Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1970 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very well organised tour from start to finish and our guide around Pompeii was lovely.

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. Pompeii was amazing. The guides were excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was awesome! I really enjoyed our pizza in Naples and of course the history within Pompeii. Luca and Julia were awesome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great guide with loads of information and stories to keep both adults and kids interested. Pompeii was so much more than what we expected - would do it all again!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful day on this tour. The guide who travelled with us and the local Pompeii guide were both passionate and interesting. Don't visit Pompeii without a knowledgeable guide, as you will miss so much detail. Lunch was delicious - a pizza in Naples - and then the hike up Mt Vesuvius was not to be missed. The hike is relatively steep, but there is no need to go all the way if health issues prevent this. My husband and I are both in our 60s and reached the top ridge in the time allocated. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was definitely interesting and I was amazed at seeing the grooves in the cobblestones from the chariot wheels. Be aware that hiking the route up Mt Vesuvius is strenuous, but worth the climb. We had the same guide from our previous tour of the Catacombs, Erneto. He has so much knowledge!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A wonderful trip! Highly recommended!
Our tour guide Luca was very good. The Local guide at Pompeii was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome can not begin to describe our tour with the best guides ever! we had two groups split onto one bus. with our guides giving us detailed information during the 3 hour bus ride to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius, so the ride didnt seem very long at all. Pompeii was everything I had hoped it would be, with just the right amount of time spent when you factor in the crowds and the heat.The pizza was very welcome and very GOOD!! which you burned off by climbing a active volcano!which I must say was a challenge to climb and not for everyone. It has a very steep grade and soil thats like an open bag of dry concrete.But once you reach the top you know you have accomplished something not very many people in the world have had a chance to do.
I have to give our driver Antonio a giant shout out, he made the drive up and down Mt. Vesuvius in a giant tour bus seem easy... What a ROCK STAR!!! Thank you Roberto, Lukka and Antonio for a WONDERFUL tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very efficient and painless way to see Pompeii.
Rather than take the guided tour (which requires an up charge), we'd downloaded an audio guide. We wished we'd taken the tour. We spent a lot of time being lost, while the folks who took the tour, loved it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the hike to Vesuvius, this was awesome with plumes of steam coming out the side . was disappointed with Pompeii as we expected to see bodies in situ of the damage from the volcano but there was no sign of the volcano eruption as all have been removed so it was just another set of Roman Ruins, was still good but not what we thought we would see.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is with a tour company out of Rome. It's great and the tour guides are fun and give you a vast amount of historical information. You get to see Pompeii and have a few minutes leisure time to take pictures. Great guide in Pompeii with a lot of information. The pizza in Naples was really tasty although it did take a little long to serve. The highlight of our trip was climbing Mt. Vesuvius, it's definitely not for the faint of heart but worth it. I do wish they would have given us a little more time to shop for souvenirs. Overall a great trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Pompeii was amazing. Yes, it was a long drive from Rome, but it was worth every minute of it. We had a guide on the bus to Pompeii, she was helpful, however, she talked on the cell phone almost the whole trip from Rome to Pompeii. It became somehow annoying because she was quite loud. I understand her job was to ensure we get there safely and hand us over to the local guide, but...
BTW, the local guide was fantastic, his name is Francesco, I have made remarks on Tripadviser...

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Absolutely amazing! Worth every cent. Great experience climbing vesuvius. Our guides were amazing! Especially our guide at pompeii. I would do this again

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour guides, learnt so much, both on the bus travelling to and from Pompeii and with the guide who took us around Pompeii. Low cloud on the volcano prevented us from seeing into the crater but we still climbed right to the end of the track. Pompeii was amazing! well worth the visit. Excellent pizza lunch too.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great! Robert and Lukka did a great job. I would highly recommend City Wonders Tours especially if you can request Robert and Lukka they were both informative and very entertaining. As far as Pompeii, it was nice, not as preserved and nice as Ostia Antica but very nice.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide in Pompeii - Andrea - was highly knowledgeable and made the experience extremely fun. The guides that we had were very well organized and able to deal with the issues that our group (20+ people) created.
Pompeii was a highlight.
The lunch was authentic Naples style

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommend this tour. The tour of Pompeii was extremely interesting- our tour guide was amazing! The climb of Mt. Vesuvius was very scenic.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guides were great and made the day very enjoyable despite it being very wet. The tour was very well organised, lunch was simple but tasty. The guide who showed us through Pompeii was also excellent. It was a really enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour, initial meeting point was a little busy and hard to identify guide as they were not holding up sign as we were told so we could have totally missed the tour
Pompeii tour itself was fantastic Andreas our tour guide was great and also funny would throughly recommend

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guides Monica and Luca were excellent kept us informed right throughout the day and made sure everyone kept to time during the journey, at Pompeii we were met my a local guide Enzo who was very good as well. Make sure you have decent shoes as the hike up the mountain is on loose gravel. The views of the crater and the surrounding cities are amazing at the top...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was such a fun day out for us! Pompeii and Vesuvius were absolutely outstanding and our guides (Anna and Siliana) were great, they knew so much local history and landmarks and would point out interesting things for us on the way to and from pompeii on the bus but still gave us time to snooze.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our experience on the tour was a good one. We had a little difficulty understanding the tour guide once we were at Pompeii, but other than that, it was a great experience. The coach driver showed a lot of expertise driving up Mt Vesuvius and the tour guides on the bus were knowledgible. The tour guide lady was very kind and showed a lot of enthusiasm and assistance to all tourists.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic, really recommended. We were picked at our hotel 5 minutes later than expected time however we rec'd a call at the hotel to advise of this small delay so that was not a problem. We went to Pompeii first and our guide, Maria, was fantastic, her knowledge was impressive to say the least. We were shown several places of interest but if you wanted to see it all you would have to go for at least one full day if not more as the sight is so big. What we saw was brilliant.
A lunch stop at a nice restaurant with a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. Basic was it was delicious and authentic.
After lunch we headed up to Mt Vesuvius where was were given plenty of time to be able to walk from the car park area to the summit, and back again with spare time to look at the stalls and buy a postcard etc from the shop.
Fabulous day in all, my mum and I loved it :-

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fantastic tour. Really well organised and the local Pompeii guide Vincent was excellent.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message