Italy is filled with the art and history of Western Civilization; from ancient ruins of its rich Roman heritage, to the art of the early Christian church at the Vatican and finally, the architecture of Italy's famous cities.

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1881 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We toured the Vatican with Paula, an Art Historian. She was very knowledgeable, patient, warm and I kind. My 21 year old son just graduated from college with an art history degree. He and Paula enjoyed talking at great length about all the art and architecture within the museums and St. Peter's.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Knowledgeable guide, great history that you wouldn't know about from school. We originally had no idea about this palace and what it meant along with the history that came with it. We showed up a little late and the guide was able to still get us in and up to speed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The booking process was easy. Everything happened as planned and the tour guide was really good. We could never have learned as much about Pompeii without her. We were really glad to have booked the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

very knowledgeable guide, makes the tour special

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Blanch is fabulous--we highly recommend this private tour with the local company/Viator. We were in Rome with my 70 year old mom who has had knee surgeries and my 6 year old kid who refuses to walk over two miles daily. I was really worried about the Vatican tour. Our Louvre experience was poor when were in Paris. My mom had a wheel chair there but my husband kept lifting it over 100s of steps so she decided that she would do the Vatican without the wheelchair. I was nervous but fortunately it was a private tour and Blanch seemed very accommodating. She initially changed the time of the tour from morning to evening but it turned out to be more pleasant as there was not AC in the museum. Fortunately, to our surprise the elevators were functionally and my mom did not have to climb more than one little staircase. She walked slowly but Blanch was very patient and my 6 year old kid quickly bonded with her, holding her finger through the tour. The tour itself was fantastic and the Sistine Chapel was practically empty. We all stayed there for over 40 minutes and we found a place to sit down on the side benches--enjoying the beautiful ceiling and walls. Later Blanch waited for us and found a taxi that would take us back to our hotel--at that time of the day --taxi was not easy to find.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was amazing tour. The guide was so sweet and helpful. It was totally private with no other people in the tour just my husband and I. The guide was not only very educated about the art and history of the Vatican but she truly was passionate about helping us understand it to. She took time to understand what we knew and what we didn't know about art and history then added to our prior knowledge. I can't say enough nice things about her or the tour. This trip was easily worth twice as much as we paid.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was a very nice tour. Our guide, Julio, was very knowledgable and quite frank regarding matters involving the interplay of history, politics and Catholicism. It was very nice to have a person to person conversation, and to be able to ask questions without interrupting an entire group.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Picked us up promptly at our hotel. Let us add on the afternoon trip to Mt. Vesuvius. Everyone very friendly and helpful. The only drawback is not having enough time at Pompeii and at Vesuvius. Wish there was an extra 15'30 minutes for people to wander on their own. Otherwise, worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

You have to see David, to believe how amazing it is.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very much a last minute decision we trained from Rome and were met by our guide and driver at the station. I thought we would be joining a large group but it turned out to be just my wife and I - so it was really a private tour! We had a delightful morning. The guide was an absolute font on Roman history, not only of Pompeii but of a wider perspective and shered so much and spoke excellent English.
Great day out!.
.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant we learned a lot on this fascinating tour. The guide - Alessandra - was superb.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We met our guide, Stefania, at the steps outside of the vatican museum entrance. She spoke very fluent English and was very bright and knowledgable. This is SO much better if you only have less than 5 people in your group. She gets you past the line which can take 2 hours to get through and you have a more private conversation about each section, versus the large group where you can only listen through the headset. The Vatican Museum tour ends in the Sistine Chapel. You cannot take pictures inside and you can't talk so Stefania gave us a quick lesson on the art and history of the chapel. Inside it was breathtaking. Afterwards we go to St. Peter's Basilica, which was beautiful and much bigger than I expected. NOTE: Women: make sure your shoulders and knees are covered. The Chapel and church are a holy place and require it, and you can be refused entry. We wish we had known about Stefania earlier so we could request her for more tours! Very worth the extra money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was brilliant. It is the first time we've taken an organised tour and we'd definitely do this again. We were collected promptly from our hotel and delivered safely to our guide Andrea. He was great fun and very knowledgeable making the history interesting and entertaining. Would recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Heel mooi paleis en veel interessante informatie van gids gehad over hoe het regeringsbestel van de staat Venetië er uit heeft gezien

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip to Pompeii - took the highspeed train to Naples from Rome and was picked up beside the station by Viator - short bus trip to Pompeii which is amazing. Our tour guide was terrific. Really great day trip - back in Rome time for some well-earned nibbles.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had Stephania as our personal guide and her knowledge was extremely beneficial to us . She took time out to explain all the paintings in the Sistine chapel before we entered making it easier for us to understand . Stephania speaks excellent English and made the day an extremely pleasant experienc

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was incredibly knowledgable, friendly, and took care of my difficulty walking after 2.5 hours. We learned so much about the sculptures and paintings. And we truly did avoid the lines. I would highly recommend Viator for your Vatican tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Lots to see. Tour guide was very very good

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. She went at a good pace and provided wonderful information that was particularly helpful when we were in the Sistine chapel. We would highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

4 of us and a private guide. So knowledgeable. More than the stock tour. Focussed on what interested us while giving a great overview of all. The history learned while on the tour could not have possibly been appreciated on a self guided tour. Highly recommend spending the money for a private guide. Our trip was April 2015.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was excellent. His knowledge of the history of Venice made the tour very enjoyable. Unfortunately, I don't know his name. I have taken many tours, and he was one of the best guides I have had. He also spoke very good English.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message