Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well conducted and informative.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Izmir was a city full of charm! We visited Agora, Kadifekale, and two museums. View from the Kadifekale was unforgettable. Without this guided tour, we could not see the city in such a compact time slot because the local trails might be a bit complicated to aliens! The guide named Ihsan was really professional! We enjoyed every moment with uncle Ihsan. I was a bit worried about the return time to the cruise ship, however, we could get to the ship in reasonable time.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It is amazing experience to visit Ephesus and see the grandeur of this ancient city. This is a must trip for anyone going to Turkey

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, very informative and made us feel very secure and comfortable. Punctual and good company. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent tour with breathtaking views. The tour was not canceled even though there were only two people left, we had the treatment of private tour with group purchase pricing. The minivan is nice and very clean.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The guide was very nice and gave a lot of information on all the places we were taken to. She was very keen to assist us in our requests.
However, it seemed that the total time allocated to trip was not enough to explore the whole beauty of Ephesus. Most of the time we were on a rush.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Pamukkale is an extremely beautiful place and it's a great pity that the trip allows for only 2 - 2.5 hours for exploring it, whereas the road takes all 7-8 hours to destination and back. Therefore, it's worth considering to take 2-day tour to this beauty.
The guide, however, was very good at making out the most out of our limited time.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My guide was fantastic. Very knowledgable and good with all the participants.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

This was a great daytrip from Izmir. We learned a lot about the ancient Turkish culture, its connections to Christianity, and even learned about Turkish carpets.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

overall the tour was good for the price! Nice air conditioned bus, they also came on time and were very patient since we had our 10 month old with us. Downside- the tour guide was a little hard to understand and talked our ear off, felt like I was being lectured in history class. We went on a very hot day, so standing there and hearing her talk and talk was uncomfortable. The restaurant they take you to could have been better ...

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

I went on 9 tours with Viatour on this trip and I had 2 fantastic guides, 5 good guides and 2 terrible guides. This was one of the ones with a rude guide. She was rude to a number of people. She told then to be quite and listen and all they were doing was asking a question. I can do everything, I am slow. She told me in front of the entire group, that if I could not keep up to meet in the parking lot at 4pm. The kind participants, don't worry we will take time to take pictures, so you can keep up with us. If it was not the participants, I would not have know what I was seeing.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed our half-day Izmir tour. Our party of 4 was also joined by another couple on their honeymoon in Izmir. We were able to see much of the city and experienced a little bit of the culture and also had time to visit the local market and have Turkish coffee. Our tour guide was very informative and very pleasant.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Ephesus is amazing and the guide was knowledgeable. However, I did not appreciate that we were not told we were going to stop at a carpet place and get carpet sold to us. This took up 3 HOURS of our trip, and I would not have signed up for this tour if I knew that. Instead of being back by 4 or 5, we were back at 7 pm.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2014

This trip was disappointing. Although the tour itself could have been a pleasant little historic promenade through Izmir including two museums, the visit of the Kafidekale castle etc., it turned out to be a catastrophe - due to the guide. Güler didn't know I lived in Izmir and that only my parents were here for the first time, as real "tourists". Already within the first five minutes after pick-up, conversation tipped out from historical aspects (which is the actual mean of this trip) to her own political opinions explained in an offensive manner. She simply was unprofessional, this is the best way to describe. She's supposed to having studied history and archaeology but none of this was visible. My parents were constantly correcting her behind or reminding her antique names she had 'forgotten' while explaining history in the museum. In the end she even reminded us "to not forget to tip the driver", in a quite undiscrete and unpolite manner, although she didn't even take 30 seconds to introduce him to us nor to thank him (like guides mostly do), in fact she didn't even introduce herself ! Unprofessionalism pushed to its paroxism. It's sad for VIATOR because other trips I have done with this travel agency were great ! Thank you though for all interesting tours you manage to organize ! Next time will be better.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message