Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 4945 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Peter and Jonathon were awesome guide for this trip. Very knowledgeable about all the points of interest on the way and on our return trip.
Once we arrived, our local guide, Enzo, was just great. He gave us wonderfulsometimes humorous descriptions of what we were seeing in Pompeii.
We enjoyed the trip very much.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sarah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour! Out guide Melanie was extremely knowledgable and fun to listen to. She even gave us great restaurant recommendations afterwards based on where we were staying! Our Pompeii guide was also very knowledgable and gave us an excellent tour. We were given enough time to explore Pompeii and Vesuvius on our own. Definitely recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Keily W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guides Mara and Ana and driver Marilena (spelling?) were the best! They were funny and knowledgable. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was short but steep, took about 30min to get to the top. Our Guide at Pompeii was great too. I usually prefer to sightsee on my own, this tour changed my mind!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Andy, Melanie Aussies both and our driver Antonio aka the 'TONY Stewart' of bus drivers delivered an AWESOME non-stop tour of the history and archaeology of Pompeii and the geology of Mt. Vesuvius. The team took a personal interest in their 'family' of tourists, so that by the end of the long tour they knew everyone on a first name basis. Even during the several hours of 'dead' time to and from Rome and the sites, they continued to provide exclusive insights about traveling about Rome and its environs. A good example of their personal engagement and commitment was their efforts to prod everyone to the top of Vesuvius under specially harsh weather conditions that day. They provided the BEST touring experience of my many years traveling with VIATOR.--Jim

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

fana2060

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Love the tour. The lady who drove us was very patient and nice. We explored the Amalfi coast, positano, and then went to Pompeii. Great experience.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

maryna South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We stopped in Napels before we went to Pompeii..I wish we could have had at least an hour to explore the surrounding area...would love to comeback here one day .
On this tour we also stopped at a Jewelry making factory that produces jewelry made from shells...beautiful craftmenship.
The restaurant that we had lunch at BEFORE our tour was also very good...we had Good beerPieroni and the 2 hosts were amazing we were allowed a second portion if we wanted to have it..situated on the main road.
AWESOME ABSOLUTELY AWESOME TOUR GUIDE !!!!!She pulled us into the story of Pompeii and she made the ancient seem real to us...She was extremely informative and gave us many good laughs..her English was very understandable and I thank her from the bottom of my heart!!
The restaurant that we had lunch at BEFORE our tour was also very good...we had Good beerPieroni and the 2 hosts were amazing we were allowed a second portion if we wanted to have it..situated on the main road.
Thank you very much for a magnificent time !!!!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sophie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The trip was really well organised and well paced. Our guides Peter and Enzo were very entertaining and informative. They brought pompeii to life! The trip was fascinating and well worth doing. I would recommend it to anyone. The lunch venue was very good too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kenneth L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day learning about the history and culture of Pompeii. Our guide, Andrew, was knowledgeable, entertaining, and akLso gave us good tips for travelling in Rome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Susan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had the best day with my guide Melanie. Loads of interesting insights into the region of italy as well as both pompeii and mt Vesuvius. Highly recommend going on this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Terry B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Pompeii was one of my favorite tours!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

circle2us

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a long day, but our two guides Andy and Melanie kept us entertained and informed. They even came through the bus on the way home to help each family with restaurants and taxis, and answering questions any questions about Rome. Pompeii tour was comprehensive and thorough. The climb to the top of Mount Vesuvius was icing on the cake. Walking Pompeii was not easy - lots of uneven walkways to negotiate and a certain level of fitness was necessary for both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii had huge crowds which detracted from the experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Debbie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely awesome! Janvar was a fantastic guide and Andy and Melanie were also excellent guides, very knowledgeable about Rome and Pompeii and their tips on restaurants and coffee bars was fantastic. Janvar was extremely passionate about Pompeii and gave us details that any average person would not spot. Even down to the ratings of the red light district. Very humbling! Mount Vesuvius was equally spectacular. Lunch was provided at a local pizza restaurant and this was very tasty and freshly made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sujan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was fantastic! What made this tour amazing was our guide Sara. She's the best guide ever. She kept us enetrtained with stories and taught us about the culture on our way there. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was great along with seeing the ruins of Pompeii. The lunch we had was fantastic! Again, what made this trip great was our guide Sara!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sophia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was totally worth it. You really miss the details of what you're looking at in Pompeii if it's not pointed out to you by the local guide. There's no English plaques to read. I booked the tour for Pompeii but the highlight of the trip was the hike up Mt. Vesuvius. It might be a bit challenging but we took it slow and steady and it was well worth the view and sense of accomplishment. It should be noted that the hard part of the hike is at the beginning and gets easier as you ascend.

