Izmir ATTRACTIONS See all

St Mary's House

A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 210 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christopher O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour and the guide was amazing. Lunch was one of the best meals I had the entire 10 days I was in Turkey. We also got to see carpet making which was really cool. I only put 4 stars because it's a bit expensive.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

oscar.lanza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was awesome. The tour guide was phenomenal he was very knowledgeable, patient, understanding, and did not allow me to skip any of the most important components of the tour. I was very appreciative of how he made sure that I had a great experience. If you love Roman history and the evolution of Christianity, this is for you.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

D D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a very rainy day for the tour, the sights themselves were a must for anyone traveling to Ephesus, Turkey! The highlight of the trip was seeing the ancient library. What an amazing site to see. One request I would like to make is for the tour company to provide a personalized itinerary for the traveler. That would have been extremely helpful. Instead of providing an itinerary or pickup time my hotel room was contacted two hours earlier than expected for a 4 AM pickup instead of a 6 AM pickup, thus causing quite a poor start to the day. Additionally those of us traveling had no idea what the schedule was for the day, so we just had to go with the flow and when the sightseeing tour concluded, we were taken to the airport only to have to wait three hours for our flight back to Istanbul. Unfortunately we had to spend 3 hours in the Izmir airport when we could have possibly been elsewhere enjoying additional sites or shops at the location. All that being said, it was a good tour and is recommended to any traveler passing through Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Our guide was wonderful--her knowledge of Ephesus was extensive and she communicated beautifully. All of the travel arrangements were spot on. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

James O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a wonderful experience. Our guide was wonderful--her knowledge of Ephesus was extensive and she communicated beautifully. All of the travel arrangements were spot on. Thank you very much.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pick up was prompt, everyone was very polite. Tour guide was thorough and made sure we each covered the things we wanted and offered many options of other places to see and allowed the time we needed to do what we wanted. Lunch was fantastic and the trip was worth every penny.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Kristin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My guide was lovely and knowledgeable, and the entire tour was well-planned, educational, and at a pace and with the flexibility that was much appreciated by our small group of 4. I would definitely recommend this tour to friends --from Kristin, Washington, D.C., USA, visited August 2015.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Hamid K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humor

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Daniel H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Al was the best tour guide we have ever had. Very knowledgeable and presented the information with an entertaining flair.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Christine L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The trip was well coordinated by Neon travel, very educated and informative guide.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Franklin-5

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was great to see the ancient city of Ephesus!! A must see for visitors to the area.

Downside was the poor communication of the tour guide, to the people coordinating the flight bookings, to us the travellers. When the sight seeing tour finished, we were taken to the airport, only to find out that our flight time was three hours later. We spent 3 hours in the Izmir airport when we could of possibly been elsewhere...

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Aaron M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

The tour guide hurried us through some of the places, not allowing enough time to take more pics and more closely examine everything. That would not have been a bad thing, except for the fact that the tour also ended substantially earlier than the flight back I was booked on. I was dropped at the airport FOUR FULL HOURS before my flight, from a small, regional, low traffic airport the check-in counter was not even open yet.

The alternative was to sit through more sales pitches for--I mean--demonstrations of hand-made ceramic and leather items...and then be sent to the airport substantially earlier than my flight.

Good sights to see and worth going there if you are in Izmir, but don't book from Istanbul unless you like spending your hard-earned vacation hours, waiting in airports.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

michael g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the most incredible days spent seeing sites that had such an impact on history. Ismail, our guide, was masterful in his knowledge of the areas and his desire to make the day so memorable--he is a true asset to the company. Ephesus in many ways exceeds the Forum in Rome in splendor and majesty---so much history over so many civilizations in one place. St Mary's tomb was moving. Whether you belive in a religion or not, the power of the location and simplicity cannot do anything other than to move you. What a day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ephesus and St. Mary's House

McIntosh T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

Our day started with pick up at 4.20am originally 5.15am for 7.30am flight. With only 1 other pick up for similar flight time we are not sure why. Once in Izmir we were picked up and all seemed Ok. However our 'day tour was very short. We had visited St John's Basillica, House of Virgin Mary and Ephesus all before lunch. Time at Ephesus was just 1h 45mins. Lunch at carpet makers, was nice, but the hard sell campaign was unwanted. We were then offered to see ceramics. No takers. Leather. No takers. Turkish Delight. No takers. The guide then said 'Oh well, tours over' and shortly after left the bus to go home to Kusadasi. The driver then took us all back to hotels or the airport by approximately 4pm. We paid a lot of money for this tour and were really disappointed. It was meant to be a sightseeing tour not a buying expedition and for this reason we definitely would not recommend it. Such a let down after such a great Gallipoli tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

ATHANASIOS S Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

SUPER WOW!!! THE GUIDE DO NOT REMEMBER HER NAME-ASK THE TRAVEL AGENCY WAS GREAT! EPHESUS IS GREAT TOO!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Marius M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I was surprised that we were only four persons taking the tour, so it was like a small private tour. The guide, Ms. Güler Aslan, was very knowledgeable and gave us very interesting information. The site itself is fabulous. Very well preserved and carefully maintained, it is like an open window towards the ancient past. A past that was almost brought back to life by the vivid explanations of our guide. The only nuisance was the large number of tourists visiting the site, but this is understandable considering its fame and splendour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Pat C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

This was only a half day tour - 2 hours at Ephesus and 1 hour for Virgin Mary House. Wouldn't have minded but I was unceremoniously dumped at the airport and had to wait 4 hours to board the flight back to Istanbul. Not good enough.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

graham h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

what a truly magnificent place ephesus was - and they've only excavated 20 of the place

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Raphael C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the tour and associated account of the relevant history. Well worth it. The lunch meal provided was also very tasty and substantial.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

khanta

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a fantastic tour with the the guide who has an excellent knowledge and communication skills. The lunch was good as well. There was a little bit misunderstanding regarding pick up from Izmir Airport as the flight was delayed at Istanbul.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

JudyStuart

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Ephesus was great and the tour guide and flight organisation etc were excellent.
Personally, I think that we could have skipped the House of theVirgin Mary, which was not actually her house in any case.
Could have also skipped the carpet factory tour we had the on the trip to Cappadocia.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Sherry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Viator is efficient at getting you out of town. We were picked up at 5:30 am and whisked to the airport for our flight to Izmir and Ephesus. On the drive to Ephesus from Izmir I was amazed by all the agriculture! Peach trees! Corn! We met our guide who bubbled with excitement talking about all the history in the area. She was really knowledgeable about all the history and side stories. And if she didn't know, she made up a story as to why it was. Ephesus is an amazing place to visit. The excavation of the ancient city is breathtaking. And so much of it is intact. The lunch was fabulous. Then, of course, you have to visit the Turkish rug store. This particular one showed us how they obtained the silk from the cocoons. I would highly recommend this tour. Be sure to wear your walking shoes!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Clairalyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved Ephesus. The ruins were beautiful and our guide gave us plenty of time to take pictures. It was extremely hot in July! I bought two bottles of water just outside, one frozen and one cold. I drank them both by the time the tour ended 1.5 hours later. The ruins of the church of St John are smaller but nice. The house of Mary was very peaceful and in a bieautiful setting in the mountains. It also includes a stop at a turkish rug workshop.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message