The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time. Our tour guide was Gokce Sky Tascilar was knowledgeable and we had a great time..

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was really well informed. Picked us up on time and really delivered!!!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved it!!! Well worth the money, professional and entertaining guide, lots to see and delicious lunch. Pack for any weather as I was freezing in the morning and then warm in the afternoon. Loved Ephesus!!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was fantastic. It ended up being a private tour so we had a guide and driver to ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and maintained a good balance of spending time informing us while also allowing adequate alone time. The negative was the mandatory visit to the carpet cooperative not mentioned in the tour description with hard sales pitch. That left a bit of a sour taste in our mouth after an otherwise amazing experience.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was fun and like a private tpur because it was only the two of us! We visited Mother Mary final resting place, Ephesus (we were lucky it was still in the morning, not much people!), learned about the carpet, had a nice lunch in the garden and the st John church. Our guide was also very nice

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Definitely worth seeing and the House of the Virgin Mary was the highlight of my entire trip! That being said, the visit to Ephesus and the House including lunch at an out-of-the-way, agrarian artisinal training facility took under 5 hours including from and to the airport and they dropped us off at the airport 4 hours before our departure flight. So it felt like a lot of wasted time on a trip that was entirely too short. I also felt that the tour guide could have provided more information on the current state of affairs of Istanbul, its people, its customs, its education, so that you get a better feel for the country and its relevance today.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I almost never review anything, but felt that this trip needed an informational review for future travelers. We enjoyed the trip to Ephesus overall, but there were some trouble spots to watch for.

First, the fine print on your voucher says that you need to call the agency - Neon Travels - 24 hours ahead of time to confirm hotel pickup. The website and voucher says that pickup should be around 5AM, but for us it ended up actually around 4:30AM, so please be sure to check with the agency call the emergency number, the regular number is usually not picked up beforehand.

Second, the tour guide is well-informed and knowledgeable, but does tend to tell many textbook stories about mythology. The amount of free time you have to walk around and explore, or take pictures, is very little. We spent a total of only 2 hours at Ephesus, and had only maybe 30 min maximum of free time. The church of St. John and the Temple of Artemis are just pit stops.

Third, and most irritating, is that after lunch we were forced to listen to a presentation on Turkish carpet-making at a carpet collective, and this was not advertised as part of the program, nor did we want it. After the presentation, our group was broken up and each ushered into a high-pressure sales pitch with a carpet representative. We had to help bail out one of the couples on the trip who were subjected to particularly high pressure to buy a 4000 carpet.

Finally, on the way back to Izmir airport, we had no instructions on collecting our boarding passes to Istanbul in contrast, two people helped us check in during the morning flight, and our driver did not speak English. We eventually figured out that we were supposed to check ourselves into the Turkish airlines counter, which is no problem, but there was no indication of this beforehand. When we arrived in Istanbul, there was no one waiting to drop us off at our hotels, so we had to call the emergency number to find our driver.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were fortunate to have a very small group of three on this tour. The tour staff was punctual and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent service, amazing trip and experience. Highly recommended

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall, the tour was very professionally managed.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Very informative tour guide. Please be aware that you will also be taken to sites where you may be pressured to purchase an item.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Fabulous sites and great guide but need better hotels and better gastronomic experiences!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a small group as it was off season. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very nice tour during a very cold day! Still Gokce (the guide) manage to make it a very enjoyable experience the visit to Virgin Mary house and Ephesus.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

I chose this small group tour as others I have been on have encouraged absorption in local life and allowed free time to do so. Sadly this did not so I feel that I did not get the most out of the experience.

Doing what: 7-Day Turkey Classics Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Ephesus, Pamukkale, Cappadocia and Ankara

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message