A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful experience! Our tour guide was very personable, engaging, well informed and genuinely nice! We lucked out to be the only two guests on a tour that can accommodate up to 14 guests. We loved our time with her.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Oh lord these was amazing! I don't have words and the lady who was our guide was lovely. Very responsible and knowledgeable. Food out of this world! It requires a lot of walking but it is worth it.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the tour and our tour guide was really great. She knew a lot and kept it interesting. If I were doing the tour again I would choose to do the Houses in the Ephesus ruins over Mary's House. Just a personal preference I think

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Grand, a very nice experience.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

WOW!!! The highlight of our cruise. Turkey was amazing. I can not say enough of how wonderful this country is. Our tour guide, Gokce Tascilar, was fantastic. She was able to talk clearly and knew the history of Turkey and the areas we saw. She was fun with a great sense of humor. There is a ton of walking so be prepared. I wore nice, well supported sandles without any problem. Our first stop was the Blessed Mary's last known house. What a holy place. We arrived at Mary's house right ahead of a couple large tour buses, so were weren't over crowed when we went through. It was shady and peaceful. I'd love to go back there to admire the entire place with more time. Our next stop was down the hill to Ephesus. Be cautious of the main walking path through Ephesus. The marble walkways becomes very slick and slippery...so walk with caution. It gets hot! so try to wear a hat and have at least one bottle of water per person (2 if you like or need lots of water). The stories and history of Ephesus were enchanting and keep you interested in the entire trip. Onto St. John's cathedral which was good...but after the long walk through Ephesus we were already exhausted...The cathedral is set upon a hill with amazing views. That in itself was worth it. Our lunch was at the Turkish Rug place...the food was good and refreshing. The tour of how silk was made was really fun and seeing these rugs being woven was interesting too. The sales pitch to buy a rug wasn't too bad unless you showed interest...then they drag you away to a private room to sell you your rug. Make sure, if you are interested in purchasing a rug, to negotiate the price. I believe our rug started at $5k and we got it down to $2,800. So, do not be afraid to walk away. They want to make a deal. They want to make you happy. I recommend doing a bit of research before going to see what fair prices are on rugs. But make sure you compare of materials of the rugs like silk, wool or wool/cotton. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Even though I booked the tour one day in advance and the site mentioned that hotel pick-up may not be possible, I was very pleasantly surprised to see a vehicle there to pick us up and drive us to Kusadasi to join the rest of the group!

The guide was very professional and well informed about the sights and was able to answer all our questions. We were given enough time at the sites to roam around on our own and click pictures. We were dropped to our hotel at the end of the tour. It was a wonderful experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was an excellent tour. The guide had an extensive background on the history of this historical site. I was pleased thar there was someone who guided us through the airport that morning. I have one very negative comment. The tour company required you to contact them 24 hours before the tour to let them know if you wanted to be picked up for transportation to and from the airport. Since I was not going to arrive within the required time limit I called the company from my home. It cost a lot of money Upon arriving at my hotel in Istanbul, I ha the hotel contact the company to inquire what time was pick up. They couln't tell me. Since it was going to be early in the morning, it was important to know the time. I wasnot informed until 9PM .

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a full day tour. The tour guide met us according to instruction. No delays. She was very knowledgeable and paced the tour to enhance the highlights accordingly.
We would recommend this tour

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Viator was good and the tour organization was fine. Other members of the group were nice and friendly and helped each other to take pictures. The tour guide was a little unfriendly, however. She was rushing us through the sites and we had to finish sightseeing BEFORE lunch (2pm), which meant we were dehydrated and hungry and that reduced my excitement visiting Ephesus which is worth a whole day of exploring.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We waited from 9am departure till 9.30am for 2 guests whose ship was departing at 2.30pm, they didn't turn up.we were supposed to be returning 4.30pm so it didn't make sense. The trip was interesting and after an hour at a carpet showroom we were back at the dock at 3.40pm.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is amazing experience to visit Ephesus and see the grandeur of this ancient city. This is a must trip for anyone going to Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message