Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. A must if in Turkey. If you are coming from Istanbul, book your own air and sign up for the tour from Izmir, it will save you a lot of money.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Robin D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Visiting Ephesus was breath taking , the time there was perfect and the guide was very knowledgable . St. Mary's house was located in such peaceful surroundings . Seeing St. John's Basilica and his tomb was a perfect way to end the day. This is where he wrote his gospel . There is also a castle in the background to view from afar . The Turkish lunch we had was delicious , and I also enjoyed watching the ladies making the rugs . The beautiful rug viewing ,while sipping on apple tea was delightful as well. I really enjoyed the whole day !

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Christopher O

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour and the guide was amazing. Lunch was one of the best meals I had the entire 10 days I was in Turkey. We also got to see carpet making which was really cool. I only put 4 stars because it's a bit expensive.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Rosanna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour. I advise to be very specific in regards to the pickup times on the vouchers. It added to some confusion.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pick up was prompt, everyone was very polite. Tour guide was thorough and made sure we each covered the things we wanted and offered many options of other places to see and allowed the time we needed to do what we wanted. Lunch was fantastic and the trip was worth every penny.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Kristin V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My guide was lovely and knowledgeable, and the entire tour was well-planned, educational, and at a pace and with the flexibility that was much appreciated by our small group of 4. I would definitely recommend this tour to friends --from Kristin, Washington, D.C., USA, visited August 2015.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Hamid K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humor

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Hamid K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and had a great sense of humor

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

michael g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

fantastic despite the rain and bad weather---our guide was terrific

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

Henrik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice tour - both places were spectacular and worth the visit. We ended up having a private tour due to the low tourist season. We were picked up at our hotel in a very nice van and driven to the sites. Our tour guide did a nice job of explaining the Roman ruins and gave us all the time we needed at Pamukkale which is truly exceptional, the calcium deposit pools are everything you expect and more. Spend the extra 30 liras to spend time in Cleopatras pool - that is the natural thermal waters. It has sunken Greek and Roman columns and this is really where you can enjoy the warmest waters and the pool is plenty deep whereas the terraces are only knee deep.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

GUODONG C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

nice tour guide, small grp of ppl

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Theresa R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

I really enjoyed the trip. Pamukkale was definitely worth seeing. My tour was cut short because of the Byran holiday. We got there after 1pm and only had about 21/2 hours to see it all. I did not get to see Hierapolis at all because of the time crunch. My tour guide was interesting but talked too much. I would have liked more time.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Prakash B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

very nice , the tour was awesome, Punctual and the location of the hotel at Kusadasi was excellent very close to the Marina

Doing what: 3-Day Small-Group Turkey Tour from Izmir: Kusadasi and Ephesus

ATHANASIOS S Greece

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

SUPER WOW!!! THE GUIDE DO NOT REMEMBER HER NAME-ASK THE TRAVEL AGENCY WAS GREAT! EPHESUS IS GREAT TOO!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Marius M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I was surprised that we were only four persons taking the tour, so it was like a small private tour. The guide, Ms. Güler Aslan, was very knowledgeable and gave us very interesting information. The site itself is fabulous. Very well preserved and carefully maintained, it is like an open window towards the ancient past. A past that was almost brought back to life by the vivid explanations of our guide. The only nuisance was the large number of tourists visiting the site, but this is understandable considering its fame and splendour.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

graham h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

what a truly magnificent place ephesus was - and they've only excavated 20 of the place

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Raphael C

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed the tour and associated account of the relevant history. Well worth it. The lunch meal provided was also very tasty and substantial.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Lok Tin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Small group of tour in fact it was just me and my partner!
Tour guide was very knowledgable and the coach we travelled was very new 3 months old
Highly recommended - far cheaper than what our hotel offered

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

cindyrunge

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved Pamukkale.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Agostina C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour!!! Our tour guide made the excursion really interesting and food was great.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Kimberly K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was Phylis and she was wonderful! She was very helpful with arranging transportation for our early departure and she was filled with facts about everything from education to politics to urban legends. The tour was great and I would book with the company as well as with the tour guide again.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Nicolle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really fantastic tour and well worth the effort of getting out to the location. Really enjoyed the ruins and highly recommend this tour if down this way. Make sure you take your bathing suit also as there is an opportunity to take a swim.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Superb tour guide, brand new bus, small group, even the carpet shop spiel wasn't annoying - we all ended up buying carpets!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Vesa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Ephesus is one of the best ancient towns to visit. There are lot to see - nice theatres and other building ruins and of course nice views over valley between hills. Tour-guide of Neon - Cigdem Göktas - led our tour in very nice way. With nice presentations of sites and friendly manner, she made whole tour group to feel good and welcome. Very good work! Guide also helped me to continue my travel forward to Kusadasi. Five stars for tour! This is a site that must be visited!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message