• USD ($)
  • English
Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Even though I booked the tour one day in advance and the site mentioned that hotel pick-up may not be possible, I was very pleasantly surprised to see a vehicle there to pick us up and drive us to Kusadasi to join the rest of the group!

The guide was very professional and well informed about the sights and was able to answer all our questions. We were given enough time at the sites to roam around on our own and click pictures. We were dropped to our hotel at the end of the tour. It was a wonderful experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well conducted and informative.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Viator was good and the tour organization was fine. Other members of the group were nice and friendly and helped each other to take pictures. The tour guide was a little unfriendly, however. She was rushing us through the sites and we had to finish sightseeing BEFORE lunch (2pm), which meant we were dehydrated and hungry and that reduced my excitement visiting Ephesus which is worth a whole day of exploring.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

first day is spent at the hotel provided using the pool and discovering kusadasi. second day you visit all the places mentioned, third day you are sent back to izmir. the third day doesnt really count, so its a 2 day tour because on the third day you are collected from the hotel at 10 am and sent back to izmir by 12pm.

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Izmir was a city full of charm! We visited Agora, Kadifekale, and two museums. View from the Kadifekale was unforgettable. Without this guided tour, we could not see the city in such a compact time slot because the local trails might be a bit complicated to aliens! The guide named Ihsan was really professional! We enjoyed every moment with uncle Ihsan. I was a bit worried about the return time to the cruise ship, however, we could get to the ship in reasonable time.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is amazing experience to visit Ephesus and see the grandeur of this ancient city. This is a must trip for anyone going to Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, very informative and made us feel very secure and comfortable. Punctual and good company. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with breathtaking views. The tour was not canceled even though there were only two people left, we had the treatment of private tour with group purchase pricing. The minivan is nice and very clean.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and gave a lot of information on all the places we were taken to. She was very keen to assist us in our requests.
However, it seemed that the total time allocated to trip was not enough to explore the whole beauty of Ephesus. Most of the time we were on a rush.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Pamukkale is an extremely beautiful place and it's a great pity that the trip allows for only 2 - 2.5 hours for exploring it, whereas the road takes all 7-8 hours to destination and back. Therefore, it's worth considering to take 2-day tour to this beauty.
The guide, however, was very good at making out the most out of our limited time.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My guide was fantastic. Very knowledgable and good with all the participants.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great daytrip from Izmir. We learned a lot about the ancient Turkish culture, its connections to Christianity, and even learned about Turkish carpets.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

overall the tour was good for the price! Nice air conditioned bus, they also came on time and were very patient since we had our 10 month old with us. Downside- the tour guide was a little hard to understand and talked our ear off, felt like I was being lectured in history class. We went on a very hot day, so standing there and hearing her talk and talk was uncomfortable. The restaurant they take you to could have been better ...

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I went on 9 tours with Viatour on this trip and I had 2 fantastic guides, 5 good guides and 2 terrible guides. This was one of the ones with a rude guide. She was rude to a number of people. She told then to be quite and listen and all they were doing was asking a question. I can do everything, I am slow. She told me in front of the entire group, that if I could not keep up to meet in the parking lot at 4pm. The kind participants, don't worry we will take time to take pictures, so you can keep up with us. If it was not the participants, I would not have know what I was seeing.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message