Kadifekale, also known  as The Velvet Castle, presides over the town from its vantage point on top of Kadifekale hill. Built by General Lysimachos, a successor of Alexander the Great, Kadifekale appears to have acted as both a castle and a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

generally Ok but not really a must do.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This trip was disappointing. Although the tour itself could have been a pleasant little historic promenade through Izmir including two museums, the visit of the Kafidekale castle etc., it turned out to be a catastrophe - due to the guide. Güler didn't know I lived in Izmir and that only my parents were here for the first time, as real "tourists". Already within the first five minutes after pick-up, conversation tipped out from historical aspects (which is the actual mean of this trip) to her own political opinions explained in an offensive manner. She simply was unprofessional, this is the best way to describe. She's supposed to having studied history and archaeology but none of this was visible. My parents were constantly correcting her behind or reminding her antique names she had 'forgotten' while explaining history in the museum. In the end she even reminded us "to not forget to tip the driver", in a quite undiscrete and unpolite manner, although she didn't even take 30 seconds to introduce him to us nor to thank him (like guides mostly do), in fact she didn't even introduce herself ! Unprofessionalism pushed to its paroxism. It's sad for VIATOR because other trips I have done with this travel agency were great ! Thank you though for all interesting tours you manage to organize ! Next time will be better.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I went on this tour to get a good idea of what Izmir was all about. And it was very good . Got to see Izmir without trying to do it my self.
Thank you

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2012

Suggest people take this tour early in their visit to Izmir. I had seen the sites included on this brief tour on my own already and the guide did not add much to what I knew already.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Fabio D
Germany

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2012

A very nice City! Thanks to my Guide Murat Y. he make the Sightseeing to a special Day, he show me many Place`s in Izmir, with many interesting Informations!

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2011

Good overview. The guide added much to the experience.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Our tour guide, Sinan was really knowledgeable about the sites which made the tour more enjoyable. It was a good way to see some of the city! Good tour

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

Well planned. The museum was closed. This should be prominently put on the tour description.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

Very interesting city

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2008

It was great to see life in Izmir. Would have liked to have the option of seeing Ephesus or Virgin Mary's house. Other tours were able to cover in the 4 hours we had in the port.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Great guide and great tour.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2008

It was O.K. but somehow we didn't take the boat across the bay even though it was in the program.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message