Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

Ephesus (Efeze)

The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 424 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Roy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent and fascinating day. I was deeply moved by being at the house f the Blessed Virgin and the tomb of St John. The Roman ruins were spectacular. My guide Gotcha? Was outstanding. I was greatly marvellously by all the staff. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Roy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An amazing tour. Deeply moving to be at the House of the Blessed Virgin and the Tomb of St John. My guide ? Gotca was marvellous, as were all the staff. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. A must if in Turkey. If you are coming from Istanbul, book your own air and sign up for the tour from Izmir, it will save you a lot of money.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Roy E

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

An excellent tour. My tour guide Gotca? Was amazing as were all the staff. Deeply moving to be at the House of the Blessed Virgin and St John. Highly recommend this tour!!!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Robin D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting Ephesus was breath taking , the time there was perfect and the guide was very knowledgable . St. Mary's house was located in such peaceful surroundings . Seeing St. John's Basilica and his tomb was a perfect way to end the day. This is where he wrote his gospel . There is also a castle in the background to view from afar . The Turkish lunch we had was delicious , and I also enjoyed watching the ladies making the rugs . The beautiful rug viewing ,while sipping on apple tea was delightful as well. I really enjoyed the whole day !

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Ihab United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Wonderful tour, you get to see everything in the area with an experienced, knowledgeable tour guide

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Christopher O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour and the guide was amazing. Lunch was one of the best meals I had the entire 10 days I was in Turkey. We also got to see carpet making which was really cool. I only put 4 stars because it's a bit expensive.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was awesome. The tour guide was phenomenal he was very knowledgeable, patient, understanding, and did not allow me to skip any of the most important components of the tour. I was very appreciative of how he made sure that I had a great experience. If you love Roman history and the evolution of Christianity, this is for you.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

D D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a very rainy day for the tour, the sights themselves were a must for anyone traveling to Ephesus, Turkey! The highlight of the trip was seeing the ancient library. What an amazing site to see. One request I would like to make is for the tour company to provide a personalized itinerary for the traveler. That would have been extremely helpful. Instead of providing an itinerary or pickup time my hotel room was contacted two hours earlier than expected for a 4 AM pickup instead of a 6 AM pickup, thus causing quite a poor start to the day. Additionally those of us traveling had no idea what the schedule was for the day, so we just had to go with the flow and when the sightseeing tour concluded, we were taken to the airport only to have to wait three hours for our flight back to Istanbul. Unfortunately we had to spend 3 hours in the Izmir airport when we could have possibly been elsewhere enjoying additional sites or shops at the location. All that being said, it was a good tour and is recommended to any traveler passing through Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Our guide was wonderful--her knowledge of Ephesus was extensive and she communicated beautifully. All of the travel arrangements were spot on. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Deana J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highlight of my trip to Turkey! If you make it to this area, you must stop by Ephesus. And this is a fantastic way to do it!

While the sites were amazing, I have to first talk about the incredible guide I had. She was one of the best I've ever had anywhere! Incredibly knowledgeable in history, politics and culture, she has been doing this for decades and it shows. The tidbits and different points of view I learned from her were some of the things I remember most about the trip. We also had a very mixed group with different needs and interests and she did a fantastic job making sure everyone got the most out of their experience.

St. John's: Neat to see this but even better to hear all the explanations from the guide. I would have not known what I was looking at if it wasn't for her!

Ephesus: Incredible. The guide makes a big difference telling neat antidotes and explaining things you'd never know otherwise. Plus, free time is included to get to explore on your own.

Lunch: Some of the best food I had on the trip and I love that it was at a rug center that helped support local women. Yes, they tried to sell us stuff of course like you'll find on EVERY excursion but I actually learned a lot here about the silk and rug making process. In fact, while the rest of the group was shopping, I found myself outside with one of the women actually teaching me how to weave. I weaved a whole section and it was another highlight of the trip.

House of the Virgin Mary: I'm not Catholic but am Christian so I had some context. The guide helped explain so much more and I was surprised how much I enjoyed and was intrigued by this stop.

Doing what: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

William S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guy did a great job. Would recommend her to others.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Cheryl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our small group experience was enhanced by our excellent guide and driver. Our vehicle was immaculate and well-maintained, with air conditioning adjusted immediately at our request. The historical/archaelogical sites were interesting and well-explained. Lunch at the Rug Factory was delicious and the introduction to Turkish rug history and production was entertaining. While we were urged to consider making a purchase, there were no uncomfortable, high pressure sales tactics. I recommend without reservation.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pick up was prompt, everyone was very polite. Tour guide was thorough and made sure we each covered the things we wanted and offered many options of other places to see and allowed the time we needed to do what we wanted. Lunch was fantastic and the trip was worth every penny.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Kristin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My guide was lovely and knowledgeable, and the entire tour was well-planned, educational, and at a pace and with the flexibility that was much appreciated by our small group of 4. I would definitely recommend this tour to friends --from Kristin, Washington, D.C., USA, visited August 2015.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Hamid K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humor

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent in all aspects. the guide, Al, was incredible - his knowledge was first class and his approach very professional. The itinerary was perfectly planned - St John's Basilica, Ephesus and Mary's house - enough time in each without overstretching it. Lunch was provided and was a delicious classic Turkish meal. We were dreading the carpet factory but it was different to the rest we've been to - no pressure, full of interesting information and time to browse. Would definitely use again.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

paul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was better than we could have ever expected. It ended up being a private tour with the guide and the two of us in a new Mercedes minibus. Our guide actually studied archaeology in college and worked for several years as an archaeologist at the Ephesus site. In addition to being a really nice guy he was obviously very knowledgeable about the site. We had a nice free lunch at an open air restaurant and then visited a carpet weaving site. It was very intereswting and they gave us no pressure to buy anything. This was the absolute best tour!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Al was the best tour guide we have ever had. Very knowledgeable and presented the information with an entertaining flair.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

George J. F

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Learned history of Ephesus from interesting knowledgeable tour guide. Enjoyed excursion was worth it.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Christine L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was well coordinated by Neon travel, very educated and informative guide.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Franklin-5

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was great to see the ancient city of Ephesus!! A must see for visitors to the area.

Downside was the poor communication of the tour guide, to the people coordinating the flight bookings, to us the travellers. When the sight seeing tour finished, we were taken to the airport, only to find out that our flight time was three hours later. We spent 3 hours in the Izmir airport when we could of possibly been elsewhere...

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

The tour guide hurried us through some of the places, not allowing enough time to take more pics and more closely examine everything. That would not have been a bad thing, except for the fact that the tour also ended substantially earlier than the flight back I was booked on. I was dropped at the airport FOUR FULL HOURS before my flight, from a small, regional, low traffic airport the check-in counter was not even open yet.

The alternative was to sit through more sales pitches for--I mean--demonstrations of hand-made ceramic and leather items...and then be sent to the airport substantially earlier than my flight.

Good sights to see and worth going there if you are in Izmir, but don't book from Istanbul unless you like spending your hard-earned vacation hours, waiting in airports.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Cathy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Guler was terrific! As it turned out, there were only 6 of us in our tour group, so we had a VERY personal tour with her. We appreciated so much her willingness to be upfront with us about the political situation in Turkey, and in fact, she shared her own personal opinions, which made the tour even more meaningful to us as Americans. We enjoyed everything about the tour - Guler was very knowledgeable about all that we saw and did And Ephesus is not to be missed - a highlight of our Med cruise, for sure.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message