• USD ($)
  • English

Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

Izmir Cruise Port

Sitting on the coast of the Aegean Sea, Izmir is Turkey’s third largest city and second largest port. Once known as Smyrna, its history goes back to around 3,000 B.C.  Today, Izmir is a modern city with a European feel that serves as a jumping off ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 35 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The itinery was as advertised and there were only 4 of us on the tour. Our guide did an excellent job of explaining the sites. She was also informative about certain customs and nuances of Turkey and spoke very good English. Our lunch was also very good at our stopping place at Turkeman carpets ; however it was quite expensive because my wife Anne purshased handmade silk carpet !! Oh well, you can't take it with you!! All said, it was a greatly satisfying experience and we would definitely recommend it to anyone...Tom/Anne Winn

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it was very nice tour,gide was very polite and introduce us to a very interesting thing we did not know before

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

When they say private..they mean private! It was me, my guide Inan and the driver in a Mercedes mini-van. I have to admit that I was blown away with the scenery on the drive friom the port to the Ephesus area. Reminded me of the Colorado Rockies in certain areas. First stop was to the House of the Virgin Mary to avoid the crowds. Very interesting place in a beautiful setting, Then we heading to the Ephesus site itself which is right down the road. Once you enter, it is a down hill walk through the area and the amazing thing is that only a small part has been excavated so far. I must have taken 300 photos in this site alone. It was also nice having Inan as my private guide getting a locals perspective of the area and the site. We also toured a turkish rug making factory and a pottery shop in which you can get some great deals. A full day of fun that is highly recommended

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus, House of Virgin Mary and Temple of Artemis

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a great tour of Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary. Our guide Emre was incredibly knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Only downside to the trip was that we were taken to a rug making store at the end and they were really great and took us in a private room and unrolled a bunch of rugs for us and were then a bit too pushy about having us buy one. Felt obligated to get one, which wasn't exactly what I wanted from this tour. Don't let them unroll the rugs unless you plan on buying.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Our guide made sure we had a very comprehensive and interesting tour.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The best excursion we have done in a long time. The guide was amazing, food was great, and all of the spots visited were worth seeing...although I don't know how we were able to do so much in just one day!!! We arrived in port and 2 people did not show so we waited an extra 20 mins for them. Our guide felt very bad that we had to leave and then later received a call from them...she made the right choice. This left us with a virtually private tour of 7 people for a much lower price then Carnival. The next port we scheduled a Carnival excursion and it was cancelled due to low interest...the "only" had 12 or 14 people according to the Carnival Excursions desk...I think I will be booking all excursions with Viator from now on.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour got a 5 star rating due to our guide, Oscar. He was very knowledgeable about what to see, how to tour away from the crowds but still see everything and gave us a history lesson we will never forget. We we asked where we wanted to go and what we wanted to see on our own time. He was patient with us and made sure we had plenty of time to see what we wanted to see. I would definitely recommend Oscar.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus, House of Virgin Mary and Temple of Artemis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great. Fantastic. Our guide was so nice and so knowledgable. The driver was very good, and also very personable. I enjoyed the tour and guide so much I didn't want it to end. Also, it was obvious how much she loved her country, and that was wonderful.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

we were met at the ship on time and that was good. I thought that from the information before booking we would visit the Izmir Museum, which did not happen, perhaps i was mistaken, as we did visit an historical sight. the guide was very kind to my 5yr old grandson which was very special. the highlight was a delicous lunch we enjoyed at one of the cafes at the market.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My husband and I loved our guide Oya. I thought we would be on a large bus with many tourists but there were only 10 people on our tour. Oya is a wealth of information and she is beautiful and funny too. We had a delicious and healthy lunch in the middle of a grassy area at table under a canopy set with linens and dishes. We had a choice of wine and beer along with other drinks. Being inside the House of Mary was remarkable and Ephesus was breathtaking. I had never heard of it before my visit and now I know it was a magnificent Roman city visited by all the "Bible writers" John, Paul, Luke and Matthew. Cleopatra and Mark Anthony walked the same streets I did!!

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very good tour
The tour young woman who was our guide was outstanding
The mini bus we went on was spotlessly clean and with only ten people in the group it felt like were at times getting one to one explanations on any questions we had
Lunch was good
I would from my experience recommend this tour

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour was fantastic. Our guide, Emre Dasdemir, was knowledgeable, considerate, respectful, helpful, interesting and funny. He made a point of educating us as well as entertaining us, in fact, he restored our faith in the Turkish people after a less than positive experience we had the previous day while in Istanbul. His knowledge of the sites we visited and his ability to provide relevant history and geographic information to ensure we developed a complete understanding of the relevance of the site historically was exceptional. We took three tours on our cruise, each from different providers, and this one was by far the most positive experience, due in large part, we believe, to the skill and personality of our guide. We would strongly recommend this tour and in particular our guide, to anyone visiting Turkey.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

The tour itself was very good, but everything else was so-so. First of all, it took some time for our tour operator to pick up us from the port. She was not late, but all other tour operators arrived much earlier to greet their guests than she did. Second, this trip supposed to include lunch. We arrived to a farm (outdoor restaurant) where we were greeted by restaurant staff. Then, they started to bring family style dishes that we had to share with the rest of our group. During first 10 minutes or so, they asked what kind of drink we want with our lunch without bring us any menu, or explaining that drinks are not part of our lunch. Most of us asked for beer and wine. We had wine that was served in a small glass, and wine was not up to our taste. At the end of our lunch they requested 5 euro per each wine glass. It was outrages. First of all, they (restaurant staff or tour guide) had to tell us beforehand that wine and beer are not part of free lunch, secondary; they had to serve wine in real wine; show us wine bottle and allow testing of wine to at least one person. We all felt that both restaurant or tour operators ripped us off and our afternoon was somewhat spoiled.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2013

This tour was one of the most boring tours on my cruise. We spent most of our time in a museum listening to our guide tell us about so many dates and places that it was over saturation. I couldn't remember any of it. We were led to believe that the tour was riding , most of it was walking. Would not reccomend it.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message