Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2637 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

dcarter3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best tour I have ever taken! The driver picked us up on time in a nice vehicle. The tour guide was very interesting and did a great job explaining the events of Pompeii. We were then returned to our hotel. I think it was a great price for such a great tour!

Doing what: Half-Day Pompeii Sightseeing Trip from Sorrento

Michelle S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip but hot at Pompeii. Robert and Claudia were our tour guides and they made the trip to and from the site fun. They gave us a lot of historical and practical information. The archeological guide at Pompeii was fantastic. Pizza lunch was average but enjoyed getting to know some of the other tourists.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

antkyp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved this tour. Both of the guides were great and could answer any questions people had including providing lots of valuable information along the way.

I would defiantly recommend this tour to anyone wanting to experience Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Roderick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Luka and Kali were great entertainers as well as very knowledgeable about Mount Vesuvius and the local area of Pompei. Our local guide inside Pompeii was very friendly and also knowledgeable. I wish I would've grabbed my ticket for the tour as a momento. I do have some awesome pictures!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kathleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

You MUST do this trip! The information from the guide on the bus was so interesting as well as informative-Marris is outstanding and hope that you get her. Well organized, comfortable bus ride, absolutely top rated guide on our tour of Pompeii!
FANTASTIC! FABULOUS! OUTSTANDING!!!

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

frtofaln

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour to Pompeii and Hike were well worth the trip. The tour guide was very informative and knowledgeable about the site. This was our 8th English speaking tour that we booked using Viator while we were in Italy for almost 3 weeks.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Eduardo C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would have liked to have seen the Pompeii nation museum as well. Guides were great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Andrea M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It will be nice to have less time at the restaurant in order to have more time in Pompeii

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Peter K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We were lead by Melony with a shared bus - two tour groups both doing the same tour. Well organized pick-up with a small walk to the bus. Melony was awesome, lovely, and extremely passionate about sharing her knowledge. A few laugh along the way, we had an awesome day-trip.
The day was awesome. Perfect weather all the way. The two tour leads shared the commentary through Rome to the comfort-stop at Cassino. The bus driver showed the world how to go up the single-lane Vesuvius 'goat track' and we were in very safe hands.
Off at the top and we had 1 1/4 hours to climb up to the top - ample time for most fitness levels.
After Vesuvius was lunch - pizza and drink. Perfect. Then off to Pompeii for a guided-tour by the local expert. Very informative and a good speed - not too slow!
A nice drive home through the beautiful countryside and we even got restaurant tips before arriving back in Rome around 20:15.
So so so recommended! Thanks Mel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kylie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a fantastic experience! Our guides Claudia and Robert had so much passion for Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius that it made our group even more excited about the trip. I was amazed at how big Pompeii actually is and how much has survived for so long. You could be there a whole day and still not get to see everything. The walk up Mt Vesuvius was no walk in the park, but the beautiful views of the crater as well as the land and sea below make it totally worth while. It was an enjoyable day from start to finish.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Samantha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A well-organised, informative trip. The journey was a pleasure and Pompeii itself was truly amazing. We had the upgraded tour, which turned out to be perfect - definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Rome. I'd highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Christopher B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing tour of Pompeii and Vesuvius! Great tour guides and very knowledgable.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Donald L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the day. The guides - Rick and Andy - were informative and fun to be with. Our Pompeii guide Carla was also very good. I would highly recommend this trip if you have an extra day while in Rome. We were leary of the long bus ride but it wasn't bad and we learned lots of tips and interesting information along the way. We'd read that the hike was strenuous and while it was, it was worth it for the beautiful view.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jaymin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guides were very knowledgeable and took what would could have been a long boring day with many bus rides into the most informative day of our time in Rome. Climbing Mt Vesuvius was a real hike with beautiful views from the top of the crater. Pompeii was vast and we had our own Pompeii guide once we got to the archaeological site. Wish I had booked more tours with City Wonders. Again, the tour guides made this amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sherri F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great. We were picked up at our Hotel and went to Pompeii then Vesuvius. The bus was comfortable and the guide was very professional, funny and showed us things that normal visitors would probably never know.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Roberta C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pompeii best Tour ever !
They pick me up on time and I had an amazing time with our tour guide, she was very knowledgeable, really nice !

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Gregory G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius were wonderful. We were met at the hotel, driven to Pompeii and then handed off to other tour guides who spoke our respective languages. Lunch was fine. The bus guide told us when we arrived at the drop off point at Vesuvius it usually takes 30 minutes to hike up and 20 minutes to return to the rally point. It took every bit of that time. I was glad I wore tennis shoes and had wished that I wore shorts vice jeans. I recommend the tour. Enjoy your trip.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

kelice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding trip. Roberto was an excellent, informative, entertaining, and caring guide. The hike up Mt Vesuvius is doable for anyone in reasonably good health. We saw young children and very elderly adults making the trek. Lunch was Ok in a place catering to high volume bus groups. Pompeii is a place not to be missed. It was our second time at the sight and we enjoyed it just as much this time, thanks to our local guide, Bernadette. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

szabo3411

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Dimitri and Roberto were wonderful and knowledgeable guides. The tour was well organized from start to finish. Our local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was excellent too. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kimschellhaas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was the highlight of our vacation. Kierra was a fantastic guide! By the end of the day we considered her to be part of our family. She happily answered all questions and remained fun and enthusiastic throughout the day. Pompeii was incredible and fascinating ... a must-see if you have time

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Caroline D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour. Would highly recommend. The tour guide Alessandra was great, as was the local guide in Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Melissa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time exploring the city of Pompeii! The tour guide was very informative and funny. Hiking up Vesuvius was my favorite part of the trip, and the included lunch was very nice. Overall great tour, would use Viator again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

mehand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Chiana and Roberto were AMAZING! Not only were they VERY knowledgeable but they were also funny. They made my sister and I's trip to Pompeii memorable. I would HIGHLY recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Penny R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide Jonathan was great! This was an amazing tour and the walk up Mt. Vesuvius was great! Lunch was wonderful and we loved the tour through Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Peter G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a great experience. Comfortable bus that picks you up at the Piazza del Poppolo. It is a full day excursion with a stop halfway to Pompeii and back. The Pompeii tour was thorough and educational and an amazing site. A 20 min bus ride up winding roads takes you to Mt Vesuvius. Stunning views in the crater and down the mountain to the gulf. Several resting places along the climb. Our tour operators were phenomenal and gave us tips and information that added to the rest of our trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message