The ancient Greek city of Ephesus, also know as Efeze, was once one of the world’s greatest cities. It ranked only behind Rome in its size and importance during the Roman period, at which time (1st century BC) it was the second largest city in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This private tour to Kusadasi and Ephesus was one of the highlights of our Mediterrean Cruise
our guide Emery was excellent his knowledge and explanation was both interesting and entertaining so much history! .. I thoroughly recommend Emery and Viator. There was extra time for shopping and he took us to a fashion leather factory and warehouse, to our suprise the sales manager organised a fashion show just for the two of us. it was amazing!
10 out of 10 for this private tour. ( AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014
... AS and BS Sydney Australia June 2014

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus including Basilica of St John and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grand, a very nice experience.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW!!! The highlight of our cruise. Turkey was amazing. I can not say enough of how wonderful this country is. Our tour guide, Gokce Tascilar, was fantastic. She was able to talk clearly and knew the history of Turkey and the areas we saw. She was fun with a great sense of humor. There is a ton of walking so be prepared. I wore nice, well supported sandles without any problem. Our first stop was the Blessed Mary's last known house. What a holy place. We arrived at Mary's house right ahead of a couple large tour buses, so were weren't over crowed when we went through. It was shady and peaceful. I'd love to go back there to admire the entire place with more time. Our next stop was down the hill to Ephesus. Be cautious of the main walking path through Ephesus. The marble walkways becomes very slick and slippery...so walk with caution. It gets hot! so try to wear a hat and have at least one bottle of water per person (2 if you like or need lots of water). The stories and history of Ephesus were enchanting and keep you interested in the entire trip. Onto St. John's cathedral which was good...but after the long walk through Ephesus we were already exhausted...The cathedral is set upon a hill with amazing views. That in itself was worth it. Our lunch was at the Turkish Rug place...the food was good and refreshing. The tour of how silk was made was really fun and seeing these rugs being woven was interesting too. The sales pitch to buy a rug wasn't too bad unless you showed interest...then they drag you away to a private room to sell you your rug. Make sure, if you are interested in purchasing a rug, to negotiate the price. I believe our rug started at $5k and we got it down to $2,800. So, do not be afraid to walk away. They want to make a deal. They want to make you happy. I recommend doing a bit of research before going to see what fair prices are on rugs. But make sure you compare of materials of the rugs like silk, wool or wool/cotton. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We waited from 9am departure till 9.30am for 2 guests whose ship was departing at 2.30pm, they didn't turn up.we were supposed to be returning 4.30pm so it didn't make sense. The trip was interesting and after an hour at a carpet showroom we were back at the dock at 3.40pm.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The day excursions were well organized and the guides were very kind and prepared. Every site that we visited was amazing. The hotel in Kusadasi and in Cappadocia were both very beatiful and much more than we expected.
We are very satisfied of the tour, but there are few the things that we did not like:
- we had to take 2 flights to go from Izmir to Cappadocia instead of taking the direct one that was at the same time (6.25 am).
- we were not advised that we should take all the flights by ourselves (which is not a problem) but did not either have electronical tickets for no one flight (totally 2).
- the tour, especially for Cappadocia, has not been precisely followed as written here in the website. We think that maybe, once booked the tour, the local travel agency should be more in contact with us and send us a detailed program few days before the departure. Every day we were not sure of what would have happened the day after, and this was not only for us but also for the people that we meet during the trip.
Hope this suggestions could be helpful to improve the organization of the tour! ;)

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is amazing experience to visit Ephesus and see the grandeur of this ancient city. This is a must trip for anyone going to Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with breathtaking views. The tour was not canceled even though there were only two people left, we had the treatment of private tour with group purchase pricing. The minivan is nice and very clean.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was excellent! The guide was great, very knowledgeable and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed it!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Overall excellent. The organization by the tour company along with transfers were excellent. The driver and of course the tour guide for the day were excellent. This tour was superb. The equal if not better than the other great antiquity sites of the Mediterranean. The history of the Bible, the Greeks, and Rome all in one area. An early start and a late finish but of course well worth it. Great value for money. All very positive.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Enjoyed the excursion and tour guide was very knowledgeable about the facts regarding this site. He was prompt to meet us and introduce himself along with providing us details about the excursion. The entire excursion was very well organized in regards to information and time. I would always consider future excursions with Viator as the value was great.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very nice tour, a littel pricey but the tour gudie was excellent.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and gave a lot of information on all the places we were taken to. She was very keen to assist us in our requests.
However, it seemed that the total time allocated to trip was not enough to explore the whole beauty of Ephesus. Most of the time we were on a rush.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message