Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2226 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

poitras
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day out on this tour. Our tour guide Robert was infectious with his enthusiasm about the area we were visiting. He has a real gift of teaching us everything from political history to culinary, religious, geological and anything else you can think of. Not boring in the least... Thanks Robert..so glad we took this tour and not a train trip to Pompeii instead!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guides had the day perfectly organized. They were easy to understand and very knowledgeable. They gave us time to be quiet on the bus and rest. We stopped halfway about 1.5 hours into the drive at Casino for a snack and potty break both coming and going back to Rome. We were happy to be able to leave a bag with extra shoes on the bus instead of having to carry everything all day. Lunch was good but we were happy the restaurant let my husband chose spaghetti instead of pizza. They actually seemed happy about that as their ovens must have been overwhelmed with pizzas. I think that should be offered-three choices: two kinds of pizza or spaghetti. We liked the salads too. The climb to Mount Vesuvius was not too bad even in the heat with the breeze off the water. The guides were right that you need about 30 minutes to get down the Mount too. It's slippery on loose gravel coming down so you have to be slow and steady about it. Pompeii was wonderful. They have a local guide who takes you through Pompeii and the other guide stays along as well. It was very interesting and full of many facts. We went to five cities in three countries and this was definitely one of our favorite days. Definitely worth the bus ride. We wished the bus had wifi as our bus did on a day trip in London.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour!!! Our two tour guides were Julio and Marco. They were both hilarious, helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. Julio even knew 6 languages! Perfect guys to run the tour. When we got to Pompeii, we were handed off to a local guide to take us through the ruins. He was also funny and knowledgeable. Lunch was actually really good! The tour says you get a pizza lunch, but you also get a nice salad and some wine or drink of your choice with it in a nice banquet area. We almost didn't get to go up the Vesuvius because of the weather, but luckily it cleared up and we did which was awesome!! Props to the bus driver and tour guides for getting us up the side on that small windy road. I highly recommend this tour especially if it's run by the same tour guides all the time!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tours of both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius were splendid. It was very hot and the crowds were immense but our excellent guide and the outstanding bus driver both did great, professional jobs. We saw and experienced everything we wanted and had a nice lunch to boot!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. Our guide was amazing and very knowledgeable. She had a great sense of humor. The only thing I would say is that it might have been nice to see a little more of Pompeii, but I know they continue on to other places. There is an option to just get a transfer to Pompeii, but I liked having a good tour guide.

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour guide but remember to be there on time! We almost missed it!! The climb of Mt Vesuvius was fabulous and we had enough time for pictures, climbing, admiring the views, ice cream at the end, etc. We did the Mountain first which was perfect as Pompeii itself was more tiring than the climb and would have been difficult if it was reversed. The bus driver was super safe and the tour around Pompeii was detailed but not unbearably long. You had time for toilets throughout and we got to see the main sights. Hint: in certain seasons you may only go to the ruins instead of the ruins and museum in which case the ruins posess 3 ash bodies things whereas the Museum is the main place to see it. The 3 bodies were enough for us though! It was fabulous with great value for money and I would HIGHLY recommend it! A must do!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tiring! Be prepared for a lot of walking but rewards at the end are priceless.

