• USD ($)
  • English
Visitors to Florence will no doubt walk along and cross over the river that runs through the city center; and while it’s possible to see the city these days without paying much attention to the river, that wasn’t always the case. The Arno River was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide "Angelo" was great. Very knowledgeable, kind, and funny too. I think this trip would be best early in the trip to give you a historical overview of the city of Florence if you have never been.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour walking through the mysterious alleys and streets of Florence. What made it even more interesting was our guide Mr. Angello with his amazing knowledge of the subject and his great sense of humour. Wish we had more time in Florence, would have loved to do another tour with Angello.
We loved the city and look forward to visiting again.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Loved the tales and walk down streets we would not have chosen otherwise. Our guide Helma was a great storyteller.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Michele (how he told us it was spelled, though he pronounced it Me-kel) was excellent. One of the "ideas" of the tour is to emulate the famous "Jack the Ripper" evening walking tours in London, and Michele did his best to do that. Of course, the Medicis killed lots more people than Jack ever did, but they did it in pre-sensationalist-newspaper days and so there were no gory stories and hype written anywhere that could be preserved (though I'm sure the rumor-mill of the day did much the same). Fortunately, after mentioning the deaths (and their usual politically complicated contexts), Michele moved right on to explain the city and its sights, and the little peculiarities -- 15-story towers in pre-elevator days, little "wine windows" -- that make it so interesting. And the 2.5-hour tour ended with a stop for excellent gelato (included in the price!) where we got to sit and speak with Michele for a while and learn what it is like to live in Florence (a difficult place economically).

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was fantastic! And the tour guide made it even more so... A must do.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent and most enjoyable. I believe our guide was Gary(?) and again he was most informed and enjoyable to spent the evening with.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The guide was great and we went to areas not covered in the tourist guide which were residential areas South of the Academia Bridge. I have to say that the nightime gondola ride was one of the most romantic settings I've experienced. Great Tours, and thank you very much!!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Dark Heart was the company who ran this 2 1/2 hour walk. The guide was very knowledgeable and engaging. Talked about the buildings and pre- and post-Rennaissance history of Florence. I'd definitely recommend the tour and the company.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

What fun! A lovely quiet and different way of seeing Florence.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very interesting trip with a knowledgeable tour guide. Would have been nice to have the prosecco as soon as we got on the boat after that walk in the later afternoon heat.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Absolutely fabulous tour, a hidden gem of Florence! Our guide, Mario, spoke somewhat limited English, but was nevertheless an enthusiastic, friendly and engaging tour guide. Anyway, by this point of the holiday, we just wanted to relax so were glad of the peace and quiet offered by the tour! A really unique way to see Florence, and so romantic. I would definitely recommend it! I will definitely be using Viator again for future tours!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a perfect way to start our visit in Florence. Our guide was wonderful and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What can be better than a quiet boat ride on the Arno embraced in the tranquility of the Florence shoreline in the evening with a glass of Prosecco... with you wife of course?

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very interesting and excellent guide

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting! It was very relaxing and entertaining!!!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message