Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1920 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. They arrived on time at our hotel in Naples, and continued on with the tour even though there was only myself and one other person. It being mid January, there was no line going in to Pompeii, and we were able to get a very detailed and personal tour of the ancient city. After the tour, we asked to be brought to the city proper instead instead of our hotel, and they happily obliged. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The entire trip was outstanding.
The guides were very pleasant, and informative.
The added guides at the museum and Pompeii were great.

If you want a great experience book this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii is MUCH bigger than I had expected, very interesting to learn their lives. The tour guide was knowledgable and added humour along the way which is always a winner. Herculaneum is smaller but still a must do

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Tour was amazing. Our tour was in December 14. We were picked up right on time by the driver and guide and as it was off season; myself, my husband and two children were the only ones on the tour. We were at Pompeii 2+ hours and saw a huge amount. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Pompeii was very engaging and interesting. I felt a little smarter after listening to the tour guides talk on the busride about different things around us. On another trip to Italy I will take their advice to take a train to Cassino and go up the mountain to the monestary. The Museum in Naples was small, but very interesting to see. I would consider doing this tour again because later in March the tour includes a hike on Mount Vesuvius. I like how we stopped every 1.5 hours so people could stretch their legs and use the bathroom. Also, the pizza lunch was at a nice restaurant near Pompeii. The tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgable and showed the group the key areas in Pompeii. She also allowed people to take pictures and wander around on their own at times. There were a few children on the tour and all the tour guides were smart to warn the parents about certain parts in case some subject material at the museum or at Pompeii would be offensive to the children.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was fascinating and the guide was great! It did feel a little rushed at Pompeii, but the place is huge and there is loads to see. Plenty of time to look around Herculaneum afterwards.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

An interesting and amazing trip. definitely worth the price. excellent local tour guide in Pompeii which brought the story alive. A great tour guide for the whole trip was Roberto who was in charge of us all day long. Amazing his knowledge and all. Roberto continue this way. wakee wakee, wake u up ;-)))

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide Luca was incredible, and you could tell how much he knew and loved this history of Rome and surrounding areas. He spoke very clearly and kept us highly entertained with facts as we made our way to and through Pompeii. We also liked that City Wonders had our best interests at heart - even down to keeping us hydrated! When we got to lunch, the first drink was free and we were recommended to not order a second drink and just buy a bottle of water off the bus for a cheap 1 euro only, since the drinks in the restaurant were way more expensive! The tour of Pompeii was incredible, we would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day with a great tour guide. Would of been nice to have an additional 30-60 minutes in pompeii

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Massimo our guide was fantastic. Pompeii was fantastic! In one word FANTASTIC!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour climb was excellent, Pompeii awesome and lunch great, this tour is a real highlight...

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very interesting day trip. My three kids loved the Naples Museum and walk around Pompeii. We took great pics to share on FB. Our tour guides, Stephanie and Sara, were well-informed and made the long day very enjoyable. Next time we are in Italy we will stay stay longer in Pompeii. Lunch was great.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message