Philadelphia ATTRACTIONS See all

Philadelphia Old City

One of the best places in the United States to visit if you want a sense of the nation's roots, Old City is a neighborhood in Central City Philadelphia known for its antiquated charm and many historic sites. Wander down the narrow cobblestone ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2980 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fanastic day trip - climbing Mt Vesuvius was worth the effort (for a not so fit 45+ Tip - set your own pace, don't rush and DONT try and keep pace with your offspring!! LOVE... Love...Loved....Pompeii! Sarah our City Wonders guide was fantastic as was our Pompeii guide was also great. We have since recommended this tour to other travellers.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were collected at Naples train station exactly on time and taken to Pompeii by mini bus. Our guide, Andreas, was excellent and the group size was just right. We had children with us aged 8 and 10 (the only children in the group) and it was pitched well for both them and adults. After a quick pizza lunch we went to Vesuvius and then back to Naples train station - all exactly on time. Really excellent day out!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were so lucky to have beautiful weather for our trip. Our guide Maximus was great!!! He was so nice, friendly, funny, and gave us lots of history. We were so happy we booked this trip and would recommend it to anyone thinking of seeing Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I have always been fascinated with Pompeii so to be able to go and see it was a once in a lifetime opportunity. Our guides were extremely knowledgeable and lots of fun. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have done if we had have visited Pompeii on our own. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend. Would have perhaps liked a bit more time at Pompeii but I don't think it would ever be enough time as there is so much to see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely fantastic trip! We travelled with our two boys (aged 8 and 11 years) and were a little worried about how they would find it. They both LOVED it, especially climbing Vesuvius. Pompeii was fascinating and the pizza delicious! Like all the other reviews would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous tour and another tick off the bucket list. Roberto was the best tour guide I came across, he was so professional and engaging. If he was my history teacher at school I may have paid more attention, he explained everything in a way that had you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more, and considering its such a long tour, it never felt like information overload. mt Vesiusius is a decent climb but achievable with a basic fitness level and the view is definitely worth the effort. the pizza for lunch was really good but the service in the restaurant was very slow, would have preferred another 1/2hr at Pompeii. We split into two groups and our guide at Pompeii was also interesting and loved his sense of humour. On the day of our tour we had issues with the bus and hats off to our driver and Roberto who handled it so professionally ensuring it didn't impact on our tour in any way and arranging a replacement bus and we still got back to Rome on time. well done guys you two were incredible with the way you handled that issue!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I went during the first week of November. There were not a ton of other tourist buses but I was still able to climb Mount Vesuvius. The tour guides on the bus and in Pompeii were charming and informative. A lot of the treasure had been moved out of the ruins in Pompeii and into museums but guests are still able to see an ancient Roman brothel!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were very impressed with Viatour in general, and this tour in particular. This was the first time we used this service , we were picked up promptly at the designated hotel in a clean air conditioned bus with approximately 30 other travelers. The guides were very professional and organized, moving us quickly through the entrance ticketing and into the grounds of Pompeii. Our guide Andrea, was outstanding, with his personality and historical knowledge. As senior travelers, his pace was perfect, the length of the tour was just enough for us to see everything. We were returned to Naples on time, overall, this tour exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Besides the fact that Pompeii and the Amalfi coast was all and more than I expected the tour itself was wonderful. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly and spoke English very well. The restaurant we were taken to couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They shared history facts along the way to Pompeii and in regards to the museum and how it came to be. They also presented information on the re-discovery, excavation, and of the extent of the volcano eruption - current land we were traveling where once was the bay, etc. Original tour had mentioned that we may be taken up Mt. Vesuvius to hike to the top. That was not mentioned during tour. I did not ask about it. And in all fairness the top of Mt. Vesuvius was cloud covered and there were rain sprinkles occasionally - so that may have been the reason. Loved the whole experience including the history class explaining the existing portions of the Appian Way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT DAY TRIP AND SIGHTSEEING FROM ROME TO NAPLES AND POMPEII. VERY KNOWLEDGABLE TOUR GUIDES. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE STOP AT THE CORAL SHOP.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great trip which manages to do much in one day. Our guides were top rated and the quality of the transportation services was also very good. I wish we had more time in Naples but the highlight of the da was the tour in Pompeii. It was very memorable

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide for the day (Sarah) was excellent. She made the the bus ride to Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii go much quicker, giving us a lot of interesting information and facts along the way. The man who took us on the actual tour of Pompeii itself was also very knowledgeable and made it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was done through City Wonders and our guide Syrianna was fantastic. She was a local of Rome and knew her stuff! Very knowledgeble and friendly and was very helpful all day. We went to Mt Vesuvius first...tough climb but well worth it!! View was gorgeous. Lunch was pizza/salad and that was yummy! Then we went to pompeii and the guide there was funny and knowledgble as well. This was very fun and we learned a lot about Rome, Pompeii, and Mt Vesuvius. Recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message