Modern Izmir is Turkey's third-largest city and, at first sight, may seem a little disorientating and unlovable. Scratch the surface, however, and you'll uncover Izmir's ancient gems: the ruins of Alexander the Great's Castle, remains of the ancient ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Zoe B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Guide was very knowledgeable, very well priced, picked us up from our hotel in Izmir in AC mini-bus and dropped us to our next hotel in Kusadasi (yay!), small carpet pitch at the end but you could leave, small group, lovely lunch included, would recommend!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my trip to Ephesus and our guide, and I apologize if I get this wrong, Gelir was knowledgeable and guided us through the massive crowds. Our group was small and I felt included in all activities and had plenty of time to take photos and wander around the site during some of the free time we had. The three stops (St Marys, Ephesus 1 and Ephesus now) were well scheduled and included in the itinerary but I was a little frustrated about the carpet pitch. The weaving school and surrounds is worth mentioning in the advertisement for the tour...and the lunch there is phenomenal. Wonderful day out but if you are fair skinned like I am I advise to take a hat as I was a little burnt by the end of it:-)

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I consider myself fortunate to go on this trip as I was the single traveler and Serhat was a great guide. The trip to Pamukkale was quite long from Izmir so I learnt a lot about the valley and the agricultural history of the region. The travertine fountains are a natural wonder but don't discount Hierapolis. I actually probably enjoyed Hierapolis more than the travertine pools and their views. Serhat gave me a lot of free time which was much appreciated and bring a hat and sunscreen as I was quite burnt at the end of it sll .

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My family and I have traveled many places and this is definitely a must see !!!! Our guide, Lincoln made it even better because he was so informative and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

AMAZING!!! The most fun I've had in years. This place is a MUST do if you are in Turkey. I went July 31st the weather was hot and the water was nice and cool. Words cannot do this place justice, please go and see it for yourself : )

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Knowledgeable guide, could have done without the "rug demo" since you are essentially stuck at there until the sales staff finally recognizes you aren't buying. Turns out our itinerary had shifted and we came in to a different port (Kusadasi). Viator, in typical fashion, just rearranged us to attend the Kusadasi half-day tour instead. I ALWAYS look up Viator options before booking a cruise ship excursion or anyone else.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a very good trip and seeing the house of Mary of Mary was awesome. The lunch was also good.
Ndegwa

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was awesome. The guide kind and nice. Food was Fair enough peruanos the only lower point but restaurant service was good. The driver excelent.

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

generally Ok but not really a must do.

Doing what: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

If you really want to know we were incredibly disappointed after going to Izmir specifically to visit Pamakkale and Heiropolis amd booking a tour thru this company thst did not eventuate: no fore warnig about ramadan holiday and no tour guide available. Waited to be picked up. No one turned up!

Doing what: Pamukkale and Hierapolis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Even though I booked the tour one day in advance and the site mentioned that hotel pick-up may not be possible, I was very pleasantly surprised to see a vehicle there to pick us up and drive us to Kusadasi to join the rest of the group!

The guide was very professional and well informed about the sights and was able to answer all our questions. We were given enough time at the sites to roam around on our own and click pictures. We were dropped to our hotel at the end of the tour. It was a wonderful experience. Thanks!

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour was well conducted and informative.

Doing what: Izmir Shore Excursion: Izmir Half-Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Amazing places to see and hence high rating! Organization of the tour itself was not the best - I called the office as requested and wanted to confirm the pick up. They could not provide me with the timing but they promised to leave this information at the hotel upon my arrival. In fact they didn't so until last minute I was not sure what time I should have been ready (it is quite important once you have a night arrival). The tour guide was not nice either - as if she was forced to do her job. Smile wouldn't cost a lot....

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Viator was good and the tour organization was fine. Other members of the group were nice and friendly and helped each other to take pictures. The tour guide was a little unfriendly, however. She was rushing us through the sites and we had to finish sightseeing BEFORE lunch (2pm), which meant we were dehydrated and hungry and that reduced my excitement visiting Ephesus which is worth a whole day of exploring.

Doing what: Ephesus and St. Mary's House Day Trip from Izmir

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message