Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2492 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cwgeller

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

History is my passion so this day trip was heaven for me. Unfortunately the weather precluded a trip to the volcano and instead we went to a very interesting museum in Naples that holds many of the artifacts of Pompeii and surrounding areas. The museum employees however decided to close-off many of the exhibits we wanted to see probably on a whim. The Italian people are socialist-leaning and given a chance not to work or to go on strike they'll take it. Overall wonderful we had a great group leader on the bus and at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gina Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything was awesome! First off, our tour guides, Sarah and Enzo, were very well organized and knowledgeable. They were great at keeping us informed throughout the day. They spoke excellent English and were very detailed in all of Italy's history and answering our questions. Alfredo, our awesome bus driver, drove 1.5 hrs to a rest stop in Cassino where we had 15 min to stretch our legs, use the toilets, and grab some coffee or snacks. Back on the bus for the next hour to Pompeii, our guides spoke to us about the history of Pompeii and what to expect when we arrive, which made the drive fly by. At Pompeii, we were split into 2 groups with 10-12 per group and we had excellent audio systems to hear our guide at all times. In addition to our tour guides, each group was provided a professional Pompeii historian guide to teach us about its history. The tour was fantastic! We had plenty of time to take photos and walk around on our own while still able to listen via audio systems and keep up with the group. Lunch was ok, not the best salad and pizza I've had, but pretty good for being included with the tour. TIP: Your first drink is included, each add'tl is 4 euro. Mt Vesuvius was an awesome experience! We had a little more than one hour to climb to the top and back. It took 20-30 min to reach the top at a moderate-to-slow pace stopping to rest and take photos along the way. It's pretty cool to be able to say you climbed an active volcano! On the way home, we stopped in Cassino for a break, then continued back to Rome. During our return, our guides conversed with everyone individually to ask if we had any questions/feedback about the tour or Italy in general, then answered everyone's questions out loud for everyone on the bus. There were a lot of helpful tips offered regarding places to eat, safety, etc. TIPS: Bring snacks for the ride. // There are plenty of chances to rest/nap on the bus. // Bus carries cold water for 1 euro

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really good trip. Got picked up from the hotel and dropped off. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and got shown some amazing parts of Pompeii. Well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Worth the money and do both famous attractions in a day, the tour of Pompeii was ideal within 2 hours of the allocated time and the tour guide was very well versed with all the sights and sounds. Vesuvius was largely DIY but the bus does takes you to the entrance and the ticket fees is inclusive so saves you the hassle. Quite recommended when in Naples. Dont forget to wear proper shoes and clothing since it gets very hectic and the heat up on the Vesuvius.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

moti k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a tour my granddaughter and I booked and I think it was well worth the effort and money. The tour was conveniently arranged for pick up and drop off. The tour guides, Jonathan and Peter were amazing founts of information. Art, architecture, history and personal vignettes made the 3 hour trip down and back interesting and informative. Although I had been to Pompeii several times, I still found new insights with these two young men. Please take this trip, you will enjoy it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

louise f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You will not be disappointed with Elisa's tour of Pompeii! She brought the ancient site to life in story with fantastically accessible humour. We compared notes with other language groups and they said that all they could hear was us laughing. She managed the group exceedingly well, while you were not made to feel like a number. A very slick and genuine tour. Elisa should be an attraction of Pompeii, she is really that good!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Desiree S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely wonderful day trip to Vesuvius and Pompeii - first class service all the way! The guides, Lucca and Manuel were knowledgeable, entertaining and extremely helpful and the driver Alberto was skilled and very competent. The pizza lunch was very good and we had plently of time to observe and explore both Pompeii and Vesuvius. I would highly recommend this trip and will definitely be using this company for excursions again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Katharine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour is a fantastic value. Pompeii and Vesuvius are must-see and are so impressive in person. Our guides Mara and Antonella were very knowledgable and made the lone bus ride enjoyable. Highly reccomend this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Min Juan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

informative and professional guider from Rome to Pompeii and at local Pompeii. it is the must program if you want to enjoy a tour with historical and local culture information.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both of our tour guides through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius were excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour to other guests.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jeffrey A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was such a great trip! Pompeii and Vesuvius weren't on our original itinerary, but our flights home were canceled so we booked this last minute, and we are so glad we did! Alessandra and Melanie were our hosts and they were just wonderful. They are a wealth of knowledge and funny also. They told us lots of stories in the bus and kept us entertained. It is a long day, but worth it! The hike is a bit strenuous, so I wouldn't recommend this trip if you aren't prepared for a hike.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Cian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Unbelievable trip, should not be overlooked. Our coach was very comfy, our hosts were incredibly friendly and their stories/facts very informative and fun to listen to. Pompeii itself was incredible but without our guide Roberto, we wouldn't of enjoyed it half as much. Thank you for a great trip, Cian and Niamh

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Marja

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The Rome Pompeii tour was awesome. Everything went as I had expected. The guides Jennifer, Peter, and Enzo at Pompeii, were all professional and I learned a lot about life in Pompeii. peter also told us interesting facts related to Italian life. As for the schedule, we were also on time all the time. I could recommend this tour to everyone interested in history and hiking. Thank you !

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Definitely worthwhile - very knowledgeable guide, scenery on the way, a nice meal included. A long day but worth it and not too tiring. The museum in Naples was better than most of us expected, I thought, and Pompeii is awesome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sophie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. We had considered doing Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius by ourselves, but this trip was such good value I'm glad we chose this one. We were picked up straight from our hotel and taken to Pompeii - which obviously already takes out much of the hassle. We went on a Sunday morning around Easter time, and it was rammed. It didn't spoil the experience but timing might be good to think about in advance, if that's not for you. Gino and Manuela were great tour guides - friendly and good fun, they kept everyone together and painted a brilliant picture of what we were seeing - the history and everyday life of the place, made it all really come to life.

The only small thing i would have preferred is some more free time to explore Pompeii.
But saying that, I think a tour guide is almost essential to appreciate all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

vanessadeguz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What a great trip! Monica and Robert were wonderful, knowledgeable, and fun! Ask for them! The tip to the Pompeii museum was a bit short but we would do it all over again! Does not disappoint!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

lee b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very informative if a little hurried tour of the Pompeii ruins. Our guide was excellent and clearly knew her subject. For us it was fine but I would say that the walk itself is quite long and the old original stones are no friends to your ankles so wear good tough shoes.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Philip L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Luca was very experienced and had a wealthy of historical knowledge.
Pompeii was amazing a must see.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour leader was great I think her name was Maria because she spoke several languages and had a great sense of humor in each. Tour itself was very informative. You won't know what you're looking at in Pompeii unless you book a tour. DO IT!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. Both sites are worth a visit, and we had an excellent guide for the day, as well as another excellent guide for the tour in Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sylvanas Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Peter is a funny person and knows a lot about ROME, Pompeii.
You won't regret by choosing this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Wing Yi Tiffany I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our guide, Robmil, was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour super interesting. It was a pleasure learning about Pompeii and the region through talking with him, and the tour itself was well-organised.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message