Visitors to Florence will no doubt walk along and cross over the river that runs through the city center; and while it’s possible to see the city these days without paying much attention to the river, that wasn’t always the case. The Arno River was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alexandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic! We did this on our first night there and it was a great way to explore an unfamiliar city. If you are a lover of medieval politics like I am, then this tour is definitely for you, but the material is not so arcane that it would leave the other members of your party disinterested. Plus, the gelato at the end is definitely some of the best I have ever had in Italy. Angelo was a spectacular guide to Firenze! :

For the other planners and itinerary leaders out there: the timing of this tour also has a logistical advantage. It starts at 7:45 PM, which gives you plenty of time after the other attractions close to grab dinner. In our case, we got into Florence later in the day, so having something interesting and engaging to do before the day was over definitely helped us to feel as though we had still accomplished something, despite the long day of travel.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Colin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a great introduction to Florence, well informed genuine guide.
Not too much walking and a gelato to finish!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Craig S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome tour with an awesome guide!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Joan D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Did this tour on our first night and it was a great way to see the city in a less hectic and more personal way. We had a terrific tour guide and the walk was easy and went by so quickly. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really enjoyed this walk. Perfect length, not too long, but saw and learned a lot. Our guide Angelo told us lots of interesting history and I saw parts of the city I wouldn't have found on my own.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Ioanna Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Amazing! A must see, so different from the other tours of Florence. You learn the little bits of history that made this city what it is. Highly recommended!!
PS: The gelato was amazing too!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Ronald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fredricka our guide was so enthusiatic and informative. Had a good sense of humor. Really enjoyed the stories and the back street atmosphere for them. Gelato good too. Highly recommemded guide.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Cheryl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Vanessa was an excellent guide and gave us a new perspective on Firenze history!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Mrs. S C Reekie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Angelo was without doubt the finest guide we have ever had. His knowledge and humour made it 2 hours of true entertainment. Could not fault Angelo or the tour in any way.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Sandra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Nice way to start our visit. Our guide was full of interesting information about Florence. She was able to answer our questions and worked hard to please us.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

T D l

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent and our Tour Guide was so passionate!

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

bajacaruso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Would highly recommend this tour. Our guide, Barbara, was informative and entertaining. There were so many people we needed to tie 2 boats together, but that did not detract from the enjoyment. Sunset and a glass of Prosecco was a lovely end to a day on Florence.

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Douglas E. M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My flight was diverted from Florence to Bologna and I didn't make it to the tour. I wish I had. I'm sure I would have enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

JANICE C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful guide who gave us great insights and comments throughout the walking tour. The tour was on our first night in Florence and it helped give us an overview of Florence.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Stephanie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really fun and interesting insights, stories, and (likely) urban legends in Florentine history from pre-Rennaissance to WWII. Wonderful night setting - away from the crowds - and through quaint streets and alleys. Finished off with the best gelato we've had yet! A favorite!

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Kathleen V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a wonderful tour. I so enjoyed learning the stories that truly tell about the character of the Florentines. And not only in the medieval ages, but through the present day. I respect that the Florentines are very proud people, and rightfully so. Engaging and wonderful.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Pirkko V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very good experience

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Bob C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was very good. He had worked at Pompeii and was very knowledgeable from a history perspective which was important to my husband the history buff. Ending the evening with gelato was the perfect ending to a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

herbanitea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a delightful tour. Engaging, fun, and a great way to spend the evening strolling through Florence. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Medieval Florence Evening Walking Tour

Elena B. Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is one of the most memorable cruises, I've heard so many interesting things about Florence in one hour, as I did not hear the previous full day excursions
Thank you so much

Doing what: Florence River Cruise on a Traditional Barchetto

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see the city! Our guide was simply wonderful. Although this tour does not require a great deal of athletic ability I don't recommend it for children, particularly during the height of tourist season. It does require an amount of self-awareness and the ability to steer albeit slowly around narrow streets and through squares filled with oblivious tourists. My teenager loved this tour says it was the highlight of her trip and so did I.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Ernesto V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Awesome stories, very nice and easy ride through the city. Must do it Florence.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Skip-the-Line Accademia Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message