Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2944 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We were very pleased with our trip. It was greatly appreciated that a van picked us up at our hotel and the bus dropped us off close to our hotel at night. The guide of the ruins in Pompeii as well as the food in the restaurant was excellent. I do think someone should be standing at the door outside of the bus to make sure that everyone gets off okay.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It would be hard to improve on this trip. Yes the day is long, but it was well planned and organized and the sites not to be missed. Accompanying Viator guides and local Pompeii guide were outstanding. One warning: The climb up Vesuvius can easily take longer than advertised.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was very entertaining and really brought Pompeii to life with his descriptions of the daily lives of the people at the time. Great trip to the crater of Vesuvius.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was such a great day tour. The only disappointment was that the weather was a little cloudy, but climbing Vesuvius was still amazing. The tour of Pompeii showed all the highlights and the guide was really knowledgable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great and interesting tour of Pompeii, the best pizza I've ever eaten, and I can say I climbed an active volcano! Definitely worth the cost, which isn't expensive.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Awesome. Our tour guides were extremely knowledgeable - not just about Pompeii but the entire area we travelled through to get there. They were humorous and very professional. They made the very lengthy excursion pass very quickly and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We were promptly picked up from a hotel nearby to us in a comfortable coach and driven to Pompeii where we were introduced to Andrea - what a fantastic tour of Pompeii. He made the tour interesting. It was informative, and more importantly allowed us a good opportunity to learn about the history there.
A smooth transition from the tour to lunch where we were given a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. A whole pizza - and so quick!
From there we jumped back on the bus and were taken to Mt. Vesuvius. As we winded our way up the narrow road there my fiancé and I both agreed how easy this tour was in terms of getting us to these two highly popular tourist destinations on time and easily!
Andrea left us at the bottom to walk up and down on our timetable as long as we were back on the bus by a certain time. Which was a reasonable timeframe considering the age of some passengers.
Unfortunately a couple returned late to the bus, but Andrea was very patient the whole time.
Returning to Naples, we had originally opted for the station drop off but Andrea got us back to our b and b which was fantastic!!
Would highly recommend. Spend the money for the ease of getting to both these places. Considering it's all paid for prior to the day it was just so easy!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic day. We were picked up at our hotel exactly on time. Our enthusiastic guide Antonio provided us with many details about Pompeii, and answered all questions knowledgeably. Lunch was a tasty choice of pizza or cannelloni. We continued by bus to Mt.Vesuvius. The 40 minute somewhat steep climb was worth the view, and it was quite exciting to be at the top of a slightly steaming volcano. A good time was had by all!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great tour. Very informative tour guide and very clear instructions to follow in Pompeii. Not much legroom in the coach but it wasn't full so we were able to spread out a bit.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Outstanding! Our docent and our guide were both extremely knowledgeable and engaging. Pompeii was amazing. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We had a great guide Maximo that made the long day entertaining. Unfortunately the Volcano was clouded over but we still enjoyed the hike to the top and the toasted our accomplishment with lemonchello. The lunch was good and much needed but would have rather had more choices. Pompeii was amazing and it is worth the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The day trip to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. Our guide Sara was extremely knowledgable, and full of energy. I was really impressed! Also very helpful giving us tips and suggestions for the rest of our time in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Did this tour 29.10.2014....Fantastic tour but you don't actually get to Pompeii till about 2pm in the afternoon where you spend 2 hours on a walking tour with a guide (she was excellent! can't remember her name). 2 hours at Pompeii is enough time in my opinion but because they start this part of the tour so late it ends up being quite a long day. I could have done without the mucking around visiting a jewellery place after Naples and then going to a one hour set lunch before Pompeii. We got back into Rome just before 9pm so it was quite a long day when we left Rome at 7:30am that morning.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message