Modern-day sun lovers worship Didyma’s golden beaches, but in classical Ionian times this was the legendary site of the Temple of Apollo. In its heyday, Didyma’s famous temple was the home of the oracle of Apollo, who provided the Hellenic world ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 280 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Overall, this was the best tour I had. Our tour only had 9 people which made it pretty personal. And, the tour guide was AWESOME. She was a history graduate from Turkey and her knowledge was wonderful. Turkey is a county I WILL visit again. We also got to eat traditional Turkey food at a Turkish Carpet School after an outstanding demonstration from the Instructor and Students. They even had their own silk-work farm and we got to find out how to tell a female from a male silkworm!!!! Overall.......STUPENDOUS!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WOW! What an experience. We were picked-up right on time. Our guide knew everything about this great city and took time to to explain many of the little things we saw, but didn't understand.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The one-day tour of Ephesus from Istanbul was not only perfectly arranged as to logistics but the guide provided a wonderful perspective from which to understand this ancient treasure.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful service....all transfers on time...knowledgeable guide....would recommend tour and company to anyone

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! Incredible trip with an extremely knowledgeable guide being Goulet. There were just 2 of us on the trip and it still went ahead which we were delighted about. Mother Mary's home is extremely worthwhile. We learnt so much - thank you Goulet! Thank you to our driver to who was very friendly albeit he didn't speak much English. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Well worth it and highly recommended. Jane Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As expected. Food was good and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We spent a lovely day in Ephesus and the tour guide was knowledgeable. What we didn't expect was the 2 hour carpet 'show' after lunch and we wished that we could spend more time at the ruins or visiting Saracen village instead.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the ancient city of Ephesus, as well as the House of Virgin Mary and the Basilica of St. John. This place is a treasure trove of Biblical (as well as Greek and Roman) history. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were given ample time to explore each site without feeling rushed.
The downside, lunch, served at the Turkmen Carpet Weaving Center, was just OK. We took entirely too long at this place and I can't help but feel like this was a not so subtle attempt to have tourists buy Turkish carpets...and of course, those carpets aren't cheap. I could've done without a stop at the carpet place and a better lunch as well. Maybe a stop at the Turkmen carpet place was used as an itinerary filler, but I would rather spend some time exploring the Temple of Artemis than look at carpets upon carpets.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The sites were amazing, but our guide, while very knowledgeable, seemed more interested in getting through each section of the tour so that she could play on her cell phone.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great experience with small group. Thanks

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Haris A
Pakistan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent ... !!!!
Very well coordinated, superb guide, well planned and good food.... 7 stars

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Ephesus was really beautiful, if you're a fan of ancient city walks. It was comparable to my walks around the ruins of Greece and Italy. The tour guide was excellent, really knowledgeable and spent a lot of time telling us about the history of the region while we were on the bus as well as at the different locations we stopped at.

There was a stop (for lunch and afterwards) at a rug-making co-op, which was actually really interesting (more so than the stop that happened on our Istanbul day tour) because they showed how they collect the silk from the cocoons, as well as how the rugs are made. Then of course there was a lengthy sales process, but as long as you stick to your guns about not buying, they are not rude or too pushy about it.

Great stop afterwards at a place that sold different Turkish snacks (e.g. lokum "Turkish delight," stuffed figs, etc) and had them all available for tasting before you buy!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

As others have said, it is a long day but well worth the trip. My husband wasn't excited to go but was so happy that he did. Our guide was very knowledgeable and fun. The history is amazing. Truly would recommend to anyone interested in history - and for me it was doubly important for the religious significance. One of the highlights of two weeks in Greece and Turkey!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our excellent tour guide made this one of the highlights of our trip. She was very knowledgeable and well-educated, and especially respectful of differing beliefs and backgrounds. This enabled everyone to discover Ephesus and draw our own conclusions and experience it on various levels. It was an unexpected pleasure.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message