Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3018 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Loved this tour. Had a great driver Claudio who took us from hotel in Rome to Pompeii and back. Guide was fabulous and passionate about Pompeii. 2 hour private tour probably not long enough so after it concluded we skipped the return stop off lunch and stayed for 2 more hours walking by ourselves.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was fascinating and the guide was great! It did feel a little rushed at Pompeii, but the place is huge and there is loads to see. Plenty of time to look around Herculaneum afterwards.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Pompeii's ruins were amazing. The guide was very good.
Naples was far from nice. Very dirty and was glad it was just a quick bus drive through the place.
Overall a good day trip that was well organised and staffed.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This was a really great tour. The tour guides were nice and very informative and Pompeii was a moving experience.

In the future, it would be nice to make plain on the website that no trips to Mount Vesuvius are made during the winter. It would have been nice to know up front.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The trip to Naples and Pompeii was amazing! It is truly a must trip. I had a wonderful time and met amazing people from different part of world. The only complaints I had about the trip was the temperature on the bus, not being able to do a walking tour in Naples, and not being dropped back to hotel

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was very good. Pros - Well Organized, Easy meeting location, Nice bus and well planned tour. Cons: No real Cons, just a long day but that was to be expected and I also think the lunch may have been unnecessary and maybe could have given an hour to walk around the town of Pompeii alone and grab a bite to eat for an hour then meet back with the group. The bus ride to Naples was informative and Naples itself was very interesting and just the right amount of time. There was a 10 minute stop at the coast in Naples to take some pictures, nice area of Naples and enjoyable. The Pompeii tour itself was excellent. Very informative tour guide, he was Italian and at times a bit hard to follow but overall very very good. He told the Pompeii story as if experiencing first hand. He was also very humorous. The bus driver was great as well. Worth the money and time!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The guide on the bus was great. Pompeii was amazing and the guide there was very knowledgeable (but a little hard to understand). Naples is forgettable and the lunch was appalling. My tip is just do Pompeii and the museum or volcano hike. Skip Naples and the awful lunch.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Guide explanation on Naples and Pompeii were unclear and top with the very muffled headset.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2015

Pompeii excellent. The lunch was probably the most terrible meal I have ever tasted anywhere in the world!! Cold, awfull taste, very old potatoes!
The seashell museum was a typical turist trap and should be avoided.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Pompeii tour was fine, it was very informative and a good length. However, the sorrento portion was a huge rip off. We got taken to two monuments, got a few short words, and then were given only 20 minutes of free time. That was just enough time to get gelato. DONT DO THE TOUR

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

We were picked up on time and everything was great. We then proceeded to the first rest stop. There were already 7 busses there and approximately 350 people trying to use the restroom and get something to eat in a very small business. Absolutely ridiculous. We were taken on a bus tour of the ugliest parts of Naples, riding around for hours. Then to the noon meal which was ok but by the time we made it to Pompeii we only had 2 hours to tour the entire place. This was the reason for the trip but spent more time riding in the bus around Naples than necessary.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Pompeii was amazing! Despite the tour.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Don't do the tour, just get on a train and do it on your own. Half of the tour was about Naples which was like a third world city - ugly and not interesting. I felt like we wasted so much time in Naples. And the tour guide for Pompeii was not good. All she did was talk about toilets!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Beautiful, comfortable bus; Knowledgeable and friendly tour guide; Great lunch- perfect combination!
Absolutely amazing tour that we would highly recommend. The complimentary van pickup from our hotel arrived promptly and took us to our bus for the day. Once on the bus, our tour guide, Cristina, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. You make a brief rest stop before heading into Naples. Naples is very run down, and the bus spends just the right amount of time driving by the sights. You then have plenty of time to take beautiful pictures over the Bay of Naples.
From there, you proceed to a coral art museum. Admittedly, this felt unnecessary and more of a tourist trap. We used it as a bathroom break before proceeding to the new town of Pompeii for lunch.
The lunch exceeded all of our expectations. The first course included unlimited pasta, followed by a choice of either beef or fish, along with mini Italian pastries for desert, bread, and a sampling of pizza.
After, we finally made our way to the ancient city of Pompeii. Our local tour guide was very knowledgeable, entertaining, and friendly. You receive headsets so you can hear her easily. Pompeii could easily take a full day, but our tour guide did a great job condensing it into one afternoon.
The bus is extremely comfortable and modern. It makes the journey quite easy. At the end of the day, the bus will drop you off near your hotel.
Tip: Sit on the left side for amazing views of Mt. Vesuvius as you drive down the highway! Also, be considerate: Don't take too long at the rest stops and make the whole group wait on you as happened on our bus.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message