• USD ($)
  • English
Perhaps better known by tourists as Pamukkale, Hierapolis is an ancient city of the Lycus River valley famed for its sacred hot springs. There’s a lot to see at this UNESCO World Heritage Site, whose most popular attraction includes the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I definitely recommend this tour as the most painless way of seeing Pamukkale. We were collected from our hotel at 8.45 am and returned at 6.45pm. The three hour drive was broken up by a stop half-way at a cafe/shop at a petrol station, with good toilet facilities. There were five travellers in total in a very comfortable vehicle with driver and excellent guide, Gul. We enjoyed the buffet lunch at a large restaurant at the foot of Pamukkale, obviously used by all the various tour groups. There was a good selection of food. Drinks are payable in any currency and were not expensive. We had two hours free time at the top of Pamukkale to swim in the Antique Pool and paddle in the travertines. We really enjoyed the Antique Pool with its very warm water and decidedly unusual experience of swimming over ancient ruins. We were offered a stop at an onyx factory, but were able to decline easily.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guide and driver were professional and friendly. Hotels and food great. The sites were wonderful, great info from the guide , though we would have rather had another hour at Ephesus than endure the leather fashion parade! The carpet place in contrast was great. ( By the way your photo shop picture is a bit misleading to the novice!)
The hotel pick up was great service. You should let people know how good the hotel facilities are, pool, laundry, bars and belly dancing!
We took our 2 teenage boys and they were well accommodated and included by the guide in discussions and socially, they really enjoyed it,

The perfect whirlwind taster tour of Turkey, maybe a longer trip with you next year!

Doing what: 5-Day Aegean Tour from Istanbul: Gallipoli, Troy, Pergamum, Ephesus, Kusadasi, Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

First personal experience in Turkey, discovering Ephesus and scenic Cappadocia. Hotels were excellent and the 2 guides, one in Kusadasi and one around Cappadocia had a good level of English and local knowledge. This was a great way to see major attractions in Turkey in a short time.

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Trip well thought of and very well organized, from the transportation to the hotels and up to the cultural aspect. From the Turkey of older times (roman sites and ottoman attractions), to today with its natural parks and inhabitants, this trip allowed me to discover unique scenery like Ephesus, Pamukkale pools, Hierapolis, the extraordinary chimneys of Goreme and Cappadoce, troglodyte villages...

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

6 days very well done, each new day as full as the previous ones! All very diverse and interesting. The first day at Ephesus was tough though, mostly due to a very hot weather. All hotels were very comfortable, all transfers between hotels, airports and guided visits were very well organized. The guides were well served into their topics, very friendly and patient. The visit to Pamukkale with its huge white and turquoise pools was amazing, Cappadocia was incredible and was everything I had read and saw in movies - the fairy chimneys, the troglodyte villages, the numerous churches carved into the rocks, underground city, and more!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great trip experience, well organized, from pickups to guides to selection of hotels. It was the best way to see so much in a short period of time, and we had a blast. Ephesus was a great introduction to Roman time, and Pamukkale impressive by its travertine turquoise pools but also by the size of the site - try picturing it when all buildings were up, it must have been gigantic! Cappadocia was must-see and am glad we spent several days there - definitely worth it. The hike around Red / Pink Valleys was a nice surprise and is very easy. You have a couple of up and down, but nothing hard, and we took our time to get there. My father-in-law was very glad he did it. The most surprising though were all these churches carved in the rock formation, and we were amazed by the beautiful and vivid painting we saw - some very basic, and some as beautiful as some you would see in middle age painting in Europe. The Open Museum in Goreme hosts some of the most amazing ones - don't miss the Dark Church! A top notch tour, totally recommended to get a great view of Turkey!

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

first day is spent at the hotel provided using the pool and discovering kusadasi. second day you visit all the places mentioned, third day you are sent back to izmir. the third day doesnt really count, so its a 2 day tour because on the third day you are collected from the hotel at 10 am and sent back to izmir by 12pm.

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The day excursions were well organized and the guides were very kind and prepared. Every site that we visited was amazing. The hotel in Kusadasi and in Cappadocia were both very beatiful and much more than we expected.
We are very satisfied of the tour, but there are few the things that we did not like:
- we had to take 2 flights to go from Izmir to Cappadocia instead of taking the direct one that was at the same time (6.25 am).
- we were not advised that we should take all the flights by ourselves (which is not a problem) but did not either have electronical tickets for no one flight (totally 2).
- the tour, especially for Cappadocia, has not been precisely followed as written here in the website. We think that maybe, once booked the tour, the local travel agency should be more in contact with us and send us a detailed program few days before the departure. Every day we were not sure of what would have happened the day after, and this was not only for us but also for the people that we meet during the trip.
Hope this suggestions could be helpful to improve the organization of the tour! ;)

Doing what: 6-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Istanbul: Pamukkale, Cappadocia, Ephesus and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Pamukkale is an extremely beautiful place and it's a great pity that the trip allows for only 2 - 2.5 hours for exploring it, whereas the road takes all 7-8 hours to destination and back. Therefore, it's worth considering to take 2-day tour to this beauty.
The guide, however, was very good at making out the most out of our limited time.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I went on 9 tours with Viatour on this trip and I had 2 fantastic guides, 5 good guides and 2 terrible guides. This was one of the ones with a rude guide. She was rude to a number of people. She told then to be quite and listen and all they were doing was asking a question. I can do everything, I am slow. She told me in front of the entire group, that if I could not keep up to meet in the parking lot at 4pm. The kind participants, don't worry we will take time to take pictures, so you can keep up with us. If it was not the participants, I would not have know what I was seeing.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I had a great day with this tour company ,they run a very professional and informative tour ,thought it was terrific value for money ,even though we were offered a tour cheaper with another company ,I would use this company again ,I couldn't imagine the same quality tour for less money ,the guide was great .

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

All in all, this tour was not bad. Pickup from the hotel was prompt and convenient. Our guide was very knowledgeable and sweet. However, the majority of the day was not spent at Pamukkale. At least 6 hours were spent on the bus. Prior to our arrival at Pamukkale, we stopped at an Onyx factory. Frankly, this was a waste of time and a silly, overpriced tourist trap. Then, we went to a truly awful buffet lunch which was unnecessary. Finally, upon arriving at the site, we briefly toured the ruins at Hierapolis and were then given one hour of free time to either see the pools of Pamukkale, swim at Cleopatra's Pool or hike to the theatre. I would have preferred that we had more time to see the main attraction and had spent less time at the Onyx factory and buffet.

Doing what: Small-Group Pamukkale Day Trip from Kusadasi: Travertines and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was amazing, driver is very good and professional, and the guide is very experienced.
We are only 4 people, we we got VVIP treatment, the whole day, the exclusive Guide is accompany with us, and the lucxury minibus.

Thanks fro Aviator, we will choose Aviator for all our future trips.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip was amazing, driver is very good and professional, and the guide is very experienced.
We are only 4 people, we we got VVIP treatment, the whole day, the exclusive Guide is accompany with us, and the lucxury minibus.

Thanks fro Aviator, we will choose Aviator for all our future trips.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Awesome trip. My guide Gizem aka gizmo, was really smart and well spoken. My driver was very funny as well. Great sights and a cool tour guide. Need I say more?

Doing what: 4-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Kusadasi: Pamukkale, Ephesus and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message