Sara and Dmitry were very warm, friendly, and knowledgable guides. Dmitry talking about WWII in Italy was fascinating. Sara told a great story about Vesuvius' cable cars. You HAVE to try the fresh-squeezed orange juice at the pit-stop, no exaggeration, the best juice I've ever had in my life.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lynda P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Don't miss this trip!
We were apprehensive as a long journey but it flew by with great stories from our guide Anna
Pompeii is a truly amazing site, much bigger than we imagined and our local guide made sure we got the best out of our visit

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

marcjusten

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guides Roberto and Luca were brilliant! Very informative, enthusiastic, so willing to share their wealth of knowledge on the history and trivia of Roma, Pompeii, Mt Vesuvius and everything we passed in between. They were also attentive to everyone's needs and comfort during the day.
The tour guide at Pompeii was also very informative, willing to answer any question, and keen to engage and interact with us tourists . The only criticism would be that it would have been nice to have had more free time after the guided tour at Pompeii. Half an hour is just not enough! I'd suggest 1.5hrs would have been great! But this is already a 13hr return tour from Roma, so it is hard to fit it all in!
The provided lunch was excellent, included your first drink beer, wine, soft drink, or water.
The walk to the Mt Vesuvius crater was terrific and very worthwhile. The outstanding views are not to be missed, so please do push through the steep climb, just wear suitable foot wear for the loose gravel surface. The time provided on Mt Vesuvius was of an appropriate duration. We had a broad range of ages teens to retirees and physical fitness in this tour group, and everyone made it to the top.
The tour coach / bus was comfortable and modern. The coach comfort stops were at a nice hotel and were of appropriate duration - not too long or short.
Overall, a five star tour! Highly recommended! The efforts of the tour guides Roberto and Luca certainly had a large part in it's success! I suggest requesting them by name!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The pick up point at Naples Station was a bit vague, but it turned out ok. The guide hunted around until she found all the people that she was meant to pick up. The whole tour was run well despite the huge amount of people everywhere. Pompeii was vast, and 2 hours only gives you time for the highlights, but knowing this in advance, it was nice to leave it all in someone else's hands and just enjoy the experience. Vesuvius was amazing. Only an hour to get to the top and back, and you have to be reasonably fit to be able to march up and walk to the opposite end of the crater and back with a bit of time to take photos. But it was the highlight of my holiday and I am so happy to have done it.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Fernando W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing guided tour through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. I must say though make sure the shoes you are wearing are comfortable and you have no issues with getting a little dusty from the ankle down mostly. If you are second guessing this one based on the climb up the Mountain, I will say Don't, unless you are handicap or have some medical issue which prevents you. We saw people of all ages making the climb, each at their own pace obviously. Once at the top it is a must see sight.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really pleased with this tour, hotel pick up at 10.15 was 15 mins early, Pompeii highlights tour was very informative and Maria our guide was very funny and made it very interesting, lunch was surprisingly good, choice of margarita pizza or spaghetti with tomato sauce and Parmesan, with choice of beer, juice, water or pop. Then off to Vesuvius where we hiked one mile, 30 mins to the crater, strong walking shoes recommended, quite strenuous but worth the effort, superb views of Naples and the Bay, and the crater. Only down side was we didn't feel we had enough time at the summit to take it in, we had around 20 mins to take our photos and look round then 20 mins to get back down to the coach. We would have liked to have an extra half an hour at least to walk the whole length of the crater's edge and return to the hotel an hour later than we did. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Andrew M F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience - very long day but wonderful insight into the history of the site and the surrounding area. Appropriate amount of narration on the bus, along with the tour by the local guide at Pompeii. It's impossible to see all of Pompeii in one day, but the highlights are definitely covered. The Vesuvius hike gives a beautiful view of the Bay of Naples, although the path has a lot of gravel if that is a concern. Lunch was at a large restaurant/catering hall that definitely caters to tour groups, but the service was efficient and the pizza was very good! Would definitely recommend to someone who wants to take a day tour to somewhere completely different!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

mandkallan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

An awesome tour! Excellent tour guide in Anna who was extremely well organised, informative, cheerful and made the day fantastic! Excellent driver too! The tour was amazing! I would thoroughly recommend it . A long day but well worth it! And hotel pick up and drop off excellent especially for solo travelers like me!
Pompeii guide Hector was fascinating and very informative!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Wendelle D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I had ONE day to visit Pompeii and this trip gave me that and more Mt. Vesuvius. Great, friendly, knowledgeable tour guides. I would love to go back and spend more time in Pompeii. But, for a one day tour from Rome, this was terrific.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Tammy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful trip! First of all, our driver was amazing! He was funny and very informative as he pointed out landmarks on the way to and from Amalfi/Positano. Amalfi is a must see. It's so unique and incredibly beautiful. However, for me, Pompeii was the highlight of the excursion. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining was he lead us through the most important ruins.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

Denise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide was Peter City Wonders and he did an excellent job of leading the group. There was additional guide provided, who was an expert specifically on Pompeii, and that added to the learning. They both did a wonderful job - no communication barriers, interesting history and anecdotes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message