The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour was good. Not much of a rush and we got to see many places within a short time which was very efficient. Idyla Hotel in Kusadisi was excellent and the miracle cave hotel in cappadocia was very good too...ask for room 3! 6 days was just right.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

was a wonderful experience...very long day but worth it all...covered alot of ground and excellent tour guide...really must see Ephesus, Virgin Mary House, and church and lunch great....Guide very good and all done efficiently and professionally. We had an almost 3-4 hour wait at airport on return as dropped off this early...this was perhaps unavoidable but tiring...

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The tour was comprehensive but not overwhelming, with a good mix of scheduled and free time. The guide was great. The guests all got along really well. The hotels were generally fine, and the food quite good.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Except for the early morning flight to Istanbul, the tour was good. The tour guide wasn't that friendly as in our group of 8 adults, 6 of us above 50yrs with the oldest being 80+yrs and she was rushing through the Ephesus sight and we viewed the Artemis Temple from the House of Virgin Mary. So we didn't even go to the site of this temple even though that all that remains of this temple was 1 pillar. But at least, we should have been brought to the site to view the pillar closer and that the facts of the visit could be better emphasized as you are on site. This I thought was quite slipshod as I suspect she wanted to have more time for us at the carpet weaving factory to allow some purchases to be made by us.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We waited at the airport for 1 1/2 hours for some of the folks going on the tour to show up.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed our tour very much and had a great travel group. Hotels were definitely good especially our suite in Kusadaci. Lots of choice in the dinner buffets. We had enough room in the bus to spread out and be comfortable.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a great trip. First, it had a guaranteed departure which is very important if you are traveling ftom far away. The hotels were good, the best was the one in Kusadasi. Out tour guide, Kivanc, was very accomodating, gave us a good insights into each place we visited. There were many highlights of the trip, Sirince, the old Greek village, was an unexpected treat; also Pergamon and Hierapolis were very imposing and memorable. Capadoccia was just fairy and very special, it is a place that you would like to stay at least a week... So much to explore...
There was a good pace to each day, as otherwise it would be very difficult to cover everything on the itinerary. Also, our guide took us to a inhabited rock chimney house which was an unique experience and a special moment to take away. I would highly recommend the tour as it covers many important sites and also lets you soak up a bit of the local culture. Also, i would have liked to have read a bit more on each place visited prior to the trip in order to be more aware of all the civilizarions and interesting stories about these places, but i did that at the end. For that I recommend the Traveller's Guide to Turkish History.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The one-day tour of Ephesus from Istanbul was not only perfectly arranged as to logistics but the guide provided a wonderful perspective from which to understand this ancient treasure.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful service....all transfers on time...knowledgeable guide....would recommend tour and company to anyone

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! Incredible trip with an extremely knowledgeable guide being Goulet. There were just 2 of us on the trip and it still went ahead which we were delighted about. Mother Mary's home is extremely worthwhile. We learnt so much - thank you Goulet! Thank you to our driver to who was very friendly albeit he didn't speak much English. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Well worth it and highly recommended. Jane Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As expected. Food was good and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We spent a lovely day in Ephesus and the tour guide was knowledgeable. What we didn't expect was the 2 hour carpet 'show' after lunch and we wished that we could spend more time at the ruins or visiting Saracen village instead.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the ancient city of Ephesus, as well as the House of Virgin Mary and the Basilica of St. John. This place is a treasure trove of Biblical (as well as Greek and Roman) history. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were given ample time to explore each site without feeling rushed.
The downside, lunch, served at the Turkmen Carpet Weaving Center, was just OK. We took entirely too long at this place and I can't help but feel like this was a not so subtle attempt to have tourists buy Turkish carpets...and of course, those carpets aren't cheap. I could've done without a stop at the carpet place and a better lunch as well. Maybe a stop at the Turkmen carpet place was used as an itinerary filler, but I would rather spend some time exploring the Temple of Artemis than look at carpets upon carpets.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message