The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A nice tour. Even though it was slightly a hot day, we really enjoyed it. The tour guide was very adjustable and informative.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour booked through Viator and conducted by the providers was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel (Palm City) on time and driven in an air-conditioned van to Ephesus. The tour guide was very knowledgeable which enabled me to put the sights in context. At Ephesus I was guided and expertly informed about the site, directed to the best viewing spots and shown not obvious but important symbols, e.g. Christian symbols. St. Mary's house was also extremely interesting and refreshing because it was cooler at the higher altitude. Lunch was good and the ride back also informative.
I enthusiastically recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and architecture.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Another Amazing Tour! Everything was so organized and well prepared for us. We loved our 3-day Cappadocia and Ephesus Trip. So many amazing thing to see. Breathtaking view. Our Balloon ride was the highlight of our tour. Unbelievable Experience.

Doing what: 3-Day Cappadocia and Ephesus Tour from Istanbul with Flights

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and our tour guide's English was awesome. Her knowledge of history was remarkable and very impressive. We learned so much due to her ability to communicate and her enthusiasm of the job at hand. The one draw back was the oriental rug pitch at the end of the day. Lousy way to end a perfectly good tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip was extremely well organised with a great guide to take us round Ephesus and the other two major sites.

It should be noted that passports - or some other id - are necessary when flying internally in Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great value for money, i recommend this tour to everyone who wants to see the best of Turkey, just like it promises.
Our first guide was very professional, had a great sense of humor and a lot of information about the historical sites.
Our driver was very friendly and managed to get us everywhere without problems or stress.
The hotels that were included, were very nice and adequate, thumbs up for the Colossae Thermal Hotel in Pammukkale ( excellent ) and thumbs down for the Marina Hotel in Kusadasi ( first our room was already booked, then the keycard did not work for our next room and then i had to call reception 3 times to get the ac working in the room ).
We joined a second group, traveling from Pamukkale, Bursa back to Istanbul and although we were together for only a short period, this was also a very positive experience.
Our second guide arranged a dervish show and the restaurant she showed us the next afternoon served the best turkish style kebab i ever had.
The weather was great and very high temperatures from time to time, so sunscreen and head gear are no unnecessary luxury.
When you book this tour, be prepared to get up early and to travel long distances by minivan.
The earliest we had to wake up was 5.30 am and the travel from Pamukkale to Istanbul took 10 hours.
Recommended !

Doing what: 8-Day Best of Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Bursa, Troy, Gallipoli, Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Mixed experience. Picked me up 40 mins late from Hotel in Istanbul after telling me to be ready at 5:05 am- then a mad a dash to the airport. The Ephesus trip was fine, guide was gvood and lunch simple and very nice, but they did skip one bit probably because the guide wanted an early mark as his home town was near by and I ended back at Izmir airport having to kill time for 3hrs 45 mins before my flight back to Istanbul. Would try a different company next time.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Most of the tour will be more interesting to anyone highly religious as it includes several "holy places." The ruins of the town are fascinating and the two-story library alone makes it a worthwhile tour. We're just not religious enough to appreciate the house that was deemed to be occupied by the Virgin Mary. Never knew Ephesus was even on the map before this tour. Our guide, "Top," was very knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ephesus Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Because of the distances between historical sites, it meant enduring long hours on the bus, which was no fault of Viator. Unfortunately our guide was quite difficult to understand and hear at times when at various sites, where a personal microphone may have improved the situation.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour was great. the tour guides were so informative and really put you in the moment when they explained everything. the hotels provided in the package were first class. would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Oh lord these was amazing! I don't have words and the lady who was our guide was lovely. Very responsible and knowledgeable. Food out of this world! It requires a lot of walking but it is worth it.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant trip with excellent guide who made it such fun and highly informative for all of us.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message