to Positano and had a lovely lunch at a waterfront restaurant, Chez Black. The village was beautiful and friendly. We then traveled down the Amalfi coast and it was fun and filled with breathtaking views. We stopped in Amalfi which has wonderful stores, is quaint and was delightful. Onto Ravello and through Maiori looking at Capri the drive and company were superb. Thank you for a spectacular day and evening!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have spent a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

JOANNA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very well organized trip. We love that we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking. Our Pompeii guide, Gaetano, was excellent, very informative, passionate and witty. Would have preferred to have a bit more time in Pompeii compared to the time spent in Positano. Our driver/guide, Max, kept us safe from the winding mountain roads. Overall, a very good experience. Thank you.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. Both sites are worth a visit, and we had an excellent guide for the day, as well as another excellent guide for the tour in Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sophie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. We had considered doing Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius by ourselves, but this trip was such good value I'm glad we chose this one. We were picked up straight from our hotel and taken to Pompeii - which obviously already takes out much of the hassle. We went on a Sunday morning around Easter time, and it was rammed. It didn't spoil the experience but timing might be good to think about in advance, if that's not for you. Gino and Manuela were great tour guides - friendly and good fun, they kept everyone together and painted a brilliant picture of what we were seeing - the history and everyday life of the place, made it all really come to life.

The only small thing i would have preferred is some more free time to explore Pompeii.
But saying that, I think a tour guide is almost essential to appreciate all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

vanessadeguz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Monica and Robert were wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun! Ask for them! The tip to the Pompeii museum was a bit short but we would do it all over again! Does not disappoint!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Beth W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Do not miss this excursion!!! The Amalfi Coast is indescribably beautiful, and Pompeii will give you goosebumps. The day trip was small and intimate there were only six people in the van and our guide/driver, Brando, was upbeat, knowledgeable, and funny. We loved spending the day with him. We also had THE top rated guide at Pompeii, Gaetano. He is a third generation guide and has been doing it for 45 years! His passion for the site was evident, and he kept it interesting and humorous. We absolutely adored him. The only thing I would have done differently would be to book two separate trips for each site. I would have loved more time in each place, especially Pompeii! Gaetano did a wonderful job giving us the highlights of the city, but 2 hours just wasn't enough time to do everything. Some day I'll make it back and do a full day at Pompeii. But it was a wonderful way to spend a day! We loved it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both of our tour guides through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius were excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour to other guests.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

jechyde

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and VERY grateful we did not have to maneuver the twisty roads down the Almalfi coast.. The tour of Pompeii was spectacular and just the right length. The cameo factory and ceramics shop were informative and a good chance to acquire some gifts for friends and family. We opted to enjoy the town of Almafi instead of the optional boat tour, giving us free time in the town. Good value and excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Katharine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a fantastic value. Pompeii and Vesuvius are must-see and are so impressive in person. Our guides Mara and Antonella were very knowledgable and made the lone bus ride enjoyable. Highly reccomend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Desiree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely wonderful day trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii - first class service all the way! The guides, Lucca and Manuel were knowledgeable, entertaining and extremely helpful and the driver Alberto was skilled and very competent. The pizza lunch was very good and we had plently of time to observe and explore both Pompeii and Vesuvius. I would highly recommend this trip and will definitely be using this company for excursions again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

louise f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You will not be disappointed with Elisa's tour of Pompeii! She brought the ancient site to life in story with fantastically accessible humour. We compared notes with other language groups and they said that all they could hear was us laughing. She managed the group exceedingly well, while you were not made to feel like a number. A very slick and genuine tour. Elisa should be an attraction of Pompeii, she is really that good!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

moti k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a tour my granddaughter and I booked and I think it was well worth the effort and money. The tour was conveniently arranged for pick up and drop off. The tour guides, Jonathan and Peter were amazing founts of information. Art, architecture, history and personal vignettes made the 3 hour trip down and back interesting and informative. Although I had been to Pompeii several times, I still found new insights with these two young men. Please take this trip, you will enjoy it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Unbelievable trip, should not be overlooked. Our coach was very comfy, our hosts were incredibly friendly and their stories/facts very informative and fun to listen to. Pompeii itself was incredible but without our guide Roberto, we wouldn't of enjoyed it half as much. Thank you for a great trip, Cian and Niamh

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message