Italy is filled with the art and history of Western Civilization; from ancient ruins of its rich Roman heritage, to the art of the early Christian church at the Vatican and finally, the architecture of Italy's famous cities.

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1777 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide Stephanie was outstanding and very informative! We were met on time and the sights of the palace were unbelievable! The painting, frescoes and size of the rooms were mind-boggling----what wealth the Doges possessed-unfortunately mostly old men when they received the position-but had time for courtiers and partying---don't miss this tour-especially skipping the line-now with the summer season coming-loads of people now, thousands later!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, initial meeting point was a little busy and hard to identify guide as they were not holding up sign as we were told so we could have totally missed the tour
Pompeii tour itself was fantastic Andreas our tour guide was great and also funny would throughly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, we were picked un from hotel just on time and had a personalized tour of Naples, then joined our group por Pompeii, another great tour and aoutstanding guide.

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were really happy that we booked this tour of Naples and Pompeii. I don't think that we would have been able to make our way around Naples by ourselves like we did in Rome. You definitely want someone to guide you around this city. Our favorite part of the tour was, of course, Pompeii. Our tour guide really knew her way around these ruins, and she was well-versed on the history of the city. I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour guide and driver pick up from hotel. Ruins and history were wonderful!!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had Andre as our guide for both portions of the tour. We enjoyed both potions of our tour. Not only was Andre informative - he has a tremendous sense of humour. While there were headsets for the Pompeii portion of the trip - at times it was difficult to make out what Andre was saying. Driver nice

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I was surprised to know when I got to the location we were suppose to go, the agent already had my name and guide ready. The whole experience was stress free. The guide was excellent. Viator is a First Class operation.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was excellent. Her English was good and she was very well informed. I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide with loads of information and stories to keep both adults and kids interested. Pompeii was so much more than what we expected - would do it all again!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was very nice! The Guide was very informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was great and super knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

Sharon B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A must do tour, although we were rushed around as the coach was stuck in traffic so late arriving.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

it was very worthwhile. Our tour leader was well versed in the history of the place and was willing to take questions. Most enjoyable

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We couldn't hear the guide very well with our headsets. Also, we had to wait quite long to enter the gallery when it was supposed to be a skip the line entry. The Gallery was very crowded on the day of our visit which didn't help the situation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The guide was informative, but the group was large and the sign in process was confusing. But I would do it again. It was great to skip the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Pick up took one whole hour! We got back late so no time to do other things. Guide spoke English with a heavy accent. Difficult to understand for those in the group with hearing problems.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Although this was a skip the line tour, we stood in line for 25 minutes to gain access to the Accademia. Once inside, we were pleased with the tour and felt it very worthwhile to have a guide give a history of Michaelangelo's work. Worth the admission to see David.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Accademia Gallery Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We've been very happy with the explanations given by our guide, Stefania.
We enjoyed the tour and it was not very busy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our private tour of the Vatican Museums and St. Peter's was well worth every penny that our family group of six spent! We were lucky to have Maria Ludovica as our guide! She was so knowledgeable as she has a doctorate from the Vatican! A wonderful tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums and St Peter's Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable tour,well worth it's cost. Our tour guide was very pleasant and knowledgable. She spoke excellent English. We felt it was an occasion to be remembered. Since returning home have recommended this tour to several people and will continue to do so.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour. The tour was made very special for us by our tour guide Benedetta Bosco, who was a delight with her friendly personality and wealth of knowledge. Will definitely use Viator for all our trips, thank you!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Gianluigi Gigi was our guide. Bubbly, charming and really, really knowledgable. Excellent English. My wife asked him about a random piece of art at the beginning of our tour. His answer was so wonderful and deep that we knew we were in for an amazing tour. It only got better. He understood the art not just as a historian but also as someone who found total joy being surrounded by inconceivable amounts of genius. He beamed every time he pointed out a subtly that would go by unnoticed if it were not pointed out to the casual observer.
I saw the Sistine Chapel years ago before the restoration. To see it in its current state is breath taking. Before it was dark but now the colors and the art can't be described.
Let's face it, the popes knew who to hire to do their art work.
We went on Good Friday and the museum was quite crowded and the Basilica was closed for Easter preparations.
If you can afford a private tour, skipping the line with Gigi is absolutely the only way to see the Vatican Museums.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour that gives you a good overview of the history of Venice. No waiting in line and very friendly experienced staff.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Doge's Palace Ticket and Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great guide who knows and enjoys her work, a very pleasurable experience

Doing what: Skip the Line: Florence Uffizi Gallery Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message