A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 284 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

was a wonderful experience...very long day but worth it all...covered alot of ground and excellent tour guide...really must see Ephesus, Virgin Mary House, and church and lunch great....Guide very good and all done efficiently and professionally. We had an almost 3-4 hour wait at airport on return as dropped off this early...this was perhaps unavoidable but tiring...

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Except for the early morning flight to Istanbul, the tour was good. The tour guide wasn't that friendly as in our group of 8 adults, 6 of us above 50yrs with the oldest being 80+yrs and she was rushing through the Ephesus sight and we viewed the Artemis Temple from the House of Virgin Mary. So we didn't even go to the site of this temple even though that all that remains of this temple was 1 pillar. But at least, we should have been brought to the site to view the pillar closer and that the facts of the visit could be better emphasized as you are on site. This I thought was quite slipshod as I suspect she wanted to have more time for us at the carpet weaving factory to allow some purchases to be made by us.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We waited at the airport for 1 1/2 hours for some of the folks going on the tour to show up.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Overall, this was the best tour I had. Our tour only had 9 people which made it pretty personal. And, the tour guide was AWESOME. She was a history graduate from Turkey and her knowledge was wonderful. Turkey is a county I WILL visit again. We also got to eat traditional Turkey food at a Turkish Carpet School after an outstanding demonstration from the Instructor and Students. They even had their own silk-work farm and we got to find out how to tell a female from a male silkworm!!!! Overall.......STUPENDOUS!

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

WOW! What an experience. We were picked-up right on time. Our guide knew everything about this great city and took time to to explain many of the little things we saw, but didn't understand.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The one-day tour of Ephesus from Istanbul was not only perfectly arranged as to logistics but the guide provided a wonderful perspective from which to understand this ancient treasure.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful service....all transfers on time...knowledgeable guide....would recommend tour and company to anyone

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! Incredible trip with an extremely knowledgeable guide being Goulet. There were just 2 of us on the trip and it still went ahead which we were delighted about. Mother Mary's home is extremely worthwhile. We learnt so much - thank you Goulet! Thank you to our driver to who was very friendly albeit he didn't speak much English. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Well worth it and highly recommended. Jane Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As expected. Food was good and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We spent a lovely day in Ephesus and the tour guide was knowledgeable. What we didn't expect was the 2 hour carpet 'show' after lunch and we wished that we could spend more time at the ruins or visiting Saracen village instead.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit to the ancient city of Ephesus, as well as the House of Virgin Mary and the Basilica of St. John. This place is a treasure trove of Biblical (as well as Greek and Roman) history. Our guide was knowledgeable and we were given ample time to explore each site without feeling rushed.
The downside, lunch, served at the Turkmen Carpet Weaving Center, was just OK. We took entirely too long at this place and I can't help but feel like this was a not so subtle attempt to have tourists buy Turkish carpets...and of course, those carpets aren't cheap. I could've done without a stop at the carpet place and a better lunch as well. Maybe a stop at the Turkmen carpet place was used as an itinerary filler, but I would rather spend some time exploring the Temple of Artemis than look at carpets upon carpets.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The sites were amazing, but our guide, while very knowledgeable, seemed more interested in getting through each section of the tour so that she could play on her cell phone.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great experience with small group. Thanks

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message