• USD ($)
  • English
The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 365 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This private tour to Kusadasi and Ephesus was one of the highlights of our Mediterrean Cruise
our guide Emery was excellent his knowledge and explanation was both interesting and entertaining so much history! .. I thoroughly recommend Emery and Viator. There was extra time for shopping and he took us to a fashion leather factory and warehouse, to our suprise the sales manager organised a fashion show just for the two of us. it was amazing!
10 out of 10 for this private tour. ( AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014
... AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including Basilica of St John and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grand, a very nice experience.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW!!! The highlight of our cruise. Turkey was amazing. I can not say enough of how wonderful this country is. Our tour guide, Gokce Tascilar, was fantastic. She was able to talk clearly and knew the history of Turkey and the areas we saw. She was fun with a great sense of humor. There is a ton of walking so be prepared. I wore nice, well supported sandles without any problem. Our first stop was the Blessed Mary's last known house. What a holy place. We arrived at Mary's house right ahead of a couple large tour buses, so were weren't over crowed when we went through. It was shady and peaceful. I'd love to go back there to admire the entire place with more time. Our next stop was down the hill to Ephesus. Be cautious of the main walking path through Ephesus. The marble walkways becomes very slick and slippery...so walk with caution. It gets hot! so try to wear a hat and have at least one bottle of water per person (2 if you like or need lots of water). The stories and history of Ephesus were enchanting and keep you interested in the entire trip. Onto St. John's cathedral which was good...but after the long walk through Ephesus we were already exhausted...The cathedral is set upon a hill with amazing views. That in itself was worth it. Our lunch was at the Turkish Rug place...the food was good and refreshing. The tour of how silk was made was really fun and seeing these rugs being woven was interesting too. The sales pitch to buy a rug wasn't too bad unless you showed interest...then they drag you away to a private room to sell you your rug. Make sure, if you are interested in purchasing a rug, to negotiate the price. I believe our rug started at $5k and we got it down to $2,800. So, do not be afraid to walk away. They want to make a deal. They want to make you happy. I recommend doing a bit of research before going to see what fair prices are on rugs. But make sure you compare of materials of the rugs like silk, wool or wool/cotton. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Even though I booked the tour one day in advance and the site mentioned that hotel pick-up may not be possible, I was very pleasantly surprised to see a vehicle there to pick us up and drive us to Kusadasi to join the rest of the group!

The guide was very professional and well informed about the sights and was able to answer all our questions. We were given enough time at the sites to roam around on our own and click pictures. We were dropped to our hotel at the end of the tour. It was a wonderful experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour. The guide had an extensive background on the history of this historical site. I was pleased thar there was someone who guided us through the airport that morning. I have one very negative comment. The tour company required you to contact them 24 hours before the tour to let them know if you wanted to be picked up for transportation to and from the airport. Since I was not going to arrive within the required time limit I called the company from my home. It cost a lot of money Upon arriving at my hotel in Istanbul, I ha the hotel contact the company to inquire what time was pick up. They couln't tell me. Since it was going to be early in the morning, it was important to know the time. I wasnot informed until 9PM .

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Wonderful tour with so much to take in . Our guide was informative , interesting and humorous which made and ancient city come alive . Well done and thank you

Doing what: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First personal experience in Turkey, discovering Ephesus and scenic Cappadocia. Hotels were excellent and the 2 guides, one in Kusadasi and one around Cappadocia had a good level of English and local knowledge. This was a great way to see major attractions in Turkey in a short time.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip well thought of and very well organized, from the transportation to the hotels and up to the cultural aspect. From the Turkey of older times (roman sites and ottoman attractions), to today with its natural parks and inhabitants, this trip allowed me to discover unique scenery like Ephesus, Pamukkale pools, Hierapolis, the extraordinary chimneys of Goreme and Cappadoce, troglodyte villages...

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

6 days very well done, each new day as full as the previous ones! All very diverse and interesting. The first day at Ephesus was tough though, mostly due to a very hot weather. All hotels were very comfortable, all transfers between hotels, airports and guided visits were very well organized. The guides were well served into their topics, very friendly and patient. The visit to Pamukkale with its huge white and turquoise pools was amazing, Cappadocia was incredible and was everything I had read and saw in movies - the fairy chimneys, the troglodyte villages, the numerous churches carved into the rocks, underground city, and more!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great trip experience, well organized, from pickups to guides to selection of hotels. It was the best way to see so much in a short period of time, and we had a blast. Ephesus was a great introduction to Roman time, and Pamukkale impressive by its travertine turquoise pools but also by the size of the site - try picturing it when all buildings were up, it must have been gigantic! Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike around Red / Pink Valleys was a nice surprise and is very easy. You have a couple of up and down, but nothing hard, and we took our time to get there. My father-in-law was very glad he did it. The most surprising though were all these churches carved in the rock formation, and we were amazed by the beautiful and vivid painting we saw - some very basic, and some as beautiful as some you would see in middle age painting in Europe. The Open Museum in Goreme hosts some of the most amazing ones - don't miss the Dark Church! A top notch tour, totally recommended to get a great view of Turkey!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a full day tour. The tour guide met us according to instruction. No delays. She was very knowledgeable and paced the tour to enhance the highlights accordingly.
We would recommend this tour

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message