Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 813 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hannah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour! Daniel was a wonderful and fun chef and was one of my highlights of Italy!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

kelli k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

this was such a unique experience, highly recommended!! i would book this experience again in a heartbeat

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Russell B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A wonderful morning and afternoon! This was the highlight of our 3 week vacation -

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Dennis E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous day! This was the highlight of my trip to Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Esperanza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fun class even if you do not do much cooking. Learning how to make pasta and homemade tomato sauce was easier than I thought. If you have already seen the highlights of Rome and want something different, this cooking lesson is for you.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Don H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was everything we had hoped for, and then some. Chef Marinella Gatta and her sous chef Francesco were very down to earth and attentive in imparting their expert knowledge of the craft and tradition of the Cucina Romana. We headed out of Rome to a small working village with an ancient quarter. On the way to a restored rustic villa in this ancient quarter we grabbed a coffee amidst gathering ingredients from a vegetable stand, a butcher, and a small market with a delicatessen. We then settled into our quaint villa's cozy kitchen for a day of preparing a 6-course meal. Our appetizers were six different types of bruschetta and sliced aged Romano cheese with black peppercorns accompanied by a very well matched regional white wine Vermentino di Sardegna Doc. Then we made 3 different fresh pastas from scratch with different ingredients: ravioli, fettuccine and gnocchi. We also prepared veal for saltimbocca with prosciutto and sage and a scratch sauce. The ravioli were stuffed with a mild regional ricotta with spinach and lemon zest, and in a sauce of similar ingredients. The fettuccine was in a made from scratch with fresh tomatoes sauce and rendered pork cheek. The gnocchi was in a sauce made with sausage and veronica romanesco, with pecorino romano cheese. White wine accompanied the meal through to the ravioli, then we went to a regional red blend Sangiovese-Merlot from Puglia. Dessert was a kicked up use of fresh pears, cinnamon and panettone baked and topped off with fresh whipped cream and cocoa accents. We cannot recommend this excursion enough. All this and door-to-door service. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. This was having an expert visiting chef in a friends well-equipped kitchen on a laid back weekend day. Very, very nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Robert O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a wonderful class! Wish we had not done this at the end of Italian vacation! Would have eaten differently on the trip if we had done this first! What a great night!

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

Bryan I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome cooking class!!!!! So much fun, and wine was being poured with no limits! Food was
great , lots of fun! Well worth the money. Give yourself enough time to get to the meeting point!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

George S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Really did this for wife but thoroughly enjoyed it. It was lots of fun and chefs were great. I highly recommend this and found it well worth the money . To me it was a great surprise and definitely a learning experience. It is very memorable .

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Sandra P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was so awesome! It was really one of our favorite outings in Rome. The medieval village was postcard perfect. The best part was getting to visit with and learn from Marinella and Francesco. Marinella is an excellent teacher and chef. She tailored her menu and approach to suit our tastes and level of experience. Francesco is an excellent sous chef and teacher. Both were so welcoming and fun! I would love to go back soon.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Abrar A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was amazing! I truly enjoyed it, we learned how to make 3 kinds of pasta, steak and tiramisu.
They made us eat so much we couldn and #39;t walk after the class!
We walked through the farmers market, butcher and visited the oldest bakery in town.
Thank you for the wonderful experience! ❤️

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Debra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceeded expectations by a mile! Chef Vittoria customized the menu to my tastes and we cooked and ate excellent food. Not to mention the trip to the markets and Chef's tips and observations along the way. Without reservation, I would recommend this experience to anyone who loves food! Ten stars!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was definitely a trip highlight. I had so much fun I immediately booked another cooking class for the following day.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Maryann K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic class in lovely loft. Lots of good tips for cooking.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Kathleen A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most AMAZING cooking class I've ever taken. It far exceeded my expectations. The chef was so awesome and helpful. We learned how to cook 4 different pasta dishes in addition to eggplant parmigiani and tiramisu. The 2 other students in the class with me were also blown away by the chef and his teaching and cooking techniques. I can't wait to go back to Italy again next year and sign up for another class. If you do anything in Rome, you MUST take this class. It is so worth the time and money. Trust me, you will not regret it. If anything, you will regret not taking it. Loved, loved, loved it!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Derrick C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a really good experience from start to finish. The only complaint I have is we were told we would be sent the recipes for the dishes we made and nothing has been emailed to us yet. We really want to recreate the experience back home, but it may only be in our memories.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Jeffery H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was are second class and we were not disappointed. Paolo was excellent and the food was great. Just us and another couple.The kitchen is located on Tiber Island and what a place! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a really excellent day - we were upgraded from the half day cooking class at no extra cost and went out into the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The staff were extremely nice when one of the party was feeling unwell. The food was delicious and the Chianti only served to enhance the mood and break the ice with the others in the group - we had a good giggle. Would recommend this class as a really good experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Leslie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I'd give this 10 stars if it were an option!!! Our chef, Mari not sure of spelling and her assistant Francisco were great. We learned so much in a very warm and inviting setting not to mention beautiful and it felt like spending the day in the kitchen with old friends. Do not miss this one!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Sharon D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was without a doubt the best experience I had while in Rome. The chef, Marinella, was wonderful, and the small size of the group 7 meant we got lots of hands-on experience. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

KGoldie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We so enjoyed this cooking experience the staff was very entertaining and informative!!!! We enjoyed the trip to the market and making a full dinner!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Kirk S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the high light of our tour of Italy. Chefs David and Allen, made it fun, educational, entertaining and delicious. We can't wait to try out our new skills at home

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Bobby B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome experience

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Philip C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a wonderful experience. Learnt lots and location was amazing. Instructor was great and whole trip was informative and fun

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message