Largely regarded as one of Jamaica’s best rum distilleries, Appleton Estate has been producing the liquor since 1749, making it the country’s oldest  sugar cane  estate  and distillery.  With its sprawling sugar cane plantations ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour itself was great! All the stops were fun and varied enough so you were not bored. Black River and YS Falls were both extremely picturesque, so make sure to have plenty of batteries for your camera. Appleton tour was extremely informative, even if you have been on similar tours before. I had been on brewery tours, but never liquor so I enjoyed it even more. The tour company used was a great choice as the guides were fun and entertaining. They even placed us with people our own age, making the trip enjoyable. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a nice smattering a Jamaica culture all in one day. Warning...it will be a long day so prepare accordingly with snacks, plenty of sleep, etc.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing from start to end. The Black River tour was perfect! The stop at the YS falls was only an hour so it was a little difficult to get in the zip line ride that enticed us, but it was gorgeous. The Appleton rum tour was amazing, loved all the rums we tasted. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining; the bus driver, highly skilled! We did NOT forget to tip them. Thank you!!!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this tour. Black River Safari and YS Falls were very scenic. The Appleton Rum Estate was very informative and the rum was great. We had an excellent driver. It was a day well-spent.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

our trip on the black river safari was just wonderfull,our trip was just 2 couples but we had a blast,ys fall was very beautifull ,really lovely settings,appleton estates was great and our guides were very knowledgeable,i would gives this tour 10 out of 10

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This was a very nice day. We were picked up early 8:00am at our resort. We had a lovely tour guide Lisa. She was friendly and professional. The driver was excellent at handling the bus! We headed to the Black River Safari. This part was fun our guide loves his job and enjoys taking about the birds and wildlife. YS Falls was amazing. It is very beautiful. The guides are freindly and will take your pictures as you explore and swim in the falls. We enjoyed this part of the trip very much. The lunch provided was very good. There were several choices for lunch. So, after exploring the falls area lunch was served. There are nice and clean changing rooms by the natural pools so you can change out of your swim gear. Then on to Appleton rum tour after lunch. This is the furthest part of the trip. It is well worth the drive. We toured the factory, learned the history, and sampled different rums. There is a rum store there...but honestly wait until you get to the airport the rum is cheapest there. (You can pack it in your carry on.) Then back on the bus to head back to our resort. We returned to our resort about 6:15 pm.The bus was clean and comfortable. The drive back was long and bumpy. But that would be the only negative, can't help the roads are rough. This was a wonderful day. It truely was worth the time.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

This was the best tour we had been on while in Jamaica. The driver and the tour guide introduced themselves to the group. They gave us local history and fork lore that made the long 3 hr trip enjoyable. We stop for a break and they let us take pictures at a beach. Get something to drink and just stretch our legs. The riverboat captain was great he told us about the crocodiles and he even had one come to the boat so we could take a picture up close. YS Falls was beautiful My sister really enjoyed this part of the tour. We were given time to explore on our own. The climb up the stairs to the different levels of the waterfall was difficult at times, but they had guides to help you. The Appleton Rum Estate was nice. They greeted us with a rum punch when we arrived. We had a traditional Jamaican meal of Jerk chicken,peas and rice and local vegetables. On the drive home the driver stopped so we could buy snacks from the local food vendors along the road. This tour gave you a real since of life on the island.I would take this tour again.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The drive to Appleton Rum Estate was long, but beautiful. Our tour guide let us stop and get a beer at a local stop, try new fruit from a fruit stand, and even get jerk pork from a side of the road stop! Our tour guide was informative about everything from the towns we were driving through to politics and history. His information and cool stops along the way made the long drive worth it. The tour itself was informative and the tasting was great. I would note that the 'free bottle of rum' is a mini bottle that only contains a shot of alcohol.

