Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1284 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Boy did my mom and I luck out on this one. For some reason, we were the only two to sign up, so we got a private cooking class! I feel bad that I forgot his name, but the chef was just spectacular! He taught us how to make several different types of pasta and then they cooked our creations at the restaurant for us to eat! Plus, we were treated to two glasses of wine each and bread. The pasta dishes were the best we had the entire trip to Rome! I really cannot say enough about the experience!

Side note for the walking tour part - The Pantheon was a really interesting place to visit, but the Trevi Fountain is under construction....so you really can't see anything.

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great group of people to cook with, and our chef/teacher was awesome and very patient with me!! He spoke Italian, English, Spanish, and French so language is not barrier!
Not only did we cook a great lunch, everything that came out of the kitchen was beautiful. I came back for dinner during my vacation.
I would recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The experience with the chef at the market was wonderful, then off to the farm to prepare the days menu. Pasta with a meat ragu and we made tiramasu, too! Be sure to take a few extra euro to purchase the olive oil and the vinegar. We were also served the best bruschetta and salade of tomatoes and

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Of all the tours we did throughout Europe, this one was one of the funnest and best. The chefs were funny and personable. They really cared about showing you a great Italian cooking experience. They were very knowledgeable and even patient with the less kitchen-inclined people like me in the group! The market shopping experience would have been nice though. It's closed on Sundays so we couldn't go, but our travel plans were tight, so if you can I would recommend going on a different day to have the full experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized and lots of fun while learning several traditional Italian dishes. The trip through the market before we got in the kitchen was great and very informative. We are looking forward to making our new recipes now that we are back home.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing!!! but can i say first off, my wife was recently diagnosed with food alergies and though we were not aware of this at the time of booking this course, our chefs (davide and julio) were truly great and made every effort to make and teach food she could make and eat. We were truly grateful...

I have to say that since learning some of the local foods, we have already started utilising these skills learnt in our everyday cooking. Its a fun day for all, made even more enjoyable with the chefs knowledge and humour.

Would i recommend or do this again i most certainly would, its a chance to try something different and learn the ways of the locals. We are already contemplating there other courses on a return visit!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

While the walking tour was average (the unexpected early June heat wave may have had something to do with it), the cooking class portion of this tour was just fantastic! Restaurant was extremely picturesque and our instructor truly loved teaching four of us how to make pasta! Class was held in a little side window alcove of the restaurant, and we wound up being great entertainment for the other lunch guests. Seriously great food as we got to eat everything we made - tortellini, fettucine and orrechiate! Great for those who have seen all of the major sights and want to try some different!

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Chef Federico Alessandri gave us a wonderful and memorable Italian cooking experience from start to finish. I attended the class with my mom, and we're basically polar opposites when it comes to cooking-- she's fantastic; I have very limited experience, but we both fit right into the atmosphere that Federico created. It didn't matter at all that I could hardly do anything right when it came to helping with the cooking prep. However, for people who could handle doing more advanced things, like my mom, Federico assigned more complicated tasks to help with. (Our group consisted of 9 people total--myself, my mom, a family of 5, including 3 kids, and a couple). I was impressed from the beginning at how Federico accommodated the kids in the group without taking away from us adults, his enthusiasm, or his routine of how he conducted the class. Even so, if you're considering this class, I personally don't think this is a kid-friendly type activity. We started off going to the famous Campi id Fiori market and buying fresh ingredients to prepare. Then we walked to a really cool apartment with a gourmet kitchen (where Marlon Brando once lived) where we cooked. As previously mentioned, my lack of experience was a non-issue. The activities we did included cutting vegetables and making several different kinds of pasta from scratch, which was very fun. Federico then explained to and showed us how he was using the ingredients we bought and the veggies we chopped up, etc. to make various types of sauces from scratch, the true Italian way. He gave us some great inside tips. Wine was served throughout the class, as well as at the end when we got to eat all the delicious food we made-- we left stuffed! It was the best food we ate our entire two-week trip in Italy. Bravo for Chef Federico! I highly recommend the class.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had a really great time attending the evening class. It was just the right amount of time, a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Tuscan Cooking Class and Dinner in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was probably the best excursion/tour of our entire two week vacation. Chef Fabio was fantastic! And it turns out that we're much better cooks than we ever knew we were, because the food we prepared with Fabio was absolutely delicious! The trip to the market to purchase all of our ingredients was a great way to start off the session - we would (and probably will) do this again the next time we're in Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Molto Buono! Gulio and David were fantastic, fun and great chefs. This made our trip to Florence so much more meaningful - taking us away from the tourist-flocked museums and streets and giving our family hands-on lesson in how to be a real Italian....cook! I did NOT like tiramisu before this class. The way David showed us to prepare it was such a departure from the American way. And I gladly ate every last bit. The pasta prep led by Gulio was so fun and the end-product tasted amazing. The bolognese sauce, including David's secret ingredient, was one of the best I've ever tasted. Both Gulio and David took time to help my kids (8 and 11 years old) and were so kind. Truly a wonderful experience for our whole family. We can't wait to have a family pasta night at home with the recipes!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had a FABIOLOUS time with Fabio learning how to make homemade pasta. We made both semolina flour (eggless) and egg flour. The class took about 5 hours and we each got to help prepare part of the meal. We learned how to make 4 different kinds of pasta (Ravioli, Fettuccine, Cavatelli, and Casarecce) and paired each with a sauce. The food was amazing and it was so much fun to sit and eat and drink wine with all the students I had also met. Definitely recommend for anyone interested in taking some Italian techniques back home!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was so fun! The food was remarkable!

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

great fun, fantastic pasta meal after, our children aged 17, 15, 11 all thought this was excellent, Rome can be very tiring with all the walking, this made a welcome distraction. They told us the ingredients and I have cooked the pasta sauce at home a few times still just as good.

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!
One of the highlights of our entire trip. I'm so glad we signed up for this class. Chef Federico is so passionate about food you can truly see it in his teaching. So informative and fun! From shopping in the markets to cooking in the gorgeous studio, we enjoyed every minute.
Best food and experience on our trip hands down.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message