A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 319 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

what a truly magnificent place ephesus was - and they've only excavated 20 of the place

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the tour and associated account of the relevant history. Well worth it. The lunch meal provided was also very tasty and substantial.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a fantastic tour with the the guide who has an excellent knowledge and communication skills. The lunch was good as well. There was a little bit misunderstanding regarding pick up from Izmir Airport as the flight was delayed at Istanbul.

Doing what: Best Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Ephesus was great and the tour guide and flight organisation etc were excellent.
Personally, I think that we could have skipped the House of theVirgin Mary, which was not actually her house in any case.
Could have also skipped the carpet factory tour we had the on the trip to Cappadocia.

Doing what: Best Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent small group tour. There were 8 of us on the tour and the guide was very good. He gave us much of history as a group, but plenty of time to walk around on our own for pictures. The lunch was good. The carpet tour was very interesting and eventually turned into a sales pitch, but they were not real pushy. It did not detract from the tour.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Viator is efficient at getting you out of town. We were picked up at 5:30 am and whisked to the airport for our flight to Izmir and Ephesus. On the drive to Ephesus from Izmir I was amazed by all the agriculture! Peach trees! Corn! We met our guide who bubbled with excitement talking about all the history in the area. She was really knowledgeable about all the history and side stories. And if she didn't know, she made up a story as to why it was. Ephesus is an amazing place to visit. The excavation of the ancient city is breathtaking. And so much of it is intact. The lunch was fabulous. Then, of course, you have to visit the Turkish rug store. This particular one showed us how they obtained the silk from the cocoons. I would highly recommend this tour. Be sure to wear your walking shoes!

Doing what: Best Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved Ephesus. The ruins were beautiful and our guide gave us plenty of time to take pictures. It was extremely hot in July! I bought two bottles of water just outside, one frozen and one cold. I drank them both by the time the tour ended 1.5 hours later. The ruins of the church of St John are smaller but nice. The house of Mary was very peaceful and in a bieautiful setting in the mountains. It also includes a stop at a turkish rug workshop.

Doing what: Best Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was really excellent. Our group enjoyed the tour greatly. The lunch was good and the location charming. The rug sales pitch was a bit much but the demonstration was very interesting.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was excellent. I didn't like the forced carpet demonstration and the stop at the leather goods store. Otherwise she covered the itinerary well and took advantage of best times at the three sites. Lunch was very good also.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Tour guide was not engaged with the group. Spent more time with humor then on information that would help with the historical nature of the tour and general information about the country/area. Was good to adjust when site was crowded or not accessible. Good lunch. Not impressed with the high pressure selling at the carpet making stop

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour!!! Our tour guide made the excursion really interesting and food was great.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was Phylis and she was wonderful! She was very helpful with arranging transportation for our early departure and she was filled with facts about everything from education to politics to urban legends. The tour was great and I would book with the company as well as with the tour guide again.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an awesome tour! Our guide was great! Ephesus was an incredible highlight of our adventure

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Superb tour guide, brand new bus, small group, even the carpet shop spiel wasn't annoying - we all ended up buying carpets!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ephesus is one of the best ancient towns to visit. There are lot to see - nice theatres and other building ruins and of course nice views over valley between hills. Tour-guide of Neon - Cigdem Göktas - led our tour in very nice way. With nice presentations of sites and friendly manner, she made whole tour group to feel good and welcome. Very good work! Guide also helped me to continue my travel forward to Kusadasi. Five stars for tour! This is a site that must be visited!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Bede
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing. The sights and history of Ephesus make this a must do tour.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an amazing place - it was like going back in a time machine to see so much well preserved Roman ruins! Our guide Sky was excellent - really knew her stuff and was passionate about Turkey! Even the tour and lunch at the carpet factory was fun! Viator - the best guides!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was the highlight of our cruise. Ephesus is an amazing place to visit. Gokce, our guide, spoke perfect English and gave us great information about all of the sites. We were the only 2 people on the tour. The lunch provided was delicious. I definately recommend this tour over the ship's your.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was great mostly because our guide, Guler, is very knowledgeable. She took us to a non-touristic restaurant (usually a bad buffet) which was awesome. We finished a bit early with the tour so she took us to a leather store fashion show and it was hilarious! Way to end a fantastic trip!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a MUST - we only had 6 people on our tour! Our guide was fantastic - she paid attention to the heat and uneven pavement for a person in the group who had a cane but did not hold the rest of us up. Extremely knowledgeable. The lunch was fantastic - taking us to a school that teaches rug making and only accommodates small tours.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

excellent tour all around. The sights in Ephesus are impressive and our guide was very informative and patient, made sure we cover the entire grounds. The lunch was of local food and was superb.
The Virgin Mary and St Johns Cathedral ruins were also spectacular.
Very highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept us on time. I would definitely recommend this tour with this tour guide.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message