• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1428 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was probably the most amazing experience that closed out our trip to Italy. Everything was completely amazing and overwhelmingly emotional, but on our last day, we took the Pompeii day trip and were blown away by the awesomeness of the whole experience. Our tour guides, Anna and Luca were informative and patient and completely professional and had a wealth of knowledge before, during and after the tour experience. The guides in Pompeii (whose name escapes me) was so well versed and educated, it felt like he took us back. He was knowledgeable and humorous. What a fantastic experience, if you don't do this tour, you are missing out for sure! Way to go City Wonders!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

An early start but well worth it. We had a very informative guide, Peter, on the coach and he knew when to let us rest. Lunch was a little rushed as there were so many coaches arriving at the restaurant but was very good. Pompeii was amazing. So very moving. Our guide (whose name I can't recall) was very informative too. We learnt a lot that we wouldn't have found out but visiting it without a guided tour. Would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We've always wanted to see Pompeii and Viator helped us do that. Viator delivered exactly as stated in their Overview and Schedule tour package...and we enjoyed the entire Independent Day Trip! (And a special thanks to our tour guide, Inger, she was great.)

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Pompeii from Naples was well organized and ran very smoothly. The guide that led the Pompeii tour was knowledgeable and very animated. His descriptions of what we were seeing were very descriptive, which made for a very enjoyable and enlightening experience. The location where the pizza and soda lunch after the Pompeii tour took place was very convenient, however, the pizza was not particularly good. The walk up to Vesuvius was somewhat challenging due to the loose “gravel” on the path. Regardless, the climb to the top was a nice hike that could easily be made in the one-hour allocated by the tour guide. Regretfully, our day on Vesuvius was somewhat overcast and the pictures of the Bay of Naples will not be as spectacular as they would be during a clear day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you plan on seeing Pompeii and Herculaneum you should see Vesuvius as well. Amazing views of the region and a chance to see an active (if currently very placid) volcano. Our guide was excellent and very entertaining and the driver was very good as well (believe me you want that). Worth the climb.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent way to see Pompeii!!!! Inger was incredibly helpful as a trip assistant.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We had a day trip booked for Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius on the same day as part of our anniversary trip to Naples. Unfortunately, the trip to Pompeii descended into to bad weather late in the morning and the touring guide told us that following a phone call from her office Mt Vesuvius was closed due to pouring rain and low cloud and we should claim a refund. We did not even get the included pizza for lunch! However, all that said, I rang the touring office from the hotel and indicated that we could do the remaining trip on the following day if they had one available. They agreed and we were picked up from our hotel at lunchtime, driven through the wacky races that is Naples and arrived to join the rest of the part that had visited Pompeii during the morning and sat down to a giant pizza with a drink then transported to Mt Vesuvius whereupon having climbed to the top it snowed. We were able to see the crater before the cloud descended once more. Overall a brilliant trip and a company that bent over backwards to furnish our needs. Good value for money and a great trip! We will use Viator again in the future. Thanks Bob and Tracey Clark

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this trip, our guide "Andrea (?) " was excellent. He certainly knew his stuff. Pompeii was an incredible experience. Learnt so much and a lot bigger than we were expecting. Highly recommend visiting Pompeii. Mt Vesuvius would have been a brilliant experience had it not been bitterly cold and exceptionally windy !!! My 13 year old daughter had visions of being blown off the side of the volcano !!!! Would definitely visit both again, with the hope of reaching the crater next time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The trip was great in short! Andre our guide was extremely knowledgeable and explained the history of Pompeii with great details. We were really impressed with his knowledge. Only thing that can be improved is that instead of the 1 hour lunch break, the tour should be flexible enough to allow tourists to go to places like ' the garden of the fugitives' in Pompeii etc. Vesuvius was impressive as well. The time allowed for the trip could be extended a bit as well. Overall will recommend the tour to all!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Tour was very well organised. It was a bit rushed, as there is soo much to see at Pompeii, so our lunch was very quick. But the guide was very informative and spoke very good english (as well as french). I would recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Brilliant tour, Sabine was our tour guide and was so knowledgable and really brought to life the history of Pompeii, we got a real feel of how it would have been to have lived during those times. Would recommend this tour without hesitation, money well spent!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This trip was brilliant, our guides were fantastic and they really helped everyone to understand as much as possible, as well as just being helpful in general. It's quite a long day but it's well worth it to see the amazing sights. Our local guide was happy to answer any questions about Pompeii too. He was very clear and extremely knowledgeable about the site. I cannot recommend this tour enough and hope that others enjoy it as much as we did!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolute highlight of my holiday! Not only were we in a incredible surrounding but we had the most fantastic tour guide Enzo (excuse the spelling) who shared all his brilliant knowledge about Pompeii in a fabulously entertaining dialogue all throughout the tour of the city. It made the tour one hundred times more fascinating to understand what it was you were looking at, along with all the hilarious tidbits thrown in. Sarah our group leader was wonderful in arranging the day for the group. She too made the tour extra special by sharing intriguing facts about the areas we were driving from, through and to - an added delight as our bus journey was near 3 hours long. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a fun and fantastically informative day around this area, with the bonus of seeing some breathtaking scenery and history of course! Would not hesitate to sign up for more trips run by Dark Rome Tours/City Wonders, worth very cent! Thank you!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Fantastic day out. Just because it is winter, go anyway!!!!!! Our guides including our Pompeii guide were second to none. They knoew there subject, were passionate about sharing their kno0wledge. Overall A+++

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message