Italy is filled with the art and history of Western Civilization; from ancient ruins of its rich Roman heritage, to the art of the early Christian church at the Vatican and finally, the architecture of Italy's famous cities.

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1751 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We've been very happy with the explanations given by our guide, Stefania.
We enjoyed the tour and it was not very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our private tour of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's was well worth every penny that our family group of six spent! We were lucky to have Maria Ludovica as our guide! She was so knowledgeable as she has a doctorate from the Vatican! A wonderful tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable tour,well worth it's cost. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgable. She spoke excellent English. We felt it was an occasion to be remembered. Since returning home have recommended this tour to several people and will continue to do so.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. The tour was made very special for us by our tour guide Benedetta Bosco, who was a delight with her friendly personality and wealth of knowledge. Will definitely use Viator for all our trips, thank you!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Gianluigi Gigi was our guide. Bubbly, charming and really, really knowledgable. Excellent English. My wife asked him about a random piece of art at the beginning of our tour. His answer was so wonderful and deep that we knew we were in for an amazing tour. It only got better. He understood the art not just as a historian but also as someone who found total joy being surrounded by inconceivable amounts of genius. He beamed every time he pointed out a subtly that would go by unnoticed if it were not pointed out to the casual observer.
I saw the Sistine Chapel years ago before the restoration. To see it in its current state is breath taking. Before it was dark but now the colors and the art can't be described.
Let's face it, the popes knew who to hire to do their art work.
We went on Good Friday and the museum was quite crowded and the Basilica was closed for Easter preparations.
If you can afford a private tour, skipping the line with Gigi is absolutely the only way to see the Vatican Museums.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. I learned so much from our guide. I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was GREAT, so knowledgeable and engaging.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

We were a bit shocked to see even with our "skip the line" tickets, we had to wait in a line that wrapped all the way up the hill! But once the gaits opened we were inside within 30 minutes. Our guide was amazing and so knowledgeable. GREAT tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A really interesting tour. We enjoyed it greatly.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Breath taking tour of this museum. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Disappointing. Our tour guide seemed like she didn't know what she was talking about. Upon entering each room, she took a moment to look around and think about what she could say. Like she's never done this before and she was just winging it. For that amount of money, I expected something more.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was an amazing tour with a small group. The tour gude was engaging and knowledgable and took us to key areas that would have been difficult for us to find in the short time we had available! I wouldn't have changed anything about this experience!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful tour guide Luciana just made the trip! Well worth the money for the private tour. Would highly recommend as we didn't have to stand in any lines and went right to the front. Luciana was knowledgeable, organized, professional and very friendly!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was amazing. Our tour was in December 14. We were picked up right on time by the driver and guide and as it was off season; myself, my husband and two children were the only ones on the tour. We were at Pompeii 2+ hours and saw a huge amount. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message