Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2176 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. Would have liked a bit of free time in Pompeii - there wasn't any. Guide was very funny and knowledgable. Probably the best tour guide I have ever had in Italy. Don't stray from the group as they don't do frequent headcounts and they don't wait around for stragglers - which I liked because they didn't waste any of our time. But the other group did lose an entire family who asked for a refund and were told tough luck because it was their responsibility to stay with the group. You have enough time to climb Mt Vesuvius to the crater and walk around for a few minutes on the top, but the climb is steep and elderly or not-fit participants may find it to be difficult in the time given.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Veronica F
Honduras

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was my favorite tour of all we did in Italy! Climbing Mount Vesuvius was a workout but well worth it! The views from there are great - if you don't get a cloudy day as we did - but still climbing the volcano and seeing the crater up close was awesome.

Going into the Pompeii Ruins was also awesome. Our guide there was very cool, knowledgable and fun. He gave us time to look at all the sites and take pictures, while still moving the group along at a good pace. Take this tour on your trip. It is an experience unlike any other!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of our favorite days on our vacation. Julia and Julio were perfect, as well as the bus driver. Energetic, lively, informative...a lot of fun to be around. We took a subway ride a block from our hotel right to the meeting point, and were assigned a guide to follow for the day. Two small groups were put together on each bus, and the ride was comfortable. As promised, we were able to nap if we wanted to on the three-hour drive, with a stop along the way. Mt. Vesuvius was a challenge on such a hot day, but thankfully it was first on the list. But what an experience. And Julia and Julio made sure they had enough water to distribute to anyone several times during the day 1 euro per bottle was very reasonable. Lunch was prepared and ready, again, as promised, with beverage of choice, and we got to sit and talk with some of our travel companions. We weren't rushed, and got to cool down. Then off to Pompeii where a guide, Bernadette, from that site took us around. Very entertaining, and you knew she loved her work! Got back on the bus for return drive and back to original meeting point. Very happy with tour in every aspect. Booked three events through Viator on our trip, and everything went as planned.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Anna and Antonella from City Wonders were excellent guides and provided so much useful information about both the tour and about Rome. The tour was really well run and there were no problems. The tour guide of Pompeii was also excellent and informative and the radio system worked well. We were given adequate time to have lunch, and to get to the top of Vesuvius and back we made it to the 3rd shop at the top! It was a fun day out and was definitely worth it. I would recommend it to friends and family.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic, one of the absolute highlights of my trip!! We departed on time from our meeting point in Rome in a comfortable bus. Our guide, Andy, was FABULOUS and kept us entertained with stories during the 3-hour drive down to Vesuvius and back. On the way down, we stopped at a very nice cafe with clean bathrooms for a bathroom break and optional coffee and croissants RECOMMENDED. Andy pointed out various sights along the way and told us stories of the volcanic eruption, the Appian Way, Spartacus' Revolt, and other stories relating to landmarks that we passed. We then had a very winding drive up most of Mount Vesuvius, followed by a 40 minute hike up Vesuvius to see the crater. Next, a delicious pizza lunch in Naples, after which we drove to Pompeii where an Italian guide took over and gave us a 2-hour walking tour of the remains with intriguing commentary, creating vivid scenes in our minds about how life used to be in 79 A.D. Make sure you see the erotic frescoes. Finally, we hopped back on our bus for the 3-hour drive home, with another rest stop at the same plush cafe. We heard plenty more historical stories on the way back, so all the driving didn't seem burdensome in any way. This tour was the final icing on the cake of my 10 days in Italy, a real treat not to be missed!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

People told us not to bother with Pompeii because it would be too hot, however even in the extreme heat of this summer my husband and I LOVED this trip. Andre, our tour guide was excellent and had a great working knowledge of life in Pompeii. It was honestly one of the coolest things we did. Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic day out! Our guide, Antonella was fabulous and very knowledgable. The hike up Mount Vesuvius was amazing and the guided tour through Pompeii was outstanding. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

chasitymeyers
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Maria was amazing! Her attention to detail was amazing and I learned so much more than the first visit to Pompeii. The hike to Vesuvius is a must! However, you are climbing straight up for a mile on ash. So, you take a step forward slide back a step. The end result is breathtaking!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely amazing trip, our guide Anna was incredibly knowledgeable and extremely well spoken in many different languages. Our guidein Pompeii, Lucia was equally as knowledgeable about the city and made it an interesting afternoon out.

