Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 3352 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of the Pompeii city is really an eye opening. A great tour of the historical site!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was one of the highlights of my trip. It is a long day but very worth it. The lunch was take or leave, but the tour in Pompeii was informative and well balanced with time in locations and the information that the guide provided.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous three day trip, to summarise a highlight is almost impossible but Pompeii was up there, the Island of Capri and the Blue Grotto was also high on the list, then a free day to tour the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Michelangelo hotel in Sorrento. This is a fabulous hotel but the night we stayed here the power kept failing all night and every time the power came back n again it switched TV on which of course would wake us up, No mention of this at check-out, not even a hint of an apology anyway, it did not detract from a wonderful three days with outstanding guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Tour was very good.
Pompeii was excellent and the tour guides did a great job explaining what we were looking at.
My only "note" is that the time spent at the volcano and at the rest steps could be reduced in order to allow more time in Pompeii itself.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a very interesting tour. My daughter and I had a great time. Exploring the ruins of Pompeii was a lot of fun. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was exhilarating.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall, I had a very positive experience with Viator. A friend and I contemplated trying to book everything on our own, which was so complicated! I truly don't think you can beat the price or convince! With our specific tour, Viator made it really simple providing our transportation, entrance fees, lunch, and tour guides. Our guides were very nice and provided a lot of information that otherwise I would have never learned. The view of the Bay of Naples was great and made for a good photo op, it was nice having lunch included and also having a tour guide from the area to take us through Pompeii. To book I ended up calling because I found some of the tour descriptions online confusing or misleading. Make sure you read ALL of the description as some of their tours do not include entrance fees, lunch, guided tours, etc. Also, Viator offers complementary pick up and drop off at your hotel which I thought was great. However, on the way back it was raining pretty hard and I understand they had a lot of people to take. They dropped us off saying we were around the corner from the hotel which was totally fine a little water never hurt anyone, but when I learned we were actually dropped 5 blocks from the hotel in pouring rain I was a little disappointed. Never the less, I would still recommend Viator, it made for a stress free travel day, and I plan on booking a few more tours with them when my family comes to Italy in April.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful trip, I would recommend for anyone who want to explore southern part of Italy in short period. The tour has organized well. In each part of the trip belong to different guides who take care you only part of journey, but it is an incredible cooperation.
Pompeii is amazing I could not believe that 3 hours is not enough to explore the ancient city. Since we spent almost 4 hours there, I cannot walk further.
Lucky us, we had a magical lady from Connecticut with us, therefore our mission in Capri to blue grotto became possible even though it was drizzle. Thanks Marco who was taking a good care along the trip in Capri.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

excellent day... visit to Naples was just a quick stop for photos and city tour which was not that interesting. Lunch was very good. Expected a samwich and bottle of water, but good three course meal of pasta, fish and desert!! Pompeii was amasing. A very long day but well worth the cost

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Great guides. Great bus driver which is very important on the road up to the Vesuvius crater path! The local guide at the Pompeii ruins really made the ruins come to life for us. I heartily recommend the tour. The only negative was the lunch stop. Surly service and less than mediocre food. The guides kept talking up the food all the way to the restaurant. I recommend that the guides downplay the food or find another option.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Overall, a decent tour, but some aspects could be improved. There was no actual time to see Naples and the lunch stop in Pompeii was lacking. This said, Nando, one of ths guides, was excellent. Very pleasant and knowledgeable. Everyone was professional. I would try Viator again.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message