Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 897 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great class. Lots of fun cooking with little bites and wine in between. Easy to follow and tastes great.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Federico was our chef for the day. He was an excellent teacher - explained well the theory behind what we were doing to help us understand the concepts behind the food we were making.

The day started with a tour of the local markets to buy the ingredients for our menu. The markets were colourful and filled with delicious, fresh ingredients.

We then returned to an apartment nearby to begin cooking. We began with preparing the tomatoes for the base sauce. Next we made two types of pasta dough - one with semolina/water the other with flour/egg.

There was a choice of red or white wine that was plentiful.

Federico made the sauces, all the while explaining what he was doing and why. I found it really interesting and gained some great tips.

We ate three different pasta/sauce dishes, veal with a lemon sauce ending with fresh strawberries with balsamic and mint.

This was a really fun day. Federico is entertaining and knowledgeable. His assistant did a great job behind the scenes. Thank you so much to both of them.

I'd highly recommend this tour as something different from the traditional Rome experiences.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved, loved, loved this cooking lesson. Monica was awesome and so were her helpers. Had a blast. Now I want to take a one week cooking class in Italy!! The food was out of this world and she made it seem effortless. Making pasta is the first thing I'm going to do when I get home. We were three couples and one lovely lady from Tasmania. This was by far the highlight of our trip!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My daughter and I loved this tour! The hosts were so fun to work with and we learned so much and we are both experienced cooks. The food we created was delicious and there was plenty to go around. We are not coffee or wine drinkers and they made accommodations for this: we dipped our tiramisu cookies in milk instead of coffee and we were offered soda instead of the wine. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We ended up only have 4 people in the cooking class, so it felt like a private lesson! Fabio met us at the Campo di' Fiori outdoor market, and took us to his preferred vendors to select fresh vegetables, meats and breads for our class. He then took us on an unexpected short walking tour of the neighborhood...where he seemed to know everyone we bumped into! The cooking class was held at his gorgeous two-story with rooftop deck apartment, within 5 minutes walking distance from the market. We made three types of pasta, bruschetta, broccoli and zucchini and strawberries with balsamic dressing for dessert. DELICOUS meal! The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five stars was because we did not get to actually cook any of the food only preparation...Fabio had a kitchen staff for cooking. Additionally, we only shared one bottle of wine during the meal. It would have been nice to have wine during the preparation process also. However, Fabio was a fabulous cook and host, and we had a great time! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a local, unique experience while visiting Rome. Be warned that it will take up your entire day though...9am-3pm.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an absolute fantastic experience. It has been on my wish list for a long time and never disappointed. Frederico was a really good teacher, funny and very knowledgable. I would recommend this for anyone visiting Rome. It was great being able to select your own produce

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fantastic day, I was picked up from my hotel and driven to the meeting point to meet Monica , who drove us to the old roman town of Mazzano. It was charming. We purchased our food and then went into an original home and cooked up a storm. In the end we cooked an amazing array of roman dishes. It was a well run course and Monica and her helpers ensured we all had a great day of traditional cooking. We were driven back to Rome and then taken back to our hotels in taxis. A great service to finish a wonderful day.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a fun and relaxing day spent learning real Italian cooking. My children really enjoyed making pasta from scratch, and the graduation ceremony is a special touch! The hosts are not stingy with the wine and food, with plenty for everyone. I cook regularly but I still learned new things through this class. We came away eager to recreate this delicious food at home.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic! Our chef Monica was brilliant in her teaching skills in making the novice and experienced cooks on the group successful in making three types of pasta dishes, a meat dish and a dessert. I would do this again. No problems at all were encountered. A great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

LOVED this tour. Fernando was a wonderful chef - engaging and fun. Amazing fun making pasta then eating it at the restaurant. A must do tour in Rome

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Spectacular.....Federico was everything you could have wanted. Knowledgable, entertaining and patient. Cannot recommend this experience more. We went with our 13 yr old grandson who loved it.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely the best day out. We weren't sure exactly what we had signed up for but it looked like fun. We had no idea how much fun we would have learning, and cooking, and eating, and laughing - all in a fantastic setting. Not just a highly recommended, this one is a must do excursion for experienced and amateur cooks alike.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The wine and olive oil tasting was amazing, our guide was fun, upbeat and knowledgable.
Our dinner was great and I can't wait to make the pizza again.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Wine and Olive Oil Tasting Plus Gelato and Pizza Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the most fun experiences we have ever had on a tour. Chef Fabio showed us how to make the best Spinach and Ricotta ravioli I have ever tasted!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The cooking staff was entertaining and my wife three daughters, and I really enjoyed it. The group was only 21 and they said there was room for 25; I don't think that is realistic once you consider the amount of counter space you need for the rolling pins.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So much fun. Our chef, Giovanni, taught us to make our own tiramisu, pasta, and 2 sauces. Setting was lovely, attention was good, and food was among the best we had in Italy. Best of all, we got sent home with recipes so we can make it all again! if you're a foodie, this is well worth spending a day of your vacation.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our cooking experience was excellent
Our chef Alessio was very engaging
Taught each step very well and the food was fabulous
We will always remember this day!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really great tour. The food was terrific and it was so much fun sharing this experience with people from other countries. A nice size for individual attention.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was definitely I highlight of our trip. I went with my 15 year old daughter and she couldn't stop talking about it. The chefs were great and so much fun. I would love to do this again.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Outstanding. The instructor was amazing and cant wait to take all I learned and cook - Outstanding

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful - learning from the beginning with getting fresh ingredients from the market to making pasta from scratch to having a great meal! Federico and his assistant made it fun. He was so great at showing and explaining the process and we were able to get our hands dirty also - as it is easier to learn if we did the work also!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took this class with 3 of my friends while we stayed in Florence. I have to say it was one of my favorite parts of our stay! We started with the wine and olive oil tasting. Our guide Lilli was amazing and she gave us some history of both the wine and olive oil making process. We got to try 3 different wines and then have a glass of our favorite. We also tried variations of balsamic vinaigrette. I liked one of them so much I ended up purchasing it. Next we took a bus to the pizza and gelato making. The view from this location was great and we got some really nice sunset pictures of the hills of Italy. With the help of our awesome guide Alessio, we learned how to make the dough, roll it out, and let it rise. While our dough was rising we learned about gelato and how to identify authentic gelato in the different stores. Not only did I learn a lot, but the pizza came out great and the gelato was amazing! I highly recommend this experience!

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Wine and Olive Oil Tasting Plus Gelato and Pizza Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The cooking class was great. The direction from Frederico was great and the food we cooked was fabulous. I would recommend this class to everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fun 1/2 day! From the market to the prep, wine tasting and lunch...just a great day doing something I never...ever...do. Cook. It really is low pressure for anyone out there like me that really has no cooking skills. Great instructors/chefs give you clear info in a fun setting. I walked away full of food and full of accomplishment. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message