The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 276 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This tour was excellent - thanks to the care and services provided by our guide Kivanc and driver Wasel. This was a continuing tour with the same guide, driver and tourist group.
The tour followed the itinerary advertised and Kivanc was always accommodating to any reasonable requests made regarding extra time at various locations (but not at the expense of time being lost at the next location). Additionally, he gave us more of his own time showing us extra points of interest not on the itinerary, eg Basilica Cistern, the spice market and the Bosphorus Cruise, Whirling Dervish ceremony at Pamukkale. Lunch/snack/toilet breaks were notified well in advance, (generally every 2-2 1/2 hours).
Kivanc also organised reasonably priced flights and transfers back to Istanbul and our hotels on the final day for those not wanting to endure 9 hours in the bus (6 of us took up this offer). This flight option back to Istanbul should probably be offered as an alternative in the official tour.
Istanbul was amazing and the free day (Day 1) should probably be used for more organised guided sightseeing. One day (Day 2) was really not enough.
Checkins for all of the hotels were efficient and quick (due to Kivanc's assistance). Breakfasts and dinners (buffet dinners) all provided were all satisfactory. Accommodation in Istanbul (Hotel Momento), Kusadasi and Pamukkale were all good, but the accommodation in Canakkale was ordinary (a nice lobby and dining area but basic old rooms - at least they were clean).
In summary - all of the sights in the itinerary were well covered in the tour. For us the highlights were the guide and driver and the group of people we travelled with all bonded to ensure a great tour. Kivanc also advised us on reasonable prices for purchases (leather, carpets and Silk Bazaar).
Turkey is an amazing place with many wonderful sights and the tour organised through the local tour company was flawless. We highly recommend this tour.
Brian and Mary - Melbourne Australia

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

Haris A
Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent ... !!!!
Very well coordinated, superb guide, well planned and good food.... 7 stars

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Ephesus was really beautiful, if you're a fan of ancient city walks. It was comparable to my walks around the ruins of Greece and Italy. The tour guide was excellent, really knowledgeable and spent a lot of time telling us about the history of the region while we were on the bus as well as at the different locations we stopped at.

There was a stop (for lunch and afterwards) at a rug-making co-op, which was actually really interesting (more so than the stop that happened on our Istanbul day tour) because they showed how they collect the silk from the cocoons, as well as how the rugs are made. Then of course there was a lengthy sales process, but as long as you stick to your guns about not buying, they are not rude or too pushy about it.

Great stop afterwards at a place that sold different Turkish snacks (e.g. lokum "Turkish delight," stuffed figs, etc) and had them all available for tasting before you buy!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Travel with fez travel. Wonderful trip. Local hotels are snobbish, though, charge $5 for each device for wifi usage.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As others have said, it is a long day but well worth the trip. My husband wasn't excited to go but was so happy that he did. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The history is amazing. Truly would recommend to anyone interested in history - and for me it was doubly important for the religious significance. One of the highlights of two weeks in Greece and Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was assigned to Neon Travel. I contacted them before I left home , I told them where to pick me up. And they were on time too pick us up.and the tour was excellent.The tour guide was knowledgeable.Emergeny number was a resident number where no one spoke English. I was not told when to be ready.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fantastic tour! The biblical history was great! Our guide was very knowledgable in archeology and biblical history. She was very detailed throughout the tour. There only one other couple on the tour, so I felt like she gave us her undivided attention! Although, I'm sure if it were one or one hundred people, I'm sure they would get the same treatment!
Loved it and I really recommend it to everyone!!! Especially if you are interested in biblical history!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Zeynab, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and happy to answer all of our questions. The tour itself was superb, and all the major points were included. Lunch was tasty and it was pleasant to discuss and share the day's experiences with other tour participants. The visit to the traditional carpet factory, where old techniques of carpet weaving were explained and demonstrated, was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an informative and delightful trip to Ephesus. All drivers were on time and met us as expected. We especially enjoyed our guide for the day, Guler Aslan.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip despite travel delays - tour guide Gular was excellent

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good value. I was a little disappointed with the hotel in Izmir, especially compared with the hotel in Cappadocia.
The flight from Cappadocia to Istanbul then back to Izmir seemed strange, but went without a hitch.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All the transfers were on time and our tour leader (Mr. Top) was informative, happy to answer questions and also was able to give us historical synopses about the Ephesus site. The Mary House is very underwhelming but that's not any fault of the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We completed the questionnaire at the end of the tour and have nothin else to add.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message