A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 240 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A nice tour. Even though it was slightly a hot day, we really enjoyed it. The tour guide was very adjustable and informative.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour booked through Viator and conducted by the providers was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel (Palm City) on time and driven in an air-conditioned van to Ephesus. The tour guide was very knowledgeable which enabled me to put the sights in context. At Ephesus I was guided and expertly informed about the site, directed to the best viewing spots and shown not obvious but important symbols, e.g. Christian symbols. St. Mary's house was also extremely interesting and refreshing because it was cooler at the higher altitude. Lunch was good and the ride back also informative.
I enthusiastically recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and architecture.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and our tour guide's English was awesome. Her knowledge of history was remarkable and very impressive. We learned so much due to her ability to communicate and her enthusiasm of the job at hand. The one draw back was the oriental rug pitch at the end of the day. Lousy way to end a perfectly good tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This trip was extremely well organised with a great guide to take us round Ephesus and the other two major sites.

It should be noted that passports - or some other id - are necessary when flying internally in Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Mixed experience. Picked me up 40 mins late from Hotel in Istanbul after telling me to be ready at 5:05 am- then a mad a dash to the airport. The Ephesus trip was fine, guide was gvood and lunch simple and very nice, but they did skip one bit probably because the guide wanted an early mark as his home town was near by and I ended back at Izmir airport having to kill time for 3hrs 45 mins before my flight back to Istanbul. Would try a different company next time.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour was great. the tour guides were so informative and really put you in the moment when they explained everything. the hotels provided in the package were first class. would recommend this tour for sure.

Doing what: 3-Day Tour from Istanbul to Kusadasi: Troy, Gallipoli and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful experience! Our tour guide was very personable, engaging, well informed and genuinely nice! We lucked out to be the only two guests on a tour that can accommodate up to 14 guests. We loved our time with her.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Oh lord these was amazing! I don't have words and the lady who was our guide was lovely. Very responsible and knowledgeable. Food out of this world! It requires a lot of walking but it is worth it.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful excursion. Very knowledgeable tour guide. Good balance of descriptions vs free time to explore. Having smaller group made it much more personal.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant trip with excellent guide who made it such fun and highly informative for all of us.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A brilliant tour and a huge eye opener in terms of the significance of the site.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Took the flight to Izmir for the Ephesus tour and everything went smoothly. Visiting the House of the Virgin Mary the historic city of Ephesus was a dream come true. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable however a bit impatient and did not display a passion for her profession on this day!

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message