The trip was planned to the 't' and went off without a hitch minus some aching legs that evening!

I would fully recommend the trip to family and friends.

Thank you for a fantastic day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing! What a fantastic time we had learning all about Pompeii. Would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Highly recommended - Packed a lot into limited time. Tour guides were excellent Anna and Luca. Our driver Marius did an amazing job of getting us up Mount Vesuvius - narrow, twisty road! Great way of getting to see Pompeii and Vesuvius from Rome. Fabulous pizza at lunch time. Whole trip worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The entire trip is amazing with Julios and Robert as our guide. They are very knowledgeable, fun and took care of us ensure that every tour member is safe and sound.

Highly recommendable to experience Pompeii and hiking up the volcano. Have to do it once in a lifetime.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great day out - knowledgeable guides with great information about these historic sites - and a well organized trip.

Just note to make sure you bring snacks with you for the morning - its an early start and you see Pompeii before lunch so we were starving

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well organized trip leaving from Piazza del Popolo, full day trip on air conditioned bus. Tour guide at Pompeii was very colorful, informative and funny. Lunch at pizzeria outside Naples was good for margarita pizza. The visit to Mount Vesuvius offered some incredible views of the Bay of Naples. The hike up the trail to the summit takes a good 25 minutes on a dusty trail with gravel and is steep in parts, comfortable shoes a must.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantastic trip! We had two guides, both who spoke very clear English. They told us so many interesting things we would have never known. Pompeii was very impressive. The bus was very clean and comfortable. All around five stars.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An absolutely fantastic if tiring day. Our guides Julio, Luca and driver Antonio were exceptional. Friendly, knowledgeable, informative and great fun. Mount Vesuvius was amazing as was Pompeii. So glad we were provided with a guide around the city or we would have missed so much wandering on our own. A really well planned trip. Thoroughly enjoyed and recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was such a cool thing to see. My brother and I are traveling together on a gap year, and we had a great time and learned so much! Our tour guide Alexandra was very informative, and even asked every person on the bus individually if they had an questions as we were driving back to the city. You can tell she really loves what she does. In Pompeii Bernadette was our guide and she was great! Very informative and great sense of humor! I would definitely recommend this trip to others and I loved the tour guides!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Pompeii Day Trip was a great tour. It takes a full day but is definitely worth your time. The tour guides were exceptional as was the bus trip and accommodations. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic but challenging climb to the top of Vesivius and wonderful tour of Pompeii. Extremely friendly and well organised trip of a lifetime!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and the volcano and not have to worry about transportation. We were staying in Rome and wanted an easy/relaxed way to get down to Pompeii. A bus tour was great. Climbing to the top of Vesuvius was a plus! It is bit more of a hike than I expected. Kind of steep, but totally doable. Loved the views.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was excellent and very well organized. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. We could not have had a better tour of Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide was super informative and hit all the highlights of Pompeii. It was not a long tour, but she really gave us a great glimpse of life in Pompeii. Hiking Mt. Vesuvius was a thrill. Wear closed shoes as the hike is on gravel and small dusty rock/ash. The view of Naples Bay Capri, Sorrento, etc was breathtaking. I've seen complaints about lunch, we thought it did the trick, it was not the best meal of our trip, but we didn't book for the food. GREAT day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour that was guided by Gio and Antonella was one of the most amazing experiences of my holiday. Gio was full of knowledge regarding history, politics and local facts while being exceptionally personable and friendly. Anton Ella was with the other group however the same praises above are also for her. She was very kind and engaging tour guide. Silva is a very talented driver, the roads and other drivers were exceptionally dangerous however I felt complete confidence in her hands during the entire day. Arriving at pompeii I immediately judged Roberto to be the best tour guide and that we were exceptionally lucky to have him. He made the experience expectionaly entertaining and made the history very engaging for everyone in the tour, he also made the information he presented relatable to modern life. Amazing people skills. This tour ran like clockwork and I enjoyed every minute. I will be recommending this company to all with particular reference to Gio, Anton Ella, Silva and Robert.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

There were a lot of English speakers on this tour so we thought our guide wouldn't be able to reach all of us -- but we were wrong, he was awesome. Super helpful. Really nice. Great experience and we learned a LOT about ancient Roman life in Pompeii thanks to him.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour! Not only were the tour guides really friendly but I was travelling alone and made some great friends on the tour that day. They are the only tour that only goes to Pompeii from Rome, and they really let you make the most of the time you have to explore Pompeii. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message