The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent and very informative tour

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding! Excellent guide. great experience

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We saw so much. Hotels and food were all good. Leader had great inside knowledge. Driver - nerves of steel. Bus v large and comfy. Best value for money ever!

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

FANTASTIC

Doing what: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I highly recommend this tour. You can spend two or three times the price for this trip with a private guide, but not get any better attention or service. Of course, Ephesus is a must see. All the arrangements worked like clockwork. We were picked up from our hotel exactly on time and driven to the airport where we were met by a tour representative who walked us through the arrival process. After a short flight to Izmir, we were met by a driver who took us on the 45 minute drive to meet the group at Ephesus, which consisted of the tour guide and two other couples from a cruise ship. The tour guide was fantastic, Ephesus was all we expected and more, and arrangements could not have been better. You must do this tour!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Happy with this tour. Good tour guide, sociable, acknowledged Hanuk of Fez travel.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour, the highlight being Ephesus. Well worth every penny.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I am rating this a 4 star only because we were able to visit the house of Blessed Mary.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was good. We went to a lot of places. The scenery was beautiful.
The tour guide was good. The hotels were average. We had problems with the shower.
They fixed it. Too much time was spent on marketing at 3 places, carpet, leather and pottery which took up 6 hours of our time and we could have seen other places.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This trip was a mixed bag. Ephesus is an amazing site and well worth a visit. It is tremendous. But the overall tour could have been a lot better.

First I was afraid of the logistics because of what others had written, but I had none of those issues. The tour operator did an amazing job with logistics. Pickup times were confirmed. Airline information was faxed to my hotel. My driver arrived on time at 5:30 AM and another person walked me from the car to the airline counter to acquire my boarding passes. After arriving in Izmir a driver was waiting with clearly marked signs. He handed me his phone and the tour guide explained that she was waiting for me in Ephesus about an hour away by car. Everything was moving along great, but then it went wrong...

As we moved through sites we seemed to be rushing. After visiting the site of the Virgin Mary's home, we went into Ephesus. Ephesus is amazing. After Ephesus we went to lunch at a carpet co-op. The lunch was very good and I enjoyed learning about how carpet is made. I experienced very low pressure sales which was fine. After this we went to St John's Basilica. Then after declining trips to additional factory shops I was basically done at 2:30 PM. The driver took me to the airport and I sat for 4 hours waiting for my 7:30 flight back to Istanbul we just missed the earlier 3:30 flight.

Had I known how the day was being paced for time, I would have asked for a couple of more hours in Ephesus. There is a huge building preserving mosaics which we didn't enter. I could have walked a road that extended toward the harbor. Instead we rushed along so that we could save time for factory tours that I didn't want to do. What a waste.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We took this tour in May 2015 and were overall very pleased with the experience. The hotels were nice and airport pick up and drop off was efficient and on time. We really loved Pamukkale and Cappadocia. Our hotel Sunak boutique hotel in Urgup Cappadocia was lovely while the hotel in Kusadasi was very conveniently located. The tours were informative and guides were polite. We will recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Everything is good, just tired for long ride
The tour guide and driver is good. Except the driver to airport in last day, the driver is a careless driver

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Without detracting from the magnificence of Ephesus at all, unfortunately this tour was very disappointing. Marketed as a full day tour of Ephesus, we spent more time at various money-spinning locations a jewellery factory, specialty food store, lunch, and a mosque, than actually at Ephesus. The tour guide was belligerent, disinterested, smoking and talking on his phone during presentations and going into roped off areas at Ephesus. He treated us like children. I will definitely be back to Ephesus in the future, but will research my tour much more carefully.

Doing what: Ephesus Day Trip from Bodrum Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time. Our tour guide was Gokce Sky Tascilar was knowledgeable and we had a great time..

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was really well informed. Picked us up on time and really delivered!!!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it!!! Well worth the money, professional and entertaining guide, lots to see and delicious lunch. Pack for any weather as I was freezing in the morning and then warm in the afternoon. Loved Ephesus!!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was fantastic. It ended up being a private tour so we had a guide and driver to ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and maintained a good balance of spending time informing us while also allowing adequate alone time. The negative was the mandatory visit to the carpet cooperative not mentioned in the tour description with hard sales pitch. That left a bit of a sour taste in our mouth after an otherwise amazing experience.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was fun and like a private tpur because it was only the two of us! We visited Mother Mary final resting place, Ephesus (we were lucky it was still in the morning, not much people!), learned about the carpet, had a nice lunch in the garden and the st John church. Our guide was also very nice

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Definitely worth seeing and the House of the Virgin Mary was the highlight of my entire trip! That being said, the visit to Ephesus and the House including lunch at an out-of-the-way, agrarian artisinal training facility took under 5 hours including from and to the airport and they dropped us off at the airport 4 hours before our departure flight. So it felt like a lot of wasted time on a trip that was entirely too short. I also felt that the tour guide could have provided more information on the current state of affairs of Istanbul, its people, its customs, its education, so that you get a better feel for the country and its relevance today.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I almost never review anything, but felt that this trip needed an informational review for future travelers. We enjoyed the trip to Ephesus overall, but there were some trouble spots to watch for.

First, the fine print on your voucher says that you need to call the agency - Neon Travels - 24 hours ahead of time to confirm hotel pickup. The website and voucher says that pickup should be around 5AM, but for us it ended up actually around 4:30AM, so please be sure to check with the agency call the emergency number, the regular number is usually not picked up beforehand.

Second, the tour guide is well-informed and knowledgeable, but does tend to tell many textbook stories about mythology. The amount of free time you have to walk around and explore, or take pictures, is very little. We spent a total of only 2 hours at Ephesus, and had only maybe 30 min maximum of free time. The church of St. John and the Temple of Artemis are just pit stops.

Third, and most irritating, is that after lunch we were forced to listen to a presentation on Turkish carpet-making at a carpet collective, and this was not advertised as part of the program, nor did we want it. After the presentation, our group was broken up and each ushered into a high-pressure sales pitch with a carpet representative. We had to help bail out one of the couples on the trip who were subjected to particularly high pressure to buy a 4000 carpet.

Finally, on the way back to Izmir airport, we had no instructions on collecting our boarding passes to Istanbul in contrast, two people helped us check in during the morning flight, and our driver did not speak English. We eventually figured out that we were supposed to check ourselves into the Turkish airlines counter, which is no problem, but there was no indication of this beforehand. When we arrived in Istanbul, there was no one waiting to drop us off at our hotels, so we had to call the emergency number to find our driver.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were fortunate to have a very small group of three on this tour. The tour staff was punctual and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall, the tour was very professionally managed.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message