Pompeii, the ancient Roman city that was buried in volcanic ash and therefore preserved for modern explorers, is one of Italy's most popular attractions. With all the historic monuments throughout Italy, it's still hard to beat being able to walk ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1932 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I were picked up for this tour from the Naples train station. We had to cross the road and go slightly to the left. Simple enough, but it was a bit awkward as we weren't sure we were in the right place until other couples showed up. Two vans showed up on time to take us on the tour. We started off at Pompeii where we met our tour guide and picked up a microphone relay system. He was really friendly and telling lots of jokes which helped make the tour fun as well as informative. Pompeii is amazingly well preserved. I loved hearing about the streets and how they were named based on the Roman god's face who dispensed water at the corners Roman empire was huge with many languages from conquered areas, but everyone knew the Roman gods. The streets were sunken a bit so that when the animals did their business it stayed there. The stepping stones to cross the road were really neat as were the water fountains at the end of the streets which were used to fill up a basin that could be used to clean the road since the whole town was on a tilt. We walked through a bath house with beautiful frescos, and saw two molds of poor souls who lost their lives when Pompeii was buried. We also went to a brothel that had interesting frescos again different languages so pictures were used to communicate, I'll leave it at that. All the time we were in Pompeii, I couldn't help but notice Mt Vesuvius looming in the background. Lunch was simple and quick, then we were driven to Mt Vesuvius. We climbed up an amazingly steep grade for what seemed like an eternity, taking numerous breaks to catch our breath. The view from the top was well worth it though.

Highlights:
Tour guide knew his stuff and was fun to be around
Pompeii is amazingly well preserved and is a must see if you're in/near Naples
Mt Vesuvius provides stunning views of the surrounding area, if you're up for the hike
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out from Rome. Exceptionally well organised by informative and entertaining guides. Fabulous walk up to the top of Vesuvius...would certainly not have wanted to do the drive up there, so was glad to leave it to the expert coach driver. Adequate lunch and then a wonderful tour of Pompeii with another great guide. Stops half way on both legs of the journey were appreciated.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

really amazing! Where to begin?! I'll start with saying what a great guide Monica was! We went on this tour last Friday the 10th. It was all very informative and I've always felt a very strong connections towards Pompeii and its history. It's hard to explain! I've always believed I was there in a past life to be honest! I've wanted to go all my life and couldn't have asked for a better team to accompany us there. They were a great laugh had lots of interesting facts and useful information for Rome.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Roberto was such an amazing tour guide! I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to visit pompeii and mount vesuvius! The day was long but Roberto kept everyone in high spirits! Some great information provided.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a great tour. Our guide was Roberto and he was upbeat, funny and energetic from 7:30am on. He was very knowledgeable about Vesuvius and Pompeii and shared his knowledge on the drive down. He made sure everyone was accounted for so we never had to worry about being left behind. Roberto's sharing of facts about Vesuvius and folklore about the area added to the entire experience.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was the most amazing tour I did while in Italy. Our tour guide was amazing and made it easy to follow along. He had a great personality and sense of humor. Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius were both unbelievable. The included lunch was great! Definitely worth it, recommended to all

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our family really enjoyed our tour of Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii. It was well-organized and was an excellent value. We were met in front of the train station and escorted to small touring buses. The on-board guide narrated in multiple languages about the area as we drove from Naples to Pompeii. Upon our arrival to the ancient site the groups were divided into language groups. Our second guide was enthusiastic, informative and highly entertaining. He had a way of bringing the city to life, sharing his knowledge in a way that connected with the adults as well as our teen and preteen. After our great tour of Pompeii we were given a bit of time to find souvenirs and use the facilities. Then we went across the street to a wonderful restaurant. While there we had a huge portion of the best pizza we had during our 10-day stay in Italy. After lunch our tour bus took us to Mt. Vesusvius. Our driver impressively navigate the narrow and winding roads with skill. From the parking lot, we enjoyed our 1.2 kilometers hike to the top of the great volcano. It was a steady ascent, but there were several resting stations along the way. Standing atop the volcano's peak was definitely a highlight of our vacation, as was this tour as a whole.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was fantastic! Syriana was the best guide- she is very knowledgeable, friendly and funny! The tour guide at Pompeii, Enrico, was the same. I can't recommend this trip more highly. Everyone should book it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

great day out with lovely guides on a large coach - driver was very good considering i suffer travel sickness i didnt feel ill at all. Actual tour of Pompeii was great - we visited in January so the crowds were very few and we had an easy walk around with our knowledgeable guide. Lunch was provided also, pizza which was very nice. Toilet stops there and back - well organised and well scheduled.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a dream come true for me. It's a very long day- take something for breakfast (but you can't eat on the bus, though they do stop in Cassino, about 3 hours south of Rome). We went to the Archeological Museum of Naples (winter) for a couple of hours before lunch at a 'mess hall' style restaurant just outside Pompeii. Pizza was awesome! Had a fantastic tour with an elderly local Pompeiian (yes, there is now 'New Pompeii'!) who was very funny and informative. Got back into Rome at about 8pm the same day. Would definitely do again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The guide was excellent and the lunch whilst options were very limited the quality of the food was excellent. Maybe an additional 30 minutes for Mt Vesuvius would have been great, the ages ranges and ability of the group varied, so not everyone was able to got to the top and back in time. Pompeii was very busy but our guide was excellent, engaging and full of enthusiam and knowledge. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. They arrived on time at our hotel in Naples, and continued on with the tour even though there was only myself and one other person. It being mid January, there was no line going in to Pompeii, and we were able to get a very detailed and personal tour of the ancient city. After the tour, we asked to be brought to the city proper instead instead of our hotel, and they happily obliged. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Pompeii was outstanding! Luca and Elena were excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message