Perhaps better known by tourists as Pamukkale, Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. There’s a lot to see at this UNESCO World Heritage Site, whose most popular attraction includes the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashlee N P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing tour! Charman our guide was fantastic. 5 stars for knowledge. The iris hotel in Cannukale was ok. The bed was really hard and uncomfortable but room was clean. The other hotels were very good. Overall a very good experience and I would highly recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

ibis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

the tour was wonderful. very comprehensive with plenty of time in each location. the bus was super clean and the driver was nice. also the tour guide was very nice and caring about the passengers. loved the stop in kusadasi at the family restaurant. very authentic. the hotel in canakkale was 3* the most. all hotels had plenty of food for breakfast and dinner. in Summary: very relaxing and don't need anything else to enjoy Turkey. "TeCheKur".

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Rosanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. I advise to be very specific in regards to the pickup times on the vouchers. It added to some confusion.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Mik S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It's very difficult to put in to words how amazing this tour was. From Gallipoli to Pamukkale, every single moment was sensational. The in depth discussions about every place visited to the food we were eating at each stop was great. Charma sp? the guide was out of this world awesome and incredibly knowledgeable and passionate about Turkey. I highly highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the awesome sites of Turkey, but definitely look at going for the 7 day tour to get even more.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fez travel provided a superb driver and an outstanding tour guide Mahmet. My wife and I considered it the absolute highlight of our two weeks in Turkey

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

His

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Good company of Aussies and Kiwis which makes this trip excellent. Not to forget a couple of South Africans. Hotel choices were good enough and we visited all the relevant historical sites.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Stephen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was my first trip to Turkey and having spent a week in Istanbul I was keen to try more and took the 6 day small group tour which was very successful and highly recommended. Organisation, including pickups, transfers, guides, and hotel selection worked very well. It was a really good way to get a snapshot of the highlights. Ephesus was a great start with well preserved Roman ruins, and Pamukkale was spectacular with it's salt cliffs, travertine pools and the sheer scale of the site which would have been enormous originally. Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike was different than advertised Love Valley just me and the guide, very easy and peaceful. The rock formations, the Open Museum in Goreme is an incredible experience as was The Underground City, and my guide was able to get me into the hot air ballooning at short notice and was a complete knockout, well worth the high price. If time is limited, you want to see the highlights well without a rush and very comfortably, you won't regret it.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Henrik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour - both places were spectacular and worth the visit. We ended up having a private tour due to the low tourist season. We were picked up at our hotel in a very nice van and driven to the sites. Our tour guide did a nice job of explaining the Roman ruins and gave us all the time we needed at Pamukkale which is truly exceptional, the calcium deposit pools are everything you expect and more. Spend the extra 30 liras to spend time in Cleopatras pool - that is the natural thermal waters. It has sunken Greek and Roman columns and this is really where you can enjoy the warmest waters and the pool is plenty deep whereas the terraces are only knee deep.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Eduardo W

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

The tour is a good way to go from Kusadasi to Pamukkale, but doesn't add anything other than that. You should face it as an alternative to a shuttle or taxi.

The lunch included was below average, for sure. We had wonderful and cheap meals in Turkey and that was not one of them.

The tour guide was nice and helpful, but was lacking a bit in his English skills and didn't add much information.

Also, we wish we had more time there. Considering the long trip, I'd recommend the time there to be an hour longer at least, getting one hour later to the hotel.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

GUODONG C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

nice tour guide, small grp of ppl

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Heather S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Had a fabulous time on this tour. We had a comfy bus and the tour guide was always telling you something about the history of turkey. Hotels were a great standard. Beware the 'great' recommended places to eat. One meal was totally inedible and was suppose to be just how his 'mum' cooked. Recommend this tour

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Polly S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Overall, the tour went well. Armand our guide at ephesus was pleasant, knew a lot, and spoke good english. The guide on our pamukkale leg had a heavy accent so it was a bit hard to understand her. We had quite a bad experience with regard to our pickup at the airport for our cappadocia leg.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Marilyn M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Its a fabulous place to visit however we went from Kusadasi which took 3 hours to get there and we only had 1hr 30min there which wasn't enough time to see and do everything, so its great to see but check out how long it takes to get there so you can have as much time there to take everything in.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

Theresa R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I really enjoyed the trip. Pamukkale was definitely worth seeing. My tour was cut short because of the Byran holiday. We got there after 1pm and only had about 21/2 hours to see it all. I did not get to see Hierapolis at all because of the time crunch. My tour guide was interesting but talked too much. I would have liked more time.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Prakash B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very nice , the tour was awesome, Punctual and the location of the hotel at Kusadasi was excellent very close to the Marina

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

Tyler

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great from start to finish! Our guide Mehmet was friendly, professional and knowledgeable. Our tour included a buffet lunch which has really nice. Visiting Pamukkale, the white travertine rock terraces and Hierapolis is something I would recommend to travelers visiting the area. I would recommend paying the little bit extra to go into the thermal pools, we had a good time all round.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

Grasshopper

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Overall good tour. Driver and guide were very good, but felt very rushed at the ruins. Hotel in kusadasi Suhan hotel although we were supposed to stay in the Marina hotel adjacent which was much better in quality was terrible. Much of the second half of the tour started feeling like a tourist trap with constant visits to shops in order to sell you things with the guide and the shop owners playing a nice banter of guide getting you best deal when it was obvious it was prearranged and that he got a commission from the sales.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

MIRIAM F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour. Had a guide that new everything there was to know about Ancient Turkey. He also looked identical to Jerramy Clarkson. It was a small group tour and were we surprised about the quality of the hotels we stayed in! Beautiful. All meals were buffay and included in the price.
If you are looking to party this is not the tour for you. However if you love history and want to see different ages of Turkey then its for you. Thanks for everything I will never forget my time in Turkey.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

jemt81

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tour was fantastic, however somewhere between Viator and the local company, they stuffed us up and did not have the correct itenerary, which would have left us stranded in Marmaris. The guide was as helpful as he could be, and eventually arranged to drive us back to Istanbul.
Other than that, the tour was great, Gallipoli and Ephesus being the highlights.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Lok Tin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Small group of tour in fact it was just me and my partner!
Tour guide was very knowledgable and the coach we travelled was very new 3 months old
Highly recommended - far cheaper than what our hotel offered

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Tara P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guıde was really ınformatıve and helpful. It was a small tour and very accomodatıng to everyones needs. It was fun to swım ın the natural waters of pummakale.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

Nancy A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour of Pamukkale and Hierapolis was wonderful. The guide was knowledgable, the lunch was delicious, and the sites were beautiful and interesting, even though there wasn't much water in all the pools. It seemed as though we spent a lot of time shuffling people around and waiting for vehicles to arrive to take people from our bus to different locations, which I hadn't experienced on a day tour before....which is why I gave this a 4 star rating, instead of a 5.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

Jo L

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A great tour if you want to see some of the sights of Western Turkey with the convenience of starting and ending in Istanbul and without having to fly. Our guide was very helpful whilst still giving us plenty of space and free time, he seemed genuinely interested to tell us about the history and politics of Turkey and clearly very proud of his country which made all the sites very interesting. Highlights were the carpet co-operative, Ephesus and Pergamum with the only lowlight the fashion show at the leather factory which just wasn't appropriate for our group. The hotels and facilities on the bus were excellent and Turkey in general felt very safe and comfortable for a single female traveller.

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

cindyrunge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved Pamukkale.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message