• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1625 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a wonderful tour. Hectoro and Antonella were great hosts. It's a long day (13 hours), but totally worth it. It's about a 3-hour ride on the bus to Vesuvius, with a stop halfway for a breakfast and bathroom break. You hike up the top part of Vesuvius. It's about a 25-minute hike, and it is pretty steep. Definitely don't wear flip flops, and if you're out of shape, it could be tough. The pizza lunch was better than I expected, and the tour of Pompeii was unbelievable. It's so expansive, and our tour guide Louisa really knew her stuff. Put this trip on your list if you have a day free. One bit of advice -- use the restrooms you come across during the Pompeii tour if you can. At the end of the tour, there are only 2 bathrooms, and it was utter chaos for the hundreds of people who finished the tour and waited. There are a few scattered around the old city.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Had a great day out thanks to Antonella and Daniel for their wonderful commentary. The bus trip and the lunch were great, but the climbing Mt Vesuvius and walking through the streets of Pompeii were absolutely breathtaking. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in history or nature. A truly brilliant day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour! Enough time to see Pompeii and there's plenty of options so you can do the tour if you want, or not. Awesome trip assistant! 3 hrs on the bus goes by pretty quick too.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this tour. This was so well done from beginning to end. Our tour guides were Roberto and Massimo- simply amazing. They had a wealth of information to share. They were funny, entertaining and simply engaging. The 3 hour trip flew by. We loved all the historical information and stories. The bus does stop for a break after 90 minutes or so at a coffee shop/souvenir shop. At Pompeii, we were met by a local guide who was also great. Following the tour, we were taken to a pizza lunch in Pompeii. This was not in Naples as the description of this tour implies, but that was still ok. Unfortunately, following lunch we were told that Mount Vesuvius was closed for the day, due to a tragic accident. The guides were very professional and did the best with an unanticipated situation. We were taken to Naples instead. We drove through for a city tour and then stopped at the archeological museum. Even though, we were disappointed we didn't get to climb Mt. Vesuvius, we still enjoyed this tour. I highly recommend visiting Pompeii with this tour company. These are simply the best tour guides you could have.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was amazing how well preserved Pompeii was considering it was 79 AD when it was buried. It was like stepping back in time. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was great. The views were awesome. The pizza lunch was delicious. The tour guides were entertaining. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Group leaders on the bus were very knowledgeable and entertaining. Although Mt. Vesuvius was closed due to rain, the museum we went to in Naples was very good. The English speaking tour guide in Pompeii was excellent. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Pompeii and the design of the city. Also showed a sense of humor at the right times of the tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything about the trip was amazing and defiantly the highlight of our holiday! Our guide was brilliant, very knowledgeable and a great character! Easily the best guide I've ever had! I would highly recommend this trip to anyone considering a trip to Pompeii, it was a long day but nothing too taxing! The trip up Vesuvius was spectacular and possibly my favorite part!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The bus, guides, and scenery were all great! The information provided during the bus trip and the walk in Pompeii with the local guide were excellent!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was brilliant! It went on for over 12 hours but it was all worth it. Our guide Robert (Roberto) was great, very knowledgeable in history, geology (and vulcanology) and overall brilliant story teller which made the trip even better. Seeing and climbing the Vesuvius is amasing (not easy) but when you do it and watch down from 1.5km that is worth everything! As for Pompeii that is a must see. Overall exhilarating experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip out to Pompeii with a very informative guide, took us to all the places where I probably would have missed if I was on my own. Got a an air conditioned car to Mt Vesuvius, about 20-30 walk to the top. The tough walk to the top is worth it after seeing the view of the Bay of Naples.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Amazing!
We were picked up outside of our hotel on time. The guide was very knowledgable. Pompeii was incredible. The whole trip went very smoothly! We were impressed and happy;)

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent trip to Pompeii , even though our guide was a fill in She did fine. Driver was great. Went we got to Mt Vesuvious we couldn't climb to top due to rain and mud slide. A little disappointed but mostly a great tour!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message