A holy shrine to the supposed death place of St. Mary, the House of the Virgin Mary in Ephesus is a standing testament to the home of the beloved mother of Jesus. Many believe that the house was indeed the place where she spent her final days, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 298 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good in all regards.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We had a great time. Our tour guide was Gokce Sky Tascilar was knowledgeable and we had a great time..

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide was really well informed. Picked us up on time and really delivered!!!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour itself was fantastic. It ended up being a private tour so we had a guide and driver to ourselves. The guide was very knowledgeable and maintained a good balance of spending time informing us while also allowing adequate alone time. The negative was the mandatory visit to the carpet cooperative not mentioned in the tour description with hard sales pitch. That left a bit of a sour taste in our mouth after an otherwise amazing experience.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

It was fun and like a private tpur because it was only the two of us! We visited Mother Mary final resting place, Ephesus (we were lucky it was still in the morning, not much people!), learned about the carpet, had a nice lunch in the garden and the st John church. Our guide was also very nice

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

I almost never review anything, but felt that this trip needed an informational review for future travelers. We enjoyed the trip to Ephesus overall, but there were some trouble spots to watch for.

First, the fine print on your voucher says that you need to call the agency - Neon Travels - 24 hours ahead of time to confirm hotel pickup. The website and voucher says that pickup should be around 5AM, but for us it ended up actually around 4:30AM, so please be sure to check with the agency call the emergency number, the regular number is usually not picked up beforehand.

Second, the tour guide is well-informed and knowledgeable, but does tend to tell many textbook stories about mythology. The amount of free time you have to walk around and explore, or take pictures, is very little. We spent a total of only 2 hours at Ephesus, and had only maybe 30 min maximum of free time. The church of St. John and the Temple of Artemis are just pit stops.

Third, and most irritating, is that after lunch we were forced to listen to a presentation on Turkish carpet-making at a carpet collective, and this was not advertised as part of the program, nor did we want it. After the presentation, our group was broken up and each ushered into a high-pressure sales pitch with a carpet representative. We had to help bail out one of the couples on the trip who were subjected to particularly high pressure to buy a 4000 carpet.

Finally, on the way back to Izmir airport, we had no instructions on collecting our boarding passes to Istanbul in contrast, two people helped us check in during the morning flight, and our driver did not speak English. We eventually figured out that we were supposed to check ourselves into the Turkish airlines counter, which is no problem, but there was no indication of this beforehand. When we arrived in Istanbul, there was no one waiting to drop us off at our hotels, so we had to call the emergency number to find our driver.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We were fortunate to have a very small group of three on this tour. The tour staff was punctual and our guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall, the tour was very professionally managed.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a small group as it was off season. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very nice tour during a very cold day! Still Gokce (the guide) manage to make it a very enjoyable experience the visit to Virgin Mary house and Ephesus.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved my tour guide. Really good day.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great experience! Very professional and a very knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Most of this excursion was a good experience, with a very informative guide and loads of information about the sites. Ephesus is truly an amazing place and a must see in Turkey. We found this tour to be very good value for the money and lunch in a local café was delicious. We had a tour of a rug shop and it was interesting and not as pressured as expected. Our only criticism would be that we had to wait with the guide for quite a long time for others in the group who showed up late or not at all. It was about 45 minutes between us arriving at the meeting point and actually leaving.

Doing what: Kusadasi Shore Excursion: Ephesus Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

was a wonderful experience...very long day but worth it all...covered alot of ground and excellent tour guide...really must see Ephesus, Virgin Mary House, and church and lunch great....Guide very good and all done efficiently and professionally. We had an almost 3-4 hour wait at airport on return as dropped off this early...this was perhaps unavoidable but tiring...

Doing what: Ephesus and the House of Virgin Mary Day Trip from Istanbul

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message