Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2427 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James Blake W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

While I am usually reluctant to book and take tours when traveling abroad, I was impressed with our tour guide, Luca, and I really enjoyed exploring the Naples National Archaeological Museum and Pompeii. It's a long and full day trip from Rome, but it's completely worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Luv2TravlAmy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well - I crossed off going to Pompeii from my bucket list! This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Monica, was so helpful and informative. She gave a lot of information to us prior to arriving in Pompeii. Our local guide was also very funny and was just a wealth of knowledge - filling in all of the details of the city and answering all of the questions we had. Our trip took us to the archeological museum rather than climbing Vesuvius as it was in the winter, but seeing the artifacts was so interesting and really gave perspective as to what life was like in Pompeii. I was not impressed with lunch - it just seemed very un-Italian. The pizza was good, but the atmosphere was less than authentic. They did make a stop on the way to Pompeii and on they way back for restroom breaks no toilet seats in the ladies rooms...just beware. Great day - it is a LONG day, so be prepared for that. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Yuri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was absolutely amazing. The Archaeological Museum was fun to visit. Then the tour takes you to a remote site to have lunch. Some of the best pizza I have ever tasted. After lunch, that moment you realize that you're about to visit one of the most historical sites in the history of the world, Pompeii. Just amazing to actually be on site, and breathtaking to know that Mt. Vesuvius is in the backdrop. Our tour guides Massimo and Roberto were the best ever. They had our group so into the tour. They were informative, outspoken, intelligent, so friendly, down to earth, funny at times. They were simply amazing. They made the tour even that much better of an experience. A to the tour guides! A to Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

bmccormack

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice trip to Pompeii and the museum would have loved climbing the volcano but the weather did not permit it. A must see

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Juleschap Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent way to end the year. The trip to Pompeii was probably the highlight of my Europe trip and it was made even more enjoyable by our guide Antonella and our Pompeii guide Enrico. The only negative was the lunch - the pizza was not enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Alexandria C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved this tour. Our guide was amazing. She was very funny and knew what she was talking about. Also the local guide in Pompeii was knowledgeable and made the tour fun. Lunch was also very delicious. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Derek P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was everything and more than I expected. The guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. The stop for food in Pompeii was delicious. Also, the guide that was used in Pompeii was very polite and took us to some really cool spots. I will recommended everyone I know to take this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Doug D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic trip. Highly recommend if visiting Italy. Tour guides were great as well. Amazing how well preserved some of the homes in Pompeii are.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Janice L United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Bit of a chaotic start to the trip as we arrived on a Saturday and our trip was on a Monday morning, however we were told to ring 24 hours before as a last minute confirmation. Our kind staff member at the hotel rang and informed us the office was closed. He again rang first thing Monday morning and after much discussion he managed to confirm our booking. Whilst I would recommend the trip, I did feel it was too fast moving if you were elderly as we had a job to keep up with the guide. I understand there are so many visitors to Pompeii but in hindsight we should have gone for the day and not a half day. Having said all this I would still recommend the trip as we did see what we wanted to see and the pick up and drop off were ok.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

keldogg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour guides were friendly, approachable, and most importantly knowledgeable. The trip to the museum in Naples was actually very interesting and a good substitution for the hike to the top of a volcano. Once we were at Pompeii the tour around the site was only a few hours but I felt like we saw the most important parts of the site. I was so glad I booked a tour with a guide instead of going on my own since there was so much I would have walked right past not knowing the significance. The guides were great at telling the group about the history and significance of even the smallest things at the site. Stuff I would never have known myself like how small pieces of white marble were used on the road leading to the port to help travelers find the road in the dark. I would have walked on and never noticed that at all. I highly recommend having a guide to get the most out of the experience of being in Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

CARLA V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Totally worth the early morning!! Really enthusiastic and informative guides who kept us entertained for the journey, plus gave us some nap time! An amazing experience to see Pompeii. Much recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Victoria A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Interesting and well organized. Tour Guide Andy was both humorous and had a lot of historical info which was very nice to hear. The local Pompeii guide was excellent as well - we went to the head of the line, and he had lots to explain on Pompeii as well as the surrounding areas. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gareth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful trip, great tour guides, especially the local guide at Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sally S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a wonderful tour guide Antonela - our comfort was her foremost concern.
I saw Pompeii 47 yrs. ago and was disappointed in its condition - very crowded
and many scaffolds. Great to climb Mt. Vesuvius.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Anthony L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip we took to Pompeii. The tour guides were absolutely amazing. I feel bad that I cannot remember their names but they had great knowledge of the local area and had a lot of great knowledge to the history of the places we visited. One tour guide was from Australia and had longer hair, and the other was an Italian woman who was very pleasant and helped us find a great restaurant after the tour. We would definitely do another tour with the company that Viator set us up with.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

JAMES M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We loved the tour of Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii. Our guides Ettore and Antonella entertained us on the bus which was very comfortable. Our guide Luisa at Pompeii was excellent. The hike up Mt Vesuvius was strenuous, so be careful and wear appropriate shoes.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Celia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must see! This tour was perfect to get all the basic information needed about Pompeii. Our tour guide was very informative and enjoyed her enthusiasm and sense of humor.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Pamela F. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very organized and followed time schedule well. Our tour guide was Sara and she and fellow guide Elena provided helpful facts and education about Rome, Pompeii, Naples and sites on the bus ride. We stopped after 1.5 hours for a break then went on to the museum in Naples. We were given 1.5 hours to explore the museum in Naples on our own. It was an appropriate amount of time. Next was a pizza lunch and then on to Pompei. Enzo was our guide and was great! Lots of knowledge as he is local to the area and his ancestors worked the excavation. I think we spent 2 hours touring the highlights of Pompei and then back to the bus for the ride home. After 1.5 hours we stopped again for a break, limencello tasting and gift shop. We had a great time.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Stephanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I took this tour on the 28/11/15. This was an excellent and well organised tour. If you're going to do a tour from Rome do this tour and you really need the whole day so I wouldn't go for a half day option.

Our tour guides were fantastic and I loved the way they kept feeding us with snippets of history. I hope these guys get paid well for their efforts. 10 out of 10 to our 2 guides and the driver!

I didn't realise but lunch was included and it was Pizza with salad and a drink. We spent 1 hour in the Museum and 2 hours at Pompeii. After chatting with some other people on the tour we recommend
To spend longer at Pompeii and maybe less time at lunch or not have that lunch break and give people the option to grab a quick lunch at the site. I personally would have liked to see more and maybe at a quicker pace but I understand the tour needs to cater for everyone's needs.

There are toilet breaks and the guides check to make sure you are ok on the bus. Our group was very nice too which helps when you're on a tour all day.

I feel confident to go back by myself now.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jeffery L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the highlights of my entire holiday and it was my first day in Europe!! We did not get to visit the Volcano due to bad weather but got to see so much in the museum. The guides Alessandra and Robert were awesome! Pompeii is so beautiful still and must have been incredible in its original state.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Samuel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the view from the Vulcano was great, and so was Pompeii

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kim

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour of Pompeii. Tour Guide was very informative!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

David X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pompeii tour was enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message