Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 5080 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well-organised, informative trip. The journey was a pleasure and Pompeii itself was truly amazing. We had the upgraded tour, which turned out to be perfect - definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Ravish

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

One of the best tours on the trip to Italy. Our guides, Dmitri and Andy of City Wonders, did an outstanding job. They were extremely humorous and gave us a ton of information all the way through. The lunch experience was good too at Pompeii. The guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was fantastic.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour and great guide. Pompeii guide was great too! Not a tour to be missed and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Alice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed the trip. The director on the bus was very courteous and helpful but there was another person who took us around Pompeii. You walk up the steep slope area of Mt. Vesuvius by yourself and no one is a guide to point out anything. For the price, I would have thought there would be more information. We did enjoy the day very much.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Mark G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guides did an excellent job sharing information with us during the 3 hour drive to Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Absolutely fabulous. Best thing I did the whole 11 days I was in Italy. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and Pompeii is incredible. The only way it could have been better is if the weather were better there was a landslide and we couldn't go up Vesuvius or even really see it with all the clouds but the backup plan museum was nice and no one can control the weather. The overall experience was great and it was nice to take a break from the hectic crowdedness of Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Maryanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Mel, Peter and Loures were fabulous! Enrico was our tour guide for Pompeii and was also very good.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kimberly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guides, Sara and Antonella, along with the guide at Pompeii, Enzo, were amazing. The tour was a great length and hit the high points. I did not enjoy being forced to share tables at lunch, given there were at least twenty open tables.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan n

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It's a long day, early start but I enjoyed the smaller group experience. Hotel pick up and drop off was awesome. The Amalfi coast is unreal. Positano was a must see in Italy. We had about an hour and a half there. Pack a swim suit if you want to hit the beach I wish I had. They sell them there but are expensive men's 100, speedo 40 lol Bring cash many places don't take cards. I honestly would have loved just the entire day at the two stops in the Amalfi coast. Pompeii was very interesting and really awesome to see. Guide was incredibly knowledgable. Only thing that I didn't care for was you have to pay 13 euro to get inside Pompeii. I though booking this tour had that taken care of. Overall was an awesome experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

tezster

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience - this tour had by far the best tour guides of all the tours I booked for my Italy trip! They added so much enjoyment to the entire day! The tour through Pompeii was great, but I personally enjoyed the hike to the top of Vesuvius more it was a very satisfying climb to the top, with wonderful panoramic views all round.
I didn't like the pizza lunch too much, but everything else about the tour was fantastic.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Suze

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was amazing, Pompeii was everything and more than I thought possible. The guide Sylvia was fabulous and the driver for the day Salvatore was friendly and a great driver.
The only downside of the day was the lunch, which was not very appealing. But overall a fantastic day.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Teresa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent value! There is too much to praise! The guide for Pompeii was so very knowledgeable, he brought it all to life. The view from the Sorrento hotel was breath-taking, and the hotel was very, very nice. Capri is amazing and the Blue Grotto was a once in a lifetime experience. So many wonderful things in a great two day adventure. So happy we took this tour. Thank you all.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

swain.amandaj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic, the section on Pompeii was informative and very interesting! Lunch was fantastic and the best spaghetti I have had in all of my time and the views at the top of Mt Vesuvius were outstanding!! The trip up the mountain on the tour bus was an experience in itself and I highly commend the driver for keeping his cool when we were caught up in a bus jam, bravo!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

ann2howard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic. Great trip. Could have spent more time in Pompeii to discover more of the old town. Guides were excellent!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Nicole B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! Amazing tour guides. Best experience ever. I recommended to everyone excited to climb Vesuvius and to discover the city of Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Patty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an amazing tour. The local tour group- Citywonders did a fantastic job- We were picked up at a very accessible meeting point and driven by motor coach to both Pompeii and My. Vesuvious..

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Aminda L C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour leader was excellent along with the tour guide in Pompeii. Even though it was very hot outside and we were all sweating, they made it enjoyable. It's not a small group, we had to use earbuds in Pompeii in order to hear the guide, but the group wasn't too large either. Pickup from the hotel was good, only a few minutes late. Overall, great experience and worth the money.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Lynda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The driver was exceptional, and the tour guide most informative. We enjoyed every part of the trip. Would highly recommend this trip. Pompeii was more than we expected.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Shreyank M India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was very well-organized. Our guide Elisa at Pompeii was very knowledgeable and explained everything in great detail. She even answered all our questions. She gave us plenty of time to take pictures. All in all an excellent tour guide.

We then had a nice lunch at a restaurant where the portions were generous we each were given a pizza.

Only downside was that there was not sufficient time to peruse all of the souvenirs at Pompeii.

Then, we went to Mt. Vesuvius. Our tour guide Manuela was good. She informed us about the history, the produce and the every-day life of the towns around the active volcano. We hiked to the top and back. Ideally we would liked more time at the top of the volcano.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

MaryJoy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Luca, our guide, did a wonderful job telling us all about Rome, Pompeii, Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. CityWonders is a very organized and punctual company. We arrived at the meeting point at 7:30, loaded on to the buses, and had a bathroom break on the way there and back. We had a local guide in Pompeii that helped us see the highlights, a wonderful pizza lunch, and then a hike on Mt. Vesuvius. Be sure to bring good walking shoes, a hat, and water for the day. Well worth it and a great company and guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous day exploring the Amalfi Coast. We were picked up on time, the transport was comfortable and the driver was proffessional and pleasant. The tour of Pompeii was less impressive: our small busload joined two others and the group was too big the tour guide was difficult to hear and did not wait for those at the back of the group before launching into his spiel at each stopping point. The site itself is very interesting of course.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Michelle G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent choice. Only seven people. The Amalfi coast is always spectacular. The later arrival at Pompeii is a good idea. It was not very crowded. The private guide at Pompeii Gaetano was very informative and passionate.
The driver-guide Max not only arrived on time for the pick up, but a few minutes early. He is very attentive, polite, etc. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Katie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day trip to Pompeii with 2 excellent guides on our bus. I think that seeing how people lived in Pompeii was the best part of our trip. Johnathan was an excellent guide!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Parker Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Excellent tour of Pompeii with our lady tour guide.
Lunch was good liked the calamari and shrimp. People were lined up outside the restaurant, but our group breezed through ahead of them.
Loved the stunning views of Positano and Sorrento, hats off to excellent driving through the narrow winding streets.
Appreciated the email reminders for this tour, especially the hotel pick up time and printing vouchers. Hotel pick up and return was a nice plus!
Will definitely book another tour through Viator.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Edward S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour makes for a long day but worth it. Our tour guide said he does the tour 3 or 4 times a week because the Amalfi Coast is the most beautiful part of Italy and he was right. The views over looking the ocean were gorgeous. We had lunch right by the ocean's edge. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, friendly and direct d us to excellent shops and where to have lunch.
The tour ends with a visit to Pompeii. This really gives you sense how Romans lived centuries ago. Our guide was a third generation tour guide. Really made the ruins come to life.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small-Group Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message