Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 184 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Overall, the tour was very professionally managed.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The guide was wonderful, very knowledgeable and friendly. It was a small group as it was off season. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A very nice tour during a very cold day! Still Gokce (the guide) manage to make it a very enjoyable experience the visit to Virgin Mary house and Ephesus.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

I loved my tour guide. Really good day.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

We waited at the airport for 1 1/2 hours for some of the folks going on the tour to show up.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing! Incredible trip with an extremely knowledgeable guide being Goulet. There were just 2 of us on the trip and it still went ahead which we were delighted about. Mother Mary's home is extremely worthwhile. We learnt so much - thank you Goulet! Thank you to our driver to who was very friendly albeit he didn't speak much English. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Well worth it and highly recommended. Jane Melbourne Australia

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Superb! Tour was not cancelled even though we (2) were only who had booked the tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

As expected. Food was good and guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

The 2 hours of experiencing the site was worth the 9 hour travelling to and from it.

It's a once in a life time and experience. I just hope you can provide other options to reduce the travel time to and from the site. Maybe a helicopter ride or renting bikes as the scenery is great.

Also the breakfast and lunch that was supposed to be included; had only lunch provided which was not appetising at all.

Will surely recommend visiting Pammukkale to others.

Thank you
Ayesha

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We spent a lovely day in Ephesus and the tour guide was knowledgeable. What we didn't expect was the 2 hour carpet 'show' after lunch and we wished that we could spend more time at the ruins or visiting Saracen village instead.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

It was a long way from Izmir (about 4 hours). The tour guide did not really make any effort and we spent the journey in silence. When we got to Pamukkale, he gave us a 10 minute introduction before giving us free time to spend at the site. Journey back was spent in silence again. Disappointing!

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide, Zeynab, was very knowledgeable and friendly, and happy to answer all of our questions. The tour itself was superb, and all the major points were included. Lunch was tasty and it was pleasant to discuss and share the day's experiences with other tour participants. The visit to the traditional carpet factory, where old techniques of carpet weaving were explained and demonstrated, was also very interesting.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Simple put: I was satisfied with the tour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message