Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 835 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Charlotte S N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely worth the money. Great chef who was funny and full of good information. What a nice way to meet others.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Christy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was so much fun!!! I had way too much wine while we were cooking so I don't remember everything but from what I do remember and from watching my videos later and looking at my photos I can tell you that I had a great time!!! We met our chef Martina in the morning and went to the farmers market to do our shopping. There were just four of us in the class and I think that is a perfect size. We walked to the house where we had our cooking lesson. I had read a review where someone said it took 45 minutes. It actually took about 10 minutes. The home was lovely and really well equipped for our class. We started drinking and cooking. They keep the wine coming. : We made three different types of pasta from scratch. We made a meat dish and we made dessert. It was all wonderful but you are absolutely stuffed by the time you get leave. There is no way you could possibly eat everything you make. After you leave there you can go to the owner's restaurant and pick up your little board that you use to make one of the pastas that we made. I have to admit I don't remember much about this at all. : We took a cab there with our new best friends Matt and Charlotte who were in the class with us. We met at 9:15 in the morning and we were done around 2:00. I wish I could emphasize more what a great time this class was. There is no pressure to do anything just right. It is very laid back and they do all of the cleaning up. : Later in the week I took a tour to the Amalfi Coast and I met 5 other people who had also taken this class and they agreed that it was one of the best times they had in Rome also. So, it isn't just the wine talking. :

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Elaina H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

skibunnymommy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic food and host. Very flexible with our booking. Out of all the things we did in Rome this was hands down the most enjoyable evening we had!

Doing what: Pasta 101- Learn to make your own home-made pasta or pizza at a chef's home

Tricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabulous tour with hosts, Martina and Nicoletta! They greeted us promptly at 9am and took us to the market while providing us background of the sites and culture. Martina is an expert Michelin 3 chef who gave us direction on the best foods to choose for our lesson. Martina and Nicoletta work well together while exchanging humor and instructions to the group. We made 3 types of homemade pasta that were beyond delicious and a veal entree too. If only they were in my kitchen now to guide me with their skill! The day past quickly as we had so much enjoyment in the 5 hours with them. Sincerely thank you for a spectacular cooking day, the chef Martina and Nicoletta! Buon appetito!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a great tour to take while in Rome. Nicolina and Martina were fantastic hosts and I learned a lot throughout the day. We started by going to the market and we learned a little about the food we'd be using. Then, we went to a beautiful apartment to cook. We made 3 different kinds of pasta, a veal dish they accommodated for vegetarians and a dessert, which was absolutely delicious. It was definitely worth the money and a good morning spent in Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Whit G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

One of the best parts of my trip to Rome. The entire class was truly a memorable part of my week in Rome. It was a great night.

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both of my classes--a 6 hour small group and the Pizza and Gelato class--were wonderful! The chefs Daniel, Davide and Guiseppe were organized, knowledgeable, fun. They were thorough in teaching the techniques, science, presentation of each dish. The students were engaged in the class and interested. I would recommend these classes to anyone traveling to Florence! Laura Claverie, New Orleans, USA

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Gloria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. would suggest anyone interesting in Italian cooking take this course

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Andrew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was our first time taking a cooking class anywhere. All 6 of us had a great time! The instructors were friendly, knowledgeable and fun. The food was terrific! We plan on taking the pizza/gelato cooking class when we return. We will definitely recommend to our family and friends. GRAZIE!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

jngoodsell

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Best part of our entire trip!! Paulo was amazing, and the food was even better!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Carrie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was one of the highlights of my trip to Rome!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Lyndsay F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was such a fun day, and I highly recommend this small group cooking class! Alex and Daniel make learning about Italian, and specifically Tuscan, cooking fun and exciting. After an educational tour through the central market, we went back to their cooking school to learn how to make different pastas, multiple sauces, and the best tiramisu I have ever had. The wine was fantastic as well! Also, I'm a vegetarian, and they were prepared for that and flexible when they learned another participant was pregnant and couldn't have raw eggs. I will definitely take another class if I'm back in Florence again. Thanks guys!!!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Edmund E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A fantastic day, filled with information, experience, and great food. Our host was entertaining, friendly, and knowledgeable, the day well organized, and the location was great. Thoroughly recommended!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Bob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I can't say enough about this experience. From the shopping at the market to the cooking of the food it was the best experience I had in Rome. Martina and Nicolette were the best and I got to meet Chef Fabio. If you go to Rome you must experience this cooking lesson. I learned so much and had a great time doing it.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Phil D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was the second time I took this tour and it did not disappoint. Although somewhat different from the first time I took this same tour, it was just as much fun and enjoyable.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Nichole D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The food was delicious and I learned a lot.

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It was an amazing experience!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a marvelous time learning some of the basics of Italian cooking, especially choosing good ingredients. Making home-made pasta is not as hard as it seems! Paolo and his assistant Marco were the best!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Hannah P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Absolutely fantastic tour! Daniel was a wonderful and fun chef and was one of my highlights of Italy!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

kelli k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

this was such a unique experience, highly recommended!! i would book this experience again in a heartbeat

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Russell B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A wonderful morning and afternoon! This was the highlight of our 3 week vacation -

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Dennis E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous day! This was the highlight of my trip to Rome.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Esperanza G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a fun class even if you do not do much cooking. Learning how to make pasta and homemade tomato sauce was easier than I thought. If you have already seen the highlights of Rome and want something different, this cooking lesson is for you.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Don H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was everything we had hoped for, and then some. Chef Marinella Gatta and her sous chef Francesco were very down to earth and attentive in imparting their expert knowledge of the craft and tradition of the Cucina Romana. We headed out of Rome to a small working village with an ancient quarter. On the way to a restored rustic villa in this ancient quarter we grabbed a coffee amidst gathering ingredients from a vegetable stand, a butcher, and a small market with a delicatessen. We then settled into our quaint villa's cozy kitchen for a day of preparing a 6-course meal. Our appetizers were six different types of bruschetta and sliced aged Romano cheese with black peppercorns accompanied by a very well matched regional white wine Vermentino di Sardegna Doc. Then we made 3 different fresh pastas from scratch with different ingredients: ravioli, fettuccine and gnocchi. We also prepared veal for saltimbocca with prosciutto and sage and a scratch sauce. The ravioli were stuffed with a mild regional ricotta with spinach and lemon zest, and in a sauce of similar ingredients. The fettuccine was in a made from scratch with fresh tomatoes sauce and rendered pork cheek. The gnocchi was in a sauce made with sausage and veronica romanesco, with pecorino romano cheese. White wine accompanied the meal through to the ravioli, then we went to a regional red blend Sangiovese-Merlot from Puglia. Dessert was a kicked up use of fresh pears, cinnamon and panettone baked and topped off with fresh whipped cream and cocoa accents. We cannot recommend this excursion enough. All this and door-to-door service. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. This was having an expert visiting chef in a friends well-equipped kitchen on a laid back weekend day. Very, very nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message