Doing what: Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The safari, YS falls, and Appleton were all great. However be Aware from Negril it's a 3 hour drive. Also everything was a bit rushed, and we only had about 10 minutes for rum tasting. The dinner provided was delicious jerk chicken. We would chose this tour again.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Tour was wonderful. Ladies on the bus were funny and friendly and made the bus ride fun even though we had a small group that was pretty low-key! Drive was about 1.5 hours but well worth it. Crocodiles on Black River were HUGE and this was totally a cool stop. Beautiful mangrove scenery. The YS falls were also beautiful and the guys there help you walk on them and take photos for you for tip - excellent photos! We of course wished we stayed longer at falls than 45 min-hour, but understand we are fitting in 3 tour places. The Appleton Estate was awesome also...beautiful scenery and mountains, and such a smaller factory to produce so much rum - WOW. My only comment was when I tried to call Tourwise Limited via phone number on voucher to confirm hotel pickup location/time, it kept ringing and no VM machine. Then I found their Facebook and website online and also emailed two different email addresses. I was so worried first days of trip that this wasn't legit as they had no way to contact them via email or phone number. So it would've saved me a great deal of worry to have finally had Tourwise Limited email me back, or have a voicemail machine and call me back. This was the only disappointing part. What if I had changed hotels and had no way to contact them? I also wrote VIATOR.COM customer service to ask for another phone number or contact info. You say you get back to us in 12-24 hours or 36 hrs in extreme cases. I NEVER HEARD FROM YOU. So you're customer service failed. Not sure if I will book a tour through your website ever again. So tour, when we got picked up, wa GREAT. But these details were not and that's why the 4 and not a 5.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

YS Falls was the best part! It was fun to jump off the falls into the water below! :) The Black River was cool also, and it was neat to learn so much about the local wildlife (and get upclose with crocodiles!). Of course the rum factory was a hit! Beware, it stinks but you get used to it after awhile. Also, be ready to spend a lot of time driving. All three places are fairly distant from eachother and it was close to a 3 hour car ride back to our hotel in Negril from Appleton.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

I'm rating this tour as a four star only because of the very long bus ride along a terrible road. The bus bounced around alot and it took approx 1:45 mins to get to the Black river Safari. The actual events were very good. Black River, excellent. YS Falls Beautiful and Appleton Tour, excellent.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2009

Our tour was good! We got shifted to a tour that included the Appleton estate and it ended up being a highlight. Our tour guide was fun and friendly and kept the discussion on track. Our first stop was the Black River and our guide knew just where to find the crocodiles in the river. The second stop was at YS Falls. Gorgeous to be sure, but maybe not enough time allotted for the location. Appleton was delightful! The rum punch was the best as well as the lunch! The tour was informative and fun. It made me feel like I was on a plantation tour. The all you can sample rum made the long ride back to Negril tolerable and nearly enjoyable!

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

We booked our trip through Viator, but didn't get confirmation, even after an email. We had to call and were worried, but they did pick us up. Our trip was a little over 10 hours long, which is not what they quoted us, but we were okay, luckily we were not due back anywhere. The Black River Safari Guide was funny and very knowledgeable about his tour…we loved Little George, the alligator. The YS Falls were absolutely breathtaking…we want to re-visit just the falls. We didn't get but under an hour here, a little disappointed. The Appleton Rum Estate Tour was interesting…we absolutely enjoyed the rum, but our tour guide was rude and even a little nasty to the elder people in our group. When they were talking, she would get extremely upset and call them out…embarrass people. My lunch was disgusting. I had a vegetarian lunch…they gave me a very cold and hard piece of fish. The drink sampling was good. It turned us onto new Appleton Estate rums that we really really enjoyed. Our auto guides were informative, but a little boring. On the way back, we all had drank so much, and needed to go to the bathroom and they didn't stop anywhere…after a couple hours of driving. And, because it was a very bumpy/curvy ride, many of us almost had "potty" accidents. I definitely wouldn't do the tour again, but it was a decent tour.

Doing what: Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day Trip from Negril

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message