Italy may be littered with important art and medieval ruins, but it’s the food (and vino ) that makes you fall in love with the place. Pasta, pizza, pinot grigio – bring on the carbs! Walking through vast cathedrals and across expansive piazzas  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 934 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic class! I attended with my daughter and my friend joined us with his son and daughter ages 11, 12 and 14. All of us had a great time!

Started by going to the market to see all of the fresh produce and visit the local butcher. Then on to the Academy to prepare lunch. Started by making tiramisu since it needs to chill for at least 2 hours and then we made fresh pasta. Best part was we got to eat it all!

5 hours seemed to fly by. The kids weren't bored at all and the food was restaurant quality!

Highly recommended!!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

One of the most fun things we did in Florence. Giovanni was great. Learned a lot about cooking and was a lot of fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My daughter and I attended the small-group Italian cooking class in Florence in late July and it was the highlight of our trip. The instructors were excellent, lots of fun and really made learning Italian cooking easy. I never thought making home-made pasta could be so easy - and fun! And getting to eat the fruits of our labor and wash it down with some great table wine made it even better. Thank you so much!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I highly recommend this activity if you love to cook, hate crowds, have seen all the sights of Rome already, and want to experience something different. This class gave me the chance to take home a little bit of Rome that will last forever.

Length: 5.5 hours
Difficulty: Easy, but does involve a bit of walking from market to kitchen. Be prepared to walk about 15 minutes. Stairs are involved.
Included: Food and wine. Can cater to vegetarians too! Take notes!
Max participants: 8
Fulfilled by: Fabiolous Cooking Day

Our chef was Chef Federico Alessandri and his assistant Nicoletta. We started the morning by going to the market in Campo de' Fiori. Federico taught us how to pick the best vegetables and tomatoes. We then went to a cheese shop and butcher shop for more ingredients, then headed off to a private kitchen on Tibur Island.

Once in the heavenly air-conditioned apartment, we donned our aprons and started chopping. He gave us so many tips and tricks about cooking including how to prepare tomatoes, cook garlic properly, and blanch vegetables. We created two kinds of pasta -- semolina/water and flour/egg. We created and kneaded the dough ourselves including stuffing and rolling the pasta. Chef Federico and Nicoletta did all the actual cooking, but Federico taught us how to do it all ourselves.

In the end, we dined on 5 amazing courses -- Spaghettini with tomato sauce over seared tomatoes, topped with fresh mozzarella and basil Cappelletti pasta filled with zucchini, ricotta, and lemon zest, finished with a parmesan white sauce and red wine reduction Strozzapreti in a creamy broccoli and cheese I think pecorino, can't remember sauce

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was an excellent day of cooking with my daughter. We had so much fun cooking together and making beautiful food from scratch. The chefs were friendly, helpful and very organized. I would recommend this cooking class to everyone! A highlight of our Florence trip for sure!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fantastic way to submerse yourself into the rich culture of Rome. Chef Federico was superb and made the entire day an amazing experience! Highly recommend this cooking class if you're looking to learn more insights about Italian cooking whilst enjoying a fantastic lunch, and all the while being in great company.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a wonderful experience. We had fun with the instructors and the other participants. We enjoyed the time spent with them and learned how to make delicious pasta.
Thank you for a wonderful and memorable experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this was a remarkable tour. It was certainly a highlight. Vitoria was a great chef and host. Very enjoyable day

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was great, my husband and I really enjoyed it. Don't hesitate to take the class you will not regret it.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fabulous cooking tour with our host chef Federico. Gave us real insight to Italian cooking and food culture. Federico was great - very engaging, patient and entertaining. If you are looking for a break from the standard Rome site seeing tours then I thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was amazing. She was very knowledgeable, well paced, and friendly. We also did the cooking class and had an amazing time making three different types of fresh pasta. Our instructor was very friendly and a wonderful teacher. This was definitely well worth the money!

Doing what: Rome Walking Tour and Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the best times I had while I was in Rome. Federico was great and very funny. Both he and Nicoleta really made this a great time. I would highly recommend. I can't wait to go back!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Oh, Wow! Best food in Italy and so much fun! Definitely do this when in Florence.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

marlene.zwerin
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was one of the highlights of our two week trip. I took the class with my daughter. The chefs were friendly and knowledgeable. The experience delivered more than the write-up describes. The trip to the market was great! We took my husband and son back the next day. It was so much fun working together and then eating our creations. I can't wait to try the recipes at home.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I LOVED this and it is one of my best memories from my entire trip. The class is educational, fun and very hands on. I plan on inviting my friends an family over for fresh pasta now that I'm home. I definitely recommend this - it's such a great experience outside of the more typical tourist activities...

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Incredible experience!!! Chef Federico is funny and incredibly talented. I LOVE to cook and this was the absolute highlight of my dream trip to Italy. Could not recommend this experience more highly! Will remember this experience for the rest of my life!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best experience of our trip to Europe! Our chef did an excellent job of explaining and demonstrating the proper cooking techniques for our recipes. The whole class enjoyed both cooking and eating the meal they prepared. We would enthusiastically recommend this experience to others.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved the experience! We were with Chef Leo who was fantastic with interesting stories and great cooking tips. Delicious food and a lot of it - we ended up 6 or 7 courses! The little town is very quaint and lovely. I'd highly recommended it, it is so worth it!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Outstanding cooking class! Andrea made this class so much fun!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

Beverly M
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent and entertaining instructors. Clean and comfortable classroom. Great wine with perfect food pairings. The pizza making class was really fun and the pizza turned out great! The gelato was also very yummy.

Doing what: Florence Super Saver: Wine and Olive Oil Tasting Plus Gelato and Pizza Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great evening with fabulous food and a fun group. Antonella and Gigi were the perfect hosts. Grazie mille!

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

So much fun and so much food! Very delicious and great easy recipes to make at home!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Such an outstanding experience. Staff, cooks, and classmates were truly fun to be with. It was a blast and the scenery at the villa made it even more special. Gracie!

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent class! My husband and I had so much fun at the market and then learning how to prepare the foods. This was my favorite tour of my 2 week trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Italian Cooking Class in Florence

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

FANtastic!!!! Chef Federico was awesome! I knew my wife would love this but so did I. Federico was entertaining, informative and the food was excellent. We made it sort of like he did when we returned home. It was really neat to see the markets where they bought the food. Great experience to bring your family. Well worth the money. Unrelated to the class, I was displeased with the front office who told me to be at a different place than the meeting place. When I called they said if we didn't show up at 9:15am 9:30am start they would leave us behind we had a bus show up 30 minutes late. We did make it on time 9:17am and they weren't there. We called and they said they would be there in 10 minutes so it's ok for them I guess. However, Chef Federico and his assistant Nichole were looking for us and spotted us searching. They said they would have waited for us no problem. So long story short, front office was a mess but do this anyways because Chef Federico made it all better!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message