Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 181 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! Incredible trip with an extremely knowledgeable guide being Goulet. There were just 2 of us on the trip and it still went ahead which we were delighted about. Mother Mary's home is extremely worthwhile. We learnt so much - thank you Goulet! Thank you to our driver to who was very friendly albeit he didn't speak much English. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Well worth it and highly recommended. Jane Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Superb! Tour was not cancelled even though we (2) were only who had booked the tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As expected. Food was good and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The 2 hours of experiencing the site was worth the 9 hour travelling to and from it.

It's a once in a life time and experience. I just hope you can provide other options to reduce the travel time to and from the site. Maybe a helicopter ride or renting bikes as the scenery is great.

Also the breakfast and lunch that was supposed to be included; had only lunch provided which was not appetising at all.

Will surely recommend visiting Pammukkale to others.

Thank you
Ayesha

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We spent a lovely day in Ephesus and the tour guide was knowledgeable. What we didn't expect was the 2 hour carpet 'show' after lunch and we wished that we could spend more time at the ruins or visiting Saracen village instead.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

It was a long way from Izmir (about 4 hours). The tour guide did not really make any effort and we spent the journey in silence. When we got to Pamukkale, he gave us a 10 minute introduction before giving us free time to spend at the site. Journey back was spent in silence again. Disappointing!

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Zeynab, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and happy to answer all of our questions. The tour itself was superb, and all the major points were included. Lunch was tasty and it was pleasant to discuss and share the day's experiences with other tour participants. The visit to the traditional carpet factory, where old techniques of carpet weaving were explained and demonstrated, was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

All the transfers were on time and our tour leader (Mr. Top) was informative, happy to answer questions and also was able to give us historical synopses about the Ephesus site. The Mary House is very underwhelming but that's not any fault of the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

The site was interesting, but the tour guide explained the relics at a distance, not at its exact site. The reason given was that too many people around it (true...), and the learning could similarly be achieved even it was not at the exact spot (or close to the exact). But I find to simply listen from afar, it was less detailed or interesting....my view....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My tour booked through Viator and conducted by the providers was excellent. I was picked up at my hotel (Palm City) on time and driven in an air-conditioned van to Ephesus. The tour guide was very knowledgeable which enabled me to put the sights in context. At Ephesus I was guided and expertly informed about the site, directed to the best viewing spots and shown not obvious but important symbols, e.g. Christian symbols. St. Mary's house was also extremely interesting and refreshing because it was cooler at the higher altitude. Lunch was good and the ride back also informative.
I enthusiastically recommend this tour to anyone interested in history and architecture.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is a magnificent and must do day trip for every one visiting Turkey. Having a very good guide, I learnt a lot about the history of the places. Lunch was delicious following with visiting a carpet workshop and store with demonstration of unwinding silk fiber from the cocoons to produce silk threads and finally being used for weaving carpet.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I could honestly say, that everything about the trip was great and was well worth it - my only let down was the lunch. With such exotic and vibrant turkish cuisine - our lunch looked bland and boring. Also the fact there was 4 of us vegetarians who had to resort to having chips and fried Aubergine which is very unhealthy. The dessert was also strange - a slice of watermelon and something not a cake, not a cookie and not a mousse, so we weren't sure what it was and it tasted empty. I hope they look into their lunch menu again and make it turkish rather than trying too hard to be westernised.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

Really Disappointing. Cleopatras pool was full of algea and there was no way I would infect myself swimming in such an unclean environment. Also the water was not flowing over the calcified rocks, so it was just white rock. We didn't get the opportunity to walk through the external part of Hierapolis only what was inside the fenced area near the calcified rock. Overall 3 out of 10. However saying this, our guide and driver were both fantastic.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message