A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour was great. the tour guides were so informative and really put you in the moment when they explained everything. the hotels provided in the package were first class. would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful experience! Our tour guide was very personable, engaging, well informed and genuinely nice! We lucked out to be the only two guests on a tour that can accommodate up to 14 guests. We loved our time with her.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Oh lord these was amazing! I don't have words and the lady who was our guide was lovely. Very responsible and knowledgeable. Food out of this world! It requires a lot of walking but it is worth it.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful excursion. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Good balance of descriptions vs free time to explore. Having smaller group made it much more personal.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant trip with excellent guide who made it such fun and highly informative for all of us.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A brilliant tour and a huge eye opener in terms of the significance of the site.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Took the flight to Izmir for the Ephesus tour and everything went smoothly. Visiting the House of the Virgin Mary the historic city of Ephesus was a dream come true. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable however a bit impatient and did not display a passion for her profession on this day!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Well coordinated tour with local tour guides. Very personal tour and the guides were passionate about their country's history. Accommodation was good.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a good time on the tour and our tour guide was really great. She knew a lot and kept it interesting. If I were doing the tour again I would choose to do the Houses in the Ephesus ruins over Mary's House. Just a personal preference I think

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a very good trip and seeing the house of Mary of Mary was awesome. The lunch was also good.
Ndegwa

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

The ruins of Ephesus were wonderful! I will encourage friends traveling to Turkey to visit the ruins; however, I will advise them against traveling with this tour operator.

The individuals at the tour operator refused to pick us up at our hostel in Beyoglu – we were located 3 minutes from Istiklal Avenue. They informed us that another couple was being picked up 5 minutes away, and so they asked us to walk to the other couples’ hotel for 5:00 a.m. My partner and I walked to the other hotel (actually a 20 minute walk away), and were picked up. There was no other couple being picked up at that specific location.

The tour operator did not inform us that we needed to print additional material. I printed the Viator Voucher, but apparently I needed to print the their trip voucher that was sent to me less than 24 hours before the tour.

The Tour ended at 15:00 and we were dropped off at the Izmir airport to wait for our flights which were at 19:00. I could have used that time for something else, like visiting the city of Izmir, or taking my time visiting the ruins of Ephesus/the house of the Virgin Mary. Throughout the entire tour we were on a strict schedule, when ultimately, we could have spent more time exploring on our own. Our guide would give us 15 minutes to take photos and “explore” after his explanation of what the ruins were.

Upon arrival in Istanbul we were once again dropped off at the wrong location – the driver informed us that he would not drop us off at our hostel. We were dropped off at Taksim Square and told to walk.

Thanks for your time!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was waiting for us as we left the ship. She is proud of her country, she was informative and very patient with people who came back late from photo or shopping time. The lunch at 2 pm is far too late in the day after all the walking at ephesus. This is a good tour that covers many locations. We were returned on time to the ship with no stress.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message