A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 259 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As others have said, it is a long day but well worth the trip. My husband wasn't excited to go but was so happy that he did. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The history is amazing. Truly would recommend to anyone interested in history - and for me it was doubly important for the religious significance. One of the highlights of two weeks in Greece and Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our excellent tour guide made this one of the highlights of our trip. She was very knowledgeable and well-educated, and especially respectful of differing beliefs and backgrounds. This enabled everyone to discover Ephesus and draw our own conclusions and experience it on various levels. It was an unexpected pleasure.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was assigned to Neon Travel. I contacted them before I left home , I told them where to pick me up. And they were on time too pick us up.and the tour was excellent.The tour guide was knowledgeable.Emergeny number was a resident number where no one spoke English. I was not told when to be ready.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was outstanding! We easily met up with our guide and 6 others in our group. Our guide, "Smiling Lion" ( can't pronounce her Turkish name) had an exceptional knowledge of every stop on the tour plus an overall commentary of every day modern living. Extremely interesting. The luncheon at the rug factory was a nice touch for us to enjoy a delicious Turkish meal. This tour was the best of several we took on our trip and I would recommend Viator/the tour operator to anyone considering visiting the area.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fantastic tour! The biblical history was great! Our guide was very knowledgable in archeology and biblical history. She was very detailed throughout the tour. There only one other couple on the tour, so I felt like she gave us her undivided attention! Although, I'm sure if it were one or one hundred people, I'm sure they would get the same treatment!
Loved it and I really recommend it to everyone!!! Especially if you are interested in biblical history!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide made this trip awesome, she was well informed and kept us hopping all day. I would have to say it was on my best top 10 ever tours and I've traveled all seven continents.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

the best sites, ample time, great lunch and the guide was the best

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Zeynab, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and happy to answer all of our questions. The tour itself was superb, and all the major points were included. Lunch was tasty and it was pleasant to discuss and share the day's experiences with other tour participants. The visit to the traditional carpet factory, where old techniques of carpet weaving were explained and demonstrated, was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This was a very nice tour, our guide whom I cannot remember her name ( I'm sorry) was very friendly and knew what she was talking about. She was very patient with the 2 Canadian couples that decided to not meet at the bus when we were supposed to meet. They decided to just go shopping on their own and disregard us and the guide. She went 3 times looking for them to no avail. Then they just came strolling up 30 minutes past the meeting time, when she came back to the bus and they were there and admitted to shopping she kept her cool even though the sweat was rolling down her face. All in all a very nice tour and guide except for the sales pitch at a carpet place after lunch which I feel we paid for a tour and not a sales pitch that lasted about 30 to 40 minutes.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Excellent trip despite travel delays - tour guide Gular was excellent

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Very good, overall, but I'd skip the carpet making segment. Lots of walking and super hot!!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

We had a mixed experience with this tour. The actual tour of Ephesus and the House of the Virgin Mary was excellent, the tour guide was very informative and made all of the history interesting and easy to follow. If this was the only aspect of the tour we would have given it five stars. While the lunch was enjoyable, it was rushed so that we could receive a 'tour' of the adjoining carpet shop. This was an savoury end to our tour as we felt pressured into buying carpets, something that seems to be common in Istanbul and we were hoping to get away from for at least a day... The other negative was, as we left from Istanbul we didn't feel like we were well informed about the process of transfers that would be required from hotel to airport, then on a bus to Ephesus, each time with a different person with various abilities to communicate in English.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour ws one issue after another- from 2 delayed flights to waiting around ages at the airport.

The worst and most inexcusable thing was our transfer in Istanbul wasn't there when we arrived. He finally came 45 mins later not wearing a uniform and came with a mate from his night out.

Avoid avoid!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message