Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

Izmir Cruise Port

Sitting on the coast of the Aegean Sea, Izmir is Turkey’s third largest city and second largest port. Once known as Smyrna, its history goes back to around 3,000 B.C.  Today, Izmir is a modern city with a European feel that serves as a jumping ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 44 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Knowledgeable guide, could have done without the "rug demo" since you are essentially stuck at there until the sales staff finally recognizes you aren't buying. Turns out our itinerary had shifted and we came in to a different port (Kusadasi). Viator, in typical fashion, just rearranged us to attend the Kusadasi half-day tour instead. I ALWAYS look up Viator options before booking a cruise ship excursion or anyone else.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well conducted and informative.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Izmir was a city full of charm! We visited Agora, Kadifekale, and two museums. View from the Kadifekale was unforgettable. Without this guided tour, we could not see the city in such a compact time slot because the local trails might be a bit complicated to aliens! The guide named Ihsan was really professional! We enjoyed every moment with uncle Ihsan. I was a bit worried about the return time to the cruise ship, however, we could get to the ship in reasonable time.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, very informative and made us feel very secure and comfortable. Punctual and good company. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Emray was a fabulous guide! We was very friendly, knowledgable and spoke English well. This tour was my favorite of our trip! We even asked if we were interested in going to lunch at a local family owned carpet factory. There was no pressure at all. The food was great and we got to see every step in how they make handmade carpets.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Tour was excellent. The House of the Virgin Mary was impressive and Ephesus' ruins are really majestic. The guide was excellent in both places and very respectul of the first place, as she was not Catholic.
Forcing the tourists to go to the rugs' factory is of very poor taste. Even though it is called "voluntary" you are forced to go, hear the explanation and resist the factory's employees pressure to buy a rug.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed our half-day Izmir tour. Our party of 4 was also joined by another couple on their honeymoon in Izmir. We were able to see much of the city and experienced a little bit of the culture and also had time to visit the local market and have Turkish coffee. Our tour guide was very informative and very pleasant.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This tour was rushed, we had to pick up someone from the airport after being picked up at the cruise port. The House of the Virgin Mary was amazing to walk through. Bring coins to make a donation to get candles to light also bring a pen and paper to write your prayer request and place on the wall. We then headed to Ephesus which was huge with a lot of history! If you have difficulty walking this is not the tour for you! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable was very rushed and would often walk off without us! We then spent about 20 min at the burial site of John the Baptist then off to lunch at Carpet Factory. The lunch was very good, drinks not included, then spent probably an hour learning about how handmade carpets are made then taken in for the sales pitch and given free drinks then. Be prepared for the sales pitch and beautiful carpets that keep on coming. Leaving to go back to the cruise ship halfway there we dropped off our guide then dropped one of our people at the airport and continued on.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very nice tour. Appreciated that we were accommodated on the full day tour when the half day tour was cancelled.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The itinery was as advertised and there were only 4 of us on the tour. Our guide did an excellent job of explaining the sites. She was also informative about certain customs and nuances of Turkey and spoke very good English. Our lunch was also very good at our stopping place at Turkeman carpets ; however it was quite expensive because my wife Anne purshased handmade silk carpet !! Oh well, you can't take it with you!! All said, it was a greatly satisfying experience and we would definitely recommend it to anyone...Tom/Anne Winn

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it was very nice tour,gide was very polite and introduce us to a very interesting thing we did not know before

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

When they say private..they mean private! It was me, my guide Inan and the driver in a Mercedes mini-van. I have to admit that I was blown away with the scenery on the drive friom the port to the Ephesus area. Reminded me of the Colorado Rockies in certain areas. First stop was to the House of the Virgin Mary to avoid the crowds. Very interesting place in a beautiful setting, Then we heading to the Ephesus site itself which is right down the road. Once you enter, it is a down hill walk through the area and the amazing thing is that only a small part has been excavated so far. I must have taken 300 photos in this site alone. It was also nice having Inan as my private guide getting a locals perspective of the area and the site. We also toured a turkish rug making factory and a pottery shop in which you can get some great deals. A full day of fun that is highly recommended

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus, House of Virgin Mary and Temple of Artemis

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour of Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary. Our guide Emre was incredibly knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Only downside to the trip was that we were taken to a rug making store at the end and they were really great and took us in a private room and unrolled a bunch of rugs for us and were then a bit too pushy about having us buy one. Felt obligated to get one, which wasn't exactly what I wanted from this tour. Don't let them unroll the rugs unless you plan on buying.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our guide made sure we had a very comprehensive and interesting tour.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The best excursion we have done in a long time. The guide was amazing, food was great, and all of the spots visited were worth seeing...although I don't know how we were able to do so much in just one day!!! We arrived in port and 2 people did not show so we waited an extra 20 mins for them. Our guide felt very bad that we had to leave and then later received a call from them...she made the right choice. This left us with a virtually private tour of 7 people for a much lower price then Carnival. The next port we scheduled a Carnival excursion and it was cancelled due to low interest...the "only" had 12 or 14 people according to the Carnival Excursions desk...I think I will be booking all excursions with Viator from now on.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message