• USD ($)
  • English

Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

Archaelogy and Ethnography Museum

The Izmir Archaeology and Ethnography Museum are 2 separate museums located side by side on the hill at Bahribaba Park, just a short walk from Konak. The Archaeology Museum is blessed with Greek and Roman relics taken from its neighbouring ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it was very nice tour,gide was very polite and introduce us to a very interesting thing we did not know before

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our guide made sure we had a very comprehensive and interesting tour.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had a wonderful time in izmir our guide Philis was very patient and professional. There is a lot too learn

Doing what: Private Tour: Ephesus and St. Mary's House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Gülar was wonderful, very knowledgable and personable. The tour ran like clockwork and we all had a terrific time. Thanks!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ephesus and St. Mary's House

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great. Fantastic. Our guide was so nice and so knowledgable. The driver was very good, and also very personable. I enjoyed the tour and guide so much I didn't want it to end. Also, it was obvious how much she loved her country, and that was wonderful.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

we were met at the ship on time and that was good. I thought that from the information before booking we would visit the Izmir Museum, which did not happen, perhaps i was mistaken, as we did visit an historical sight. the guide was very kind to my 5yr old grandson which was very special. the highlight was a delicous lunch we enjoyed at one of the cafes at the market.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This tour was one of the most boring tours on my cruise. We spent most of our time in a museum listening to our guide tell us about so many dates and places that it was over saturation. I couldn't remember any of it. We were led to believe that the tour was riding , most of it was walking. Would not reccomend it.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Superb guide, fascinating site. I especially enjoyed the opportunity to enter a small mosque and discuss its traditions. The guide's historical knowledge and sensitivity made for a very special tour.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Mahmet was an excellent guide. Great historic background talk on Izmirs' past. A very cold day in Turkey, but he and the driver kept us comfortable and entertained throughout the tour. Be prepared for typical bantering by the leather salesmen during your walk through the city market.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

Actually, we finally went to Ephesus... beware, as Izmir is not the Turkish name for Ephesus (that's what I tought, from the documentation of our cruiseship..., and I met others who tought the same). Ephesus is really great, you must see it. As for Izmir, it looks nice, but we did not see it a lot..

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Elie S
Canada

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

it was not worth the money.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This was a really great half day tour with Mehmet who looked after us extremely well. He is a very personable character with a friendly but professional style - loads of knowledge, history and cultural background. By lunchtime we felt that we had a good flavour of Izmir as a City and how it fits into its historic background. Mehmet made the the whole visit both interesting and lighthearted - we were lucky to be the only visitors on this particular tour so we had undivided attention ! Great stuff.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our guide was excellent and we enjoyed his tour - another viator success! June Terlich

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our tour guide knew all about Izmir and took us to places and explained things that large tours could not do. A wonderful tour with a fantastic tour guide.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2012

The pickup was confirmed at 7:00 am but the driver did not arrive until 7:30 with a dirty van, and went through 2 other pickups around Izmir. Finally the van seated a total of 10 passengers uncomfortably to Ephesus, we were seatd in a seat designated for 3 adults but 4 adults occupied the seat. We raised our concern with the driver who did not speak English, and was explained that we have to deal with his company upon arrival into Ephesus. Eventually, we were being dropped off in a local tour company around 10 am in Ephesus.
When we questioned the person in charge at the tour operator. He told us that the tour guide assigned to us, could not work as there was a death in his family. Instead this tour agency decided without our consultation or offer of reimbursement to put us into a group tour. Until we voiced our discontent, this tour agency had no intentions of honouring our private tour of Ephesus. As well, Neon made no attempts to intervene on our behalf when we phoned them and explained the situation. If I were to visit any area in Turkey other than Istanbul, I would not use this tour operator again. I hope Viator takes note of what we are reporting so a similar situation does not occur to other travelers who are willing to pay extra for private tours.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ephesus and St. Mary's House

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message