• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2392 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent way to see Pompeii!!!! Inger was incredibly helpful as a trip assistant.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We went to pompeii for the day, it was a brilliant experience. The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly.
the dinner was ok but definately worth the trip!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Pompeii from Naples was well organized and ran very smoothly. The guide that led the Pompeii tour was knowledgeable and very animated. His descriptions of what we were seeing were very descriptive, which made for a very enjoyable and enlightening experience. The location where the pizza and soda lunch after the Pompeii tour took place was very convenient, however, the pizza was not particularly good. The walk up to Vesuvius was somewhat challenging due to the loose “gravel” on the path. Regardless, the climb to the top was a nice hike that could easily be made in the one-hour allocated by the tour guide. Regretfully, our day on Vesuvius was somewhat overcast and the pictures of the Bay of Naples will not be as spectacular as they would be during a clear day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Naples was just a bus trip around the city to see some main sites and not worth much, but Pompeii was very interesting and about a 2 hour walk. Again, having been ill and not in shape now, I had a hard time stepping up about 18" at the end of the tour since some of the sites in Pompeii you had to step up for. Lots of rough walking for someone who is not in shape.
But the fascinating information for Pompeii is worth the tour for sure.
Great tour guy, George, an older man who has been doing this for years it seems and really knows his subject.
You will find Pompeii fascinating! Worth your time, folks!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We've always wanted to see Pompeii and Viator helped us do that. Viator delivered exactly as stated in their Overview and Schedule tour package...and we enjoyed the entire Independent Day Trip! (And a special thanks to our tour guide, Inger, she was great.)

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An early start but well worth it. We had a very informative guide, Peter, on the coach and he knew when to let us rest. Lunch was a little rushed as there were so many coaches arriving at the restaurant but was very good. Pompeii was amazing. So very moving. Our guide (whose name I can't recall) was very informative too. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have found out but visiting it without a guided tour. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well worth booking the city trip as the guide was very knowledgeable and was able to show us parts of the city of Naples we otherwise would have missed.Pompeii is a must unfortunately we had very bad weather the day we went so advisable to carry an umbrella with you as there is no shelter and the place is vast but well worth the experience.

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was probably the most amazing experience that closed out our trip to Italy. Everything was completely amazing and overwhelmingly emotional, but on our last day, we took the Pompeii day trip and were blown away by the awesomeness of the whole experience. Our tour guides, Anna and Luca were informative and patient and completely professional and had a wealth of knowledge before, during and after the tour experience. The guides in Pompeii (whose name escapes me) was so well versed and educated, it felt like he took us back. He was knowledgeable and humorous. What a fantastic experience, if you don't do this tour, you are missing out for sure! Way to go City Wonders!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Pompeii was amazing! The tour guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable. Lunch was delicious. I wish we had been given a 20 minute break in Naples near the opera house rather then at the wharf. Wharf was ugly.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Picked up the coach at the Explore Rome office near the main railway station. The coach was fine; basic - no toilet on board, no wifi and seats are not roomy, but luckily there were only 15 of us on a 50 seater. Half-way through the 3+ hour journey we stopped at a packed service station for a comfort break. The guide accompanying us arranged, for those of us who wished, to have a 15-euro per person 2-hour tour of Pompeii. In spite of non-stop horizontal rain and it being muddy and puddly underfoot, the tour was well worth doing: I'm glad we opted to have the guide, who was excellent.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a wonderful one day trip. Both the guides (on the bus) were knowledgeable and pleasant. The guide at Pompeii was excellent. I'm so glad the visit to the Naples museum was included.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Didn't care for Naples but Pompeii was awesome.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our tour guide IN the Pompeii ruins was stellar. He was so well informed! Funny, and overall amazing! Enough to compensate for the less than delicious lunch, the slightly rude bus tour guide.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed this tour. The hotel pick up was appreciated since we had arrived in Naples the night before and did not know our way around. This was one of the few tours that did the Pompeii/Vesuvius combination in March. Our guide provided good information and kept the group together. Because the commentary was in both English and Spanish, there were times when it took longer to go through explanations. In future, I would opt for an English only group simply because that would have made it easier to pace the tour and may have provided greater opportunity for questions.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The trip was very nice. The bus ride is pretty long (more than 2 hours to get to Naples in one direction) but it was alright with the interim rest stop for the washroom and some drinks and food. The guides (one on the bus, and one local that joined part-way) were informative. Naples wasn't as spectacular up close but Pompeii was. The lunch was good but the drinks were not included (other than water). Overall a good trip!

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message