Italy is filled with the art and history of Western Civilization; from ancient ruins of its rich Roman heritage, to the art of the early Christian church at the Vatican and finally, the architecture of Italy's famous cities.

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1903 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We toured the Vatican with Paula, an Art Historian. She was very knowledgeable, patient, warm and I kind. My 21 year old son just graduated from college with an art history degree. He and Paula enjoyed talking at great length about all the art and architecture within the museums and St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable guide, great history that you wouldn't know about from school. We originally had no idea about this palace and what it meant along with the history that came with it. We showed up a little late and the guide was able to still get us in and up to speed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The booking process was easy. Everything happened as planned and the tour guide was really good. We could never have learned as much about Pompeii without her. We were really glad to have booked the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very knowledgeable guide, makes the tour special

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Blanch is fabulous--we highly recommend this private tour with the local company/Viator. We were in Rome with my 70 year old mom who has had knee surgeries and my 6 year old kid who refuses to walk over two miles daily. I was really worried about the Vatican tour. Our Louvre experience was poor when were in Paris. My mom had a wheel chair there but my husband kept lifting it over 100s of steps so she decided that she would do the Vatican without the wheelchair. I was nervous but fortunately it was a private tour and Blanch seemed very accommodating. She initially changed the time of the tour from morning to evening but it turned out to be more pleasant as there was not AC in the museum. Fortunately, to our surprise the elevators were functionally and my mom did not have to climb more than one little staircase. She walked slowly but Blanch was very patient and my 6 year old kid quickly bonded with her, holding her finger through the tour. The tour itself was fantastic and the Sistine Chapel was practically empty. We all stayed there for over 40 minutes and we found a place to sit down on the side benches--enjoying the beautiful ceiling and walls. Later Blanch waited for us and found a taxi that would take us back to our hotel--at that time of the day --taxi was not easy to find.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Easy to book, confirmed at resort, very well organised tour, would recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Can't sat enough about our tour guide. She made our experience the best.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was amazing tour. The guide was so sweet and helpful. It was totally private with no other people in the tour just my husband and I. The guide was not only very educated about the art and history of the Vatican but she truly was passionate about helping us understand it to. She took time to understand what we knew and what we didn't know about art and history then added to our prior knowledge. I can't say enough nice things about her or the tour. This trip was easily worth twice as much as we paid.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent and very well organized. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We could not have had a better tour of Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Informative, humorous, good logistics and enough time on our own. But it is expensive.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome tour! Our guide, Gabriella, had a deep knowledge of art history and a great personality to go with it. He made our tour of the Vatican Museums and St Peter's Basilica one of the highlights of our vacation. I highly recommend this tour. It's a great value.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a small group tour and the guide was very informed and patient with children's questions. The ear phones used is a great system as the guide can speak to you through the ear phones without bothering others.
The directions to the meeting point could be better. A highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Although the museum was terribly crowded, out guide Marcello made the tour enjoyable. His wit and story telling ability brought the art and history to life!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was absolutely excellent. We had a personal guide who proved to be very knowledgeable and kind. We would highly recommend this skip the line private tour for anyone. Other larger groups took forever to get through and I am sure did not receive the detailed information our guide provided.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide was knowledgeable, entertaining and connected very well with the group. This was by far one of our best tours during a three week vacation in Eurooe. My family of 5 all enjoyed the tour and we all walked away with a greater understanding of life during the Venetian times.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was very well informed. She framed the palace within the historical perspective that it deserved. It is interesting to learn how the Doge was prevented from getting too much power. In one case, the Doge was killed by his own government for not remaining the leader of his equals.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Simply brillant. The guide was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

VERY INTERESTING TOUR THE GUIDE WAS KNOWLEDGEABLE THERE ARE A FAIR AMOUNT OF STEPS IF YOUR GOINT TO VENICE ITS A MUST SEE

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was wonderful! Having a guide who was an art expert made it so much more interesting than a previous group tour I had taken in the past.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a very nice tour. Our guide, Julio, was very knowledgable and quite frank regarding matters involving the interplay of history, politics and Catholicism. It was very nice to have a person to person conversation, and to be able to ask questions without interrupting an entire group.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Picked us up promptly at our hotel. Let us add on the afternoon trip to Mt. Vesuvius. Everyone very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is not having enough time at Pompeii and at Vesuvius. Wish there was an extra 15'30 minutes for people to wander on their own. Otherwise, worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very informative. Skip the line is awesome during busy summer crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

You have to see David, to believe how amazing it is.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Very informative history of the Doges

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message