Thanks to Amanda for all the tips of the foreigners rome! Great guides in Pompeii too!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip ran on time and the guide was really informative. I would recommend seeing Pompeii with a guide like this tour rather than just walking around. We learned a lot!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a well organized trip that I was glad of once I saw the queues to pay for Pompeii ! Our enthusiastic guide was Andrea who was brilliant-knowledgeable,funny and informative. He included everybody, made sure we were all together all the time and he managed to hold everybody's interest. We were given plenty of time to look at the sights, take photos, drink water etc.
Lunch was pizza/spaghetti served by harassed, bordering on rude, waitresses in an airconditioned restaurant but it was a welcome rest from the heat and the food was good.
Onto the mighty Vesuvius by coach after lunch, during which Andrea regaled us with wit and facts. The coach dropped us at the highest parking point and then we walked at our own pace to the top with plenty of time to do this without rushing. Finally the coach dropped us off at a convenient point for our hotel.
I would recommend this tour if you want to see these historical sights without any hassle. The souvenir madness is abundant in both areas but you dont have to engage with them--unless you want to!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a really excellent trip.
The tour guide was excellent and very professional. The whole trip was extremely well organised from start to finish. The guide at Pompeii was excellent , the best yet so enthusiastic with humour!
Well worth every euro!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We climbed Mt Vesuvius before going to Pompeii. The climb uphill took more than 20-25 mins as suggested. We were allowed only 1hr 20 mins to climb up and return. Since I'm not very athletic, it took me 35-40mins to reach the 2nd level crater, so I spent only 10 mins for pics and have to descend already. Luckily, the descent was much faster although slippery due to the loose gravel. It pays to rent a stick, though I didn't do so. The Pompeii local guide was great, humorous, knowledgeable, and had allowed enough time for taking precious pics. Archeological sites worth the visit once in a lifetime. Be prepared for steamy hot conditions. Sunscreen, sunglasses, hats/umbrellas, water bottles all needed. Lunch included but water/juices are all carbonated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything worked as promised. The guide was great. We noticed that some people in the group were not properly prepared for a hot summer day in July, so reserve enough water with you and protect yourself from the sun. There are not so many shadowed spots in Pompeii. Also, use comfortable shoes for walking up to the summit of Vesuvius, since there are lots of loose sand on the way up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an amazing tour with great guides, we had Alessandre and Geo and an amazing driver called Antonio. The local guides at Pompeii were also fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great way to see Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guides! Only complaint would be the lunch - awful pizza which was very disappointing! But i wasn't on the tour for the pizza, so really a minor issue! Guide at Pompeii was also excellent!! :

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day - Andre was a great guide very knowledgeable, funny, and good with interacting with my kids - 11 and 12. Enjoyed both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, atlhough that climb was a bit tougher than I expected. Well worth it!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour. Tour guides Roberto and Amanda were excellent and funny. Both very knowledgeable in different areas relating to Italy and Pompeii specifically. Is a very long day 13 hours but the bus ride is very comfortable and allows for rest to and from Pompeii. Strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

An early start but it was definitely worth it! It was scorching hot but our affable knowledgeable guide at Pompeii whilst showing and telling us about key sites was very considerate and he tried to keep us in the shade when possible. Pompeii was fabulous - to see well preserved buildings and objects on such a scale in context not in a museum. Our guide brought it to life. You could spend all day there! After our visit to Pompeii we had a tasty pizza lunch nearby. We then were taken nearly all the way up Vesuvius and had 1.5 hours free time - to walk to the crater and enjoy the views. The walk to the first viewing point shop where you can buy drinks, ices as well as souvenirs is the longer stretch to the crater loose pumice and dusty on a fairly steep path - good exercise but strenuous in the heat so make sure you have water at the start. Don't worry about getting to the 3rd the last viewing point on the rim of the crater as you can enjoy the same views from the 2nd viewing point on the rim also has a shop.We thoroughly enjoyed our day out. Highly recommend this well-planned tour.Our guides on the coach and for Vesuvius, Anna and Amanda were very knowledgeable, humorous and kept a steady flow of info on sites as we passed as well as passing on snippets about living in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great trip and works well with the cruise ship schedule. We arrive to port on Royal Allure and the rep was there. After picking up several individuals at several locations, left the area and headed to Pompeii. Great day, great guide and great memories. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing experience! Our tour guide for Pompeii was very detailed, interesting and just did an excellent job! We then were able to get out of the hot sun and enjoy a nice pizza lunch at a great local restaurant. Climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was spectacular. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is a must ! well worth the early start and the two guides we had and the driver were excellent.. so was the lunch in Pompeii. The climb up Mount Vesuvius was well worth the effort in the heat! Would love to do it again - full marks for this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guides, Lucia and Anna, were very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke English quite well. The tour gave many interesting facts about the ruins and about life in Pompeii and Herculaneum. The bus ride was comfortable, and the mid-day lunch in a large, pleasant restaurant was ample and tasty. If you're visiting in mid-summer, bring sunglasses, umbrella, fan, and plenty of bottled water, because it's HOT and there is little shade.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Naples itself is not really a pretty city, but outside of it at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius it was great. Remember to bring lots of water if it is July as it is quite hot.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our day trip to Pompeii included a trip up Mt Vesuvius. The view from the top was fantastic. Pompeii is amazing and well worth the long day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

De tour naar pompeii en vesuvius was echt geweldig. Leuke reisgidsenJulia, Luca en een goede chauffeur Massimo. Echt een aanrader!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message