Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4053 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Luv2TravlAmy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well - I crossed off going to Pompeii from my bucket list! This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Monica, was so helpful and informative. She gave a lot of information to us prior to arriving in Pompeii. Our local guide was also very funny and was just a wealth of knowledge - filling in all of the details of the city and answering all of the questions we had. Our trip took us to the archeological museum rather than climbing Vesuvius as it was in the winter, but seeing the artifacts was so interesting and really gave perspective as to what life was like in Pompeii. I was not impressed with lunch - it just seemed very un-Italian. The pizza was good, but the atmosphere was less than authentic. They did make a stop on the way to Pompeii and on they way back for restroom breaks no toilet seats in the ladies rooms...just beware. Great day - it is a LONG day, so be prepared for that. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Paula P

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

This was a nightmare of a tour. We were 45 minutes late being picked up to start. Half way to Naples, we stopped at a rest area which was supposed to last 20 minutes and was closer to 40. When we arrived in Naples and picked up our local guide, Fernando, we had 10 minutes to take photos, which was closer to 20 minutes, then we did a tour of Naples which consisted of seeing Naples through a tour bus. We then stopped for 45 minutes at a Cameo jewelry store, we are nearly 6 hours into a tour of NAPLES/POMPEII and I have seen Naples only from a bus and none of Pompeii. We are then taken to a restaurant near Pompeii and I can now honestly saw I have eaten the worst food of my life. Horrible, disgusting, garbage was served to us. No one ate it, I could write this whole review on it but I wouldn't have ate it to save my life. After this, we go to Pompeii. It's 2:05 in the afternoon. Our guide, Fernando is informative but SLOW. We decided to break away from our group and see Pompeii alone. We were told to meet back at a meeting point at 3:45 so we could all leave on the bus at 4:00. By chance, at close to 3:10 we ran into the group and decide to finish the tour with them. At 3:20, Fernando led us out of the park area, back to where all the shops our and told us to wait for our bus. Our whole group was confused and he told us we had seen everything we needed to see in Pompeii. Seriously? We couldn't return in, so we sat in a parking lot til 4:10 when our bus left! AN HOUR IN POMPEII. On the way back, you stop at a casino/rest stop. Only 2 people got off, the rest stayed on. Our whole group was EXTREMELY UNHAPPY. We were gone close to 15 hours and spent not even 1 1/2 hours in Pompeii. WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN. BE WARNED. HORRIBLE TOUR.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

keldogg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guides were friendly, approachable, and most importantly knowledgeable. The trip to the museum in Naples was actually very interesting and a good substitution for the hike to the top of a volcano. Once we were at Pompeii the tour around the site was only a few hours but I felt like we saw the most important parts of the site. I was so glad I booked a tour with a guide instead of going on my own since there was so much I would have walked right past not knowing the significance. The guides were great at telling the group about the history and significance of even the smallest things at the site. Stuff I would never have known myself like how small pieces of white marble were used on the road leading to the port to help travelers find the road in the dark. I would have walked on and never noticed that at all. I highly recommend having a guide to get the most out of the experience of being in Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Derek P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was everything and more than I expected. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The stop for food in Pompeii was delicious. Also, the guide that was used in Pompeii was very polite and took us to some really cool spots. I will recommended everyone I know to take this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Garlyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour and our tour guide Elena was the best! Despite the rain we had an enjoyable tour of Naples and felt a new appreciation for a city that gets a bad rap! We even returned at the end of our stay to visit the archeological museum at her suggestion! One of the highlights was our visit to Pompeii and were thrilled that the rain held off and we could enjoy the tour and learn from our wonderful tour guide the colorful history and world wide fascination of Pompeii!

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic trip. Highly recommend if visiting Italy. Tour guides were great as well. Amazing how well preserved some of the homes in Pompeii are.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Alexandria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this tour. Our guide was amazing. She was very funny and knew what she was talking about. Also the local guide in Pompeii was knowledgeable and made the tour fun. Lunch was also very delicious. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our bus travel to Naples and Pompeii was well coordinate with every 1.5 hour breaks in a 3 hour drive. The guided bus tour in Naples was quick and informative given by Teresa. The lunch was decent, the pizza and fruit dessert being my favorite out of the 3 course meal. As far as the Pompeii tour, Teresa was amazing. She was able to draw our imaginations of what life was like in Pompeii and how the people lived there. Example, she got us very excited before entering every ruin such as a fast food place they had built. The drive back to Rome was uneventful besides another 1.5 hour break.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Juleschap Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent way to end the year. The trip to Pompeii was probably the highlight of my Europe trip and it was made even more enjoyable by our guide Antonella and our Pompeii guide Enrico. The only negative was the lunch - the pizza was not enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

bmccormack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice trip to Pompeii and the museum would have loved climbing the volcano but the weather did not permit it. A must see

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Yuri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. The Archaeological Museum was fun to visit. Then the tour takes you to a remote site to have lunch. Some of the best pizza I have ever tasted. After lunch, that moment you realize that you're about to visit one of the most historical sites in the history of the world, Pompeii. Just amazing to actually be on site, and breathtaking to know that Mt. Vesuvius is in the backdrop. Our tour guides Massimo and Roberto were the best ever. They had our group so into the tour. They were informative, outspoken, intelligent, so friendly, down to earth, funny at times. They were simply amazing. They made the tour even that much better of an experience. A to the tour guides! A to Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Ellaine B

