• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1640 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic tour! The bus trip was comfortable and quiet. The guide on the bus was informative without using the microphone constantly like some tours!
The guide at Pompeii was fantastic! His name is Carmen and He had good English skills, was helpful and friendly.
The tour is amazing and a must see!
There is alot of walking and is quite rocky and uneven, consider this especially for the elderly and handicapped.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What an amazing trip! My partner and I had been waiting a long time to do this and we were not disappointed. The guide we had was excellent and he explained everything in extensive detail. I should add that he spoke very clear English and there was no need for an audio guide. The ruins of Pompeii where breathtaking and you get a real sense of the way people lived with the guides story-telling. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip but if anything a little overpriced compared with other tours we did while travelling round Italy. The Pompeii visit was about 2 hours and about the right amount of time for us. The group was fairly large but the guide was very good and kept us all interested. Mount Vesuvius was good and I'm glad we did it! My biggest disappointment with the tour was the fact that we weren't given time to look round the souvenirs and buy postcards. Instead we were shipped straight from the ruins to lunch then on a bus to Mt Vesuvius. Lunch itself wasn't great and it would be better if people were asked to make their own lunch arrangements, giving them time to eat and shop before setting off for the volcano. This would then also make the trip cheaper. In addition it would be better if the tour were to start an hour earlier so that you could get the most out of your entrance fee to Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I wish that there was an option for 10 stars, because I would rate it 10/5!!!! absolutely spectacular trip. It helped that we had an Awesome guide, Rob, who kept us entertained with historic tales and gave us sooooo much of information on everything, including the geological effect of Pompeii. Its a hard thing to do, in the middle of summer, keeping the attention of all your ppl for 13 hrs! and he did that so well! City wonders, you are so blessed to have Rob working for you!
The walk up to Versuvius, the pizza in Napoli, visiting the ruins in Pompeii, there are no words to describe the experience, it has to be experienced! It was an experience that I will never forget and I am so glad that we did it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our tour guide Giorgio showed his knowledge and understanding of Pompeii in an entertaining way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A stress-free way to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Our guide, Violet, was terrific--witty, knowledgeable, and very energetic. She met us at Piazza del Popolo and kept us engaged, informed and entertained all the way to Pompeii. The guide who joined our group in the ruins really knew her stuff. She brought us through key locations at an easy pace, showed us details that would have been easy to overlook, and gave us plenty of time to stroll around and take photos. She really brought this city back to life. Without her insights it would have been hard to make heads or tails of what we were seeing, had we chosen to explore Pompeii on our own.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Mike. the tour leader was very informative and friendly. Enzo, the guide for Pompeii, was very knowledgeable and an excellent guide. Mt Vesuvius was awe inspiring.
A long day but a great experience that I'd highly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Absolutely fantastic tour! Tour guide Mike was brilliant - informative, funny and helpful. Walking up Vesuvius and around the crater is amazing - quite a hike up, especially in around 35 degrees, but SO worth it! DO take their advice to buy your cold water from the bus driver - the 'cold' drinks at the top are not really cold and are way more pricey. Pompeii is just awesome - really well organised, each with your own headset, and our Pompeii guide, Willie, was the best ever - so knowledgeable, very quick witted, funny, loads of stories and so many little details pointed out. On the way back to Rome, we were given lots of helpful tips and suggestions about good places to eat 'real Italian', or rather real 'Roman'. Highly recommended - we would happily do it all again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour. Pompeii is a very interesting place and our guide was extremely knowledgeable. I would not recommend going to Pompeii without a guide as you would lose a lot. This is definitely worth it. Be warned it can be extremely hot in Pompeii because of the design of the city, there is little room for a breeze.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip. Bus was on time both directions. Staff was courteous. Comfortable bus. It was easy to hire an official Pompeii tour guide once we got to the excavation site. And seeing ancient Pompeii was completely worth the trip. Thank you!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Sarah our tour guide was fantastic, very funny and knowledgable. She also climbed Mount Vesuvius which we thought was pretty impressive (especially in heels!) This was a very well organised tour from start to finish. The local guide in Pompeii was great, and made the tour interesting and humourous. Lunch was provided with a small green salad, choice between two pizza's and one soft drink. The pizza was pretty good, and we were given plenty of time to eat and relax before conquering Mount Versuvius! The climb for Versuvius is steep and slippery - wear decent shoes! However there are lots of places to stop along the way to catch your breath and take a great photo! This was a highlight of out Italian tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour of Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius was absolutely amazing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Hectoro and Antonella were great hosts. It's a long day (13 hours), but totally worth it. It's about a 3-hour ride on the bus to Vesuvius, with a stop halfway for a breakfast and bathroom break. You hike up the top part of Vesuvius. It's about a 25-minute hike, and it is pretty steep. Definitely don't wear flip flops, and if you're out of shape, it could be tough. The pizza lunch was better than I expected, and the tour of Pompeii was unbelievable. It's so expansive, and our tour guide Louisa really knew her stuff. Put this trip on your list if you have a day free. One bit of advice -- use the restrooms you come across during the Pompeii tour if you can. At the end of the tour, there are only 2 bathrooms, and it was utter chaos for the hundreds of people who finished the tour and waited. There are a few scattered around the old city.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message