• USD ($)
  • English
A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 189 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent trip! Fabulous day! Everyhting went nice and good; we had a small group and our guide was perfect! Telling about places very interesting way. I could go another time too =)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was awesome and more knowledgable than I could have hoped for! Izmir is a little more difficult of a location to visit Ephesus from, though. Go with Selçuk.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour...Wonderful tour guide..The guide answered all our questions..Bus driver was good and I am glad we booked the tour..I would recommend to all my friends.

Melvin and Joanne Soderstrom

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was booked very last minute and turned out to be absolutely fabulous. Our guide, Altay Gur, was there to greet us at the airport, incredibly knowledgeable, pleasant, good humored and very kind. Ephesus was magical and Altay brought it to life with his scholarly background, descriptions and biblical knowledge. We were enriched by this unforgettable experience and hope to return with other family members someday. An added bonus was that we were the only ones on the tour making it a private tour for the price of a group tour. To top it all off, we were blessed with sunshine, blue skies and mild temperatures.
My son and I will never forget this day and would highly recommend this day trip. We did it by booking an early morning flight from Istanbul to Izmir and then booking the tour through Viator to Ephesus. It felt a bit risky, especially booking only the day before, but it all came together perfectly. We even got on an earlier flight from Izmir back to Istanbul after the tour with no problems.
We were never pressured to purchase anything and were given time to explore the sights at our leisure.
I cannot recommend this tour and this tour guide more highly as it was truly exceptional. Thank you.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyed the day, the tour guide was wonderful.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Our tour guide was very informative, however, I had some difficulties understanding his English at first. The trip itself is great! I enjoyed the history and the places we visit.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The itinery was as advertised and there were only 4 of us on the tour. Our guide did an excellent job of explaining the sites. She was also informative about certain customs and nuances of Turkey and spoke very good English. Our lunch was also very good at our stopping place at Turkeman carpets ; however it was quite expensive because my wife Anne purshased handmade silk carpet !! Oh well, you can't take it with you!! All said, it was a greatly satisfying experience and we would definitely recommend it to anyone...Tom/Anne Winn

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Day Trip to Ephesus and House of Virgin Mary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour was more than we expected and we thoroughly enjoyed every part of it.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Wonderful tour. It is an incredible place to visit. Note there is a bit of walking on this tour, but very manageable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Even with a 5.30 start and a 9.00pm return this was one of the best days of my life! The mechanics of pick up/flight/drop offs etc went like clockwork. Our guide at the Izmir end was fantastic - his knowledge was great, his English was perfect, he gave us the right amount of time at every point. There was only one other couple on the tour, so it felt very personal service.
First we visited the House of the Virgin Mary, surprisingly peaceful and moving. Ephesus, I have no words for, except 'WOW' - go there. Unparalleled, and a lifetime's ambition realised! Then we went to St John's Basilica - in really good condition, followed by a quick stop to what remains of the Temple of Artemis - my classics and mythology courses come flooding back!
Lunch was after all the sightseeing - a lovely meal at a Carpet weaving co-operative. That, of course, was the only downside - the attempt at hard sell - luckily, the Americans bough a carpet, so everyone came away happy. I just wish these tour companies wouldn;t try with these factory visits - how many people really want to spend a lot of money when on a day out - unless they are actively looking for the diamond, the pearl, the carpet, the piece of furniture.... we never have and find these interludes annoying.
However, this particular day, nothing could spoil my enjoyment and appreciation of onw of the most amazing places on the planet.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was excellent. I would recommend for everyone going to Kusadasi to enjoy. The tour guide was very informed and was able to answer all question. Loved the lunch and the Turkish rug demo.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was Great until the rains came in! The guide was very nice and waiting. He spoke English very well and he was very informative! The van was very nice and the overhead electronic map cool too

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Tour guide was very knowledgable. As well worth it..very professional...

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our expert guide, Filis provided much info about this archeological site. With her description, you were able to envision life in Ephesus eons ago.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We were the only 2 people on the tour since it was off season. I was glad they did not cancel the tour. So we had our personal driver and our guide. It was very good. The tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message