The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 261 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As others have said, it is a long day but well worth the trip. My husband wasn't excited to go but was so happy that he did. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The history is amazing. Truly would recommend to anyone interested in history - and for me it was doubly important for the religious significance. One of the highlights of two weeks in Greece and Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was assigned to Neon Travel. I contacted them before I left home , I told them where to pick me up. And they were on time too pick us up.and the tour was excellent.The tour guide was knowledgeable.Emergeny number was a resident number where no one spoke English. I was not told when to be ready.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fantastic tour! The biblical history was great! Our guide was very knowledgable in archeology and biblical history. She was very detailed throughout the tour. There only one other couple on the tour, so I felt like she gave us her undivided attention! Although, I'm sure if it were one or one hundred people, I'm sure they would get the same treatment!
Loved it and I really recommend it to everyone!!! Especially if you are interested in biblical history!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We had a mixed experience with this tour. The actual tour of Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary was excellent, the tour guide was very informative and made all of the history interesting and easy to follow. If this was the only aspect of the tour we would have given it five stars. While the lunch was enjoyable, it was rushed so that we could receive a 'tour' of the adjoining carpet shop. This was an savoury end to our tour as we felt pressured into buying carpets, something that seems to be common in Istanbul and we were hoping to get away from for at least a day... The other negative was, as we left from Istanbul we didn't feel like we were well informed about the process of transfers that would be required from hotel to airport, then on a bus to Ephesus, each time with a different person with various abilities to communicate in English.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour ws one issue after another- from 2 delayed flights to waiting around ages at the airport.

The worst and most inexcusable thing was our transfer in Istanbul wasn't there when we arrived. He finally came 45 mins later not wearing a uniform and came with a mate from his night out.

Avoid avoid!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A nice tour. Even though it was slightly a hot day, we really enjoyed it. The tour guide was very adjustable and informative.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour booked through Viator and conducted by the providers was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel (Palm City) on time and driven in an air-conditioned van to Ephesus. The tour guide was very knowledgeable which enabled me to put the sights in context. At Ephesus I was guided and expertly informed about the site, directed to the best viewing spots and shown not obvious but important symbols, e.g. Christian symbols. St. Mary's house was also extremely interesting and refreshing because it was cooler at the higher altitude. Lunch was good and the ride back also informative.
I enthusiastically recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and architecture.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Another Amazing Tour! Everything was so organized and well prepared for us. We loved our 3-day Cappadocia and Ephesus Trip. So many amazing thing to see. Breathtaking view. Our Balloon ride was the highlight of our tour. Unbelievable Experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide, Ilker, was THE BEST guide we have ever experienced. He was skilled at making the stones of the monuments and temples come alive with history. He connected with the tour goers on a caring and personal level. What a gem! Ahmet our driver was invincible. One suggestion: drive through Pamukkale and on to Bursa. We needed more time to enjoy that lovely city. The Five Star hotel in Pamukkale was very disappointing.

Please don't miss Pergamum, Troy, and Ephesus. These were wonderful sites to visit! Thank you again Ilker!! - Inez and Jean

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable. Particularly liked Ephusus, Pamukkale and Bursa. Would have liked a full day exploring Pamukkale and more time in Bursa. Would benefit from better explanation and more detailed itinerary. Guide and driver particularly personable. Accommodation was all good and optional extras were highlights

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fabulous, fabulous value for money, we would highly recommend this tour to anyone. It was jammed packed with site visits. The length of time spent at each site was enough. Our tour guide was a real character as well as being very informative - an added bonus. Typical of Turkish tours, the tour included several visits to shopping venues, some of which for us were tiresome. We had wished t times we could have spent the time at the historical sites but realize some of the others on the tour like these sorts of things. Overall the site visits and shopping stops were reasonably balanced.

I have used Viator in the past and have been generally pleased with the service. This tour included travelers who booked through various agencies. Most had a detailed itinerary (14+ pages) and were disappointed that Viator hadn't provided this to us. However this is not in the least to diminish the experience of the tour in itself.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a fantastic tour. We got to see much more than we would have if we had done the trip independently. We had a good size group (23) and our guide Metin had excellent knowledge of the history of Turkey. Highly recommended if you have one week in Turkey and are looking to get a feel for the country and its history.

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and our tour guide's English was awesome. Her knowledge of history was remarkable and very impressive. We learned so much due to her ability to communicate and her enthusiasm of the job at hand. The one draw back was the oriental rug pitch at the end of the day. Lousy way to end a perfectly good tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a magnificent and must do day trip for every one visiting Turkey. Having a very good guide, I learnt a lot about the history of the places. Lunch was delicious following with visiting a carpet workshop and store with demonstration of unwinding silk fiber from the cocoons to produce silk threads and finally being used for weaving carpet.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message