• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theater and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after Mt Vesuvius ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2622 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

POMPEII WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR TRIP TO ITALY, OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, (SORRY I FORGOT HIS NAME). HE MADE IT INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE, HE SPOKE GREAT ENGLISH AND POPEII ITSELF IS A WONDERFUL TIME CAPSULE. IT WAS SOMINTERESTING AS HOW MANY MODERN DAY EXPRESSIONS AND ITEMS WERE INFLUENCED BY A CIVILISATION SO LONG AGO.

VESUVIUS WAS ALSO GOOD BUT OUR GUIDE FOR THIS PART OF THE TRIP WAS USLESS, TOLD US VERY LITTLE ABAOUT THE VOLCANO. THE CRATER WASN'T AS IMPRESSSIVE AS I HAD IMAGINED BUT STILL WORTH THE HIKE.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thought the 2 girls who showed us around Pompeii were very knowledgeable and there English was excellent

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The pick up was perfect and a pleasant coach drive to Pompeii. The guided tour was first class. You have your own little radii receiver and earpiece. The guide was knowledgable, had good English and a great sense of humour! I honestly enjoyed every minute of it. The lunch was also great quality. Service was quick and the staff attentive. Was a big Pizza too!!
The afternoon at Vesuvius was amazing. Top marks to the coach driver for getting us up there. Amazing driving skills. We were then left to walk up the final few hundred feet to the top. The walk is steep and dusty and a total adventure. The views as you climb up are awesome and once you reach the top it is breathtaking. If you are reasonably fit, this trip is a total must.
A great day which has left us with fantastic memories and talking points forever.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I just have to say the local tour company that provides the tour was superb!! We were coming by train into Naples to catch the tour bus but we took the wrong train and missed the bus. The gentleman at the office helped coordinate a minivan to pick my family up and get us to Pompeii to catch up with the tour. He was patience and very helpful and I can't commend him enough for everything he did to get us on track with the tour. The tour was amazing and Andres (hopefully I got his name right), the tour guide, was informative and very funny. He made the tour enjoyable even though we were melting under the sun's heat. The climb up Vesuvius was great and had a wonderful view. I would highly recommend this tour, it's not one to miss.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pompeii always is impressive, no matter how often you visit it. Franco, our guide, shared his extensive knowledge that even our young grandchildren understood and enjoyed. It is a bit of a long drive from Rome; the tour representatives provided some commentary along the way. A very worthwhile experience.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was very interesting. The tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable.
The private tour after Pompeii for Amalfi and Positano was great. Our driver was excellent.
I think it's the best way to discover the area without losing time stopping at ceramic factories and shops.
Sylvia M from VA, USA

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We almost didn't do this one, but my oldest daughter really wanted to see Pompeii. We were so glad we did! This was simply awesome. Roberto and Massimo were awesome tour guides and supplied so much historical information that it really made our trip fun and educational. If you haven't seen Pompeii - it is quite amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour driver picked us from our hotel on time, the guide at Pompeii was fantastic, very funny, a lot of nowledge about the place. 2 hours net, very interesting. the way back was very well organized .THANKS.
MENACHEM TALMOR , ISRAEL.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We were very happy with our tour. It was exactly what we had hoped for. Our bus hostess, Gio, was charming, helpful and informative. We got to spend hours at the Pompeii site exploring what appealed to us.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

misschris
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour! On time, so I wasn't waiting at Naples for too long and I didn't miss my train on the way back. The tour guide was fantastic, he was funny and informative. I think this tour went for just long enough. It was very interested and well organised. Pompeii was amazing, it's definitely a tour worth doing!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius were amazing. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip very well organised. Guides Cyriana and Violet were extremely knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful. Although a long day the coach was comfortable and Pompeii and Vesuvious worth the trek.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our Pompeii and Vesuvius tour was AWESOME! Mossimo an Luisa are the best tour guides. They are incredibly knowledgable of Italy's history and are funny to boot! We would definitely recommend and cannot wait for our next trip to Rome, so we can book them for a different tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guides (Peter and Stephanie) were fantastic. They were so knowledgeable and enhanced the trip with lots of facts about the region on the bus ride. Willy the guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable and quite entertaining as well. We thoroughly enjoyed the hole day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

FYI: If you plan the walk up to the top of Mount Vesuvius make sure you wear closed shoes. Flip flops will be a problem walking on the loose gravel and dirt. Very hot at Pompeii. Bus driver will have water for 1 Euro. Bring a hat. 3 hour bus ride from Rome. Rest stop half way. Pizza lunch with drink included.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message