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great organisation and what amazing sights - Mt Vesivius and Pompeii. What made this tour even better was the knowledge and sense of humor of the tour guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Karen W

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We really enjoyed the tour guides that took us to Pompeii. They were very informative and enjoyable. We wish were could have been there at a time for the hike, but the museum was enjoyable. The history and tour of pompeii was also very neat and informative.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stewart M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Luca and were very good guides. They were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. They also managed to keep us entertained on the long bus rides. Pompeii is an amazing site - we were really surprised at how much there is to see there.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Julie F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

We went from Rome to Pomeii - a very long day but well worth it. The highlight was our wonderful guide for the Pompeii tour. He was multi-lingual, knowledgeable and funny. The stop on the way back from Pompeii was odd - seemed to be geared to selling Chinese-made products. Lunch on the way down was very good.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Friendly host on the bus, then a Pompeii guide at the site for two hours. Interesting and informative tour of Pompeii, there is so much to see! You do have to pay for your own tickets and there is a package that includes Herculaneum so take that into account in your costings. The tour company organised lots of variations of tours so then most of us were taken to lunch at the Vesuvius restaurant. That was okay, though it is a mega-tourist spot and with a choice of two meals which were so so. We were the only ones going to Herculaneum so we had a driver take us there and wait for us while we visited. There is no guide for this part, but it is well signposted and you can hire an audio guide on site. Herculaneum is well worth visiting though - with some great mosaics, buildings and the very sad site of many skeletons of those who died while hoping to escape down the bottom near where the sea once came in. A very full and interesting day!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

joydeep.choudhury

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Pompeii trip is recommended and our Pompeii local guide Fernando was amazing. With all respect to his age, he was really knowledgeable and tried his best. So thumbs up to Fernando!!
Saying that Naples trip was not recommended at all. Honestly we have not seen anything in Naples except the Santa Lucia stop. The bus just circled the town and Fernando was pointing here and there about historical sights, but no one in the bus mostly could not see anything from a running bus. Also most of the spots were under restoration so nothing for us to see. It should be a walking tour so that people can at least see things coming so far. So Naples was disappointing and same feeling I got during lunch time from other travelers.
Another point to mention about other guide for entire tour Patric, though he was polite to us but almost the entire trip he spent gossiping/chatting either with driver Luca or in phone. Also there was another friend of them who was in the bis for first 2 hours and 3 of them like gossiping together very loud. At the end of the tour because of their continuous chat in Italian language may be and as we sat in the front seat just after them, literally we had a headache!!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

dod

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Day was probably a bit too long 14 hours. Naples ho hum. Pompeii was good but after Roman forum and colosseum day before was a bit of overkill

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Teagan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We enjoyed our tour however we felt it was very unorganized and could be improved. The group was divided multiple times and it was very unclear where we were meant to go and with who. Our tour of Pompeii with Maria was disappointing as we didn't get to see the human remains which are a huge part of the story of Pompeii to us. She also left without us and we, along with a fellow tour member, were left lost not knowing where to go and almost missed the included lunch and second part of the tour because of this. Other than that it was a great day. The views from Vesuvius were amazing and well worth the hike.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Lorena E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

The Naples part of this was a huge disappointment! We really only drove by a few points of interest and they weren't that interesting. The Pompeii part was awesome, however it was very rushed and our guide kept backtracking instead of taking us on new streets. I really wish we would have just done the longer Pompeii tour and skipped Naples altogether. Another point is that lunch was included with this, but you only got two choices and they were horrible. I chose the Roast Beef which wasn't beef at all but dried up slices of turkey. My husband and son chose the swordfish. My son got the correct, very small portion, but my husband got an entirely different kind of fish that was horrible tasting. They said that they ran out of the swordfish. We would have much rather done lunch on our own.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kelvinmailbox1

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Naples and Pompeii were awesome, but the tour wasn't. The tour guide Cristina was awful. This was the last tour in Italy, the rest were also through Viator but those were all great.

This particular tour agency had a full bus with 57 people. Cristina brought us to Naples, with hardly anything said of value or even interesting. Then a local guide boarded the bus and rattled on by himself.

When we alighted at Pompeii, the group of 57 was too big. The fact that there were many other visitors around did not help. Only a small portion was in front by the tour guide, about 80 just trailed along behind not following what he said as we were all too far behind to follow his heavily accented English.

All in all, a really terrible tour and tour agency. I strongly do not recommend this.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Melanie M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

While we enjoyed the ruins of Pompeii, the balance of this trip was extremely disappointing. We only disembarked the bus once in Naples to look at the seaside for 10 minutes. After that, we visited a pointless shell museum/shop and had the worst lunch we have had in Italy. On top of this, the guide that the tour company engaged to educate us about Naples and Pompeii was extremely boring and slow. He was an elderly man and, while knowledgable, it seemed like he was struggling making it around the ruins. Unfortunately this was a waste of time and money.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message