Every single one of Italy’s 20 regions produces wine, including the two islands. Some are more famous worldwide than others – and some don’t even make it out of Italy. But if you’re a wine lover planning a trip to the country you would be smart to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 489 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was by far 1 of my top favorites if not thee favorite! Great way to see Tuscany. Chianti was fabulous with great wine tasting along with cheese, bread, olive oil and jam tastings. Afterward I can pretty much say we all bought multiple items to take home (airlines usually allow 2 bottles of wine per suitcase or they give you the option to ship items home too). We stopped along the way in great little quaint towns where we had additional time to shop, take pictures and drink more wine. Lastly, we finished off at a cute cottage like tuscany restaurant where we drank more wonderful wine and plenty of food to go around. Overall we were very pleased with this tour. I will note that the roads are very windy so keep in mind if you might get bus sick. Also bring mosquito spray!

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide Antonella combined her broad bases of knowledge - as historian and licensed sommelier - and filled me with regional information as she introduced me to two different but equally interesting vineyards and wineries. The tour staff at both Cerretto and Marchesi di Barolo were welcoming and accommodating. I learned a lot about Barolo and saw a great deal of the Langhe countryside as well, things I couldn't have done so thoroughly on my own. All in all, this was a perfect way to spend a Sunday in Torino.

Doing what: Private Tour: Piedmont Wine Tasting of the Barolo Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is one of the best wine tastings we have attended. The wines were delicious and very reasonably priced. The facility was clean and decorated in vintage equipment and pictures. Will definitely be purchasing the wine in the US.

Doing what: Veneto Small-Group Wine Tasting Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Daniele could not have been a better guide not to mention provided endless information about the production of wine. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Chianti Wine-Tasting and Castles Trip from Siena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great guide, fun drive, amazing vineyards. Defiantly work it! One recommendation, if you just want to leave with one or two bottles of wine/olive oil, I would buy it from the castle vineyard. The last stop doesn’t have the same select and is better suited for larger orders only. The per unit cost of shipping wine back to the US is very expensive, unless you ship back 20+ bottles.

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative. Both the husband and wife are Sommeliers. We tasted 4 very good wines, paired with fine cheeses and great tasting local salami. It was so good we stayed for dinner after the tasting.

Doing what: Florence Cheese and Wine Tasting

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was a good choice! We had a fantastic time in the countryside. Visiting nice places, being told interesting facts about wine and testing some good Chianti! Meeting point was easy to find and we had a native English speaking guide :) Dinner was also very tasty, even for those with more sofisticated taste. Go for it!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Pamela was our guide. She was extremely knowledgeable about the region and gave us a lot of back round information on the way to the wineries. Our first stop was the Barolo winery, small family owned. The Borgogno family was very welcoming and gracious. Wines were fabulous. Then off to Cordero Di Montezemolo. Much bigger winery, great wines. Although not as personable as the first. Really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Piedmont Wine Tasting of the Barolo Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highlight of my trip! Very knowledgeable guide, outstanding and plentiful wine, delicious lunch, beautiful scenery. Will definitely do another tour on our next visit to Europe!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A thoroughly enjoyed half day tour that I would gladly do again. We visited a beautiful winery where we were welcomed by a lovely lady that showed us their property which was once a castle, created into a farmhouse. A very knowledgable guide who informed us everything about wine. Then we sat down and enjoyed 3 different wines with a selection of cured meats, cheeses and breads. It was a really good idea to put each wine with a selected piece of food in order to appreciate both things more. Everyone was so impressed, that each person bought something at the winery! We travelled to Greve and Castellina, spending 40 minutes in each Chianti village for free time, before arriving to a small town for our 3 course meal. The food did not disappoint, each meal was delicious and impressive. The two pasta dishes were amazing, and the main course included multiple side dishes too. Dessert was a yummy tiramisu. Would definetely reccommend this tour for anyone wanting to spend time in the Chianti region and learn about the delicious wines. Thank you Viator and CAF tours for organising a great tour!

Doing what: Chianti Region Wine-Tasting and Dinner Half-Day Trip from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour and a great way to get into Tuscany without having to drive yourself into the countryside. There were 3 stops on this trip–the small village of Monteriggioni, San Gimigiano, and Tenuta Torciano Winery. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and shared a lot of great info about the two small towns without it being an overkill (or otherwise boring us to death) and gave us time in each town to explore on our own. I loved being free to roam as I pleased and not having to wait for anyone :) We had about 30 minutes in Monteriggioni, just enough time to walk around the village and up on the walls to take photos of picturesque Tuscany! Trust me, you don't need more than 30 minutes, plus there are two other stops on this tour! We had about an hour in San Gimigiano, which again was plenty of time to grab the World's Best Ice Cream and sit and enjoy the view (again a FABULOUS view of the countryside!). Our last stop was at the winery where we had 8 different tastings (5 wines, 3 oils) along with food to accompany it. Our tasting was guided by one of the family members that owns the farm. I learned so much about wine, pairings, and tastings that I will forever remember and apply in real life! Our host was hilarious to top it all off, and that plus the wine meant that everyone was having a ball! I highly recommend this tour if you want to see more of this gorgeous region but don't want to rent a car.

Doing what: Chianti Wine Tasting and San Gimignano Day Trip from Siena

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was one of the best days we had in Italy. Our tour guide and driver we wonderful. Everywhere we went, prosciutto, cheese, and balsamic vinegar tours were outstanding. It was comfortable , informative, and delicious. Then we went for lunch and it was superb. Food and wine were excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Food and Wine Tour from Bologna Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable host by the name of Martina who took us to the wineries. We loved the wine, and even sent some home (hope it gets here soon!). We were lucky to have only four of us on the tour (my family!)

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An Excellent trip to a lovely city, a charming young lady vintner for our wine tasting who joined in the humour that abounded in our small group trip: Ciao Bella

Doing what: Tuscany Small-Group Day Trip with Chianti Dinner: Siena and San Gimignano

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a small tour, only 5 of us and absolutely incredible! Matteo was our guide and he was very informative, and welcoming. Beautiful country up in Tuscany, great wine and lunch and we had a terrific time! A must do!

Doing what: Small-Group Tuscany Wine-Tasting Tour from Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message