Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2922 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Your guides were very knowledgeable and added a great deal to the tour. Walking through the Pompeii ruins brought history to life. Later, looking down the Vesuvius crater was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a fantastic trip. Our guides Roberto and Sarah were very knowleadgeable and made the long bus ride seem short. It was the dream of a lifetime for us to visit Pompeii and we felt we got a good view of it. The climb up Mt. Vesuvius was also very dramatic, worth all the effort. I've been wanting to see Pompeii since I was a little girl and it was wonderful to have this trip and have that dream come true.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! I would recommend this tour to anyone. Our guide through the archaeology site in Pompeii was knowledgeable, enthusiastic, patient, witty!! Although the climb up Mount Vesuvius was amazing, we were pressed for time! We only had an 1 hr. 20 min. to get up and back. There was no time to relax and enjoy when you reached the top. We practically ran down and we had only a minute to spare. We had two guides accompany us on the bus. They were excellent! They helped some people book their next tour, answered many questions. They suggested restaurants with great food at reasonable prices. They gave tourist tips that were excellent to know. I wish we had this particular guide on our first tour and not on our last day in Italy!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The bus tour was good although I could have used less time at the Cassino stop, especially on the return trip. The two guides with our bus group were knowledgeable and the Pompeii guide was excellent. The audio device allowed us to hear our guide although Pompeii was extremely crowded. Our guide was effective in trying to maneuver us through the crowds to get to sites before other groups. There was a bit of an incident where our guide went toe-to-toe with an Italian toursit which was entertaining more than anything else. It gave our visit the human touch.

We were given time to take our photographs and then it was time to get in the bus for lunch. Great pizza! That was a good choice for our lunch stop.

I could have used ten minutes longer at Vesuvius. As an older hiker, it takes me a bit longer than the twenty-somethings who can run up that hillside.

The patter used by the two bus guides was interesting and I learned more, not only about Vesuvius and Pompeii, but about the region, the impact of World War II and the Battle of Monte Cassino and the Appian Way.

Overall well done. Kudos to all, especially the bus driver who had to contend with much traffic.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excellent way to get to Pompeii

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pompeii, we had already experienced it, but climbing Mt. Vesuvius was breathtaking, definitely would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the climb to the crater well worth it. Loved Pompeii and our guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable. My only disappointment ......I would have liked a few minutes to shop for trinkets at Pompeii... We were asked not to due to time restrictions....yet we stopped for nearly an hour and a half for lunch! We were kept amused on the bus by our guides which made the trip and the kilometres fly! We had a ball. I would recommend this trip without hesitation.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great time. Due to weather issues, we were unable to visit Mt. Vesuvius. Instead, the tour took us to a museum in Naples that holds many of the artifacts that have been dug out of Pompeii - mundane items such as an iron skillet and cups, to more elaborate ones such as huge marble statues and an exquisite alabaster urn. I think we were lucky the weather sent us there. Pompeii itself was fantastic and the guide knowledgeable. I only wish we could have had more time to explore - but that would have taken a week!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was our second trip to Pompeii. Our first trip was a guided tour. This tour allowed us to explore and experience the sites on our own leisure. It was AMAZING! We saw so many different sites we didn't see on our first visit 3 years ago. I would highly recommend it if one would like to explore on one's own time frame. We'd also rented the audio guide.

Special thanks to Geo! She was very informative, humorous and punctual! Great tour guide!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is Great!! the pizza in Napoli is very good. The climb to the rim of MT Vesuvius is wonderful and seeing the ruins of Pompeii is spectacular. It is a long day but worth every minute.
Take this tour if you can.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing places to visit with so much information. Large group although the guide was hilarious so made it all worth while. Pompeii is a must see! Mt Vesuvius is wonderful to see. Had fun hiking up the hill.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Marc M
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour of ancient ruins by informative and charming Lucia. She gave great insight to the life of the people of Pompeii and Ercolano. We would go again with her to explore more of these fascinating acheological treasures!
Marc and Happy Mireault

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was one of the highlights of our visit to the Rome area! OMG Robert could not have been better with his well rounded knowledge of all that is Pompeii and so rounding area. His female college ( sorry her name escapes me (maybe Melanie) was charming!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic Tour. Violet and Massimo were a great team. Lots of fun. We will always remember out time at Pompeii

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message