Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 175 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Zeynab, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and happy to answer all of our questions. The tour itself was superb, and all the major points were included. Lunch was tasty and it was pleasant to discuss and share the day's experiences with other tour participants. The visit to the traditional carpet factory, where old techniques of carpet weaving were explained and demonstrated, was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour booked through Viator and conducted by the providers was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel (Palm City) on time and driven in an air-conditioned van to Ephesus. The tour guide was very knowledgeable which enabled me to put the sights in context. At Ephesus I was guided and expertly informed about the site, directed to the best viewing spots and shown not obvious but important symbols, e.g. Christian symbols. St. Mary's house was also extremely interesting and refreshing because it was cooler at the higher altitude. Lunch was good and the ride back also informative.
I enthusiastically recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and architecture.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a magnificent and must do day trip for every one visiting Turkey. Having a very good guide, I learnt a lot about the history of the places. Lunch was delicious following with visiting a carpet workshop and store with demonstration of unwinding silk fiber from the cocoons to produce silk threads and finally being used for weaving carpet.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I could honestly say, that everything about the trip was great and was well worth it - my only let down was the lunch. With such exotic and vibrant turkish cuisine - our lunch looked bland and boring. Also the fact there was 4 of us vegetarians who had to resort to having chips and fried Aubergine which is very unhealthy. The dessert was also strange - a slice of watermelon and something not a cake, not a cookie and not a mousse, so we weren't sure what it was and it tasted empty. I hope they look into their lunch menu again and make it turkish rather than trying too hard to be westernised.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Really Disappointing. Cleopatras pool was full of algea and there was no way I would infect myself swimming in such an unclean environment. Also the water was not flowing over the calcified rocks, so it was just white rock. We didn't get the opportunity to walk through the external part of Hierapolis only what was inside the fenced area near the calcified rock. Overall 3 out of 10. However saying this, our guide and driver were both fantastic.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I consider myself fortunate to go on this trip as I was the single traveler and Serhat was a great guide. The trip to Pamukkale was quite long from Izmir so I learnt a lot about the valley and the agricultural history of the region. The travertine fountains are a natural wonder but don't discount Hierapolis. I actually probably enjoyed Hierapolis more than the travertine pools and their views. Serhat gave me a lot of free time which was much appreciated and bring a hat and sunscreen as I was quite burnt at the end of it sll .

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and I have traveled many places and this is definitely a must see !!!! Our guide, Lincoln made it even better because he was so informative and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! The most fun I've had in years. This place is a MUST do if you are in Turkey. I went July 31st the weather was hot and the water was nice and cool. Words cannot do this place justice, please go and see it for yourself : )

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant trip with excellent guide who made it such fun and highly informative for all of us.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A brilliant tour and a huge eye opener in terms of the significance of the site.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message