Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1728 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was spectacular and one of my favorite things to do. Vesuvius and Pompeii were just unlike anything you could have seen anywhere else, highly recommended

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Sarah the guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and well organized. The views from on top of Vesuvius are breath taking. The hike up isn't easy but well worth it. For someone who like history it's a incredible experience to go back in time 2000 years and visit Pompeii. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Robert and Mel gave us a lot of information throughout the drive to Pompeii! The guide at Pompeii was very interactive and made the entire tour very memorable! I would highly recommend this tour as a 1-day getaway from Rome! I only wish we would have had a chance to stop at Naples :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with helpful and informative guides. It's an easy way to get to and see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius all in a day. The weather was kind to us so we had a great view at the top of the Volcano, well worth the 20 min hike. Pompeii was also definitely worth the visit, an amazing site and well preserved, and the local guide helped us understand the history behind it all, also keeping us entertained.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this day. The organisation was perfect. The guide who took us through Pompeii was informative and very entertaining. We also really enjoyed climbing up Mt Vesuvius. All in all - an excellent experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. I was worried it would be a little expensive for what it was. But in the end, 130 euros per person was totally worth it. This included a 3-hour coach air-conditioned bus ride leaving at 730am from Rome (with one pit stop at midpoint) to Pompeii, during which our 2 tour guides fascinated us with constant information about Rome's history in general, and anything we asked. When arriving in Pompeii (which, in itself is an awe-inspiring experience) we met up with a specialized Pompeii tour guide who directed us through the ancient city. It's nice to have someone tell you what things used to be, and guide us so we don't get lost. We then went to Naples for lunch (best pizza!) and they taught us the history of how the pizza originated. We then headed toward Mt Vesuvius, where our tour guides continued to explain to us the tragedy of Pompeii. The hike up the Vesuvius was moderately difficult (an elderly or out-of-shape person might have a little trouble) as it was a constant 30 degree incline and took about 30min, but mostly just sandy (no rocky terrain). On the top the view was spectacular, and the idea of being near an active volcano was pretty cool. We then had the same 3 hour bus ride home with one pitt stop midway, and again the tour guides showered us with more information.

I felt we really got our money's worth: 2x 3-hour bus ride tours of info, 1-hour guided tour of pompeii, lunch included, and ticket to go up the vesuvius. Our tour guides (Roberto and Sarah) were absolutely incredible, I would request them if I could. Go for it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Bus left promptly. Good mid way stop. Booked the tour if Pompeii with the travel tour organised by viator. Well worth it as it is difficult to see the best sites independently in two hours. Good places to eat just outside the site. Prompt return journey. All in all well worth the visit.
Excellent.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Found this daytrip well co-ordinated. It was very handy for the limited time we had in the area. The guide was very informative and witty. Would definitely not have seen as much of pompeii doing it solo. The air-conditioned bus collection and drop off was great. Light Lunch was in a nice restaurant.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a day this was! We almost didn't go for the Pompeii / Vesuvius tour due to the expense, but I have to say, it was well worth every penny. I think this was my favourite day of my holiday!
The tour starts early (7.30am) and finishes quite late (8.00pm), so it's a long day, but we had a bit of sleepy time on the bus in both directions!
Our tour guide Siriana (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!) was absolutely brilliant! I learned so much from her - not just about ancient and more recent Italian history, but also about the country today. She provided oodles of information not only about the country we found ourselves driving through, but also about Italian society, TV, movies, food. She recommended restaurants and cafes, suggested other places to visit, and really gave us a flavour of how much of Italy came to be the way it is today. (Gusto was excellent - best pizza I had on my holiday!)
Despite getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way, I still felt as if I had enough time at Pompeii. It was baking hot, so in some ways I was quite glad to get back on the bus! I still can't quite believe I've seen such an amazing site. The guide at Pompeii, Georgio, was also excellent, imparting a wealth of information in a short amount of time with a great deal of wry humour (especially when dealing with a really rude American tourist trying to jump the line waiting to get into the brothel. Yes there's a 2000 year old brothel in Pompeii!)
Vesuvius was also incredible. Again, I still can't believe I actually walked the last 200 metres to the top! While the first third of the climb is quite challenging (the whole climb should have taken us about 20 minutes and took us 45!), it was well worth it. The views are spectacular, and the steaming crater is really quite intimidating! The clouds came down when we reached the top, which was also really spooky!
I really can't recommend this tour enough. 5 stars also to our driver Faust for getting us up the volcano!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour guides were well informed, charming and funny. Pompeii itself was much more than expected. Unfortunately we were not able to go up Mount Vesuvius because of rain.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were stranded in Paris and were going to miss this trip. Called the company who 'bent over backward' to get us on another day, even though we had limited time, at minimal cost. Still looked like one of us would miss out, however, on the morning the staff went the extra mile to ensure we all travelled. Long time on a coach/bus, however, well worth it. Pompeii and Vesuvius were fantastic. Both of us and our two adult children who were with us found it incredible. The tour guides provided just the right amount of information and fun to make the otherwise long trip fly by. Everything went smoothly and the coach was very comfortable. I would recommend the trip and company to anyone. We will use their services again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked 3 tours in Italy with Viator, yes they were a little expensive, but... worth every penny. Not only for going through the line fast, all you learn, that if you go alone you would never knowThe tour was great and worth every penny. Antonella and Sara were great. Pompeii is beautiful. So much to learn and see. The local tour guide (I don't remember his name, sorry ) when we arrived at Pompeii was amazing. He was an opened book. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome tour provided by City Wonders. Tour guide was Massimo and he made it extremely enjoyable. He was very informative funny and entertaining the entire trip. He really enjoys what he does and made the tour enjoyable. Pompeii and Vesuvius and were incredible sites to see. It was very crowded because I think some cruise ships were late docking and all hit at once, but this was no fault of the tour. Tour was very organized, and on time from start to finish.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message